DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 17/794,352 in which claims 1, 3-12 and 14-56 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-22 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 25-27, 29-31, 33-35, 37-39, 41-43, 45-47, 49, 50, and 52-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2024/0129010 A1) in view of Islam et al. (US 2017/0302355 A1).
1. Regarding claims 23, 31, and 47, Wu teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) (Claim 1, receiving a first signaling, the first signaling comprising DCI (Downlink Control Information)) indicating a first beam (Claim 1, the first signaling comprises scheduling information of the first radio signal) for a first set of antenna indices (Claim 1, the first signaling is used to determine a first index, and the first index is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal…the first coefficient is one of K candidate coefficients, K being a positive integer greater than 1; any of the K candidate coefficients is a positive real number not greater than 1; any of the K candidate coefficients is related to a first value, the first value is a number of non-zero-power antenna ports occupied by the first radio signal among antenna ports)
wherein the first set of antenna indices identify physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) antenna ports (Claim 1, a first coefficient; the first coefficient is one of K candidate coefficients, K being a positive integer greater than 1; any of the K candidate coefficients is a positive real number not greater than 1; any of the K candidate coefficients is related to a first value, the first value is a number of non-zero-power antenna ports occupied by the first radio signal among antenna ports configured to the PUSCH bearing the first radio signal; a number of the antenna ports configured to the PUSCH bearing the first radio signal is equal to a number of antenna ports configured in the first reference signal resource; the first index is used to determine the first coefficient out of the K candidate coefficients) associated with sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (Claim 1, the first signaling comprises scheduling information of the first radio signal; the first signaling is used to determine a first index, and the first index is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal; the first index is a SRI (Sounding reference signal Resource Indicator), the first index indicates a first reference signal resource, a first reference signal is transmitted in the first reference signal resource, the first reference signal comprises an SRS (Sounding reference signal), and the first reference signal is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal); and
transmitting an uplink transmission based at least in part on the DCI (Claim 1, receiving a first signaling, the first signaling comprising DCI (Downlink Control Information); and transmitting a first radio signal, the first radio signal being transmitted in a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel)…the first signaling is used to determine a first index, and the first index is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal; the first index is a SRI (Sounding reference signal Resource Indicator), the first index indicates a first reference signal resource, a first reference signal is transmitted in the first reference signal resource, the first reference signal comprises an SRS (Sounding reference signal), and the first reference signal is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal).
Wu in claim 1 does not explicitly disclose a second beam for a second set of antenna indices and the first set of antenna indices and the second set of antenna indices identify physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) antenna ports associated with multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resources of multiple SRS resource sets.
Wu teaches a second beam for a second set of antenna indices (Paragraph [0311] if the first index is an index in a second index set, the first coefficient is equal to a ratio of the first value in the present disclosure to a number of antenna ports configured to a PUSCH bearing the first radio signal; the first index set and the second index set respectively comprise at least one index. [0312] Any index in the first index set does not belong to the second index set, and any index in the second index set does not belong to the first index set. [0313] Any index in the first index set and the second index set is one of the M candidate indexes in the present disclosure. Paragraph [0549] The first signaling implicitly indicates the second index.)
and the second set of antenna indices identify physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) antenna ports ([0311] if the first index is an index in a second index set, the first coefficient is equal to a ratio of the first value in the present disclosure to a number of antenna ports configured to a PUSCH bearing the first radio signal; the first index set and the second index set respectively comprise at least one index. [0312] any index in the first index set does not belong to the second index set, and any index in the second index set does not belong to the first index set. [0432] the first signaling in the present disclosure is used to determine the second reference signal resource in the present disclosure, the second reference signal resource is reserved for the second reference signal, and a measurement performed on the second reference signal is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal. [0433] In one embodiment, the second reference signal resource is reserved for transmitting the second reference signal) associated with multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resources of multiple SRS resource sets ([0133] the first index is used to identify an SRS resource set (i.e. implying there are more than one SRS resource sets). Additionally, for clarification, claim 1 teaches, the first index is a SRI (Sounding reference signal Resource Indicator), the first index indicates a first reference signal resource, a first reference signal is transmitted in the first reference signal resource, the first reference signal comprises an SRS (Sounding reference signal), and the first reference signal is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal; a number of the antenna ports configured to the PUSCH bearing the first radio signal is equal to a number of antenna ports configured in the first reference signal resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate in claim 1, the disclosed steps of a second beam for a second set of antenna indices and the first set of antenna indices and the second set of antenna indices identify physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) antenna ports associated with multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resources of multiple SRS resource sets of Wu. The motivation is that as suggested by Wu (Paragraphs [0220, 0432]) the first signaling can be efficiently used by UE to determine the second reference signal resource, and a measurement performed on the second reference signal is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal, therefore reducing messaging to save bandwidth resources, specifically by the second reference signal resource being reserved for the second reference signal, and a measurement performed on the second reference signal can be efficiently used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal.
