DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/188512 (‘512), EP 2444462 (‘462), an JP 2019006903 (‘903) in combination.
The claims are drawn to a composition comprising a compound (1), and a compound (A), which is an alkanolamine compound, and to a process for preparing said composition.
The ‘512 reference teaches an ink for the production of an electronic device, wherein the ink comprises a solution of a compound of formula (1) and a fluid organic substance. The ‘512 reference does not teach that the fluid organic substance is an alkanolamine compound.
The ‘462 reference teaches an electrically conductive ink comprises a metal colloid solution containing metal particles, and a stabilizing agent that is dispersed in the metal colloid solution and comprises an amine compound (abstract). The amine compound may be an alkanolamine selected from diethanolamine, diglycolamine, triethanolamine, n-propanolamine, N-aminoethylethanolamine, and the like (0018-0020).
The ’903 reference teaches a conductive copper ink composition comprising copper formate and an amino-alcohol (abstract). The amino-alcohol may be selected from diethanolamine, N-methyldiethanolamine, N-ethyldiethanolamine, 3-amino-1,2-propanediol, and the like (0011). The amino-alcohol is added to facilitate reduction of the copper salt and protect metallic copper. A thickening agent, of which the amino-alcohol may also act as, may be added to the electrically conductive copper ink composition in order to improve the coatability and stability of the ink (0027).
The instant claims are rendered obvious by the combined reference teachings, since the ‘512 reference teaches that ink for producing an electronic device, i.e., electrically conductive ink, may be stabilized using a composition comprising a compound of formula (1) and a fluid organic substance. Both the ‘462 and ‘903 references teach that fluid organic substances including alkanolamine compounds may be employed as thickening agents or stabilizers in conductive ink compositions, thereby providing the motivation to include an alkanolamine as a fluid organic substance in the compositions taught by the ‘512 reference.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692