Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
This Office Action is responsive to Applicants' Amendment filed on February 10, 2026, in which no claims are amended. No claims have been newly cancelled. Claims 21-23 have been newly added. Claims 1, 2, 4-11, and 13-23 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With regards to the rejections of claims 1-2, 4-11 and 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed towards abstract ideas, Applicant’s arguments that the claims overcome the rejections are not found persuasive. Applicant argues primarily with respect to independent claim 1.
Applicant argues on pages 6-8 of the Remarks that claim 1 is eligible at least at Step 2A, Prong One of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test. Applicant argues that “The Office has not identified any claim limitation that can be practically performed in the human mind as required by MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(iii), nor has the Office followed the revised USPTO examination framework that now governs evaluation of machine-learning-based inventions”. Applicant elaborates that:
“The revised guidance incorporates Ex parte Desjardins as controlling analysis. In Desjardins, the Appeals Review Panel held that software-based improvements to machine-learning systems constitute technological improvements that fall outside the abstract-idea categories, and emphasized that it is improper to disregard machine-learning-specific control mechanisms in favor of generic descriptions divorced from claimed technical effects…The Office's analysis in the Office Action does not apply this required framework. Rather than evaluating the claimed invention as a technological improvement to a machine-learning inferencing system, the Office abstracts Claim 1 to generalized notions of ‘determining’ or ‘evaluating’ levels based on conditions. This abstraction ignores the specific technical operation recited in Claim 1, namely, controlling a machine learning model structure, with a processor, in order to regulate apparatus power consumption as a function of processing load during inferencing”.
Applicant further states that a human cannot mentally control a machine learning model’s internal structure or execution behavior during inference, and that dynamic control of a computational workload during inference to affect power usage of an apparatus is likewise a technical operation of a machine learning model, and not a mental process.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that no claim limitations of claim 1 were identified as being practically performed in the human mind, and that the prior 101 analysis was not in compliance with the revised guidance incorporating Ex parte Desjardins. In the prior office action, the limitation determining, with a processor, an inferencing level based on an environmental condition related to the input; within claim 1 was clearly identified at Step 2A, Prong One as reciting a mental process of evaluation. Although the generic computer component of a “processor” is recited, the human mind is capable of determining an inferencing level when given an environmental condition associated with an input. See Example 47, Claim 2, step (c) from the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples as an analogous data analysis limitation that can be practically performed within the human mind. Other limitations that were not considered to be practically performed within in the human mind, such as the control of a machine learning model structure that Applicant notes, are analyzed at later steps.
With respect to the guidance related to Ex parte Desjardins, Examiner notes that “Advance notice of change to the MPEP in light of Ex Parte Desjardins” states on page 2 that: “the ARP upheld the Step 2A Prong One finding that the claims recited an abstract idea (i.e., mathematical concept)…the claims as a whole integrated what would otherwise be a judicial exception instead into a practical application at Step 2A Prong Two”. That is, that the guidance does not hold that technological improvements are not abstract ideas, or instruct a change in analysis at Step 2A, Prong One, but rather at the subsequent step, Step 2A, Prong Two.
Applicant argues on pages 8 and 9 of the Remarks that claim 1 is eligible at least at Step 2A, Prong Two of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test. Applicant states that:
“the specification and claims of the Present Application expressly recite technical mechanisms that yield improved system-level operation. Claim 1, for example, recites controlling apparatus power consumption by regulating the execution of a machine-learning model during inferencing. Under the revised MPEP guidance, examiners are required at Step 2A, Prong Two to evaluate whether an alleged abstract idea is integrated into a practical application…The Office Action does not meaningfully perform this required analysis. Rather than assessing how the claimed invention operates within a machine-learning inferencing system or how it improves system operation, the rejection treats the claims as merely applying an abstract idea without addressing the claimed control of processing load and power consumption during runtime inferencing. This omission is contrary to MPEP § 2106.04(d), which requires consideration of whether additional claim elements implement an alleged abstract idea in a manner that imposes meaningful limits and yields a practical application”.
Applicant further makes reference to Desjardins, stating that “software-based inventions that improve the operation of machine-learning systems, rather than merely using such systems as tools, constitute practical applications sufficient to satisfy Step 2A, Prong Two” and asserting that the controlling of a machine learning model to regulate power consumption recited in claim 1 fulfills this criteria.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that claim 1 is eligible at Step 2A, Prong Two, and that the prior office action did not provide a suitable analysis at this step. Applicant appears to consider the analysis with respect to the limitation reciting control of apparatus power consumption to be deficient, so the analysis from the prior office action is reproduced here:
“The limitation of controlling, with the processor, a machine learning model structure based on the inferencing level to control apparatus power consumption related to a processing load of the machine learning model structure; recites mere instructions to apply the determination of an inferencing level to control an apparatus and its power consumption, which does not integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f)”.
As stated earlier, determining an inferencing level is an abstract idea. In the above limitation, the only elements used “to control apparatus power consumption” and “controlling…a machine learning model structure” are “with the processor” and “based on the inferencing level”. Recitation of a processor is recitation of a generic computer component, and the inferencing level and its determination is an abstract idea. Therefore, this limitation merely applies the identified abstract idea, and generic computer components, to perform control of machine learning model structure and control of apparatus power consumption. According to MPEP 2106.04(d).I, mere instructions to apply a judicial exception do not integrate a judicial exception into an abstract idea.
With regards to the relevance of Desjardins to the determination at this step, Examiner notes that “Advance notice of change to the MPEP in light of Ex Parte Desjardins” states on page 2 that: “the ARP then determined that the specification identified improvements as to how the machine learning model itself operates, including training a machine learning model to learn new tasks while protecting knowledge about previous tasks”. It is unclear if controlling a machine learning model as recited in claim 1 is an improvement to how a machine learning model “itself” operates. Examiner does not dispute that the apparatus is improved by the ability to control apparatus power consumption via control of the machine learning model. However, the control of the machine learning model is not a clear-cut improvement to the machine learning model itself, especially in light of the recitation in the specification at [0015] that “In some examples, controlling the machine learning model structure may include selecting a machine learning model or machine learning models from a machine learning model ensemble” – selection of an ideal machine learning model from a number of candidates does not improve any of the candidate machine learning models. The only definite improvement to a machine learning model that Desjardins provides as an example is an enhanced method of training a machine learning model, however no training is recited by claim 1.
