Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-32, 34, 36-41, 44-45, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan (WO2019217438) in view of Wada (JP2016221538) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Fig. 1B of Raghavan
Fig. 2 of Raghavan
Regarding claim 1, Raghavan teaches a processing system (100) comprising:
an irradiation part (114) that is configured to irradiate an object with an energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 energy delivery system 114 is configured to deliver energy from energy source 118)
a powder supply part (120) that is configured to supply powder (Pg. 7 lines 9-11 powder) to a melt pool formed by an irradiation of the energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 dispenser 120 to dispense successive layers 121 of feed material onto the platform 106, where energy delivery system 114 provides energy in a controlled manner to melt and fuse the feed material);
an illumination apparatus (112) that is configured to illuminate a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified at least with a second light having a wavelength range (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 Fig. 1b spectrophotometer 112 is an infrared spectrophotometer that emits an infrared light toward a portion of the feed material; where the spectrophotometer 112 emits a light at an infrared wavelength in region 140, which includes portions of a solidified melt pool and not solidified melt pool); the first light being caused by a thermal radiation from the melt pool that is molten by the energy beam (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool).
a detection apparatus (108, 110 Fig. 1b) that is configured to optically receive at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool) and at least a part of a third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) from a part of the solidified part that is illuminated with the second light (Pg. 11 lines 15-25 imager 108 is an infrared image capture system, e.g., an infrared camera, that captures images indicative of temperature variation within a region 140 of the build area 122; where the first and third lights are taken to be infrared waves detected by infrared imager 108),
a control apparatus (119) that is configured to perform a first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 13 lines 1-15 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool; Pg. 15 lines 10-25 melt pool monitor 110 provides to the controller 119 data indicative of a temperature of the melt pool 153, and the controller 119 can determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153 based on this data) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
and perform a second control operation different (Pg. 15 lines 10-30 Based on these data provided by the thermal imager 108, and optionally the spectrophotometer 112, the controller 119 can generate an accurate temperature profile, e.g., a temperature map, of the topmost layer 104 of feed material) from the first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) by the detection apparatus (108, 110).
Raghavan is silent on an illumination apparatus that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified with a second light in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam, the second light having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light, the first light being caused by a thermal radiation from the melt pool that is molten by the energy beam.
Wada teaches an illumination apparatus ([0055] 31) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part (50) where the melt pool is solidified with a second light (22a) in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam ([0055]),
the second light (C1) having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light (C2, Fig. 5 where C1 and C2 do not overlap), the first light (22b) being caused by a thermal radiation from the melt pool that is molten by the energy beam ([0040] plasma light 22b Fig. 1; plasma light 22b excited in the base material 26 by the laser light 22a; where plasma light 22b is understood to be caused by the energy from laser light 22a).
Raghavan and Wada are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of welding imaging. It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to illuminate a portion of the solidified part in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the second light does nt overlap with the first light in order to be able to receive an image that is not warped by the influence of the light from the energy beam (Wada [0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 1, wherein and Raghavan teaches the optically received result output by the detection apparatus (108, 110) has a difference between an intensity of the first light and an intensity of the third light that is equal to or smaller than an allowable value (Pg. 16 lines 10-20 The expected thermal map can be compared to the desired temperature map to generate an error signal, e.g., temperature differential map, where the first and third lights being received by imager 108 are taken to be at an intensity that does not generate an error signal).
Regarding claim 3, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 1, but Raghavan is silent on further comprising a filter member that allows at least the part of the first light and at least the part of the third light from the part of the solidified part to pass therethrough, a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first and third lights being set so that a difference between an intensity of the first light optically received by the imaging apparatus and an intensity of the third light optically received by the imaging apparatus is equal to or smaller than an allowable value.
Fig. 5 of Wada
Wada teaches further comprising a filter member (33) that allows at least a part of the first light ([0029] plasma light 22b) and at least a part of the third light from a part of the solidified part ([0028]light from workpiece 50) to pass therethrough,
a transmittance of the filter member (33) with respect to the first and third lights being set so that a difference between an intensity of the first light optically received by the detection apparatus and an intensity of the third light optically received by the detection apparatus is equal to or smaller than an allowable value ([0049-0053] 33, band pass filter, the transmissivity of the wave length band to allowable range of wave length is 770 (nm) to 850 (nm) Fig. 5, light from the workpiece 50 brought closer to light of laser and plasma light 22 a and 22 b, where plasma light 22b is the first light and light from the work piece is the third light).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to have a filter with a transmittance being set so that a difference between a first and third light received is equal or less than an allowable value so that the influence of light of auxiliary light sources may be reduced in order to improve the quality of the captured image of the workpiece (Wada [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 1, but Raghavan teaches the detection apparatus (108, 110) is an imaging apparatus (Pg. 13 lines 1-5 camera) but silent on the control apparatus is configured to control the illumination apparatus so that an intensity of the second light is higher as a brightness of an image part, which corresponds to the first light, of an image output by the imaging apparatus is higher.
Wada teaches the control apparatus is configured to control the illumination apparatus so that an intensity of the second light is higher (31a) as a brightness of an image part, which corresponds to the first light (22b), of an image output by the imaging apparatus is higher ([0100] illuminating the workpiece 50 using the light 31a in the waveband between the laser light 22a and the plasma light 22b, where the intensity of light 31a corresponds to the brightness of plasma light 22b).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to control the intensity of the second light to be higher when the first light is higher so that the influence of light of auxiliary light sources may be reduced in order to improve the quality of the captured image of the workpiece (Wada [0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 1, but Raghavan teaches the control apparatus (Pg. 6 lines 1-10 controller 119 is operably connected to the sensor system 102 and the energy delivery system 114) that is configured to control a processing apparatus (114), which is configured to process the object, based on an output of the detection apparatus (108, 110 Pg. 16 lines 15-20At a high level, if an expected temperature at a location is less than the desired temperature at the location in the build area 122, heat supplied to the location can be increased. For example, a power of an infrared lamp directly above the location can be increased temperature. Conversely, if an expected temperature at a location is greater than the desired temperature at the location, the heat supplied can be decreased. For example, power to the corresponding infrared lamp can be decreased.)
Regarding claim 6, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 1, but Raghavan teaches the control apparatus (Pg. 6 lines 1-10 controller 119 controlling 102, which includes melt pool monitor 110) is configured to determine a shape of the object based on the optically received result of the third light (Pg. 13 lines 25-31 properties detected by the melt pool monitor 110 can include one or more properties indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153), and control the processing apparatus so that a difference between the shape of the object and a target shape of the object decreases (Pg. 178 lines 14-25 The measured dimension of the melt pool, e.g., as calculated by the controller 119 from the image from the melt pool monitoring system, can used as training data for the machine learning algorithm in the model and/or in the feedback system; where the feedback system is understood to reduce the difference between desired dimensions of the melt pool and actual dimensions).
Regarding claim 9, Raghavan teaches a processing system comprising (100):
an irradiation part (114) that is configured to irradiate an object with an energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 energy delivery system 114 is configured to deliver energy from energy source 118)
a powder supply part (120) that is configured to supply powder (Pg. 7 lines 9-11 powder) to a melt pool formed by an irradiation of the energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 dispenser 120 to dispense successive layers 121 of feed material onto the platform 106, where energy delivery system 114 provides energy in a controlled manner to melt and fuse the feed material);
a first light caused by thermal radiation from the melt pool (Fig. 1b region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool),
an illumination apparatus (112) that is configured to illuminate a part of a solidified part where with a second light (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 Fig. 1b spectrophotometer 112 is an infrared spectrophotometer that emits an infrared light toward a portion of the feed material; where the spectrophotometer 112 emits a light at an infrared wavelength in region 140, which includes portions of a solidified melt pool and not solidified melt pool)
a detection apparatus (108, 110 Fig. 1b) that is configured to optically receive at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool) and at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified);
a control apparatus (119) that is configured to perform a first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 13 lines 1-15 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool; Pg. 15 lines 10-25 melt pool monitor 110 provides to the controller 119 data indicative of a temperature of the melt pool 153, and the controller 119 can determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153 based on this data) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
and perform a second control operation different (Pg. 15 lines 10-30 Based on these data provided by the thermal imager 108, and optionally the spectrophotometer 112, the controller 119 can generate an accurate temperature profile, e.g., a temperature map, of the topmost layer 104 of feed material) from the first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) by the detection apparatus (108, 110).
Raghavan is silent on a filter member that allows at least a part of a first light emitted from the melt pool and at least a part of a third light from a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified to pass therethrough; a part of the third light that have passed through the filter member, an illumination apparatus that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part with a second light in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam, the second light having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light.
Wada teaches a filter member (33) that allows at least a part of a first light (22b) caused by thermal radiation emitted from the melt pool ([0028] plasma light 22b) and at least a part of a third light from a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified to pass therethrough ([0028] light from workpiece 50); a part of the third light that have passed through the filter member ([0030] light from workpiece 50, pass through filter 33 in imaging apparatus 30),
an illumination apparatus ([0055] 31) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part (50) with a second light (22a, 22b) in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam ([0055]), the second light (C1) having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light (C2, Fig. 5 where C1 and C2 do not overlap).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to have a filter member that allows a first and third light to pass through so that when an image is captured the influence of light of auxiliary light sources may be reduced in order to improve the quality of the captured image of the workpiece (Wada [0054]) and to have a display so that a user view a captured image and be able to supply further instruction based on the captured image (Wada [0016]). It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to illuminate a portion of the solidified part in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam where the second light does not overlap with the first light in order to be able to receive an image that is not warped by the influence of the light from the energy beam (Wada [0055]).
Regarding claim 10, Raghavan teaches a processing system comprising:
a processing apparatus (100) that is configured to process an object by irradiating the object with an energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 energy delivery system 114 is configured to deliver energy from energy source 118)
an illumination apparatus (112) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of the object at least with a second light in a wavelength range (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 Fig. 1b spectrophotometer 112 is an infrared spectrophotometer that emits an infrared light toward a portion of the feed material; where the spectrophotometer 112 emits a light at an infrared wavelength in region 140, which includes portions of a solidified melt pool and not solidified melt pool);
a detection apparatus (108, 110) that is configured to detect a light from a part of the object (Pg. 11 lines 10-25 region 140, thermal imager 108 detects light),
a control apparatus (119) that is configured to perform a first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 13 lines 1-15 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool; Pg. 15 lines 10-25 melt pool monitor 110 provides to the controller 119 data indicative of a temperature of the melt pool 153, and the controller 119 can determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153 based on this data) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
and perform a second control operation different (Pg. 15 lines 10-30 Based on these data provided by the thermal imager 108, and optionally the spectrophotometer 112, the controller 119 can generate an accurate temperature profile, e.g., a temperature map, of the topmost layer 104 of feed material) from the first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) by the detection apparatus (108, 110).
Raghavan is silent on an illumination apparatus that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified with a second light in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam.
Wada teaches an illumination apparatus ([0055] 31) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part (50) where the melt pool is solidified with a second light (22a, 22b) in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam ([0055]),
the second light (C1) having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light (C2, Fig. 5 where C1 and C2 do not overlap), the first light (22b) being caused by a thermal radiation from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam where a melt pool is molten by the energy beam ([0040] plasma light 22b Fig. 1; plasma light 22b excited in the base material 26 by the laser light 22a; where plasma light 22b is understood to be caused by the energy from laser light 22a).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to illuminate a portion of the solidified part in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam where the second light does not overlap with the first light in order to be able to receive an image that is not warped by the influence of the light from the energy beam (Wada [0055]).
Regarding claim 11, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 10, but Raghavan is silent on display apparatus that is configured to display, based on an output from the detection apparatus, an image related to the object illuminated with the second light, wherein the display apparatus is configured to display, based on the output from the detection apparatus, an image based on the first light emitted from the irradiated part of the object.
Wada teaches a display apparatus (40) that is configured to display ([0017] operation panel 40 displays a captured image), based on an output from the detection apparatus (30), an image related to the object illuminated with the second light ([0017] camera 30 images the periphery of the workpiece 50 to be laser processed, related to the area illuminated by 31a),
the display apparatus (40) is configured to display, based on the output from the detection apparatus (30), an image (P1) based on the first light (22b) from the irradiated part (50).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to have a display so that a user views a captured image and be able to supply further instruction based on the captured image (Wada [0016]).
Regarding claim 12, Raghavan teaches a processing system comprising:
a processing apparatus (100) that is configured to process an object by irradiating the object with an energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 energy delivery system 114 is configured to deliver energy from energy source 118);
an illumination apparatus (112) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of the object at least with a second light in a wavelength range (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 Fig. 1b spectrophotometer 112 is an infrared spectrophotometer that emits an infrared light toward a portion of the feed material; where the spectrophotometer 112 emits a light at an infrared wavelength in region 140, which includes portions of a solidified melt pool and not solidified melt pool) a first light emitted from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 as the feed material in the region 154 cools, optical wavelengths detectable by the spectrophotometer 112 vary, where an optical wavelength detectable by the spectrophotometer is taken to be a first light, which has a wavelength that is different at different times of cooling, taken to be from molten to solid);
a detection apparatus (108, 110) that is configured to detect a light from a part of the object (Pg. 11 lines 10-25 region 140, thermal imager 108 detects light),
1. a control apparatus (119) that is configured to perform a first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 13 lines 1-15 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool; Pg. 15 lines 10-25 melt pool monitor 110 provides to the controller 119 data indicative of a temperature of the melt pool 153, and the controller 119 can determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153 based on this data) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
2. and perform a second control operation different (Pg. 15 lines 10-30 Based on these data provided by the thermal imager 108, and optionally the spectrophotometer 112, the controller 119 can generate an accurate temperature profile, e.g., a temperature map, of the topmost layer 104 of feed material) from the first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) by the detection apparatus (108, 110).
Raghavan is silent on an illumination apparatus that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified with a second light in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam, the second light having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength of a first light, the first light being caused by a thermal radiation from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam where a melt pool is molten by the energy beam.
Wada teaches an illumination apparatus ([0055] 31) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part (50) where the melt pool is solidified with a second light (22a, 22b) in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam ([0055]),
the second light (C1) having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength of a first light (C2, Fig. 5 where C1 and C2 do not overlap), the first light (22b) being caused by a thermal radiation from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam where a melt pool is molten by the energy beam ([0040] plasma light 22b Fig. 1; plasma light 22b excited in the base material 26 by the laser light 22a; where plasma light 22b is understood to be caused by the energy from laser light 22a).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to have a display so that a user views a captured image and be able to supply further instruction based on the captured image (Wada [0016]). It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to illuminate a portion of the solidified part in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam where the second light does not overlap with the first light in order to be able to receive an image that is not warped by the influence of the light from the energy beam (Wada [0055]).
Regarding claim 13, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 11, and Raghavan teaches wherein the detection apparatus (108, 110) is configured to detect the first light emitted from the irradiated part (Fig. 1b region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool) and detect the third light from the object that is illuminated with the second light (Fig. 1b region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified).
