Applicant’s amendments filed 2/12/2026 has been entered. Claim 8 has been amended. Claims 1-5 and 8-14 are pending.
Response to Amendment
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 2/12/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-5 and 8-14 based upon Massa et al. (WO 2016/113334; published July 21, 2016) as set forth in the last Office action because: In the declaration only L-glufosinate ammonium (L-GA) and saflufenacil were tested wherein L-GA was used in the range of 125-250 g ai/ha and saflufenacil in the range of 1.563-12.5 g ai/ha (ratio of L-GA:saflufenacil 160:1 to 20:1). The showing is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 8-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 10-19 of copending Application No. 18/031,176 (herein ‘176). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims only require (i) glufosinate, L-glufosinate or an agronomically acceptable salt thereof and (ii) saflufenacil, wherein the ratio of (i) is at least 40 times more than the total amount (ii) in the case of (i) being glufosinate and at least 20 times more than the total amount (ii) in the case of (i) being L-glufosinate, wherein the total amount of component (i) is from 100-600 g/L and wherein (ii) is in the range of from 0.15-15 g/L in the case of (i) being glufosinate and in the range of from 0.2-30 g/L in the case of (i) being L-glufosinate. However, the copending application differs by comprising a mixture of (A) salflufenacil and (B) trifludimoxazin as component (ii) and claim 12 states that the total amount of component (i) is from 100-600 g/L and wherein (ii) is in the range of from 0.1-15 g/L in the case of (i) being glufosinate and in the range of from 0.2-30 g/L in the case of (i) being L-glufosinate. The present claim further allow for the inclusion of further agrochemically active compounds. Therefore, the present claims are prima facie obvious in view of copending application ‘176.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massa et al. (WO 2016/113334; published July 21, 2016).
Applicant’s Invention
Applicant claims a composition comprising i) 100-600 g/L glufosinate, L-glufosinate or an agronomically acceptable salt thereof and ii) 0.15-15 g/L or 0.2-30 g/L saflufenacil, wherein a ratio by weight of a total amount of component i) is at least 40 times more than a total amount of component ii) in case of i) being glufosinate, preferably 1000:1 to 50:1. (Claim 1)
Applicant further claims a method for controlling undesired plant growth, and/or controlling harmful plants comprising applying an herbicide combination of claim 1 onto the undesired plants or the harmful plants or the area where the undesired plants or harmful plants grow (claim 12).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
With respect to claims 1-5 of the instant application, Massa et al. teach the ratio of herbicide B (glufosinate) to A (saflufenacil) is preferably 1000:1 to 1:10 (page 5, lines 4-7). Although, L-glufosinate is not specified in Massa, the term “glufosinate” encompasses all stereoisomers and it is widely known that L-glufosinate is the herbicidally active isomer of glufosinate responsible for herbicidal activity as evidenced by Winter (WO 2019/030098) cited by applicant (page 2, lines 28-37). Therefore, using L-glufosinate in the herbicidal combinations would have been prima facie obvious.
With respect to claims 1 and 8 of the instant application, Massa et al. teach formulations comprise herbicidally effective amounts of A and B with further actives in the range of 1-98% by weight (page 48, lines 10-20). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to optimize the range of the total active ingredient to formulate a suspension concentrate comprising 10-60% (100-600 g/L) glufosinate and 0.2-3% (0.02-30 g/L) saflufenacil because Massa et al. disclose applying the combination glufosinate and saflufenacil wherein the ratio of glufosinate to saflufenacil is up to 1000:1.
With respect to claims 13 and 14 of the instant application, Massa et al. teach the application rate of saflufenacil is usually 1-500 g/ha and glufosinate is usually 50-3000 g/ha (page 39, lines 17-32).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
With respect to claims 1 and 8, Massa et al. teach the ratio of herbicide B (glufosinate) to A (saflufenacil) is preferably 1000:1 to 1:10 (page 5, lines 4-7). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to manipulate ranges during routine experimentation to discover the optimum or workable range since the prior art provides the general range. It is the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known to optimize formulation ingredients, therefore, optimizing the amounts of glufosinate and saflufenacil in a ratio from up to 1000:1 to a ratio of 1:10 and reach the claimed amounts of glufosinate and saflufenacil is prima facie obvious.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to use the teachings of Massa et al. to formulate the herbicidal combination comprising 0.2-30 g/L saflufenacil with 100-600 g/L L-glufosinate with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated before the time of the filing to use the teachings of Massa et al. to optimize the amounts of glufosinate and saflufenacil in a ratio from up to 1000:1 to a ratio of 1:10 and reach the claimed amounts of glufosinate and saflufenacil to find the optimum workable range to form a suspension concentrate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Massa does not teach or suggest a composition containing a synergistic mixture of glufosinate and saflufenacil in which glufosinate is present in and amount of 100-600 g/L or 150-500 g/L. The Examiner is not persuaded by this argument because Massa et al. teach the ratio of herbicide B (glufosinate) to A (saflufenacil) is preferably 1000:1 to 1:10 which encompasses the claimed range (page 5, lines 4-7). Commercially available saflufenacil has a concentration of 340 g/L and glufosinate has a concentration of 280 g/L (page 51, lines 5-10). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have been able to make formulations comprising glufosinate and saflufenacil within the claimed amounts since the disclosed formulations overlap with the ranges disclosed by Massa. Therefore, a prima facie obviousness case exists and one of ordinary skill would have been able to make the claimed compositions by using routine experimentation to find the optimal concentration needed.
Applicant further argues that the claimed invention demonstrates synergistic effect, namely an observed herbicidal activity of 70-85% compared to the expected activity of 5-35%. The Examiner has considered the evidence, however, Massa teaches coapplication of glufosinate and saflufenacil which inherently possess enhanced effects. Massa shows improved results when glufosinate is used in combination with saflufenacil versus when glufosinate is applied alone which implies synergism (page 1, lines 28 through page 2, line 2). Therefore, Massa teaches synergistic effects are not unexpected. Additionally, the showing does not provide unexcepted results commensurate in scope with the claims. The data found in the specification only supports a mixture of glufosinate and saflufenacil, wherein glufosinate is applied at an application rate of 280 g ai/ha and saflufenacil is applied at a rate of 1 g ai/ha. In the declaration tests combinations of L-glufosinate ammonium (L-GA) and saflufenacil wherein L-GA was used in the range of 125-250 g ai/ha and saflufenacil in the range of 1.563-12.5 g ai/ha (ratio of L-GA:saflufenacil 160:1 to 20:1). . Therefore, the showing is not commensurate in scope with the claims which encompasses a much broader range of 100-600 g/L (preferably 150-500 g/L), wherein the rate of saflufenacil is 0.15-15 g/L (preferably 0.2-10 g/L) for glufosinate. Furthermore, Massa teach that synergy is expected when glufosinate is combined with saflufenacil. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
DANIELLE D. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1611