Applicant further argues that independent claims 11 and 14 are eligible at Step 2A, Prong Two on page 9 of the Remarks: “Claims 11 and 14 recite corresponding technical mechanisms in the apparatus and computer-readable medium contexts, respectively. These claims likewise integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application by improving the operation of a machine-learning inferencing system. In particular, Claim 11's error feedback loop provides a concrete technical mechanism for dynamically adjusting model complexity based on measured inference performance over multiple inference cycles. Claim 14's signal-to-noise ratio determination and mapping to an inferencing level provides a sensor-aware technical mechanism for controlling model components based on anticipated sensor conditions. This is a concrete, system-level improvement to the functioning of the computing apparatus and its machine-learning architecture, not a generic or conventional application of an abstract concept”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that claims 11 and 14 are eligible at Step 2A, Prong Two. Claim 11 recites determination of an environmental condition, an inferencing level, and error feedback, and mere application of these abstract ideas to modify a machine learning model structure that executes an inference function. Claim 14 recites determination of an environmental condition and an inferencing level, and mere application of these abstract ideas to control a machine learning model structure that executes an inference function. In neither case are there additional elements that integrate recited judicial exceptions into a practical application, rather the improvement provided by the claims are from the abstract ideas, which are merely applied.
Applicant further argues on page 10 of the Remarks that independent claims 1, 11, and 14 are eligible at least at Step 2B of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test. Applicant states that:
“the claims do not merely invoke an abstract idea on a generic computer, but instead recite processor-implemented control of machine-learning execution that regulates processing load and apparatus power consumption during inferencing. Such limitations impose concrete operational constraints on how computation is performed and therefore go beyond an instruction to ‘apply’ an abstract idea. This type of resource-level control during execution constitutes additional elements that amount to significantly more than the alleged abstract idea itself” and “the claims are narrowly tailored to specific technical mechanisms and do not attempt to preempt all approaches to the alleged abstract idea, which further supports a finding that the claims recite ‘significantly more’ under Step 2B. Accordingly, even under the Office's characterization, the pending claims satisfy Step 2B of the eligibility analysis”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In addition to the recited abstract ideas, the claims recite elements of controlling a machine learning model structure, controlling apparatus power consumption, and executing an inference function using a controlled machine learning model structure. However, as Examiner states in the rejections below, these are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea. The claims do not recite significant detail on how these additional computations are performed apart from that they are done using the abstract ideas.
With regards to the rejections of claims 1, 2, 4, 8, and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Lee et al. (Korean Patent No. 102029852) (Lee), Applicant’s arguments that the claims overcome the rejections are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 11 of the Remarks: “As recited in Claim 1, the processor determines an inferencing level and uses that inferencing level as a control signal to control or modify the structure of a machine learning model during inferencing in order to regulate processing load and apparatus power consumption. Thus, Claim 1 requires inferencing-level-driven control of model structure in use, not merely selecting among pre-existing models” and “Lee implements model substitution, not model structural control. Lee does not disclose determining an inferencing level and using that inferencing level to control the structure of a deployed machine learning model in order to regulate processing load or power consumption as recited in Claim 1. Selecting a pre-trained model having a particular number of layers is not the same as controlling a machine learning model structure based on inferencing level during inferencing”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that paragraph [0015] of the specification states: “In some examples, controlling the machine learning model structure may include selecting a machine learning model or machine learning models from a machine learning model ensemble”. Examiner further notes that claim 9, which ultimately depends on claim 1, recites a narrowing of controlling a machine learning model structure to selecting a model from an ensemble. Therefore, based on Applicant’s own disclosure, the broadest reasonable interpretation of model structural control does include mere selection of a model from an ensemble of models. Therefore, Lee anticipates claims 1, 2, 4, 8, and 9.
With regards to the rejections of claims 11, 13, 18, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Lee in view of Kang et al. “DMS: Dynamic Model Scaling for Quality-Aware Deep Learning Inference in Mobile and Embedded Devices” (Kang), further in view of Cohen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0236447) (Cohen), Applicant’s arguments that the claims overcome the rejections are found partially persuasive. Applicant argues with respect to claim 11.
Applicant first argues that the combination of Lee, Kang, and Cohen does not teach at least the claim element of modifying a complexity of machine learning model components based on an inferencing level, arguing that Lee does not teach this element for reasons given in the argument regarding the 102 rejection of independent claim 1. However, Examiner has demonstrated that Lee teaches this earlier in response to Applicant’s argument regarding independent claim 1. Therefore this argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant further argues that the combination of Lee, Kang, and Cohen does not teach at least the claim element of determining an inferencing level based on error feedback, asserting that Kang, which is relied upon to teach this element, is inadequate for this purpose, stating on page 13 of the Remarks that: “Kang's feedback control loop adjusts the DMS _level ‘according to the gap between the target latency and the monitored latency.’ Kang, page 5. This is latency feedback–a measure of processing time performance–not error feedback relating to inference accuracy. Claim 11 recites that ‘the error feedback is an average error over a number of inferences,’ which relates to inference accuracy, not latency. Kang does not teach or suggest determining an inferencing level based on inference accuracy error feedback”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that Kang does not teach determining an inferencing level based on error feedback, as claimed in claim 11. Claim 11 makes no reference to error feedback being based on accuracy, and the specification does not limit error or error feedback to being based on accuracy, reciting only at [0044] that “An error value may indicate a likelihood that the inferencing result is incorrect” (emphasis Examiner’s). Kang recites: (Kang Pg. 5) “the QoS manager requests the DMS manager to adapt the workload of the inference task by ΔW according to the gap between the target latency and the monitored latency. The DMS manager translates ΔW to ΔDMS_level to scale the CNN model…we use a PI (proportional integral) controller that relates the error in latency directly to ΔDMS_level”, teaching error feedback to control a model. Examiner acknowledges that this is latency error feedback rather than accuracy error feedback, but as stated earlier, the claim does not limit error feedback to being based on accuracy. Therefore this argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant further argues that the combination of Lee, Kang, and Cohen does not teach at least the claim element of average error, asserting that Cohen, which is relied upon to teach average error, teaches this in a context of training a machine learning model, rather than dynamic determination of an inferencing level during runtime. Although Examiner maintains that it would be appropriate to apply the teachings of Cohen in the context of teaching use of an average error over a generic error despite the differences between training and dynamic inference, the point is moot as, following further search and consideration, the art of Guttman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0365575) (Guttman) is now used to teach use of an average error in the context of selecting models for dynamic inference. Therefore, claim 11 is now rejected as unpatentable over the combination of Lee, Kang, and Guttman, as detailed in the rejections below.
With regards to the rejections of claims 14 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Lee in view of Shtrom et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0375422) (Shtrom), Applicant’s arguments that the claims overcome the rejections are not found persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of Lee and Shtrom does not teach at least the claim element of controlling machine learning model components based on an inferencing level within independent claim 14, arguing that Lee does not teach this element for reasons given in the argument regarding the 102 rejection of independent claim 1, and that Shtrom does not teach this element either. Examiner acknowledges that Shtrom does not teach controlling machine learning model components based on an inferencing level, however, Examiner has demonstrated that Lee teaches this earlier in response to Applicant’s argument regarding independent claim 1. Therefore, claims 14 and 16 are unpatentable over the combination of Lee and Shtrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 11, 13, 18-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11,
Claim 11 recites the limitation execute an inference function with respect to the input using the controlled machine learning model structure to provide an inferencing result, containing the term the controlled machine learning model structure. It is unclear what this term refers to, as no “controlled machine learning model structure” is referred to previously within claim 11. Claim 11 does recite the similar phrase “modify a complexity of a machine learning model structure”, however it is unclear if a modified machine learning model structure is a controlled machine learning model structure. Therefore the term the controlled machine learning model structure lacks antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as reading “execute an inference function with respect to the input using a controlled machine learning model structure to provide an inferencing result”.