Regarding claim 14, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 13, but Raghavan is silent on further comprising a filter member that allows the first light emitted and the third light to pass therethrough, the detection apparatus being configured to detect the first light from the irradiated part of the object and the third light from the object through the filter member.
Wada teaches further comprising a filter member (33) that allows the first light ([0029] plasma light 22b) and the third light to pass therethrough ([0028] light from workpiece 50),
the detection apparatus (30) being configured to detect the first light (22b) from the irradiated part (50) and the third light from the object ([0028] reflect light of workpiece 50) through the filter member (33).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to have a filter member that allows a first and third light to pass through so that when an image is captured the influence of light of auxiliary light sources may be reduced in order to improve the quality of the captured image of the workpiece (Wada [0054]).
Regarding claim 15, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 13, but Raghavan is silent on a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first light is lower than a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the third light.
Wada teaches a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first light is lower than a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the third light ( [0049-0053] 33, band pass filter, the transmissivity of the wave length band to allowable range of wave length is 770 (nm) to 850 (nm) Fig. 5, light from the workpiece 50 brought closer to light of laser and plasma light 22 a and 22 b, where plasma light 22b is the first light and light from the work piece is the third light).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to have a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first light be lower than a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the third light so that when an image is captured the influence of light of auxiliary light sources may be reduced in order to improve the quality of the captured image of the workpiece (Wada [0054]).
Regarding claim 16, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 13, but Raghavan is silent on wherein a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first and third lights is set so that a difference between an intensity of the first light detected by the detection apparatus and an intensity of the third light detected by the detection apparatus is equal to or smaller than an allowable value.
Wada teaches a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first and third lights is set so that a difference between an intensity of the first light detected by the detection apparatus and an intensity of the third light detected by the detection apparatus is equal to or smaller than an allowable value ( [0049-0053] 33, band pass filter, the transmissivity of the wave length band to allowable range of wave length is 770 (nm) to 850 (nm) Fig. 5, light from the workpiece 50 brought closer to light of laser and plasma light 22 a and 22 b, where plasma light 22b is the first light and light from the work piece is the third light).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to have a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first and third lights be set so that a difference between an intensity of the first light detected by the detection apparatus and an intensity of the third light detected by the detection apparatus is equal to or smaller than an allowable value so that when an image is captured the influence of light of auxiliary light sources may be reduced in order to improve the quality of the captured image of the workpiece (Wada [0054]).
Regarding claim 17, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 10, and Raghavan teaches wherein the control apparatus (Pg. 6 lines 1-10 controller 119 is operably connected to the sensor system 102 and the energy delivery system 114) that is configured to control the illumination apparatus (112) based on the detected result of the first light (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 Fig. 1b spectrophotometer 112 is an infrared spectrophotometer that emits an infrared light toward a portion of the feed material; where the spectrophotometer 112 emits a light at an infrared wavelength in region 140, which includes portions of a solidified melt pool and not solidified melt pool).
Regarding claim 18, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 13, but Raghavan is silent on wherein the control apparatus that is configured to control the illumination apparatus based on a detected result of the first light and a detected result of the third light.
Wada teaches wherein the control apparatus (30) that is configured to control the illumination apparatus (31a) based on the detected result of the first light (22b) and the detected result of the third light ([0051-0053] light reflected by the workpiece 50, adjusting light intensity of auxiliary light 31a top increase the amount of light reflects by workpiece 50).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to control the illumination apparatus based on a first and third light to improve the quality of the image received through an adjustment of light intensities (Wada [0054]).
Regarding claim 19, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 18, but Raghavan is silent on the control apparatus is configured to control the illumination apparatus to increase an intensity of the second light when an average brightness of an image part corresponding to the first light is higher than an average brightness of an image part corresponding to the third light by a first predetermined value or more.
Wada teaches the control apparatus (35) is configured to control the illumination apparatus (31a) to increase an intensity of the second light ([0058] turn on) when an average brightness of an image part corresponding to the first light is higher than an average brightness of an image part corresponding to the third light by a first predetermined value or more ([0058, 0102] turning on light source 31 when laser beam, 22a irradiates, taken to be a first light, the light from molten metal, is created, being brighter than a light from not molten metal).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to increase an intensity of a second light when a first light is brighter than a third light so that a camera may be able to receive an image of the workpiece while reducing the halation of the captured image (Wada [0102]).
Regarding claim 20, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 18, but Raghavan is silent on wherein the control apparatus is configured to control the illumination apparatus to decrease an intensity of the second light when an average brightness of an image part corresponding to the first light is lower than an average brightness of an image part corresponding to the third light by a second predetermined value or more.
Wada teaches the control apparatus (35) is configured to control the illumination apparatus (31a) to decrease an intensity of the second light when an average brightness of an image part corresponding to the first light is lower than an average brightness of an image part corresponding to the third light by a second predetermined value or more ([0058, 0102] turning off light source 31 when laser beam 22a does not irradiate, taken to be a first light, the light from molten metal, is not created, being brighter than a light from not molten metal).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to decrease an intensity of a second light when a first light is lower than a third light so that a camera may be able to receive an image of the workpiece while reducing the halation of the captured image (Wada [0102]).
Regarding claim 21, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 17, but Raghavan is silent on wherein the control apparatus is configured to control the illumination apparatus so that an intensity of the second light is higher as a brightness of an image part corresponding to the first light is higher.
Wada teaches the control apparatus (35) is configured to control the illumination apparatus (31a) so that an intensity of the second light is higher as a brightness of an image part corresponding to the first light is higher (31a is on).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to decrease an intensity of a second light when a first light is lower than a third light so that a camera may be able to receive an image of the workpiece while reducing the halation of the captured image (Wada [0102]).
Regarding claim 22, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 13, but Raghavan is silent on wherein the control apparatus is configured to control the illumination apparatus based on the detected result of the third light.
Wada teaches further comprising an illumination control apparatus (35) that is configured to control the illumination apparatus (31a) based on a detected result of the third light (turning off light source 31 when laser beam 22a does not irradiate, taken to be a first light, the light from molten metal, is not created, being brighter than a light from not molten metal).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to control the illumination apparatus based on the third light so that a camera may be able to receive an image of the workpiece while reducing the halation of the captured image (Wada [0102]).
Regarding claim 23, Raghavan teaches a processing system comprising:
an irradiation apparatus that is configured to emit an energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 energy delivery system 114 is configured to deliver energy from energy source 118);
an illumination apparatus (112) that is configured to perform an illumination of a part of an object with a second light having a wavelength range (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 Fig. 1b spectrophotometer 112 is an infrared spectrophotometer that emits an infrared light toward a portion of the feed material; where the spectrophotometer 112 emits a light at an infrared wavelength in region 140, which includes portions of a solidified melt pool and not solidified melt pool) , a first light emitted from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 as the feed material in the region 154 cools, optical wavelengths detectable by the spectrophotometer 112 vary, where an optical wavelength detectable by the spectrophotometer is taken to be a first light, which has a wavelength that is different at different times of cooling, taken to be from molten to solid); and
a light reception part (108) that is configured to optically receive a light from at least a part of an area of the object that is illuminated by the illumination apparatus at least (Pg. 11 lines 10-25 thermal imager 108 is an infrared image capture system, e.g., an infrared camera, that captures images indicative of temperature variation within a region 140 of the build area 122, Fig. 2),
a control apparatus (119) that is configured to perform a first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 13 lines 1-15 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool; Pg. 15 lines 10-25 melt pool monitor 110 provides to the controller 119 data indicative of a temperature of the melt pool 153, and the controller 119 can determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153 based on this data) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
and perform a second control operation different (Pg. 15 lines 10-30 Based on these data provided by the thermal imager 108, and optionally the spectrophotometer 112, the controller 119 can generate an accurate temperature profile, e.g., a temperature map, of the topmost layer 104 of feed material) from the first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) by the detection apparatus (108, 110).