Wu implicitly teaches but does not explicitly disclose DCI indicating a first beam for a first set of antenna indices and a second beam for a second set of antenna indices.
Islam teaches DCI indicating a first beam for a first set of antenna indices and a second beam for a second set of antenna indices ([0012] device may transmit one or more reference signals to the UE via one or more beams corresponding to one or more beam indices. In one aspect, the control channel includes a PDCCH, and one or more indications are included in one or more bits of the DCI message. [0087] the beam index may be a logical beam index associated with an antenna port. [0258] At operation 1604, the base station may transmit, to a UE, one or more indications of the one or more beam indexes. In various aspects, the one or more indications may be carried on a control channel, such as a PDCCH. For example, the one or more indications may be indicated through a DCI message of the PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide DCI indicating a first beam for a first set of antenna indices and a second beam for a second set of antenna indices as taught by Islam in the system of Wu for beam tracking see abstract of Islam.
2. Regarding claims 27, 35, and 50, Wu teaches a network entity for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors
configured to cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) (Claim 1, receiving a first signaling, the first signaling comprising DCI (Downlink Control Information)) indicating a first beam (Claim 1, the first signaling comprises scheduling information of the first radio signal) for a first set of antenna indices (Claim 1, the first signaling is used to determine a first index, and the first index is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal…the first coefficient is one of K candidate coefficients, K being a positive integer greater than 1; any of the K candidate coefficients is a positive real number not greater than 1; any of the K candidate coefficients is related to a first value, the first value is a number of non-zero-power antenna ports occupied by the first radio signal among antenna ports)
wherein the first set of antenna indices identify physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) antenna ports (Claim 1, a first coefficient; the first coefficient is one of K candidate coefficients, K being a positive integer greater than 1; any of the K candidate coefficients is a positive real number not greater than 1; any of the K candidate coefficients is related to a first value, the first value is a number of non-zero-power antenna ports occupied by the first radio signal among antenna ports configured to the PUSCH bearing the first radio signal; a number of the antenna ports configured to the PUSCH bearing the first radio signal is equal to a number of antenna ports configured in the first reference signal resource; the first index is used to determine the first coefficient out of the K candidate coefficients) associated with sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (Claim 1, the first signaling comprises scheduling information of the first radio signal; the first signaling is used to determine a first index, and the first index is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal; the first index is a SRI (Sounding reference signal Resource Indicator), the first index indicates a first reference signal resource, a first reference signal is transmitted in the first reference signal resource, the first reference signal comprises an SRS (Sounding reference signal), and the first reference signal is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal); and
receiving an uplink transmission based at least in part on the DCI (Claim 1, receiving a first signaling, the first signaling comprising DCI (Downlink Control Information); and transmitting a first radio signal, the first radio signal being transmitted in a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel)…the first signaling is used to determine a first index, and the first index is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal; the first index is a SRI (Sounding reference signal Resource Indicator), the first index indicates a first reference signal resource, a first reference signal is transmitted in the first reference signal resource, the first reference signal comprises an SRS (Sounding reference signal), and the first reference signal is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal).
Wu in claim 1 does not explicitly disclose a second beam for a second set of antenna indices and the first set of antenna indices and the second set of antenna indices identify physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) antenna ports associated with multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resources of multiple SRS resource sets.
Wu teaches a second beam for a second set of antenna indices (Paragraph [0311] if the first index is an index in a second index set, the first coefficient is equal to a ratio of the first value in the present disclosure to a number of antenna ports configured to a PUSCH bearing the first radio signal; the first index set and the second index set respectively comprise at least one index. [0312] Any index in the first index set does not belong to the second index set, and any index in the second index set does not belong to the first index set. [0313] Any index in the first index set and the second index set is one of the M candidate indexes in the present disclosure. Paragraph [0549] The first signaling implicitly indicates the second index.)
and the second set of antenna indices identify physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) antenna ports ([0311] if the first index is an index in a second index set, the first coefficient is equal to a ratio of the first value in the present disclosure to a number of antenna ports configured to a PUSCH bearing the first radio signal; the first index set and the second index set respectively comprise at least one index. [0312] any index in the first index set does not belong to the second index set, and any index in the second index set does not belong to the first index set. [0432] the first signaling in the present disclosure is used to determine the second reference signal resource in the present disclosure, the second reference signal resource is reserved for the second reference signal, and a measurement performed on the second reference signal is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal. [0433] In one embodiment, the second reference signal resource is reserved for transmitting the second reference signal) associated with multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resources of multiple SRS resource sets ([0133] the first index is used to identify an SRS resource set (i.e. implying there are more than one SRS resource sets). Additionally, for clarification, claim 1 teaches, the first index is a SRI (Sounding reference signal Resource Indicator), the first index indicates a first reference signal resource, a first reference signal is transmitted in the first reference signal resource, the first reference signal comprises an SRS (Sounding reference signal), and the first reference signal is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal; a number of the antenna ports configured to the PUSCH bearing the first radio signal is equal to a number of antenna ports configured in the first reference signal resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate in claim 1, the disclosed steps of a second beam for a second set of antenna indices and the first set of antenna indices and the second set of antenna indices identify physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) antenna ports associated with multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resources of multiple SRS resource sets of Wu. The motivation is that as suggested by Wu (Paragraphs [0220, 0432]) the first signaling can be efficiently used by UE to determine the second reference signal resource, and a measurement performed on the second reference signal is used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal, therefore reducing messaging to save bandwidth resources, specifically by the second reference signal resource being reserved for the second reference signal, and a measurement performed on the second reference signal can be efficiently used to determine a transmitting antenna port of the first radio signal.