In reference to dependent claims 13, 18-20, and 22, claims 13, 18-20, and 22 do not cure the deficiencies noted in the rejection of claim 11. Therefore, claims 13, 18-20, and 22 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1,
Step 1 - “Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?”
Yes, the claim is directed towards a process.
Step 2A, Prong 1 - “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?”:
The limitation of determining, with a processor, an inferencing level based on an environmental condition related to the input; recites an evaluation of an inferencing level based on observation of environmental conditions, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Step 2A, Prong 2 - “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?”:
The limitation of receiving, with a processor, an input; recites the mere extra-solution activity of data gathering, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g).
The limitation of controlling, with the processor, a machine learning model structure based on the inferencing level to control apparatus power consumption related to a processing load of the machine learning model structure; recites mere instructions to apply the determination of an inferencing level to control an apparatus and its power consumption, which does not integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
The limitation of executing, with the processor, an inference function with respect to the input using the controlled machine learning model structure to provide an inferencing result recites mere instructions to apply an inference function using a controlled machine learning model structure, which does not integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
Step 2B - “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”:
The limitation of receiving, with a processor, an input; recites receiving data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, MPEP 2106.05(d).II.i.
The limitation of controlling, with the processor, a machine learning model structure based on the inferencing level to control apparatus power consumption related to a processing load of the machine learning model structure; recites mere instructions to apply the determination of an inferencing level to control an apparatus and its power consumption, which is not significantly more than the recited the recited judicial exceptions, MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitation of executing, with the processor, an inference function with respect to the input using the controlled machine learning model structure to provide an inferencing result recites mere instructions to apply an inference function using a controlled machine learning model structure, which is not significantly more than the recited the recited judicial exceptions, MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, claim 1 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 2,
Claim 2 adds the additional limitation to claim 1:
The limitation of further comprising detecting the environmental condition, wherein the environmental condition is based on illumination or pose recites an observation of the environment, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 2 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 4,
Claim 4 adds the additional limitation to claim 1:
The limitation of wherein determining the inferencing level is based on an inverse relationship between an illumination condition and the inferencing level recites an evaluation of an illumination condition and an inferencing level, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 4 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 5,
Claim 5 adds the additional limitation to claim 1:
The limitation of wherein controlling the machine learning model structure comprises dropping a random selection of machine learning model components based on the inferencing level, recites mere instructions to apply the recited judicial exceptions to drop randomly selected machine learning model components, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
The limitation of wherein an amount of machine learning model components included in the random selection of machine learning model components is based on the inferencing level recites an evaluation of an amount of machine learning model components based on an inferencing level, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 5 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 6,
Claim 6 adds the additional limitation to claim 1:
The limitation of wherein controlling the machine learning model structure comprises selecting a sub-network of machine learning model components based on the inferencing level, wherein the sub-network of machine learning model components reduces the processing load and provides a target accuracy recites a judgement of what sub-network of machine learning model components to select, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 6 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 7,
Claim 7 adds the additional limitation to claim 1:
The limitation of wherein controlling the machine learning model structure comprises controlling quantization for at least one layer of the machine learning model structure based on a target accuracy and the inferencing level, in light of the specification ([0041] “Quantization is representing a quantity with a discrete number. For example, quantization may refer to a number of bits utilized to represent a number. In some examples, quantization may be utilized to reduce a number of bits utilized to represent a number”) recites a mathematical relationship, which is a mathematical concept, which is an abstract idea.
Therefore, claim 7 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 8,
Claim 8 adds the additional limitation to claim 1:
The limitation of further comprising receiving an indication of the environmental condition recites the mere extra-solution activity of data gathering, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g), and which recites receiving data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, MPEP 2106.05(d).II., example (i) of WURC computer functions.
Therefore, claim 8 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 9,
Claim 9 adds the additional limitation to claim 8:
The limitation of wherein controlling the machine learning model structure comprises selecting a machine learning model from a machine learning model ensemble based on the indication recites a judgement of which machine learning model to select, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 9 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 10,
Claim 10 adds the additional limitations to claim 1:
The limitation of determining error feedback based on execution of the inference function; recites an evaluation of the inferencing, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of controlling the machine learning model structure based on the error feedback recites mere instructions to apply the recited judicial exceptions to control a machine learning model structure, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
Therefore, claim 10 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 11,
Step 1 - “Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?”
Yes, the claim is directed towards a machine.
Step 2A, Prong 1 - “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?”:
The limitation of determine an environmental condition based on an input recites an evaluation of environmental conditions, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of determine an inferencing level based on the environmental condition and error feedback wherein the error feedback is an average error over a number of inferences; recites an evaluation of an inferencing level based on evaluation of environmental conditions and error feedback, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Step 2A, Prong 2 - “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?”:
The limitation of a memory; recites mere instructions to apply judicial exceptions with generic computer components, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
The limitation of a processor in electronic communication with the memory, wherein the processor is to: recites mere instructions to apply judicial exceptions with generic computer components, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
The limitation of modify a complexity of a machine learning model structure based on the inferencing level to regulate apparatus power consumption; recites mere instructions to apply the determination of an inferencing level to modify a machine learning model and its power consumption, which does not integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
The limitation of and execute an inference function with respect to the input using the controlled machine learning model structure to provide an inferencing result recites mere instructions to apply an inference function using a controlled machine learning model structure, which does not integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
Step 2B - “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”:
The limitation of a memory; recites mere instructions to apply judicial exceptions with generic computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitation of a processor in electronic communication with the memory, wherein the processor is to: recites mere instructions to apply judicial exceptions with generic computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitation of modify a complexity of a machine learning model structure based on the inferencing level to regulate apparatus power consumption; recites mere instructions to apply the determination of an inferencing level to modify a machine learning model and its power consumption, which is not significantly more than the recited the recited judicial exceptions, MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitation of and execute an inference function with respect to the input using the controlled machine learning model structure to provide an inferencing result recites mere instructions to apply an inference function using a controlled machine learning model structure, which is not significantly more than the recited the recited judicial exceptions, MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, claim 11 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 13,
Claim 13 adds the additional limitation to claim 11:
The limitation of wherein the input is captured by a sensor after the machine learning model structure is trained recites the mere extra-solution activity of data gathering, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g), and which recites receiving data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, MPEP 2106.05(d).II., example (i) of WURC computer functions.
Therefore, claim 13 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 14,
Step 1 - “Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?”
Yes, the claim is directed towards a manufacture.