Raghavan is silent on an illumination apparatus that is configured to perform an illumination of a part of an object with a second light in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam, the second light having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light, the first light being caused by a thermal radiation from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam where a melt pool is molten by the energy beam.
Wada teaches an illumination apparatus ([0055] 31) that is configured to perform an illumination of a part of an object (50) with a second light in (22a, 22b) in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam ([0055]),
the second light (C1) having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light (C2, Fig. 5 where C1 and C2 do not overlap), the first light (22b) being by a thermal radiation from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam where a melt pool is molten by the energy beam ([0040] plasma light 22b Fig. 1; plasma light 22b excited in the base material 26 by the laser light 22a; where plasma light 22b is understood to be caused by the energy from laser light 22a).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to illuminate a portion of the solidified part in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam where the second light does not overlap with the first light in order to be able to receive an image that is not warped by the influence of the light from the energy beam (Wada [0055]).
Regarding claim 24, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 23, and Raghavan teaches wherein
the area (140) that is illuminated by the illumination apparatus (108) includes at least one of the irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam (132) and an area that is not irradiated with the energy beam (Fig. 2),
the light reception part (108) is configured to optically receive the first light from the irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam (132) and the third light from the area that is not irradiated with the energy beam (Pg. 11 lines 10-25 thermal imager 108 is an infrared image capture system, e.g., an infrared camera, that captures images indicative of temperature variation within a region 140 of the build area 122, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 25, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 23, and Raghavan teaches
further comprising a powder supply member (120) that is configured to supply powder (powder) to a vicinity of an irradiation position of the energy beam (132, Fig.2),
the area (140) that is illuminated by the illumination apparatus including the powder (Fig. 2),
the light reception part (108) being configured to optically receive a light from the powder (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 26, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 23, and Raghavan teaches further comprising a powder supply member (120) that is configured to supply powder (powder) to a vicinity of an irradiation position of the energy beam (132, Fig.2),
the processing system performing an additive processing by using the energy beam and the powder (Pg. 3 lines 25-30 additive manufacturing processes).
Regarding claim 27, Raghavan teaches a processing system comprising:
a processing apparatus (100 that is configured to process an object by irradiating the object with an energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 energy delivery system 114 is configured to deliver energy from energy source 118);
an illumination apparatus (112) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of the object at least with a second light in a wavelength range (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 Fig. 1b spectrophotometer 112 is an infrared spectrophotometer that emits an infrared light toward a portion of the feed material; where the spectrophotometer 112 emits a light at an infrared wavelength in region 140, which includes portions of a solidified melt pool and not solidified melt pool), a first light emitted from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 as the feed material in the region 154 cools, optical wavelengths detectable by the spectrophotometer 112 vary, where an optical wavelength detectable by the spectrophotometer is taken to be a first light, which has a wavelength that is different at different times of cooling, taken to be from molten to solid); and
a detection apparatus (108, 110) that is configured to detect a light from a part of the object (Pg. 11 lines 10-25 region 140, thermal imager 108 detects light); and
a control apparatus (119) that is configured to perform a first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 13 lines 1-15 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool; Pg. 15 lines 10-25 melt pool monitor 110 provides to the controller 119 data indicative of a temperature of the melt pool 153, and the controller 119 can determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153 based on this data) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
and perform a second control operation different (Pg. 15 lines 10-30 Based on these data provided by the thermal imager 108, and optionally the spectrophotometer 112, the controller 119 can generate an accurate temperature profile, e.g., a temperature map, of the topmost layer 104 of feed material) from the first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
the processing apparatus (100) being configured to process the object based on an information that is related to the object illuminated with the second light and that is detected by the detection apparatus (108m 110 Pg. 6 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 1-12 controller 118 operates the energy delivery system 114 based on measurements of properties of the feed material, from the sensor system 102 provides measurements of temperature of the topmost layer 104 at a variety of different levels of resolution, where sensor system 102 includes spectrophotometer 112 which illuminates light and receives light).
Raghavan is silent on an illumination apparatus that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified with a second light in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam, the second light having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light, the first light being caused by a thermal radiation from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam where a melt pool is molten by the energy beam.
Wada teaches an illumination apparatus ([0055] 31) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part (50) where the melt pool is solidified with a second light (22a, 22b) in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam ([0055]),
the second light (C1) having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light (C2, Fig. 5 where C1 and C2 do not overlap), the first light (22b) being caused by a thermal radiation from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam where a melt pool is molten by the energy beam ([0040] plasma light 22b Fig. 1; plasma light 22b excited in the base material 26 by the laser light 22a; where plasma light 22b is understood to be caused by the energy from laser light 22a).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to illuminate a portion of the solidified part in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam where the second light does not overlap with the first light in order to be able to receive an image that is not warped by the influence of the light from the energy beam (Wada [0055]).
Regarding claim 28, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 27, and Raghavan teaches
the processing apparatus (100) is configured to process the object based on an information that is based on the first light emitted from the irradiated part of the object detected by the detection apparatus (108, 110 Pg. 6 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 1-12 controller 119 operates the energy delivery system 114 based on measurements of properties of the feed material, from the sensor system 102 provides measurements of temperature of the topmost layer 104 at a variety of different levels of resolution, where sensor system 102 includes spectrophotometer 112 which illuminates light and receives light).
Regarding claim 29, Raghavan teaches a processing system comprising:
a processing apparatus (100) that is configured to process an object by irradiating the object with an energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 energy delivery system 114 is configured to deliver energy from energy source 118);
an illumination apparatus (112) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of the object at least with a second light in a wavelength range (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 Fig. 1b spectrophotometer 112 is an infrared spectrophotometer that emits an infrared light toward a portion of the feed material; where the spectrophotometer 112 emits a light at an infrared wavelength in region 140, which includes portions of a solidified melt pool and not solidified melt pool), a first light emitted from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 as the feed material in the region 154 cools, optical wavelengths detectable by the spectrophotometer 112 vary, where an optical wavelength detectable by the spectrophotometer is taken to be a first light, which has a wavelength that is different at different times of cooling, taken to be from molten to solid); and
a detection apparatus (108, 110) that is configured to detect a light from a part of the object (Pg. 11 lines 10-25 region 140, thermal imager 108 detects light); and
a control apparatus (119) that is configured to perform a first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 13 lines 1-15 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool; Pg. 15 lines 10-25 melt pool monitor 110 provides to the controller 119 data indicative of a temperature of the melt pool 153, and the controller 119 can determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153 based on this data) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
and perform a second control operation different (Pg. 15 lines 10-30 Based on these data provided by the thermal imager 108, and optionally the spectrophotometer 112, the controller 119 can generate an accurate temperature profile, e.g., a temperature map, of the topmost layer 104 of feed material) from the first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) by the detection apparatus (108, 110).
the processing apparatus (100) being configured to process the object based on an information that is based on the first light from the irradiated part detected by the detection apparatus (108, 110) and an information related to the object that is illuminated with the second light (Pg. 6 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 1-12 controller 118 operates the energy delivery system 114 based on measurements of properties of the feed material, from the sensor system 102 provides measurements of temperature of the topmost layer 104 at a variety of different levels of resolution, where sensor system 102 includes spectrophotometer 112 which illuminates light and receives light).
Raghavan is silent on an illumination apparatus that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified with a second light in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam, the second light having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light, the first light being caused by a thermal radiation from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam where a melt pool is molten by the energy beam.