Wu implicitly teaches but does not explicitly disclose DCI indicating a first beam for a first set of antenna indices and a second beam for a second set of antenna indices.
Islam teaches DCI indicating a first beam for a first set of antenna indices and a second beam for a second set of antenna indices ([0012] device may transmit one or more reference signals to the UE via one or more beams corresponding to one or more beam indices. In one aspect, the control channel includes a PDCCH, and one or more indications are included in one or more bits of the DCI message. [0087] the beam index may be a logical beam index associated with an antenna port. [0258] At operation 1604, the base station may transmit, to a UE, one or more indications of the one or more beam indexes. In various aspects, the one or more indications may be carried on a control channel, such as a PDCCH. For example, the one or more indications may be indicated through a DCI message of the PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide DCI indicating a first beam for a first set of antenna indices and a second beam for a second set of antenna indices as taught by Islam in the system of Wu for beam tracking see abstract of Islam.
3. Regarding claim 39, Wu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions for wireless communication (Paragraphs [0188] and [0192] computer readable medium), the one or more instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user
equipment (UE), cause the UE to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a first beam for
a first set of antenna indices and a second beam for a second set of antenna
indices, wherein the first set of antenna indices and the second set of antenna
indices identify physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) antenna ports associated
with multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resources of multiple SRS resource
sets (see rejection of claim 31); and
transmit an uplink transmission based at least in part on the DCI (see rejection of claim 31).
4. Regarding claim 43, Wu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions for wireless communication (Paragraph [0190] computer readable medium), the one or more instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a network entity, cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) that
indicates a first beam for a first set of antenna indices and a second beam for a second set of antenna indices, wherein the first set of antenna indices and the second set of antenna indices identify physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) antenna ports associated with multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resources of multiple SRS resource sets; and receive an uplink transmission from the UE based at least in part on the DCI (see rejection of claim 35).
5.Regarding claims 25, 29, 33, 37, 41, 45, 49, and 52 wherein to transmit the uplink transmission based at least in part on the DCI, the one or more processors are configured cause the UE to transmit the uplink transmission using the first beam and the second beam indexes (Paragraph [0258] At operation 1604, the base station may transmit, to a UE, one or more indications of the one or more beam indexes).
6. Regarding claims 26, 30, 34, 38, 42, and 46, Wu in view of Islam teaches wherein the uplink transmission is a multi-panel uplink transmission (Paragraph [0517] uplink information; number of antenna panels).
7. Regarding claim 53 and 55, Wu in view of Islam teaches wherein the first set of antenna indices and the second set of antenna indices are a same set of antenna indices (Wu, Paragraph [0313] any index in the first index set and the second index set is one of the M candidate indexes).
8. Regarding claim 54 and 56, Wu in view of Islam teaches wherein the first set of antenna indices and the second set of antenna indices are different sets of antenna indices (Wu, Paragraph [0312] any index in the first index set does not belong to the second index set, and any index in the second index set does not belong to the first index set).
Claims 23, 25-27, 29-31, 33-35, 37-39, 41-43, 45-47, 49, 50, and 52-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2024/0129010 A1) in view of Islam et al. (US 2017/0302355 A1) in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0174466 A1).
9. Regarding claims 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44, 48 and 51, Wu in view of Islam does not explicitly disclose wherein the PUSCH antenna ports identify
SRS antenna ports according to a mapping of the PUSCH antenna ports to the SRS antenna ports.
Zhang teaches wherein the PUSCH antenna ports identify SRS antenna ports according to a mapping of the PUSCH antenna ports to the SRS antenna ports (Paragraph [0041] PUSCH; antenna ports and/or layers correspond to the SRS resource).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the PUSCH antenna ports identify SRS antenna ports according to a mapping of the PUSCH antenna ports to the SRS antenna ports as taught by Zhang in the system of Wu in view of Islam for PUSCH to be scheduled by different DC formats see Paragraph [0041] of Zhang.
Conclusion
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit