DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9 and 10 are pending in the application. Claims 3 and 8 have been previously cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (JP 2017040212 A), hereinafter “Kato”, in view of Kaye (US Patent No. 4,565,175), hereinafter “Kaye”.
Regarding claim 1, Kato (Fig. 1) discloses a vehicle cooling device comprising: a first heat exchanger (Fig. 1 (4b, 51)) being a water-cooled intercooler that is configured to cool supercharged intake air (paragraph 14), the first heat exchanger (Fig. 1 (4b, 51)) disposed on an intake side (Fig. 1 (in the vicinity of 4c)) of an engine (Fig. 1 (1)); and a second heat exchanger (Fig. 1 (16)) being a water-cooled EGR gas cooler that is configured to cool EGR gas (Abstract) recirculating from an exhaust system to an intake system, the second heat exchanger being disposed on an exhaust side (Fig. 1 (in the vicinity of 11a) of the engine (Fig. 1 (1)) that is opposite the intake side (Fig. 1 (in the vicinity of 4c)), the first heat exchanger (Fig. 1 (4b, 51)), and the second heat exchanger (Fig. 1 (16)) being arranged in a position relatively farther from a hood of a vehicle (in the vicinity of element 61d) than the first heat exchanger (Fig. 1 (4b, 51)) when the cooling device has been installed in the vehicle.
Kato fails to disclose that the second heat exchanger is being arranged in series on a cooling water circuit such that the first heat exchanger is disposed upstream of the second heat exchanger in relation to a flow direction of cooling water flowing in the cooling water circuit.
However, Kaye discloses a second heat exchanger (Kaye (Fig. (34))) that is being arranged in series on a cooling water circuit such that the first heat exchanger (Kaye (Fig. (28))) is disposed upstream of the second heat exchanger (Kye (Fig. (34))) in relation to a flow direction of cooling water flowing in the cooling water circuit (Kaye (Fig. (26, 36, 38, 40))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Kato by incorporating the teachings of Kaye in order to efficiently accommodate the different heat exchangers for the purpose of making a better use of the space.
Regarding claim 2, the modified invention of Kato discloses the vehicle cooling device according to claim 1, wherein a temperature of a medium to be cooled flowing into the second heat exchanger is relatively higher than a temperature of a medium to be cooled flowing into the first heat exchanger (paragraphs 15, 29, 43).
Regarding claim 5, the modified invention of Kato discloses the vehicle cooling device according to claim 1, wherein a cooling water pump (Fig. 1 (55)) is provided upstream of the first heat exchanger (Fig. 1 (4b, 51)) and the cooling water cooled by a radiator (Fig. 1 (52)) is supplied to the first heat exchanger (Fig. 1 (4b, 51)) by the cooling water pump (Fig. 1 (55)).
Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Kato discloses the vehicle cooling device according to claim 5, wherein the cooling water pump comprises an electric pump having a controllable flow rate (55).
Regarding claim 9, the modified invention of Kato discloses the vehicle cooling device according to claim 1, wherein the second heat exchanger (16) is disposed in a position relatively lower than a height position of the first heat exchanger (4b, 51) when the cooling device is installed in the vehicle and the hood (in the vicinity of element 61d) is disposed above the first heat exchanger (4b, 51) and the second heat exchanger (16).
Claims 4, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato, in view of Kaye as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hollis (CA 2 217 770), hereinafter “Hollis”.
Regarding claim 10, the modified invention of Kato discloses the vehicle cooling device according to claim 1.
The modified invention of Kato fails to disclose an intermediate cooling water passage crossing through an interior of an oil pan of the engine, the intermediate cooling water passage being arranged such that the cooling water flowing out of the first heat exchanger passes through the intermediate cooling water passage and flows into the second heat exchanger.
However, Hollis discloses an intermediate cooling water passage (Hollis (Fig. 8 (in the vicinity of element 152))) crossing through an interior of an oil pan (Hollis (Fig. 8 (28))) of the engine, the intermediate cooling water passage (Hollis (Fig. 8 (in the vicinity of element 152))) being arranged such that the cooling water flowing out of the first heat exchanger passes through the intermediate cooling water passage (Hollis (Fig. 8 (in the vicinity of element 152))) and flows into the second heat exchanger (Hollis (Abstract; page 8, line 13 - page 10, line 24)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Kato by incorporating the teachings of Hollis in order to maintain the temperature of the engine lubricating oil at or near its optimum operating temperature.
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Kato discloses the vehicle cooling device according to claim 10, wherein the intermediate cooling water passage is formed integrally with a bottom wall of the oil pan (When combining Hollis into Kato, one skilled in the art would have arrived at the claimed language).
Regarding claim 7, the modified invention of Kato discloses the vehicle cooling device according to claim 4, wherein fins for increasing area of contact with oil are provided to a pipeline wall inside the oil pan in which the intermediate cooling water passage is formed (When combining Hollis into Kato, one skilled in the art would have arrived at the claimed language).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ remarks filed on August 5, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747