DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2, 14-17, 20, 22-23, 25, and 28 are amended and claims 1, 7-13, 18-19, and 29-49 are canceled. Claims 50-52 are new. Claims 2-6, 24, and 26-28 remain withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected group. Upon searching the instantly elected species of Cladosporium cladosporioides and its extracts, no prior art is found. However, due to 112 issues this species is not allowable. Examiner has selected Alternaria radicina and its extracts (claim 20) as the next examined species. Epicoccum nigrum and its extracts (claim 17) remain withdrawn.
Claims 14-16, 20-23, 25, and 50-52 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application filed 07/21/2022, is a 371 filing of PCT/US2021/014705, filed 01/22/2021, which claims priority to provisional application No. 62/965625, filed 01/24/2020.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Claims 14-16, 21-23, and 25 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claims 14-16, 21-23, and 25 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claims 14-15 and 23 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uday et al. (WO 2016024282 A1). Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claims 14-15, 21-23, and 25 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farmer et al. (WO 2019140439 A1). Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
The following grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 14-16, 20-23, 25, and 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “at least one microbial isolate(s) or extract thereof selected from the group consisting of Cladosporium cladosporioides or an extract thereof that comprises cladosporol A, cladosporol C, and/or cladosporol D, Epicoccum nigrum or an extract thereof that comprises epicoccamide A, and an Alternaria radicina extract that comprises radicinin”. It is unclear from this language if (i) the composition comprises one selected from “Cladosporium cladosporioides or an extract thereof that comprises cladosporol A, cladosporol C, and/or cladosporol D” and then the remaining elements relating to Epicoccum nigrum and Alternaria radicina are also required; or (ii) if the group being selected from is: Cladosporium cladosporioides; an extract thereof that comprises cladosporol A, cladosporol C, and/or cladosporol D; Epicoccum nigrum; an extract thereof that comprises epicoccamide A; and an Alternaria radicina extract that comprises radicinin. For the sake of compact prosecution the claim is being interpreted as a composition comprising at least one selected from the entire list (i.e., either Cladosporium cladosporioides; an extract thereof that comprises cladosporol A, cladosporol C, and/or cladosporol D; Epicoccum nigrum; an extract thereof that comprises epicoccamide A; or an Alternaria radicina extract that comprises radicinin.
The remaining claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 14 and for failing to rectify the issue. Simply stating that the composition comprises “X”, does not clarify what microbial isolate or extract is being selected from the list of claim 14, since the composition could comprise these further defined elements in addition to a microbial isolate or extract from the list of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Scope of Enablement
Claims 14-17, 20-23, 25, and 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating CLas and/or HLB by introducing a composition comprising a C. cladosporioides or E. nigrum microbial isolate supernatant; cladosporol A, C, or D; epicoccamide A; or an A. radicina extract comprising radicinin, it does not reasonably provide enablement for introducing the microbial isolates themselves. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to perform the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure meets the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, have been described In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400(1988). They are:
1. The breadth of the claims;
2. The nature of the invention;
3. The state of the prior art;
4. The predictability or lack thereof in the art
5. The level of skill in the art;
6. The amount of direction or guidance present;
7. The presence or absence of working examples;
8. The quantity of experimentation needed.
The breadth of the claims
The breadth of the claims seems to encompasses a method of treating a Candidatus Liberibacter asiaticus (CLas) infection in a plant and/or treating Huanglongbing (HLB) in a plant, by introducing to the plant a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising at least one microbial isolate(s) or extract thereof selected from the group consisting of Cladosporium cladosporioides or an extract thereof that comprises cladosporal A, D, and/or D, Epicoccum nigrum or an extract thereof that comprises epicoccamide A, and an Alternaria radicina extract that comprises radicinin.
The specification does not describe methods of treating such an infection with the microbial isolates themselves rather it describes the inhibitory effect of crude supernatants, radicinin compounds, epicoccamide compounds, and cladosporol compounds against L. crescens in vitro.
The nature of the invention
The nature of the invention as recited in the instant claims is a method of treating a Candidatus Liberibacter asiaticus (CLas) infection in a plant and/or treating Huanglongbing (HLB) in a plant by introducing to the plant a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising a microbial isolate(s) or an extract thereof.