Wada teaches an illumination apparatus ([0055] 31) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part (50) where the melt pool is solidified with a second light (22a, 22b) in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam ([0055]),
the second light (C1) having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light (C2, Fig. 5 where C1 and C2 do not overlap), the first light (22b) being caused by a thermal radiation from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam where a melt pool is molten by the energy beam ([0040] plasma light 22b Fig. 1; plasma light 22b excited in the base material 26 by the laser light 22a; where plasma light 22b is understood to be caused by the energy from laser light 22a).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to illuminate a portion of the solidified part in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam where the second light does not overlap with the first light in order to be able to receive an image that is not warped by the influence of the light from the energy beam (Wada [0055]).
Regarding claim 30, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 28, and Raghavan teaches wherein
the detection apparatus (108, 110) configured to detect the first light emitted from the irradiated part of the object (Fig. 1b region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool) and detect a third light from the object that is illuminated with the second light (Fig. 1b region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified).
Regarding claim 31, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 30, and Raghavan teaches the control apparatus (Pg. 6 lines 1-10 controller 119 is operably connected to the sensor system 102 and the energy delivery system 114) that is configured to control the processing apparatus (114) based on a detected result by the detection apparatus (108, 110).
Regarding claim 32, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 31, and Raghavan teaches the processing control apparatus is configured to use a detected result of the first light for a first use application (Fig. 1b Pg. 13 lines 1-15 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool; Pg. 15 lines 10-25 melt pool monitor 110 provides to the controller 119 data indicative of a temperature of the melt pool 153, and the controller 119 can determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153 based on this data),
and use a detected result of the third light for a second use application that is different from the first use application (Pg. 15 lines 10-30 Based on these data provided by the thermal imager 108, and optionally the spectrophotometer 112, the controller 119 can generate an accurate temperature profile, e.g., a temperature map, of the topmost layer 104 of feed material).
Regarding claim 34, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 31, and Raghavan teaches the control apparatus (Pg. 6 lines 1-10 119 controlling 102, which includes melt pool monitor 110) is configured to determine a shape of the object based on a detected result of the third light (Pg. 13 lines 25-31 properties detected by the melt pool monitor 110 can include one or more properties indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153), and set a processing condition of the processing apparatus so that a difference between the shape of the object and a target shape of the object decreases (Pg. 17 lines 14-25 The measured dimension of the melt pool, e.g., as calculated by the controller 119 from the image from the melt pool monitoring system, can used as training data for the machine learning algorithm in the model and/or in the feedback system; where the feedback system is understood to reduce the difference between desired dimensions of the melt pool and actual dimensions).
Regarding claim 36, Raghavan teaches the processing system according to claim 31, but is silent on wherein the control apparatus includes: a position determination apparatus that is configured to determine a position from which the first light is emitted; and a use-range determination apparatus that is configured to determine a range of use of the third light based on the position determined by the position determination apparatus, the processing control apparatus is configured to set a processing condition of the processing apparatus based on the third light used by the use-range determination apparatus.
Fig. 7 of Wada
Wada teaches the processing control apparatus includes:
a position determination apparatus (41) that is configured to determine a position from which the first light is emitted ([0075] determine temperature at a plurality of positions of metal powder 23a, able to determine position of the first light, being from a molten metal, based on the temperature received) ; and
a use-range determination apparatus (42) that is configured to determine a range of use of the third light based on the position determined by the position determination apparatus (Fig. 7B [0071] movement of metal powder 23a along trajectory Q21, the reflected light from metal power 23a, being the third light, is used to determine a temperature and speed of the deposited powder),
the control apparatus is configured to set a processing condition of the processing apparatus based on the third light used by the use-range determination apparatus (Fig. 7B [0068] movement of metal powder 23a along trajectory Q21 to estimate speed and temperature, to control the camera 30).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to determine positions from which a first light and a third light based that sets a processing condition so that the controller may estimate the temperature of the metal powder at a plurality of positions to create a temperature map and determine a trajectory and movement of the powder during deposition (Wada [0068-0071]).
Regarding claim 37, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 36, and Raghavan teaches further comprising a movement apparatus (135) that is configured to move a position of the irradiated part of the object (Pg. 9 line 15-20), but is silent on the use-range determination apparatus being configured to determine the range of use of the third light based on a moving direction of the position of the irradiated part of the object by the movement apparatus and the position determined by the position determination apparatus.
Wada teaches the use-range determination apparatus (user 70 using monitor 42) being configured to determine the range of use of the third light based on a moving direction of the position of the irradiated part of the object by the movement apparatus and the position determined by the position determination apparatus (Fig. 7B movement of metal powder 23a along trajectory Q21, the reflected light from metal power 23a, being the third light, is used to determine a temperature and speed of the deposited powder).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to determine the third light based on a position of the irradiated part so that the controller may estimate the temperature of the metal powder at a plurality of positions to create a temperature map and determine a trajectory and movement of the powder during deposition (Wada [0068-0071]).
Regarding claim 38, Raghavan teaches a processing system comprising:
a processing apparatus including an irradiation part (114) that is configured to irradiate an object with an energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 energy delivery system 114 is configured to deliver energy from energy source 118) and a powder supply part (120) that is configured to supply powder to a melt pool formed by an irradiation of the energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 dispenser 120 to dispense successive layers 121 of feed material onto the platform 106, where energy delivery system 114 provides energy in a controlled manner to melt and fuse the feed material);
an illumination apparatus (112) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of the object at least with a second light in a wavelength range (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 Fig. 1b spectrophotometer 112 is an infrared spectrophotometer that emits an infrared light toward a portion of the feed material; where the spectrophotometer 112 emits a light at an infrared wavelength in region 140, which includes portions of a solidified melt pool and not solidified melt pool) a first light, the first light being cause by a thermal radiation from the melt pool(Pg. 14 lines 1-15 as the feed material in the region 154 cools, optical wavelengths detectable by the spectrophotometer 112 vary, where an optical wavelength detectable by the spectrophotometer is taken to be a first light, which has a wavelength that is different at different times of cooling, taken to be from molten to solid); and
a detection apparatus (108, 110) that is configured to optically receive at least a part of the first light (Pg. 11 lines 10-25 region 140, thermal imager 108 detects light, from melt pool) and at least a part of the third light (Pg. 11 lines 10-25 region 140, thermal imager 108 detects light, including from the solidified portion);
a control apparatus (119) that is configured to perform a first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 13 lines 1-15 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool; Pg. 15 lines 10-25 melt pool monitor 110 provides to the controller 119 data indicative of a temperature of the melt pool 153, and the controller 119 can determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153 based on this data) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
and perform a second control operation different (Pg. 15 lines 10-30 Based on these data provided by the thermal imager 108, and optionally the spectrophotometer 112, the controller 119 can generate an accurate temperature profile, e.g., a temperature map, of the topmost layer 104 of feed material) from the first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) by the detection apparatus (108, 110).
Raghavan is silent on the second light having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light, the first light being caused by a thermal radiation from the melt pool that is molten by the energy beam, a filter member that allows at least a part of the first light caused by the thermal radiation from the melt pool and at least a part of a third light from a part of the solidified part that is illuminated with the second light to pass therethrough; a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first light being lower than a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the third light, an illumination apparatus that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified with a second light in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam, a detection apparatus that is configured to optically receive at least a part of the first light and at least a part of the third light that have passed through the filter member.
