DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the request for continued examination filed on 3/16/2026.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 2/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5 and 13 have been amended. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13 and 15 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 5 and 13 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2022/0167449, hereinafter Wang) in view of Mattam et al. (US 2020/0275314, hereinafter Mattam).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a processing method of configuration information of bearer, applied to a network device and comprising: when a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) or a Primary SCG Cell (PSCell) enters into a suspend state or a dormant state, there is no transmission via SCG Radio Link Control (RLC) bearers, ensuring, by the network device, via a signaling, an uplink bearer configured by configuration information of a bearer to transmit on a Master Cell Group (MCG) [Wang discloses that in dual connectivity a data radio bearer between the terminal and an access network may be provided by both master node and secondary node (Wang paragraph 0116). Wang further discloses that deactivating the SCG may also be suspending SCG configuration (i.e. SCG enters into a suspended state); and after the SCG configuration is suspended, data is not transmitted by using the SCG (Wang paragraph 0126)].
Wang does not expressly disclose the features of ensuring, by the network device, via a signaling, an uplink bearer configured by configuration information of a bearer to transmit on a Master Cell Group (MCG); wherein ensuring, by the network device, via the signaling, an uplink bearer configured by configuration information of a bear to transmit on MCG comprises at least one of: the network device reconfiguring an SCG RLC bearer via the signaling, to make to a terminal to have no SCG RLC bearer supporting uplink transmission; the network device deactivating a split bearer or de-configuring duplication transmission function of the split bearer, via the signaling; the network device setting a primary path of a split bearer to be the MCG, via the signaling; or the network device setting an uplink data split threshold of a split bearer to be infinity, via the signaling.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Mattam discloses that a network may configure values for a ul-DataSplitThreshold which can be set to infinity, which indicates that the data will be sent only using primary RLC entity (i.e. ensuring by the network, via signaling, configuring to transmit on a primary RLC entity or MCG, which is ensured by setting an uplink data split threshold to be infinity) (Mattam paragraph 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Mattam to have the features of ensuring, by the network device, via a signaling, an uplink bearer configured by configuration information of a bearer to transmit on a Master Cell Group (MCG); wherein ensuring, by the network device, via the signaling, an uplink bearer configured by configuration information of a bear to transmit on MCG comprises at least one of: the network device reconfiguring an SCG RLC bearer via the signaling, to make to a terminal to have no SCG RLC bearer supporting uplink transmission; the network device deactivating a split bearer or de-configuring duplication transmission function of the split bearer, via the signaling; the network device setting a primary path of a split bearer to be the MCG, via the signaling; or the network device setting an uplink data split threshold of a split bearer to be infinity, via the signaling. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improved method for handling UL bearer split configuration in a multi-connectivity system (Mattam paragraphs 0009 and 0025).
Regarding claim 8, Wang and Mattam disclose the processing method of configuration information of bearer according to claim 1. Wang and Mattam further disclose a network device, comprising: a transceiver, a processor, and a memory, wherein a program executable by the processor is stored in the memory; the processor executes the program to perform the processing method of configuration information of bearer according to claim 1 [Wang discloses that an access network node may comprise a processor and a memory, which is configured to store a computer program. The processor is configured to execute the program to enable the network node to perform various functions (Wang claim 10, Figures 31-32, paragraphs 0511-0517)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Mattam, and further in view of Gonzalez Escudero et al. (US 2022/0338286, hereinafter Gonzalez).
Regarding claim 3, Wang and Mattam disclose the method according to claim 1. Wang and Mattam do not expressly disclose wherein the reconfiguring by the network device the SCG RLC bearer via the signaling comprises at least one of: the network device reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer to be an MCG RLC bearer, via the signaling; the network device reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer supporting uplink transmission to be an MCG RLC bearer, via the signaling; or the network device reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer supporting uplink transmission to be only supporting downlink transmission, via the signaling.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Gonzalez discloses that for performing configuration changes of the SCG, the MN may release the bearer or reconfigure it to an MCG bearer (i.e. the network devices reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer to be an MCG RLC bearer) (Gonzalez paragraph 0165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang, Mattam and Gonzalez to have the features of wherein the reconfiguring by the network device the SCG RLC bearer via the signaling comprises at least one of: the network device reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer to be an MCG RLC bearer, via the signaling; the network device reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer supporting uplink transmission to be an MCG RLC bearer, via the signaling; or the network device reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer supporting uplink transmission to be only supporting downlink transmission, via the signaling. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable a more efficient data communication and mobility within a dual connectivity connection (Gonzalez paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 10, Wang and Mattam disclose the network device according to claim 8. Wang and Mattam do not expressly disclose wherein the reconfiguring an SCG radio link control, RLC, bearer by signaling comprises at least one of: reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer to be an MCG RLC bearer, via the signaling; reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer supporting uplink transmission to be an MCG RLC bearer, via the signaling; or reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer supporting uplink transmission to be only supporting downlink transmission, via the signaling.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Gonzalez discloses that for performing configuration changes of the SCG, the MN may release the bearer or reconfigure it to an MCG bearer (i.e. reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer to be an MCG RLC bearer) (Gonzalez paragraph 0165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang, Mattam and Gonzalez to have the features of wherein the reconfiguring or releasing an SCG radio link control, RLC, bearer by signaling comprises at least one of: reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer to be an MCG RLC bearer, via the signaling; reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer supporting uplink transmission to be an MCG RLC bearer, via the signaling; or reconfiguring the SCG RLC bearer supporting uplink transmission to be only supporting downlink transmission, via the signaling. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable a more efficient data communication and mobility within a dual connectivity connection (Gonzalez paragraph 0011).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Mattam, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0167445, hereinafter Wang_7445).
Regarding claim 4, Wang and Mattam disclose the method according to claim 1. Wang and Mattam do not expressly disclose the feature of when the SCG or the PSCell enters into an activated state, the network device reconfiguring a configuration parameter of a split bearer, via the signaling.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wang_7445 discloses that when SCG is activated, the terminal restores the configuration of the SCG used for dual connectivity (Wang_7445 paragraph 0163). The split bearer corresponding to the SCG bearer are used, or the MCG bearer may be changed to a split bearer or an SCG bearer; indicating reconfiguring a configuration parameter of a split bearer (Wang_7445 paragraphs 0168-0169). In one example the access network device may send an SCG configuration after the SCG is activated (i.e. send signaling) Wang_7445 paragraph 0192).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang, Mattam and Wang_7445 to have the feature of when the SCG or the PSCell enters into an activated state, the network device reconfiguring a configuration parameter of a split bearer, via the signaling. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce signaling overheads and improve communication efficiency (Wang_7445 paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 11, Wang and Mattam disclose the network device according to claim 8. Wang and Mattam do not expressly disclose the feature of when the SCG or the PSCell enters into an activated state, reconfigure a configuration parameter of a split bearer, via the signaling.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wang_7445 discloses that when SCG is activated, the terminal restores the configuration of the SCG used for dual connectivity (Wang_7445 paragraph 0163). The split bearer corresponding to the SCG bearer are used, or the MCG bearer may be changed to a split bearer or an SCG bearer; indicating reconfiguring a configuration parameter of a split bearer (Wang_7445 paragraphs 0168-0169). In one example the access network device may send an SCG configuration after the SCG is activated (i.e. send signaling) Wang_7445 paragraph 0192).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang, Mattam and Wang_7445 to have the feature of when the SCG or the PSCell enters into an activated state, reconfigure a configuration parameter of a split bearer, via the signaling. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce signaling overheads and improve communication efficiency (Wang_7445 paragraph 0036).
Claims 5, 7, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Chang et al. (US 2022/0217801, hereinafter Chang).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses a processing method of configuration information of bearer, applied to a terminal in Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state and comprising: when a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) or a Primary SCG Cell (PSCell) enters into a suspend state or a dormant state, there is no transmission via SCG Radio Link Control (RLC) bearers, modifying, by the terminal, configuration information of a bearer, to enable a configured uplink bearer to transmit on a Master Cell Group (MCG) [Wang discloses that in dual connectivity a data radio bearer between the terminal and an access network may be provided by both master node and secondary node (i.e. terminal in a connected state) (Wang paragraphs 0116 and 0117). Wang further discloses that deactivating the SCG may also be suspending SCG configuration (i.e. SCG enters into a suspended state); and after the SCG configuration is suspended, data is not transmitted by using the SCG (Wang paragraph 0126)];
Wang does not expressly disclose regarding modifying, by the terminal, configuration information of a bearer, to enable a configured uplink bearer to transmit on a Master Cell Group (MCG); wherein the modifying by the terminal the configuration information of the bearer comprises at least one of: the terminal storing an SCG RLC bearer configuration information and suspending the SCG RLC bearer; the terminal storing configuration information of a split bearer; the terminal deactivating a split bearer or de-configuring duplication transmission function of the split bearer; the terminal setting a primary path of a split bearer to be the MCG; or the terminal setting an uplink data split threshold of a split bearer to be infinity.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Chang discloses that the terminal device may perform operations such as stopping data transmission over the split bearer, if configured, in the secondary cell group, and/or setting the uplink data split threshold to be infinite determining that the primary path is the master cell group (see Chang paragraph 0294). This indicates that the terminal modifies configuration information of a bearer to enable UL bearer to transmit on a MCG by deactivating a split bearer or de-configuring duplication transmission function of the split bearer; and setting an uplink data split threshold of a split bearer to be infinity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Chang to have the features of modifying, by the terminal, configuration information of a bearer, to enable a configured uplink bearer to transmit on a Master Cell Group (MCG); wherein the modifying by the terminal the configuration information of the bearer comprises at least one of: the terminal storing an SCG RLC bearer configuration information and suspending the SCG RLC bearer; the terminal storing configuration information of a split bearer; the terminal deactivating a split bearer or de-configuring duplication transmission function of the split bearer; the terminal setting a primary path of a split bearer to be the MCG; or the terminal setting an uplink data split threshold of a split bearer to be infinity. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve dual connectivity activation/deactivation efficiency and ensure continuity of communication service (Chang paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 7, Wang and Chang disclose the method according to claim 5. Wang and Chang further disclose regarding when the SCG or the PSCell enters into an activated state, the terminal recovering a configuration parameter of the split bearer, the configuration parameter being a configuration parameter when the SCG or the PSCell enters into the suspend state or the dormant state and configured by the network; or when the SCG or the PSCell enters into an activated state, the terminal recovering a suspended SCG RLC bearer; or when the SCG or the PSCell enters into an activated state, the terminal maintaining a configuration parameter of the bearer when the SCG or the PSCell enters into a suspend state or a dormant state [Chang discloses that after the terminal device determines that the link to be resumed is the uplink, in the scenario in which the first radio bearer is an SCG bearer, the terminal device may resume uplink communication performed with the second network device on the uplink over the SCG bearer, or in the scenario in which the first radio bearer is a split bearer, the terminal device may resume uplink communication performed with the second network device on the uplink over the split bearer (Chang paragraph 0327). In another example, after receiving a dual connectivity activation indication, the terminal device may perform one or more the following operations, including resuming data transmission on the SCG bearer, or resuming data transmission on the split bearer, that is, restoring a configuration of the primary path to a configuration before the deactivation, and restoring the uplink data split threshold to a configuration before the deactivation, and modifying statuses of these previously deactivated secondary cells belonging to the SCG to an activated state (Chang paragraph 0332). This indicates the terminal recovering a suspended SCG RLC bearer when SCG is activated]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses a terminal in Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state, comprising: a transceiver, a processor, and a memory, wherein a program executable by the processor is stored in the memory; the processor executes the program to perform [Wang discloses that a terminal may comprise a processor and a memory, which is configured to store a computer program. The processor is configured to execute the program to enable the network node to perform various functions (Wang Figure 30, paragraphs 0508-0510)]: when a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) or a Primary SCG Cell (PSCell) enters into a suspend state or a dormant state, there is no transmission via SCG Radio Link Control (RLC) bearers, modifying configuration information of a bearer, to enable a configured uplink bearer to transmit on a Master Cell Group (MCG) [Wang discloses that in dual connectivity a data radio bearer between the terminal and an access network may be provided by both master node and secondary node (i.e. terminal in a connected state) (Wang paragraphs 0116 and 0117). Wang further discloses that deactivating the SCG may also be suspending SCG configuration (i.e. SCG enters into a suspended state); and after the SCG configuration is suspended, data is not transmitted by using the SCG (Wang paragraph 0126)].