The state of the prior art/The predictability or lack thereof in the art
Prior studies investigating Huanglongbing (HLB), which is the disease associated with the bacteria Candidatus Liberibacter asiaticus (CLas), have investigated the bacterial and fungal taxa associated with CLas-infected citrus and their relative abundance in the budwood, leaves, and roots of the same citrus trees (Abstract of Ginnan et al. 2018, on record). HLB affects most citrus cultivars, and there currently are no effective prophylactic or therapeutic treatments (p. 65, para. 2). Ginnan et al. investigates the citrus microbiome, stating that the plant microbiome is involved in various aspects of plant health and disease. Understanding how the microbiome influences and interacts with the plant requires implementation of a variety of experimental approaches, including meta-analyses of large microbial datasets (p. 65, para. 3). Ultimately, the prior art draws no direct ties to individual microorganisms nor their role in HLB suppression, however, the researchers express hope that a meta-analyses of their dataset could lead to the identification of individual microorganisms and help direct targeted experiments that aim to understand the in-planta microbe-microbe or microbiome-host interactions associated with HLB (Future Directions).
Blacutt et al. 2020 (on record) indicates that current management of HLB relies heavily on vector control via insecticide applications, and the development of alternative effective management strategies is ongoing (p. 2, para. 1). In the HLB pathosystem, efforts to harness biologicals or their bioactive metabolites for the management of HLB via direct application face significant challenges. Among these is the fastidious nature of the pathogen “Ca. Liberibacter asiaticus,” as it is localized to the phloem, a difficult-to-access sector of the plant endosphere. Moreover, “Ca. Liberibacter asiaticus” is delivered directly to the phloem by its insect vector and has no known epiphytic phase. Thus, anti-“Ca. Liberibacter asiaticus” applications based on direct activity against the pathogen will require entry to the phloem. The next steps of this collective work are to evaluate the cladosporols (and/or other to-be-isolated natural products) for anti-“Ca. Liberibacter asiaticus” activity within citrus trees. Most importantly, assays designed to track the transit pathways of those molecules in planta are necessary to assess bioavailability across tissue compartments. It will also be pertinent to determine whether the “Ca. Liberibacter asiaticus”-inhibitory metabolites are produced by their respective microbes in planta. Empirical assessment of the potential for these microbes to be used, either directly as bioinoculants, or through cultural practices enriching their abundance in planta, to curtail “Ca. Liberibacter asiaticus,” and thus mitigate HLB, are the next steps for this research (final paragraph of discussion).
Thus, the state of the art for treating CLas infection and/or HLB with a microbial isolate or an extract thereof is ongoing and unpredictable. There currently are no effective prophylactic or therapeutic treatments and successful inhibition of CLas in a citrus tree relies on hypotheses made from meta-data analyses and in vitro inhibition assays against a culturable surrogate of CLas. Furthermore, there is no validation that the microbes themselves, when applied to a tree, would produce the inhibitory metabolites known to provide the therapeutic effect, nor has the art determined a method for introducing potentially beneficial microbes to the difficult-to-reach phloem of a plant. Although there are promising results that pose various microbial isolates and extracts thereof as potential inhibitors of CLas/HLB, further validation and considerations are necessary for implementing the inhibitors in planta.
The level of one of ordinary skill
The level of skill would be high in order to carry out the method of providing a microbial isolate or extract thereof and introducing it into a plant.
The amount of direction of guidance present/ The presence or absence of working examples
The instant specification discloses a method for screening citrus-associated microbiota with potential anti-CLas properties (Example 1). A Liberibacter crescens inhibition bioassay was developed to identify inhibitory microbes (p. 49 and 60-61 of spec.). Crude supernatants were obtained from the pure cultures of various microbes (i.e., microbial isolates) and tested for activity in the bioassay. Applicant identified supernatants that inhibit the growth of L. Crescens as evidenced by a zone of growth inhibition around the supernatant, indicating that these isolates secrete antimicrobial secondary metabolites (p. 50 of spec.). Organic extracts were then fractionated from crude supernatants to isolate specific metabolites with inhibitory behavior which were then characterized. Cladosporols and epicoccamides where identified (p. 50 of spec.). Additionally, radicinin, a microbial metabolite, and its derivatives were synthesized and isolated from A. radicina and tested in a bioassay against L. crescens (Example 2; p. 69-70 of spec.). Thus, the specification only provides guidance for determining the inhibitory activity of microbial isolate extracts (i.e., crude supernatants and metabolites such as cladosporol , epicoccamide, and radicinin). While the specification teaches that in certain embodiments, organisms may be present in a bioinoculant composition or as inactivated microbial isolates (e.g., a composition comprising an inactivated culture, such as heat-killed whole culture broth), there is no specific guidance or example of a microbial isolate itself (i.e., the cells) being tested in an inhibition bioassay or applied to an infected tree. As such, an example of testing the microbial isolate itself (i.e., the cells), to see if they actually inhibit L. crescens or produced the inhibitory metabolites in planta, would be required in order to demonstrate inhibitory activity that would enable a method of treating CLas/HLB in a plant with these microbial isolates.