Step 2A, Prong 1 - “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?”:
The limitation of code to cause a processor to determine an environmental condition indicative of a signal to-noise ratio to be experienced by a sensor; recites an evaluation of environmental conditions, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of code to cause the processor to map the environmental condition to an inferencing level, wherein the environmental condition relates to an illumination condition and a pose of an object; recites an evaluation of an inferencing level based on observation of environmental conditions, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Step 2A, Prong 2 - “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?”:
The limitation of code to cause the processor to control machine learning model components based on the inferencing level; recites mere instructions to apply the determination of an inferencing level to control machine learning model components, which does not integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
The limitation of and code to cause the processor to execute an inference function using the controlled machine learning model components to provide an inferencing result related to the object recites mere instructions to apply an inference function using controlled machine learning model components, which does not integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
Step 2B - “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”:
The limitation of code to cause the processor to control machine learning model components based on the inferencing level; recites mere instructions to apply the determination of an inferencing level to control machine learning model components, which is not significantly more than the recited the recited judicial exceptions, MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitation of and code to cause the processor to execute an inference function using the controlled machine learning model components to provide an inferencing result related to the object recites mere instructions to apply an inference function using controlled machine learning model components, which is not significantly more than the recited the recited judicial exceptions, MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, claim 14 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 15,
Claim 15 adds the additional limitations to claim 14:
The limitation of wherein the code to cause the processor to control the machine learning model components comprises code to cause the processor to remove a first subset of the machine learning model components recites mere instructions to apply the recited judicial exceptions to remove machine learning model components, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
Therefore, claim 15 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 16,
Claim 16 adds the additional limitations to claim 14:
The limitation of wherein the code to cause the processor to control the machine learning model components comprises code to cause the processor to select a second subset of the machine learning model components recites a judgement of what machine learning model components to select, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 16 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 17,
Claim 17 adds the additional limitations to claim 14:
The limitation of wherein the code to cause the processor to control the machine learning model components comprises code to cause the processor to select a quantization for the machine learning model components based on the inferencing level recites a judgement of what quantization to select, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 17 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 18,
Claim 18 adds the additional limitations to claim 11:
The limitation of wherein the inference function relates to object detection and the inference result is an object detection result recites mere instructions to apply the recited judicial exceptions for object detection, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
Therefore, claim 18 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 19,
Claim 19 adds the additional limitations to claim 11:
The limitation of wherein the inference function relates to image classification and wherein the inference result is an image classification result recites mere instructions to apply the recited judicial exceptions for image classification, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
Therefore, claim 19 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 20,
Claim 20 adds the additional limitations to claim 11:
The limitation of wherein the inference function relates to voice recognition and the inference result is a voice recognition result recites mere instructions to apply the recited judicial exceptions for voice recognition, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
The limitation of and wherein the processor is to perform a command based on a recognized voice of the voice recognition result recites mere instructions to apply the recited judicial exceptions to perform a command, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f).
Therefore, claim 20 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 21,
Claim 21 adds the additional limitations to claim 1:
The limitation of wherein the determining an inferencing level includes determining, with a processor, the inferencing level based on the environmental condition related to the input using at least one of a rule, a lookup table, or a selection model recites an evaluation of an inferencing level based on observation of environmental conditions and application of a rule, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 21 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 22,
Claim 22 adds the additional limitations to claim 11:
The limitation of wherein determining an inferencing level based on the environmental condition includes determining, with a processor, the inferencing level based on the environmental condition related to the input using at least one of a rule, a lookup table, or a selection model recites an evaluation of an inferencing level based on observation of environmental conditions and application of a rule, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 22 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 23,
Claim 23 adds the additional limitations to claim 14:
The limitation of wherein code to cause the processor to map the environmental condition to an inferencing level includes mapping the inferencing level based on the environmental condition related to the input using at least one of a rule, a lookup table, or a selection model recites an evaluation of an inferencing level based on observation of environmental conditions and application of a rule, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 23 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (Korean Patent No. 102029852), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1,
Lee teaches A method, comprising:
receiving, with a processor, an input; ((Lee [0007]) “the present invention includes an image acquisition unit for acquiring an image from a camera that photographs an environment outside a vehicle”)
determining, with a processor, an inferencing level based on an environmental condition related to the input; ((Lee [0006]) “The technical problem to be achieved by the present invention is to provide an object recognition device and method capable of efficiently reducing power consumption by selecting a neural network model corresponding to an environmental index calculated based on an image captured of the environment outside a vehicle”, an environmental index that is used to select a neural network model corresponds to an inferencing level based on an environmental condition)
controlling, with the processor, a machine learning model structure based on the inferencing level to control apparatus power consumption related to a processing load of the machine learning model structure; ((Lee [0016]) “according to the present invention, when the weather conditions are good, a neural network model with a small number of layers can be used to reduce power consumption”, (Lee [0078]) “Here, the neural network model has different power consumption and recognition rates depending on the number of layers. That is, the fewer layers a neural network model has, the less power it consumes. As the number of layers in a neural network model increases, its complexity increases, so while the recognition rate improves, the amount of power consumed also increases”, a complexity of a neural network model based on its layers corresponds to a processing load of the machine learning model structure)
and executing, with the processor, an inference function ((Lee [0045]) “At this time, multiple neural network models are pre-learned”, a pre-learned neural network model is an inference function) with respect to the input using the controlled machine learning model structure to provide an inferencing result ((Lee [0015]) “a method for recognizing an object through a selected neural network model using an object recognition device includes the steps of:…selecting a neural network model corresponding to the selected number of layers from among the plurality of neural network models; and recognizing an object located in front using the selected neural network model”, recognizing an object with a selected machine learning model corresponds to providing an inferencing result using an input and a controlled machine learning model structure)
Regarding claim 2,
Lee teaches The method of claim 1,
Lee further teaches:
further comprising detecting the environmental condition, ((Lee [0007]) “the present invention includes an image acquisition unit for acquiring an image from a camera that photographs an environment outside a vehicle”)
wherein the environmental condition is based on illumination or pose ((Lee [0007]) “the present invention includes…a brightness value calculation unit for calculating a brightness value at a current point in time from the photographed image”, a brightness value corresponds to illumination)
Regarding claim 4,
Lee teaches The method of claim 1,
Lee further teaches:
wherein determining the inferencing level is based on an inverse relationship between an illumination condition and the inferencing level ((Lee [0027) “drivers driving vehicles have difficulty securing a field of vision when the lighting is dazzlingly bright (when the average brightness value is 240 to 255 in Table 1) or when the illuminance is very low (when the average brightness value is 0 to 10 in Table 1), so it is given a level of 10, which represents the WORST. Additionally, when the weather conditions are very good (average brightness value is 90 to 160 in Table 1), it is indicated as level 1, which indicates BEST”, an illuminance level that lowers as brightness increases from 10 to 90 corresponds to an inverse relationship between the illumination condition and the inferencing level)
Regarding claim 8,
Lee teaches The method of claim 1,
Lee further teaches:
further comprising receiving an indication of the environmental condition ((Lee [0015]) “a method for recognizing an object through a selected neural network model using an object recognition device includes the steps of: acquiring an image from a camera that captures an external environment of a car; calculating a brightness value at a current point in time from the captured image; training a classification model using images of rain, snow, and fog; classifying a current environmental state by applying the image at the current point in time to the classification model for which training has been completed”, acquiring an image that includes information such as brightness, and the presence of rain, snow, or fog corresponds to receiving an indication of the environmental condition)
Regarding claim 9,
Lee teaches The method of claim 8,
Lee further teaches:
wherein controlling the machine learning model structure comprises selecting a machine learning model from a machine learning model ensemble based on the indication ((Lee [0015]) “a method for recognizing an object through a selected neural network model using an object recognition device includes the steps of:…storing a plurality of neural network models having different numbers of layers;… selecting the number of layers corresponding to the calculated environmental index; selecting a neural network model corresponding to the selected number of layers from among the plurality of neural network models;”, a plurality of neural networks corresponds to a machine learning model ensemble)
Regarding claim 21,
Lee teaches The method of claim 1,
Lee further teaches:
wherein the determining an inferencing level includes determining, with a processor, the inferencing level based on the environmental condition related to the input using at least one of a rule, ((Lee [0068]) “When the weight is calculated in step S242, the control unit (150) applies the calculated weight to mathematical expression 2 to calculate the environmental index (S423)”, a mathematical expression used to calculate an environmental index is a rule used to determine an inferencing level) a lookup table, ((Lee [0041]) “The control unit (150) calculates an environmental index value (ES) using the brightness grade value calculated by the brightness value calculation unit (120) and the grade value obtained by the environmental value calculation unit (130)”, (Lee [0050]) “the brightness value calculation unit (120) matches the calculated average value to the lookup table to obtain the corresponding grade (S220)”, an inferencing level determined using a brightness value and grade, wherein the grade is determined using a lookup table, corresponds to an inferencing level determined using a lookup table) or a selection model
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Venkatesha et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0104716), hereinafter Venkatesha.
Regarding claim 5,
Lee teaches The method of claim 1,
Venkatesha teaches the following further limitations that Lee does not teach:
wherein controlling the machine learning model structure comprises dropping a random selection of machine learning model components ((Venkatesha [0006]) “a processor implemented method includes identifying a plurality of connections in a neural network that is pre-associated with a deep learning model, generating a plurality of pruned neural networks by pruning different sets of one or more of the plurality of connections to respectively generate each of the plurality of pruned neural networks”, (Venkatesha [0010]) “The pruning of the different sets of the one or more of the plurality of connections may include selecting, at random, respective combinations of two or more connections for pruning”, pruning connections within a neural network corresponds to dropping a random selection of machine learning model components) based on the [inferencing] level, ((Venkatesha [0049]) “respective pruning of the plurality of prunable connections may be performed based on predetermined pruning policies 107…the predetermined pruning policies 107 may include, without limiting to, a predetermined time period for which one or more of pruned and/or masked connections of one or more of the pruned neural networks 109 are maintained in the pruned/masked state, and/or a threshold number of connections which are to be pruned”, a set time period or threshold corresponds to a level, Lee teaches a level for inferencing)
wherein an amount of machine learning model components included in the random selection of machine learning model components is based on the [inferencing] level ((Venkatesha [0049]) “the threshold number of connections for pruning may be 30% of the total number of connections in the neural network 103”, Lee teaches a level for inferencing)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Lee and Venkatesha by taking the method for controlling a machine learning model structure to reduce apparatus power consumption based on an inferencing level based on an environmental condition, taught by Lee, and having controlling the machine learning model structure encompass dropping randomly selected machine learning model components, taught by Venkatesha, as random pruning is a well-known technique within the art for creating more efficient neural network structures, imparting the predictable benefit of increasing the accuracy to resource usage ratio of the neural network. Such a combination would be obvious.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kang et al. “DMS: Dynamic Model Scaling for Quality-Aware Deep Learning Inference in Mobile and Embedded Devices”, hereinafter Kang.
Regarding claim 6,
Lee teaches The method of claim 1,
Kang teaches the following further limitations more explicitly than Lee:
wherein controlling the machine learning model structure comprises selecting a sub-network of machine learning model components based on the inferencing level, ((Kang Pg. 5) “the computational cost at each convolution layer can be scaled simply by changing the number of active filters and feature maps…Each layer in the table specifies the DMS scaling factor si, which is the ratio of active filters when the pruning is applied to the layer. The scaling factor is determined so that each layer in the table yields equal amount of savings via pruning. In Task_Table, each task maintains its own DMS level as an index to DMS_Table. The DMS_level indicates how many convolution layers will be pruned during the task’s inference”, a convolutional neural network with fewer active filters in its layers is a sub-network of machine learning model components)
wherein the sub-network of machine learning model components reduces the processing load and provides a target accuracy ((Kang Pg. 5) “If the task wants to decrease the computation cost either for further energy saving or for reducing the latency, it might increase its DMS_level at runtime. Conversely, if the task needs full inference accuracy, its DMS_level can be set to 0, as task #2”, each DMS_level in Kang has a corresponding sub-network, a computation cost is a processing load)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Lee and Kang by taking the method for controlling a machine learning model structure to reduce apparatus power consumption based on an inferencing level based on an environmental condition, taught by Lee, and having controlling the machine learning model structure encompass selecting a sub-network of machine learning model components, taught by Kang, as it is well-known within the art that convolutional neural networks with more filters in their convolutional layers are more complex, requiring additional memory and computation time for inference, and thus higher power consumption, and so reducing the number of filters within the neural network by using only a sub-network imparts the predictable benefit of reducing memory usage, computation time, and power consumption. Such a combination would be obvious.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0053485), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 7,
Lee teaches The method of claim 1,
Liu teaches the following further limitation that Lee does not teach:
wherein controlling the machine learning model structure comprises controlling quantization for at least one layer of the machine learning model structure ((Liu [0153]) “The following example is that the data to be quantized is the neurons and the weights of a target layer in the neural network”) based on a target accuracy and the [inferencing] level ((Liu [0262] “Optionally, the preset condition may be a preset threshold set by a user”, (Liu [0803]-[0804]) “the data bit width determination unit configured to determine the target data bit width corresponding to the current verify iteration according to the quantization error is specifically configured to:…increase the data bit width corresponding to the current verify iteration to obtain the target data bit width corresponding to the current verify iteration if the quantization error is greater than or equal to the first preset threshold;” ((Liu [1099]) “quantization precision refers to the size of an error between data after quantization and data before quantization. The quantization precision may affect the accuracy of the computation results of the neural network. The higher the quantization precision is, the higher the accuracy of the computation results will be”), a preset threshold for quantization error corresponds to a level with a target accuracy, Lee teaches a level for inferencing)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Lee and Liu by taking the method for controlling a machine learning model structure to reduce apparatus power consumption based on an inferencing level based on an environmental condition, taught by Lee, and having controlling the machine learning model structure encompass controlling quantization, taught by Liu, as Liu teaches: (Liu [0018]) “The data bit width is used by an artificial intelligence processor to quantize data involved in the process of the neural network operation and convert high-precision data into low-precision fixed-point data, which may reduce storage space of data involved in the process of neural network operation…Smaller data storage space enables neural network deployment to occupy smaller space, thus the on-chip memory of an artificial intelligence processor chip may accommodate more data, which may reduce memory access data in the artificial intelligence processor chip and improve computation performance”. Such a combination would be obvious.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Garcia Satorras et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0285962), hereinafter Garcia Satorras.
Regarding claim 10,
Lee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
Garcia Satorras teaches the following further limitations that Lee does not teach:
determining error feedback based on execution of the inferencing function; ((Garcia Satorras Abstract) “The system and method may iteratively infer the state by, in an iteration, obtaining an initial inference of the state using a mathematical model representing a prior knowledge-based modelling of the state, and by applying a learned model to the initial inference of the state and the sensor measurement, wherein the learned model has been learned to minimize an error between initial inferences provided by the mathematical model and a ground truth and to provide a correction value as output for correcting the initial inference of the state of the mathematical model”)
and controlling the machine learning model structure based on the error feedback ((Garcia Satorras Abstract) “the learned model has been learned to minimize an error between initial inferences provided by the mathematical model and a ground truth and to provide a correction value as output for correcting the initial inference of the state of the mathematical model”, the model providing a correction value to correct initial inferences by a mathematical model based on error feedback corresponds to controlling a machine learning model based on error feedback)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Lee and Garcia Satorras by taking the method for controlling a machine learning model structure to reduce apparatus power consumption based on an environmental condition, including performing inferencing, taught by Lee, and determining error feedback based on the inferencing and further controlling the model based on the feedback, taught by Garcia Satorras, as adjusting a machine learning model in response to feedback indicating an erroneous prediction is very well-known within the art and imparts the predictable benefit of increasing the future accuracy of the machine learning model. Such a combination would be obvious.
Claims 11, 13, 18, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kang, further in view of Guttman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0365575), hereinafter Guttman.
Regarding claim 11,
Lee teaches An apparatus, comprising:
a memory; ((Lee [0007]) “the present invention includes…a storage unit for storing a plurality of neural network models having different numbers of layers”, a storage unit that stores neural network models corresponds to a memory)
a processor in electronic communication with the memory, wherein the processor is to: ((Lee [0007]) “a control unit for calculating an environmental index using the grade value for the brightness at the current point in time and the grade value for the environmental state, and selecting the number of layers corresponding to the calculated environmental index, a neural network model selection unit for selecting a neural network model corresponding to the selected number of layers from among the plurality of neural network models”, a control unit and a neural network model selection unit corresponds to a processor in communication with memory)
determine an environmental condition based on an input; ((Lee [0015]) “a method for recognizing an object through a selected neural network model using an object recognition device includes the steps of: acquiring an image from a camera that captures an external environment of a car; calculating a brightness value at a current point in time from the captured image; training a classification model using images of rain, snow, and fog; classifying a current environmental state by applying the image at the current point in time to the classification model for which training has been completed”, determining an environmental state based on an acquired image that includes information such as brightness, and the presence of rain, snow, or fog corresponds to receiving an indication of the environmental condition)
determine an inferencing level based on the environmental condition… ((Lee [0007]) “a control unit for calculating an environmental index using the grade value for the brightness at the current point in time and the grade value for the environmental state”)
modify a complexity of a machine learning model structure based on the inferencing level to regulate apparatus power consumption; ((Lee [0016]) “according to the present invention, when the weather conditions are good, a neural network model with a small number of layers can be used to reduce power consumption”, (Lee [0078]) “Here, the neural network model has different power consumption and recognition rates depending on the number of layers. That is, the fewer layers a neural network model has, the less power it consumes. As the number of layers in a neural network model increases, its complexity increases, so while the recognition rate improves, the amount of power consumed also increases”, using a neural network with fewer layers and lower power consumption based on environmental conditions corresponds to modifying complexity of a machine learning model to regulate power consumption)
and execute an inference function ((Lee [0045]) “At this time, multiple neural network models are pre-learned”, a pre-learned neural network model is an inference function) with respect to the input using the controlled machine learning model structure to provide an inferencing result ((Lee [0015]) “a method for recognizing an object through a selected neural network model using an object recognition device includes the steps of:…selecting a neural network model corresponding to the selected number of layers from among the plurality of neural network models; and recognizing an object located in front using the selected neural network model”, recognizing an object with a selected machine learning model corresponds to providing an inferencing result using an input and a controlled machine learning model structure)
Kang teaches the following further limitation that Lee does not teach:
determine an inferencing level ((Kang Pg. 5) “If the task wants to decrease the computation cost either for further energy saving or for reducing the latency, it might increase its DMS_level at runtime. Conversely, if the task needs full inference accuracy, its DMS_level can be set to 0, as task #2”) based on…and error feedback wherein the error feedback is an [average] error ((Kang Pg. 5) “Figure 8 shows a feedback control loop to support a desired inference latency as a QoS goal. In the feedback control loop, the QoS manager requests the DMS manager to adapt the workload of the inference task by ΔW according to the gap between the target latency and the monitored latency. The DMS manager translates ΔW to ΔDMS_level to scale the CNN model…we use a PI (proportional integral) controller that relates the error in latency directly to ΔDMS_level”, Kang does not explicitly teach average error) over a number of inferences ((Kang Pg. 7) “Performance is monitored as the inference task runs continuously over 150 monitoring periods”)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Lee and Kang by taking the apparatus for controlling a machine learning model structure to reduce apparatus power consumption based on an inferencing level based on an environmental condition, taught by Lee, and having determination of the inferencing level also be based on error feedback, taught by Kang, as Kang teaches: (Kang Pg. 2) “DMS can be combined with runtime feedback control mechanisms to guarantee applications’ QoS goals. Since DMS scales the computational cost of fully capable models without actually removing pruned filters, it can support different QoS levels for concurrent inference tasks even if they share a single deep learning model”, that is, scaling the models via levels allows for several inference tasks to be performed with varying quality levels based on needs and available resources, allowing inference tasks to be performed flexibly, allowing machine learning applications to be deployed in additional circumstances. Such a combination would be obvious.
Guttman teaches the following further limitation that Lee does not teach and that Kang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the error feedback is an average error ((Guttman [0163]) “FIG. 10 illustrates an example of a process 1000 for personalizing quality assurance of inference models”, (Guttman [0170]) “In some examples, the inference models may comprise regression models, and comparing the results may comprise comparing measurements of the quality of the regression, such as…Root Mean Square Error (RMSE), mean of squares errors, mean of absolute errors, and so forth”, mean error and average error are synonyms)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Lee, Kang, and Guttman by taking the apparatus for controlling a machine learning model structure to reduce apparatus power consumption based on an inferencing level based on an environmental condition and error feedback, jointly taught by Lee and Kang, and having the error feedback be an average error, taught by Guttman, as an average error over several time points would be more informative than an error over only a single time point, as anomalous outliers in the error data would be less able to skew responses, increasing the robustness of the response to the error. Such a combination would be obvious.
Regarding claim 13,
Lee, Kang, and Guttman jointly teach The apparatus of claim 11,
Lee further teaches:
wherein the input is captured by a sensor after the machine learning model structure is trained ((Lee [0015]) “a method for recognizing an object through a selected neural network model using an object recognition device includes the steps of: acquiring an image from a camera that captures an external environment of a car;…classifying a current environmental state by applying the image at the current point in time to the classification model for which training has been completed”, a camera is a sensor)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the apparatus jointly taught by Lee, Kang, and Guttman for the parent claim of claim 13, claim 11. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 18,
Lee, Kang, and Guttman jointly teach The apparatus of claim 11,
Lee further teaches:
wherein the inference function relates to object detection and the inference result is an object detection result ((Lee [0015]) “a method for recognizing an object through a selected neural network model using an object recognition device includes the steps of:…recognizing an object located in front using the selected neural network model”, (Lee [0014]) “The above object recognition unit can recognize at least one of a lane, a type of vehicle, a pedestrian, an animal, and a sign from the captured image”)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the apparatus jointly taught by Lee, Kang, and Guttman for the parent claim of claim 18, claim 11. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 19,
Lee, Kang, and Guttman jointly teach The apparatus of claim 11,
Lee further teaches:
wherein the inference function relates to image classification ((Lee [0015]) “a method for recognizing an object through a selected neural network model using an object recognition device includes the steps of: acquiring an image from a camera that captures an external environment of a car,…recognizing an object located in front using the selected neural network model”, recognizing an object in front of a car using a camera that acquires an image corresponds to image classification) and wherein the inference result is an image classification result ((Lee [0014]) “The above object recognition unit can recognize at least one of a lane, a type of vehicle, a pedestrian, an animal, and a sign from the captured image”)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the apparatus jointly taught by Lee, Kang, and Guttman for the parent claim of claim 19, claim 11. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 22,
Lee, Kang, and Guttman jointly teach The apparatus of claim 11,
Lee further teaches:
wherein determining an inferencing level based on the environmental condition includes determining, with a processor, the inferencing level based on the environmental condition related to the input using at least one of a rule, ((Lee [0068]) “When the weight is calculated in step S242, the control unit (150) applies the calculated weight to mathematical expression 2 to calculate the environmental index (S423)”, a mathematical expression used to calculate an environmental index is a rule used to determine an inferencing level) a lookup table, ((Lee [0041]) “The control unit (150) calculates an environmental index value (ES) using the brightness grade value calculated by the brightness value calculation unit (120) and the grade value obtained by the environmental value calculation unit (130)”, (Lee [0050]) “the brightness value calculation unit (120) matches the calculated average value to the lookup table to obtain the corresponding grade (S220)”, an inferencing level determined using a brightness value and grade, wherein the grade is determined using a lookup table, corresponds to an inferencing level determined using a lookup table) or a selection model
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the apparatus jointly taught by Lee, Kang, and Guttman for the parent claim of claim 22, claim 11. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kang, further in view of Guttman, further in view of Yae (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0115015), hereinafter Yae.
Regarding claim 20,
Lee, Kang, and Guttman jointly teach The apparatus of claim 11,
Yae teaches the following further limitations that neither Lee, nor Kang, nor Guttman teach:
wherein the inference function relates to voice recognition and the inference result is a voice recognition result, ((Yae [0029]) “a method for controlling a vehicular voice recognition system for inferring an intention of a user includes: receiving an input instruction of the user; determining whether the input instruction is present in an instruction database; when the input instruction is not present in the instruction database, performing integrated inference…and providing a service defined in the service domain corresponding to the result of the integrated inference”)
and wherein the processor is to perform a command based on a recognized voice of the voice recognition result ((Yae [0080]) “As illustrated in FIG. 3, an instruction is input (S100). Operation S100 may include an operation of converting an instruction uttered by the user to a text”, (Yae [0085]) “Operation S150 may be performed based on the current state of the vehicle. According to embodiments of the present disclosure, because the instruction of 'Play' was recognized in a situation in which a radio is currently turned on, it may be controlled such that an I-pod or USB that may reproduce music instead of a radio may be operated”)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Lee, Kang, Guttman, and Yae by taking the apparatus for controlling a machine learning model structure to reduce apparatus power consumption based on an inferencing level based on an environmental condition and average error feedback, jointly taught by Lee, Kang, and Guttman, and having the inferencing relate to voice recognition for performing a command, taught by Yae, as Yae teaches: (Yae [0003]) “Humans use language as a basic means of communication. Nowadays, language is similarly used when humans communicate with devices. As such, machine recognition of natural language is an important topic”, that is, voice recognition is a well-known application of machine learning that provides users a natural and easy way to communicate with and use their devices. Such a combination would be obvious.
Claims 14, 16, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shtrom et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0375422), hereinafter Shtrom.
Regarding claim 14,
Lee teaches A non-transitory tangible computer-readable medium storing executable code, comprising: ((Lee [0007]) “the present invention includes…a storage unit for storing a plurality of neural network models having different numbers of layers”)
code to cause the processor to map the environmental condition to an inferencing level, wherein the environmental condition relates to an illumination condition… ((Lee [0027) “drivers driving vehicles have difficulty securing a field of vision when the lighting is dazzlingly bright (when the average brightness value is 240 to 255 in Table 1) or when the illuminance is very low (when the average brightness value is 0 to 10 in Table 1), so it is given a level of 10, which represents the WORST. Additionally, when the weather conditions are very good (average brightness value is 90 to 160 in Table 1), it is indicated as level 1, which indicates BEST”)
and code to cause the processor to control machine learning model components based on the inferencing level; ((Lee [0015]) “a method for recognizing an object through a selected neural network model using an object recognition device includes the steps of:…storing a plurality of neural network models having different numbers of layers;… selecting the number of layers corresponding to the calculated environmental index; selecting a neural network model corresponding to the selected number of layers from among the plurality of neural network models;”)
and code to cause the processor to execute an inference function ((Lee [0045]) “At this time, multiple neural network models are pre-learned”, a pre-learned neural network model is an inference function) using the controlled machine learning model components to provide an inferencing result related to the object ((Lee [0015]) “a method for recognizing an object through a selected neural network model using an object recognition device includes the steps of:…selecting a neural network model corresponding to the selected number of layers from among the plurality of neural network models; and recognizing an object located in front using the selected neural network model”, recognizing an object with a selected machine learning model with selected layers corresponds to providing an inferencing result using controlled machine learning model components)
Shtrom teaches the following further limitations that Lee does not teach or more explicitly than Lee:
code to cause a processor to determine an environmental condition indicative of a signal-to-noise ratio to be experienced by a sensor; ((Shtrom [0071]) “when performing a first measurement of the first sensor information using sensor 114 and/or a second measurement of the second sensor information using sensor 116, control engine 210 (and/or sensor 114 or sensor 116, respectively) may determine an environmental condition (such as light intensity, e.g., a luminance level…based on the determined environmental condition and/or information associated with the object, control engine 210 (and/or sensor 114 or sensor 116, respectively) may perform a remedial action)…control engine 210 may provide one or more signals or instructions…so that selective illumination is output…This constant wavelength illumination may allow the first sensor information and/or the second sensor information to be acquired when the signal-to-noise ratio is low”, the luminance level environmental condition that is changed via illumination to reduce the signal-to-noise ratio corresponds to an environmental condition indicative of a signal-to-noise ratio)
wherein the environmental condition relates to…a pose of an object; (((Shtrom [0071]) “control engine 210 may determine whether the object is two dimensional (such as a sign) or three dimensional (such as a person or an animal). Then, based on the determined environmental condition and/or information associated with the object, control engine 210 (and/or sensor 114 or sensor 116, respectively) may perform a remedial action”), determination of whether an object is 2D or 3D corresponds to measurement of depth, according to Applicant’s specification a pose condition includes measured depth: [0071] “Examples of environmental conditions may include…a pose condition (e.g., object position, object pose, pixel location, measured depth, distance to an object, three-dimensional (3D) object position, object rotation, camera pose, target object zone, etc.)”)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Lee and Shtrom by taking the storage medium with instructions to map an illumination condition to an inferencing level and control machine learning model components based on an inferencing level, taught by Lee, and having the inferencing level indicate a signal-to-noise ratio of a sensor and having the inferencing level be based at least partially on object pose, taught by Shtrom, as doing so imparts the predictable benefit of enabling selection of more complex machine learning models that are better able to perform accurate inference with more difficult to classify objects, such as those with greater depth, or with noisy data when the received data is noisy. Such a combination would be obvious.
Regarding claim 16,
Lee and Shtrom jointly teach The computer-readable medium of claim 14,
Lee further teaches:
wherein the code to cause the processor to control the machine learning model components comprises code to cause the processor to select a second subset of the machine learning model components ((Lee [0015]) “a method for recognizing an object through a selected neural network model using an object recognition device includes the steps of:…storing a plurality of neural network models having different numbers of layers;… selecting the number of layers corresponding to the calculated environmental index; selecting a neural network model corresponding to the selected number of layers from among the plurality of neural network models;”, choosing one of several neural network models from a plurality of neural network models with varying numbers of layers corresponds to selecting a subset of machine learning model components)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the medium jointly taught by Lee and Shtrom for the parent claim of claim 16, claim 14. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 23,
Lee and Shtrom jointly teach The computer-readable medium of claim 14,
Lee further teaches:
wherein code to cause the processor to map the environmental condition to an inferencing level includes mapping the inferencing level based on the environmental condition related to the input using at least one of a rule, ((Lee [0068]) “When the weight is calculated in step S242, the control unit (150) applies the calculated weight to mathematical expression 2 to calculate the environmental index (S423)”, a mathematical expression used to calculate an environmental index is a rule used to determine an inferencing level) a lookup table, ((Lee [0041]) “The control unit (150) calculates an environmental index value (ES) using the brightness grade value calculated by the brightness value calculation unit (120) and the grade value obtained by the environmental value calculation unit (130)”, (Lee [0050]) “the brightness value calculation unit (120) matches the calculated average value to the lookup table to obtain the corresponding grade (S220)”, an inferencing level determined using a brightness value and grade, wherein the grade is determined using a lookup table, corresponds to an inferencing level determined using a lookup table) or a selection model
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the medium jointly taught by Lee and Shtrom for the parent claim of claim 23, claim 14. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shtrom, further in view of Kang.
Regarding claim 15,
Lee and Shtrom jointly teach The computer-readable medium of claim 14,
Kang teaches the following further limitation more explicitly than Lee and that Shtrom does not teach:
wherein the code to cause the processor to control the machine learning model components comprises code to cause the processor to remove a first subset of the machine learning model components ((Kang Pg. 5) “the computational cost at each convolution layer can be scaled simply by changing the number of active filters and feature maps…Each layer in the table specifies the DMS scaling factor si, which is the ratio of active filters when the pruning is applied to the layer. The scaling factor is determined so that each layer in the table yields equal amount of savings via pruning. In Task_Table, each task maintains its own DMS level as an index to DMS_Table. The DMS_level indicates how many convolution layers will be pruned during the task’s inference”, pruning convolution layers corresponds to removing a subset of machine learning model components)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Lee, Shtrom, and Kang by taking the medium for controlling a machine learning model of claim 14, jointly taught by Lee and Shtrom, and including removal of machine learning model components, taught by Kang, as it is well-known within the art that convolutional neural networks with more filters in their convolutional layers are more complex, requiring additional memory and computation time for inference, and thus higher power consumption, and so reducing the number of filters within the neural network imparts the predictable benefit of reducing memory usage, computation time, and power consumption. Such a combination would be obvious.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shtrom, further in view of Liu.
Regarding claim 17,
Lee and Shtrom jointly teach The computer-readable medium of claim 14,
Liu teaches the following further limitation that neither Lee nor Shtrom teaches:
wherein the code to cause the processor to control the machine learning model components comprises code to cause the processor to select a quantization for the machine learning model components ((Liu [0153]) “The following example is that the data to be quantized is the neurons and the weights of a target layer in the neural network”) based on the [inferencing] level ((Liu [0262] “Optionally, the preset condition may be a preset threshold set by a user”, (Liu [0803]-[0804]) “the data bit width determination unit configured to determine the target data bit width corresponding to the current verify iteration according to the quantization error is specifically configured to:…increase the data bit width corresponding to the current verify iteration to obtain the target data bit width corresponding to the current verify iteration if the quantization error is greater than or equal to the first preset threshold;”, a preset threshold selected by a user is a level, Lee teaches a level for inferencing)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Lee, Shtrom, and Liu by taking the medium for controlling a machine learning model of claim 14, jointly taught by Lee and Kang, and having controlling the machine learning model structure encompass selecting quantization, taught by Liu, as Liu teaches: (Liu [0018]) “The data bit width is used by an artificial intelligence processor to quantize data involved in the process of the neural network operation and convert high-precision data into low-precision fixed-point data, which may reduce storage space of data involved in the process of neural network operation…Smaller data storage space enables neural network deployment to occupy smaller space, thus the on-chip memory of an artificial intelligence processor chip may accommodate more data, which may reduce memory access data in the artificial intelligence processor chip and improve computation performance”. Such a combination would be obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0050710) teaches a method of adaptively adjusting bit-widths of neural network parameters, i.e. quantizing the parameters.
Sharma et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,353,992) teaches a device that comprises a machine learning model comprising a plurality of blocks, wherein when a resource allocation parameter is determined at inference time, a subset of the blocks may be deactivated accordingly.
/V.A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2124
/Kevin W Figueroa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2124