Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 23rd, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 11th, 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Final Rejection on January 23rd, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alalusi (United States Patent Application Publication 20200132832 A1), hereinafter Alalusi.
Regarding claim 1, Alalusi teaches a phase difference calculation device comprising:
a time of flight (ToF) sensor including a light source configured to direct a pulse light (PL) toward an object ([0057] In one embodiment, the sensing apparatus 102 includes a radar system that transmits electromagnetic pulse sequences as transmitted signals 106 toward the target object 104 that are at least partially reflected as echoes 108);
a first light amount acquisition unit that, among continuous first, second, and third light receiving time windows having a same length, acquires a first light amount of reflected light from the object result from PL applied during the first light receiving time window and received in the first light receiving time window and a second light amount of the reflected light from the object received in the second light receiving time window;; ([0060] In one embodiment, the control unit 112 may direct the sensing assembly 102 to take periodic measurements of the separation distance 110; Fig. 3B);
a time window shift control unit that shifts the first, second, and third light receiving time windows in a negative direction of a time axis to with respect to the PL set fourth, fifth, and sixth light receiving time windows, and shifts the fourth, fifth, and sixth light receiving time windows in the negative direction of the time axis until no reflected light is received in the fourth light receiving time window; ([0090] Alternatively, the correlation window 320 may include a different number of bits 300, 302. The correlator device 731 can temporally shift the correlation window 320 along the echo signal 740 in order to identify where (e.g., which subset of the echo signal 226) more closely matches the pattern in the correlation window 320 more than one or more (or all) of the other portions of the echo signal 740.);
a second light amount acquisition unit that acquires a third light amount of the reflected light received in the sixth light receiving time window(Fig. 2; [0070] The front end receiver 218 can include an amplifier 220 and mixers 222A, 222B... The mixers 222A, 222B may include or represent one or more mixing devices that receive different components or channels of the echo signal 224 to mix with the oscillating signal 216 (or a copy of the oscillating signal 216) from the oscillating device 214.); and
a phase difference calculation unit that calculates a phase difference between the PL and the reflected light on a basis of a first corrected light amount obtained by adding the third light amount to the first light amount and a second corrected light amount obtained by subtracting the third light amount from the second light amount. (Fig. 2; [0076] In the ultrafine stage, the sensing assembly 102 also can examine the I and/or Q component of the baseband echo signal 226 and the replicated pattern signal to determine a temporal overlap or mismatch between the I and/or Q components of the baseband echo signal 226 and the replicated pattern signal. The temporal overlap or mismatch of the Q components of the baseband echo signal 226 and the replicated pattern signal may represent an additional time delay that can be added to the time of flight calculated from the coarse stage and the fine stage (e.g., by examining the I and/or Q components) to determine a relatively accurate estimation of the time of flight.; [0078] The total position estimate 260 can be communicated to the control unit 112 (shown in FIG. 1) so that the control unit 112 can use data or information representative of the separation distance 110 and/or the time of flight for one or more other uses, calculations, and the like, and/or for presentation to an operator on the output device 116).
Regarding claim 4, Alalusi teaches a phase difference calculation method comprising:
directing a pulse light (PL) toward an object ([0057] In one embodiment, the sensing apparatus 102 includes a radar system that transmits electromagnetic pulse sequences as transmitted signals 106 toward the target object 104 that are at least partially reflected as echoes 108);
among continuous first, second, and third light receiving time windows having a same length, acquiring a first light amount of reflected light from the object resulting from PL applied during the first light receiving time window and received in the first light receiving time window and a second light amount of the reflected light from the object received in the second light receiving time window; ([0060] In one embodiment, the control unit 112 may direct the sensing assembly 102 to take periodic measurements of the separation distance 110; Fig. 3B);
shifting the first, second, and third light receiving time windows in a negative direction of a time axis with respect to the PL to set fourth, fifth, and sixth light receiving time windows, and shifting the fourth, fifth, and sixth light receiving time windows in the negative direction of the time axis until no reflected light is received in the fourth light receiving time window; ([0090] Alternatively, the correlation window 320 may include a different number of bits 300, 302. The correlator device 731 can temporally shift the correlation window 320 along the echo signal 740 in order to identify where (e.g., which subset of the echo signal 226) more closely matches the pattern in the correlation window 320 more than one or more (or all) of the other portions of the echo signal 740.);
acquiring a third light amount of the reflected light received in the sixth light receiving time window (Fig. 2; [0070] The front end receiver 218 can include an amplifier 220 and mixers 222A, 222B... The mixers 222A, 222B may include or represent one or more mixing devices that receive different components or channels of the echo signal 224 to mix with the oscillating signal 216 (or a copy of the oscillating signal 216) from the oscillating device 214.); and
calculating a phase difference between the PL and the reflected light on a basis of a first corrected light amount obtained by adding the third light amount to the first light amount and a second corrected light amount obtained by subtracting the third light amount from the second light amount. (Fig. 2; [0076] In the ultrafine stage, the sensing assembly 102 also can examine the I and/or Q component of the baseband echo signal 226 and the replicated pattern signal to determine a temporal overlap or mismatch between the I and/or Q components of the baseband echo signal 226 and the replicated pattern signal. The temporal overlap or mismatch of the Q components of the baseband echo signal 226 and the replicated pattern signal may represent an additional time delay that can be added to the time of flight calculated from the coarse stage and the fine stage (e.g., by examining the I and/or Q components) to determine a relatively accurate estimation of the time of flight.; [0078] The total position estimate 260 can be communicated to the control unit 112 (shown in FIG. 1) so that the control unit 112 can use data or information representative of the separation distance 110 and/or the time of flight for one or more other uses, calculations, and the like, and/or for presentation to an operator on the output device 116).
Regarding claim 5, Alalusi teaches a non-transitory, computer readable storage medium containing a computer program, which when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform a phase difference calculation method by carrying out actions ([0059] stored on a tangible and non-transitory computer readable storage medium), comprising:
directing a pulse light (PL) toward an object ([0057] In one embodiment, the sensing apparatus 102 includes a radar system that transmits electromagnetic pulse sequences as transmitted signals 106 toward the target object 104 that are at least partially reflected as echoes 108);
among continuous first, second, and third light receiving time windows having a same length, acquiring a first light amount of reflected light from the object resulting from PL applied during the first light receiving time window and received in the first light receiving time window and a second light amount of the reflected light from the object received in the second light receiving time window; ([0060] In one embodiment, the control unit 112 may direct the sensing assembly 102 to take periodic measurements of the separation distance 110; Fig. 3B);
shifting the first, second, and third light receiving time windows in a negative direction of a time axis with respect to the PL to set fourth, fifth, and sixth light receiving time windows by a time window shift control unit, and shifting the fourth, fifth, and sixth light receiving time windows in the negative direction of the time axis until no reflected light is received in the fourth light receiving time window; ([0090] Alternatively, the correlation window 320 may include a different number of bits 300, 302. The correlator device 731 can temporally shift the correlation window 320 along the echo signal 740 in order to identify where (e.g., which subset of the echo signal 226) more closely matches the pattern in the correlation window 320 more than one or more (or all) of the other portions of the echo signal 740.);
acquiring a third light amount of the reflected light received in the sixth light receiving time window (Fig. 2; [0070] The front end receiver 218 can include an amplifier 220 and mixers 222A, 222B... The mixers 222A, 222B may include or represent one or more mixing devices that receive different components or channels of the echo signal 224 to mix with the oscillating signal 216 (or a copy of the oscillating signal 216) from the oscillating device 214.); and
calculating a phase difference between the PL and the reflected light on a basis of a first corrected light amount obtained by adding the third light amount to the first light amount and a second corrected light amount obtained by subtracting the third light amount from the second light amount. (Fig. 2; [0076] In the ultrafine stage, the sensing assembly 102 also can examine the I and/or Q component of the baseband echo signal 226 and the replicated pattern signal to determine a temporal overlap or mismatch between the I and/or Q components of the baseband echo signal 226 and the replicated pattern signal. The temporal overlap or mismatch of the Q components of the baseband echo signal 226 and the replicated pattern signal may represent an additional time delay that can be added to the time of flight calculated from the coarse stage and the fine stage (e.g., by examining the I and/or Q components) to determine a relatively accurate estimation of the time of flight.; [0078] The total position estimate 260 can be communicated to the control unit 112 (shown in FIG. 1) so that the control unit 112 can use data or information representative of the separation distance 110 and/or the time of flight for one or more other uses, calculations, and the like, and/or for presentation to an operator on the output device 116).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alalusi in view of Kim (United States Patent Application Publication 20150301162 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 2, Alalusi teaches the phase difference calculation device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a light reception unit that includes a light reception element for receiving the reflected light ([0065] The front end 200 includes a transmitting antenna 204 and a receiving antenna 206...The receiver may be replaced by a photo detector or photodiode.)