Wang does not expressly disclose regarding modifying configuration information of a bearer, to enable a configured uplink bearer to transmit on a Master Cell Group (MCG); wherein the modifying the configuration information of the bearer comprises at least one of: storing an SCG RLC bearer configuration information and suspending the SCG RLC bearer; storing configuration information of a split bearer; deactivating a split bearer or de-configuring duplication transmission function of the split bearer; setting a primary path of a split bearer to be the MCG; or setting an uplink data split threshold of a split bearer to be infinity.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Chang discloses that the terminal device may perform operations such as stopping data transmission over the split bearer, if configured, in the secondary cell group, and/or setting the uplink data split threshold to be infinite determining that the primary path is the master cell group (see Chang paragraph 0294). This indicates that the terminal modifies configuration information of a bearer to enable UL bearer to transmit on a MCG by deactivating a split bearer or de-configuring duplication transmission function of the split bearer; and setting an uplink data split threshold of a split bearer to be infinity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Chang to have the features of modifying configuration information of a bearer, to enable a configured uplink bearer to transmit on a Master Cell Group (MCG); wherein the modifying the configuration information of the bearer comprises at least one of: storing an SCG RLC bearer configuration information and suspending the SCG RLC bearer; storing configuration information of a split bearer; deactivating a split bearer or de-configuring duplication transmission function of the split bearer; setting a primary path of a split bearer to be the MCG; or setting an uplink data split threshold of a split bearer to be infinity. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve dual connectivity activation/deactivation efficiency and ensure continuity of communication service (Chang paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 15, Wang and Chang disclose the terminal according to claim 13. Wang and Chang further disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: when the SCG or the PSCell enters into an activated state, recover a configuration parameter of the split bearer, the configuration parameter being a configuration parameter when the SCG or the PSCell enters into the suspend state or the dormant state and configured by the network; or when the SCG or the PSCell enters into an activated state, recover a suspended SCG RLC bearer; or when the SCG or the PSCell enters into an activated state, maintain a configuration parameter of the bearer when the SCG or the PSCell enters into a suspend state or a dormant state [Chang discloses that after the terminal device determines that the link to be resumed is the uplink, in the scenario in which the first radio bearer is an SCG bearer, the terminal device may resume uplink communication performed with the second network device on the uplink over the SCG bearer, or in the scenario in which the first radio bearer is a split bearer, the terminal device may resume uplink communication performed with the second network device on the uplink over the split bearer (Chang paragraph 0327). In another example, after receiving a dual connectivity activation indication, the terminal device may perform one or more the following operations, including resuming data transmission on the SCG bearer, or resuming data transmission on the split bearer, that is, restoring a configuration of the primary path to a configuration before the deactivation, and restoring the uplink data split threshold to a configuration before the deactivation, and modifying statuses of these previously deactivated secondary cells belonging to the SCG to an activated state (Chang paragraph 0332). This indicates the terminal recovering a suspended SCG RLC bearer when SCG is activated]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 2/12/2026 with respect to claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The rejection has been revised according to the amended claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414