Wada teaches the second light (C1) having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light (C2, Fig. 5 where C1 and C2 do not overlap), the first light (22b) being caused by a thermal radiation from the melt pool that is molten by the energy beam ([0040] plasma light 22b Fig. 1; plasma light 22b excited in the base material 26 by the laser light 22a; where plasma light 22b is understood to be caused by the energy from laser light 22a).
a filter member (33) that allows at least a part of the first light caused by the thermal radiation from the melt pool (plasma light 22b) and at least a part of a third light from a part of the solidified part that is illuminated with the second light to pass therethrough (light from workpiece 50, illuminated by 31a);
a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first light is lower than a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the third light ( [0049-0053] 33, band pass filter, the transmissivity of the wave length band to allowable range of wave length is 770 (nm) to 850 (nm) Fig. 5, light from the workpiece 50 brought closer to light of laser and plasma light 22 a and 22 b, where plasma light 22b is the first light and light from the work piece is the third light),
an illumination apparatus ([0055] 31) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part (50) where the melt pool is solidified with a second light (22a, 22b) in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam ([0055]),
a detection apparatus (30) that is configured to optically receive at least a part of the first light (22b) and at least a part of the third light (reflect light of workpiece 50) that have passed through the filter member (33).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to have a display so that a user view a captured image and be able to supply further instruction based on the captured image (Wada [0016]) and to have a filter and a transmittance of the filter have a lower transmittance with respect to the first light than the third light so that when an image is captured the influence of light of auxiliary light sources may be reduced in order to improve the quality of the captured image of the workpiece (Wada [0054]). It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to illuminate a portion of the solidified part in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam where the second light does not overlap with the first light in order to be able to receive an image that is not warped by the influence of the light from the energy beam (Wada [0055]).
Regarding claim 39, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 38, but Raghavan is silent on wherein the transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first and third lights is set so that a difference between an intensity of the first light optically received by the detection apparatus and an intensity of the third light optically received by the detection apparatus is equal to or smaller than an allowable value.
Wada teaches the transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first and third lights is set so that a difference between an intensity of the first light optically received by the detection apparatus and an intensity of the third light optically received by the detection apparatus is equal to or smaller than an allowable value ( [0049-0053] 33, band pass filter, the transmissivity of the wave length band to allowable range of wave length is 770 (nm) to 850 (nm) Fig. 5, light from the workpiece 50 brought closer to light of laser and plasma light 22 a and 22 b, where plasma light 22b is the first light and light from the work piece is the third light).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to have a transmittance of the filter member with respect to the first and third lights be set so that a difference between an intensity of the first light detected by the detection apparatus and an intensity of the third light detected by the detection apparatus is equal to or smaller than an allowable value so that when an image is captured the influence of light of auxiliary light sources may be reduced in order to improve the quality of the captured image of the workpiece (Wada [0054]).
Regarding claim 40, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 38, and Raghavan teaches wherein the control apparatus (119) that is configured to control the processing apparatus (100) based on the output of the detection apparatus (108, \110 Pg. 16 lines 10-20 thermal map).
Regarding claim 41, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 40, and Raghavan teaches the control apparatus (Pg. 6 lines 1-10 119 controlling 102, which includes melt pool monitor 110) is configured to determine a shape of the object based on the optically received result of the third light (Pg. 13 lines 25-31 properties detected by the melt pool monitor 110 can include one or more properties indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153), and control the processing apparatus so that a difference between the shape of the object and a target shape of the object decreases (Pg. 17 lines 14-25 The measured dimension of the melt pool, e.g., as calculated by the controller 119 from the image from the melt pool monitoring system, can used as training data for the machine learning algorithm in the model and/or in the feedback system; where the feedback system is understood to reduce the difference between desired dimensions of the melt pool and actual dimensions).
Regarding claim 44, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 38, and Raghavan teaches the control apparatus (Pg. 6 lines 1-10 controller 119 is operably connected to the sensor system 102 and the energy delivery system 114) that is configured to control the illumination apparatus based on the optically received result of the first life (Pg. 4 lines 30-31 sensor system 102 can also include a spectrophotometer 112),
the control apparatus being configured to control the illumination apparatus so that an intensity of the second light is higher (31a) as a brightness of an image part, which corresponds to the first light (22b), of an image obtained from the output of the imaging apparatus is higher ([0100] illuminating the workpiece 50 using the light 31a in the waveband between the laser light 22a and the plasma light 22b, where the intensity of light 31a corresponds to the brightness of plasma light 22b).
Regarding claim 45, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 38, and Raghavan teaches further comprising a movement apparatus (135) that is configured to move a position of an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam (Pg. 9 line 15-20), but is silent on a range of the third light that is used to set a processing condition of the processing apparatus is determined based on a moving direction of the position of the irradiated part by the movement apparatus and a position from which the first light is emitted.
Wada teaches a range of the third light that is used to set a processing condition of the processing apparatus is determined based on a moving direction of the position of the irradiated part of the object by the movement apparatus and a position from which the first light is emitted (Fig. 7B movement of metal powder 23a along trajectory Q21, the reflected light from metal power 23a, being the third light, is used to determine a temperature and speed of the deposited powder).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to have a range of the third light be used as a processing condition so that the controller may estimate the temperature of the metal powder at a plurality of positions to create a temperature map and determine a trajectory and movement of the powder during deposition (Wada [0068-0071]).
Regarding claim 47, Raghavan teaches A processing system comprising: a processing apparatus including an irradiation part (114) that is configured to irradiate an object with an energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 energy delivery system 114 is configured to deliver energy from energy source 118) and a powder supply part (120) that is configured to supply powder to a melt pool formed by an irradiation of the energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 dispenser 120 to dispense successive layers 121 of feed material onto the platform 106, where energy delivery system 114 provides energy in a controlled manner to melt and fuse the feed material)
an illumination apparatus (112) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of the object at least with a second light in a wavelength range (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 Fig. 1b spectrophotometer 112 is an infrared spectrophotometer that emits an infrared light toward a portion of the feed material; where the spectrophotometer 112 emits a light at an infrared wavelength in region 140, which includes portions of a solidified melt pool and not solidified melt pool) a first light being caused by a thermal radiation from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam where a melt pool is molten by the energy beam (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 as the feed material in the region 154 cools, optical wavelengths detectable by the spectrophotometer 112 vary, where an optical wavelength detectable by the spectrophotometer is taken to be a first light, which has a wavelength that is different at different times of cooling, taken to be from molten to solid); and
a detection apparatus (108, 110) that is configured to optically receive at least a part of the first light (Pg. 11 lines 10-25 region 140, thermal imager 108 detects light, from melt) and at least a part of the third light (Pg. 11 lines 10-25 region 140, thermal imager 108 detects light, including from the solidified portion); that that is illuminated with the second light (112)
a control apparatus (Pg. 6 lines 1-10 controller 119 is operably connected to the sensor system 102 and the energy delivery system 114) that is configured to control the illumination apparatus based on an optically received result of the first light by the imaging apparatus to perform a first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 13 lines 1-15 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool; Pg. 15 lines 10-25 melt pool monitor 110 provides to the controller 119 data indicative of a temperature of the melt pool 153, and the controller 119 can determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153 based on this data) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
and perform a second control operation different (Pg. 15 lines 10-30 Based on these data provided by the thermal imager 108, and optionally the spectrophotometer 112, the controller 119 can generate an accurate temperature profile, e.g., a temperature map, of the topmost layer 104 of feed material) from the first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
the control apparatus being configured to control the illumination apparatus so that an intensity of the second light is higher (31a) as a brightness of an image part, which corresponds to the first light (22b), of an image obtained from the output of the detection apparatus is higher ([0100] illuminating the workpiece 50 using the light 31a in the waveband between the laser light 22a and the plasma light 22b, where the intensity of light 31a corresponds to the brightness of plasma light 22b).