The quantity of experimentation needed
Due to the ongoing and unpredictable nature of developing CLas/HLB treatments (as discussed supra), along with the lack of guidance in the instant specification, undue experimentation would be required to treat CLas/HLB in a plant with the claimed microbial isolates themselves. The art has not demonstrated any level of predictability for treating CLas in a plant using a microbial isolate nor has it shown that applying microbial isolates in planta would necessarily lead the same inhibitory metabolites observed in vitro. Meta-analyses, bioassay guided testing, and in planta validation are necessary to determine potential inhibitors, processes requiring a high level of skill and experimentation. The instant specification only discloses bioassay testing of specific extracts which have inhibitory effects that could reasonably be translated into a CLas in planta model. One of ordinary skill in the art could not assume from these results that the microbial isolates themselves would also have an inhibitory effect in planta, nor that it would be simply to introduce the whole microbial isolate without any formulation guidance and expect the same effect. Given that there is no evidence of the microbial isolates themselves having an inhibitory effect in the L. crescens bioassay nor in planta validation, undue experimentation would be required to validate their activity and translate their use into a plant suffering from HLB.
Conclusion
Due to the non-routine experimentation needed to determine if the claimed microbial isolates are effective at treating a CLas infected plant; the lack of direction/guidance presented in the specification regarding the requirements for testing and applying the microbial isolates; the unpredictability and complexity of identifying and validating effective CLas inhibitors as established by the state of the prior art; and the breadth of the claims, undue experimentation would be required of a skilled artisan to make and/or use the claimed invention in its full scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 14, 20, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cano, L, et al. (US 20210186031 A1, 06/24/2021, effectively filed 12/20/2019, PTO-892), hereinafter Cano, in view of Brandenburg et al. 'Bioassay-Guided Investigation of Inhibitors of Pierce's Disease and Citrus Greening Disease', Honors Project paper, B.A. Philosophy, May 2019, Point Loma Nazarene University, pages 1-7 (on record), hereinafter Brandenburg.
Cano discloses methods, and kits for suppression of huanglongbing (HLB) in a subject having HLB (or otherwise for treatment of symptoms of HLB in a subject in need thereof (abstract). Citrus huanglongbing (HLB), also known as citrus greening, is a devastating disease with high economical costs to the worldwide citrus industry. The disease is caused by three species of α-proteobacterium, Candidatus Liberibacter asiaticus (CLas) ([0003]). The method for suppressing citrus huanglongbing (HLB) in a subject in need thereof, comprises: providing an aqueous oak leaf extract composition to the subject in need thereof ([0007]-[0008]; claim 5). The composition is an effective amount to suppress HLB in the subject in need thereof (i.e., a therapeutically effective amount) ([0007]-[0008]; claim 15). The subject in need thereof is a citrus plant infected with HLB ([0007]-[0008]; claim 9). Generally, Cano teaches that in the field of HLB treatment there is scientific interest in biomolecules, identified from a natural source with antimicrobial activity. Mention is made of compounds including a molecule isolated from fungi known as radicinin ([0122]).
Regarding claims 50: Three symptomatic CLas-infected citrus plants were supplied with aqueous oak extract. For each treatment, 50 ml of the aqueous oak extract was foliar applied (spray), and 200 ml was drench applied (irrigation) ([0099]; claim 6), thereby reading on a liquid composition.
The teachings of Cano differ from that of the instant invention in that Cano does not explicitly teach the application of radicinin to an HLB infected plant nor that the radicinin is an Alternaria radicina extract, as defined in claim 14.