Alalusi fails to teach the device wherein the calculation device comprises a shutter for blocking light incident on the light reception element at predetermined time intervals, and wherein the time window shift control unit shifts the fourth, fifth, and sixth light receiving time windows in the negative direction of the time axis by advancing an operation timing of the shutter.
However, Kim teaches the device wherein the calculation device comprises a shutter for blocking light incident on the light reception element at predetermined time intervals ([0017] Said stage that receives multiple signals reflected from said target of measurement at different phases through the operation of the shutter may consist of a stage that receives Signal 1 reflected from said target of measurement through the operation of Shutter 1 at Phase 1, a stage that receives Signal 2 reflected from said target of measurement through the operation of Shutter 2 at Phase 2...), and wherein the time window shift control unit shifts the fourth, fifth, and sixth light receiving time windows in the negative direction of the time axis by advancing an operation timing of the shutter. ([0064] Likewise, the signal generating part may generate Signal 3 at Time 3 after Time 2 and Signal 4 at Time 4 after Time 3. (C) in Drawing 1 shows that Signal 3 receives the Signal 3 reflected from the target of measuring (230) by the operation of Shutter 3 (235)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Alalusi to comprise the shutter similar to Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a physical light gate for separating the incoming light and segmenting them into distinguishable time windows.
Regarding claim 3, Alalusi, as modified above, teaches the phase difference calculation device according to claim 2, wherein the light reception unit further includes a circuit configuration capable of comparing light amounts received in the fourth light receiving time window,
Alalusi fails to teach the device wherein the light amounts are received before and after the operation timing of the shutter is advanced.
However, Kim teaches the device wherein the light amounts are received before and after the operation timing of the shutter is advanced ([0064] Likewise, the signal generating part may generate Signal 3 at Time 3 after Time 2 and Signal 4 at Time 4 after Time 3. (C) in Drawing 1 shows that Signal 3 receives the Signal 3 reflected from the target of measuring (230) by the operation of Shutter 3 (235)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Alalusi to comprise the shutter similar to Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a physical light gate for separating the incoming light and segmenting them into distinguishable time windows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23rd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument on page 5 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks regarding the argument that Alalusi is absent any teaching or suggestion of controlling the time window during which electromagnetic signals are transmitted and/or collected as well as that Alalusi teaches a correlation window defined as a digital pattern, the examiner notes this argument is not persuasive. While the method of control in the prior art of Alalusi is not directly that described in the immediate application, the method and device described by Alalusi teaches a shifting of time windows teaching the broadest reasonable interpretation of the time window shift of the claim limitations as written to one of ordinary skill in the art. Without further limiting the claims to describe how they overcome the prior art or further describing the time shift mechanism, the prior art is considered to steal teach the claim limits in this Non-Final Office Action.
Applicant further argues that Alalusi is absent any teaching or suggestion of any additional receiving antenna or device for detecting electromagnetic signal and that Alalusi does not teach or suggest calculating the phase differences on the bases of light amounts collected ruing multiple distinct light receiving time windows. Once again the examiner notes that claims are examined under the broadest reasonable interpretation to one of ordinary skill in the art. Under this metric the claim language is not narrow enough to exclude the prior art of Alalusi from teaching the limitations of the independent claims as written, and further amendments to the claims would be required to overcome the current rejection based on the prior art.
In response to applicant’s argument on page 8 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks regarding the argument that the prior art of record is non-obvious to combine, the examiner notes that combination of prior art is not limited to the boundaries argued by the applicant. While the prior art of Kim and Alalusi describe different approaches of Lidar, they overlap in their post processing needs relating to signal clarification. As such one of ordinary skill in the art similarly seeking to increase detection accuracy would be motivated to look at both approaches taken by the prior art of record and combine them in a manner similar to the immediate application. Given this, the motivation, in addition to the above statement of obviousness, has led to the rejection being maintained in the current office action.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645