Raghavan is silent on an illumination apparatus that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified with a second light in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam, the second light having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light, the first light being caused by a thermal radiation from the melt pool that is molten by the energy beam.
Wada teaches an illumination apparatus ([0055] 31) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part (50) where the melt pool is solidified with a second light (22a, 22b) in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam ([0055]),
the second light (C1) having a wavelength range that does not overlap with a wavelength range of a first light (C2, Fig. 5 where C1 and C2 do not overlap), the first light (22b) being caused by a thermal radiation from the melt pool that is molten by the energy beam ([0040] plasma light 22b Fig. 1; plasma light 22b excited in the base material 26 by the laser light 22a; where plasma light 22b is understood to be caused by the energy from laser light 22a).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to illuminate a portion of the solidified part in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam in order to be able to receive an image that is not warped by the influence of the light from the energy beam (Wada [0055]).
Regarding claim 50, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 1, but Raghavan is silent on wherein a state where the wavelength range of the second light is different from the wavelength range of the first light includes a state where a peak wavelength of the second light is different from a wavelength included in a wavelength range part of the wavelength range of the first light in which an intensity of the first light is higher than a predetermined threshold value
Wada teaches a state where the wavelength range of the second light (31a, C3 Fig, 5) is different from the wavelength range of the first light (22b Fig. 5 C2) includes a state where a peak wavelength of the second light is different from a peak wavelength of the first light (Fig. 5 [0048] peak wavelength of C2 being 680nm and peak wavelength of 808nm).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Wada to have different peak wavelengths for the first and second lights such that the light received for imaging may be differentiated when received at by an imaging device and quality of the captured image may be increase (Wada [0051]).
Regarding claim 52, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 10, and Raghavan teaches the first light emitted from the irradiated part of the object includes a light emitted from a melt pool that is formed at the irradiated part of the object by an irradiation of the energy beam (Fig. 1b region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool)
Claims 7 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan (WO2019217438) in view of Wada (JP2016221538) as applied to claims 1 and 40 above, and further in view of Cheverton (US20160114431).
Regarding claims 7 and 42, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claims 5 and 40, but are silent on wherein the control apparatus is configured to control the processing apparatus to keep a size of the melt pool constant based on the optically received result of the first light.
Cheverton teaches the control apparatus is configured to control the processing apparatus to keep a size of the melt pool constant based on the optically received result of the first light (Fig. 5 [0054-0056] optical melt pool size, being based off of a first light emitted by the melt pool, maintain or adjust build parameters 72 based on detected size).
Raghavan, Wada, and Cheverton are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of welding imaging. It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan and Wada to incorporate the teachings of Cheverton to control the processing apparatus to have a constant melt pool based on light received so that a desired physical property of the component being made is achieved in real time (Cheverton [0006]).
Claims 8 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan (WO2019217438) in view of Wada (JP2016221538) as applied to claims 1 and 40 above, and further in view of Cai (US20080314878).
Regarding claims 8 and 43, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claims 5 and 40, but are silent on the control apparatus is configured to set a target value of a size of the melt pool based on the optically received result of the third light,
the control apparatus is configured to control the processing apparatus to process the object by forming the melt pool having a size that is equal to the set target value based on the optically received result of the first light.
Cai teaches the control apparatus is configured to set a target value of a size of the melt pool based on the optically received result of the third light ([0022, 0025-0031] target values 66, including melt pool width, established by parametric model 68, and based on real time measurements from images, where it is understood that cameras 30 and 28 receive light from portions of the melt pool and portions not in the melt pool, which is the third light)
the control apparatus is configured to control the processing apparatus to process the object by forming the melt pool having a size that is equal to the set target value based on the optically received result of the first light ([0024] a controller 40 that is configured to control the process parameters of the laser net-shape machining system 10 based upon the estimated and target values of the parameters associated with the manufacture or repair of the object 22).
Raghavan, Wada, and Cai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of welding imaging. It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan and Wada to incorporate the teachings of Cai to set a target size of the melt pool based on a third light and form the melt pool according to the target value so that the desired shape and size of the object may be achieved accurately based on estimated and targeted values (Cai [0005]).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan (WO2019217438) in view of Wada (JP2016221538) as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Yoneda (JP2009125790) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 33, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 31, but are silent on wherein the processing control apparatus is configured to set a processing condition of the processing apparatus based on a detected result of the third light, the processing control apparatus is configured to control the processing apparatus based on a detected result of the first light so that the processing apparatus processes the object by using the set processing condition.
Yoneda teaches the processing control apparatus (6) is configured to set a processing condition of the processing apparatus based on a detected result of the third light ([0017] using images from camera 2B to set a common reference point, where camera 2B detects light from welded bead C and welding line D),
the processing control apparatus is configured to control the processing apparatus based on a detected result of the first light so that the processing apparatus processes the object by using the set processing condition ([0017] using images from camera 2A to set a common reference point, where camera 2A detects light from arc A and the state of the molten pool B).
Raghavan, Wada, and Yoneda are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of welding imaging. It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Yoneda and Wada to set a processing condition based on a first light and a third light for a second application so that welding conditions may be obtained separately for a state of molten metal and a bead shape after welding in order to perform appropriate welding (Yoneda [0002]).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan (WO2019217438), Wada (JP2016221538), and Yoneda (JP2009125790) as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of Cai (US20080314878).
Regarding claim 35, Raghavan, Wada, and Yoneda teach the processing system according to claim 33, wherein and Raghavan teaches the processing apparatus is configured to form a melt pool at the irradiated part by irradiating the object with the energy beam ((Pg. 6 lines 1-10 controller 119 can cause the energy source 118 to selectively deliver energy to voxel, being the melt pool), but is silent on the control apparatus is configured to set, as the processing condition, a target value of a size of the melt pool based on the detected result of the third light, the control apparatus is configured to control the processing apparatus to process the object by forming the melt pool having a size that is equal to the set target value based on the detected result of the first light.
Cai teaches the control apparatus is configured to set, as the processing condition, a target value of a size of the melt pool based on the detected result of the third light ([0022, 0025-0031] target values 66, including melt pool width, established by parametric model 68, and based on real time measurements from images, where it is understood that cameras 30 and 28 receive light from portions of the melt pool and portions not in the melt pool, which is the third light)
the control apparatus is configured to control the processing apparatus to process the object by forming the melt pool having a size that is equal to the set target value based on the detected result of the first light ([0024] a controller 40 that is configured to control the process parameters of the laser net-shape machining system 10 based upon the estimated and target values of the parameters associated with the manufacture or repair of the object 22).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan, Wada, and Yoneda to incorporate the teachings of Cai to set a target size of the melt pool based on a third light and form the melt pool according to the target value so that the desired shape and size of the object may be achieved accurately based on estimated and targeted values (Cai [0005]).