Brandenberg teaches that Citrus Greening Disease, plaguing commercial citrus trees in Florida, is caused by bacterial plant pathogen Candidatus liberibacter asiaticus (CLas). If left untreated, these pathogens ultimately kill their host plants. Potent antibacterial agents, then, are desirable to prevent both the loss of these plants, and their products at market. Brandenberg discloses the effectiveness of different compounds against Liberibacter crescens, a culturable surrogate for CLas (abstract). The antibacterial activity of various synthetic, commercially available, and naturally occurring compounds (Fig. 3) was quantified by an inhibitory in vitro agar diffusion bioassay technique (Fig. 4) against L. crescens (p. 1-3, bridging paragraph). A pure sample of radicinin (1) was obtained from the fermentation of Alternaria radicina (ATCC strain AR96831) shaken at 190 rpm in potato dextrose broth for 24 days (p. 4, final paragraph), which reads on an Alternaria radicina extract that comprises radicinin as recited in claims 14 and 20. For L. crescens, (1) displayed a notable linear relationship between compound dose and bacterial response (Fig. 3) (p. 3, right col., para. 4), designating (1) (i.e., A. radicina extract comprising radicinin) as an inhibitors of L. crescens (p. 4, right col., para. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the Alternaria radicina extract comprising radicinin taught by Brandenberg into the composition and method of Cano since radicinin extracted from A. radicina is known and effective in the art for inhibiting the culturable surrogate of CLas as taught by Brandenberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized from the teachings of Brandenberg that since radicinin (compound 1) has antibacterial activity against L. cresens, the culturable surrogate of CLas, that this compound would be effective at treating CLas infections in HLB suffering plants. Based on these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the radicinin of Brandenberg into the composition and method of Cano in order to improve the inhibition of CLas in HLB infected plants. Furthermore, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification since Cano teaches radicinin as a natural product with HLB-related antimicrobial activity and Brandenberg confirms it with in vitro assays.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2026, with respect to the 112(a) scope of enablement rejection, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
(1) Applicant argues against the enablement rejection stating that the assays and data of the instant application indicate that the claimed isolated microbes produce and secrete antimicrobial metabolite compounds, establishing a strong correlation between these isolated microbes and the inhibition of L. crescens. Applicant also states that there have been other known, commercially available bioinoculant compositions comprising beneficial microbes to treat other phytopathogens. As such, applicant asserts that it is within the skill of the art to make and introduce a bioinoculant composition of isolated beneficial microbes to a plant.
While the specification shows that the claimed microbial isolates secrete metabolites which inhibit L. crescens in vitro, this correlation is not proof that such microbial isolates could effectively treat HLB in a plant. Overall, the art teaches that it is complex and unpredictable to identify and apply CLas inhibiting compositions to a plant. Notably, there are no current effective prophylactic or therapeutic treatments and harnessing biologicals or their metabolites for the management of HLB via direct application faces significant challenges (Ginnan et al. 2018, Blacutt et al. 2020). Given the unpredictability of the art, it would be necessary to validate the in vitro results of the instant specification either using the actual microbe or in an actual plant. For instance, the art teaches it is necessary to determine if inhibitory metabolites are produced by their respective microbes in planta. In addition, there are various levels of unpredictability when introducing live microorganisms to a plant, such as cell viability. Additionally, how much of the microorganism would be necessary to achieve the therapeutically effective amount of the inhibitory metabolites? The instant specification provides no guidance for any of these considerations. The fact that other bioinoculant compositions of different beneficial microbes are known does not indicate that it would be routine to formulate the instantly claimed microbes into an effective bioinoculant composition. Additionally, there are no specific formulation or application examples in the instant specification. The specification teaches that the specific microbes claimed (i.e., C. cladosporioides and E. nigrum) produce metabolites in vitro which inhibit L. crescens, the culturable surrogate of CLas, in vitro. In order to provide the instantly claimed method, which includes treating an CLas infected plant with one of these microbes, several jumps have to be made: 1) validating that these microbes produce the inhibitory metabolites to the same degree in planta as seen in vitro; 2) one must assume that the inhibition of L. crescens in vitro translates directly to the inhibition of CLas in planta; and 3) formulating the active microorganisms in a manner that retains their viability upon application to the plant and in an amount which allows for therapeutic levels of the inhibitory metabolites. Together, these considerations would require one of ordinary skill in the art to perform more than routine experimentation. As such, the instant disclosure is not enabled for the full scope of the claims.
Conclusion
Claims 14-16, 20-23, 25, and 50-52 are rejected.
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSANNAH S ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1616 /ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616