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan (WO2019217438) in view of Cai (US20080314878) further in view of Wada (JP2016221538) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 46, Raghavan teaches A processing system comprising:
a processing apparatus including an irradiation part (114) that is configured to irradiate an object with an energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 energy delivery system 114 is configured to deliver energy from energy source 118) and a powder supply part (120) that is configured to supply powder to a melt pool formed by an irradiation of the energy beam (Pg. 6 lines 20-25 dispenser 120 to dispense successive layers 121 of feed material onto the platform 106, where energy delivery system 114 provides energy in a controlled manner to melt and fuse the feed material)
an illumination apparatus (112) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified with a second light in a wavelength range (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 Fig. 1b spectrophotometer 112 is an infrared spectrophotometer that emits an infrared light toward a portion of the feed material; where the spectrophotometer 112 emits a light at an infrared wavelength in region 140, which includes portions of a solidified melt pool and not solidified melt pool) that is different from a wavelength range of a first light emitted from an irradiated part of the object that is irradiated with the energy beam (Pg. 14 lines 1-15 as the feed material in the region 154 cools, optical wavelengths detectable by the spectrophotometer 112 vary, where an optical wavelength detectable by the spectrophotometer is taken to be a first light, which has a wavelength that is different at different times of cooling, taken to be from molten to solid); and
a detection apparatus (108, 110) that is configured to optically receive at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool) and at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) that is illuminated with the second light (Pg. 11 lines 15-25 imager 108 is an infrared image capture system, e.g., an infrared camera, that captures images indicative of temperature variation within a region 140 of the build area 122; where the first and third lights are taken to be infrared waves detected by infrared imager 108),; and
a control apparatus (119) that is configured to control the processing apparatus (100) based on the output of the detection apparatus (108, 110 Pg. 16 lines 10-20 thermal map), to perform a first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the first light (Fig. 1b Pg. 13 lines 1-15 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions of the melt pool; Pg. 15 lines 10-25 melt pool monitor 110 provides to the controller 119 data indicative of a temperature of the melt pool 153, and the controller 119 can determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153 based on this data) by the detection apparatus (108, 110),
and perform a second control operation different (Pg. 15 lines 10-30 Based on these data provided by the thermal imager 108, and optionally the spectrophotometer 112, the controller 119 can generate an accurate temperature profile, e.g., a temperature map, of the topmost layer 104 of feed material) from the first control operation (Pg. 15 lines 10-25 determine data indicative of a geometry of the melt pool 153) based on an optically received result of at least a part of the third light (Fig. 1b Pg. 12 lines 1-10, Pg. 14 lines 20-30 region 140 being detected by imager 108 includes portions that are illuminated by spectrophotometer 112 that may be cooled or solidified) by the detection apparatus (108, 110).
Raghavan is silent on the control apparatus being configured to set a target value of a size of the melt pool based on an optical received result of the third light, the control apparatus being configured to control the processing apparatus to process the object by forming the melt pool having a size that is equal to the set target value based on an optical received result of the first light, an illumination apparatus that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified with a second light in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam.
Cai teaches the control apparatus being configured to set a target value of a size of the melt pool based on an optical received result of the third light ([0022, 0025-0031] target values 66, including melt pool width, established by parametric model 68, and based on real time measurements from images, where it is understood that cameras 30 and 28 receive light from portions of the melt pool and portions not in the melt pool, which is the third light)
the control apparatus being configured to control the processing apparatus to process the object by forming the melt pool having a size that is equal to the set target value based on an optical received result of the first light ([0024] a controller 40 that is configured to control the process parameters of the laser net-shape machining system 10 based upon the estimated and target values of the parameters associated with the manufacture or repair of the object 22).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan to incorporate the teachings of Cai to set a target size of the melt pool based on a third light and form the melt pool according to the target value so that the desired shape and size of the object may be achieved accurately based on estimated and targeted values (Cai [0005]).
Raghavan and Cai are silent on an illumination apparatus that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part where the melt pool is solidified with a second light in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam.
Wada teaches an illumination apparatus ([0055] 31) that is configured to illuminate at least a part of a solidified part (50) where the melt pool is solidified with a second light (22a, 22b) in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan and Cai to incorporate the teachings of Wada to illuminate a portion of the solidified part in a period during which the part of the object is being irradiated with the energy beam in order to be able to receive an image that is not warped by the influence of the light from the energy beam (Wada [0055]).
Claims 48, 49, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan (WO2019217438) in view of Wada (JP2016221538) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Toyserkani (US7043330).
Regarding claim 48, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 1, but are silent on the second light includes a visible light.
Toyserkani teaches the second light includes a visible light (Col. 6 lines 30-40 the processing zone illuminated by a halogen light 38).
Raghavan, Wada, and Toyserkani are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of welding imaging. It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan and Wada to incorporate the teachings of Toyserkani to have a visible light so that detectors are able to detect more accurately the boundaries of the welding area (Toyserkani Col. 6 lines 30-40).
Regarding claim 49, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 1, but are silent on the second light includes a light component in a wavelength range that is shorter than the wavelength range of the first light.
Toyserkani teaches the second light includes a light component in a wavelength range that is shorter than the wavelength range of the first light (Col. 6 lines 45-67 CCD camera 20 with size of ⅓″ includes an interference filter 42 with bandwidth of 500–700 nm plus a neutral filter 44 with natural density (ND), where CCD receives light at the wavelength of 500 - 700nm which is longer than the wavelength of a halogen light).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan and Wada to incorporate the teachings of Toyserkani to have the second light be a shorter wavelength than the first light as the shorter wavelength light is a visible light which allows detectors to be able to detect more accurately the boundaries of the welding area (Toyserkani Col. 6 lines 30-40).
Regarding claim 51, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 1, but are silent on a state where the wavelength range of the second light is different from the wavelength range of the first light includes a state where a peak wavelength of the second light is different from a wavelength included in a wavelength range part of the wavelength range of the first light in which an intensity of the first light is higher than a predetermined threshold value.
Toyserkani teaches a state where the wavelength range of the second light (38) is different from the wavelength range of the first light (Col. 6 lines 45-67 light received at CCD 20) includes a state where a peak wavelength of the second light (38) is different from a wavelength included in a wavelength range part of the wavelength range of the first light (Col. 6 lines 45-67 light received at CCD 20) in which an intensity of the first light (Col. 6 lines 45-67 light received at CCD 20) is higher than a predetermined threshold value (Col. 6 lines 45-67 bandwidth of 500–700 nm).
It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan and Wada to incorporate the teachings of Toyserkani to have the second light have a different peak wavelength than that of a first light, so that the second light also has a shorter wavelength than the first light as the shorter wavelength light is a visible light which allows detectors to be able to detect more accurately the boundaries of the welding area (Toyserkani Col. 6 lines 30-40).
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan (WO2019217438) in view of Wada (JP2016221538) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smalley (US20190224916).
Regarding claim 53, Raghavan and Wada teach the processing system according to claim 1, but are silent on the second light is a blue light.
Smalley teaches the second light is a blue light (second light sources 1104 may include a red laser, a green laser, and a blue laser.)
Raghavan, Wada, and Smalley are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of welding imaging. It would have been obvious to have modified Raghavan and Wada to incorporate the teachings of Smalley to have blue light in order to be able to illuminate the object in with a light that allows a full spectrum of visible light to be achieved (Smalley [0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that Raghavan and Wada do not teach the amended limitations, Wada is understood that to teach the amended limitations. Applicant argues that Wada cannot teach the amended limitation because “plasma light 22b is absolutely different from the light cause by thermal radiation from the melt pool 27 because the plasma light 22b is generated by excitation (not by thermal radiation),” however it is unclear how plasma light 22b is completely different than a light caused by thermal radiation from the melt pool 27. A melt pool is understood to be formed by thermal radiation and an excitation due to the laser applied to the beam, so it would be understood that a plasma light of Wada, which is the light that is reflected from the molten or plasma melt pool, is the same light as in claimed. The light caused by a thermal radiation from the melt pool that is molten by the energy beam is not understood to be different than a plasma light, as in the context of welding, molten metal and plasma are taken to be the same. Additionally, excitation of a melt pool would automatically have thermal radiation, which Wada is understood to measure as shown in Fig. 3. Therefore, it is understood that Wada teaches the amended limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/9/2026
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761