DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 8-9, filed August 1, 2025, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Regarding Luo (CN 104741236 A), excerpt of Fig. 4 is shown below with first surface (i.e., inclined surface) and second surface (i.e., curved surface) of each protrusion identified. Applicant asserts, “As shown in Fig. 4 of Luo, the slot wall 121 and the bottom wall 122 are one structure. The slot wall 121 has a wave shape, but it does not have a separate structure that reads on the protrusions of claim 1”, and states further “Luo suffers from critical limitations: Its wavy groove walls rely on integral elastic deformation (Figure 4), lacking dedicated guidance features. Insertion of the electrode plate 2 must overcome full-length wall resistance, causing frequent jamming. Long-term elastic attenuation causes plate spacing drift, resulting in electric field inhomogeneity.” Nonetheless, Luo discloses the difference for the structural features of independent claim 1 combined with the teaching of Yao-yuan as identified in the excerpt provided below. In further response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Furthermore, the remark “lacking dedicated guidance features” is not recited in independent claim 1. Regarding remarks associated with claim 2 and 3 that state, “Ran does not cure the deficiencies of Yao-yuan, as Ran also fails to teach or suggest these elements of claim 1.” Similarly, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Nonetheless, the reference as previously relied upon are combined differently resulting from amendments to independent claim 1. The rejection of the remaining claims are addressed here within.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “each pair” in line 17. The limitation can be interpreted as more than the recited “a pair of protrusions“ in line 16, and therefore is ambiguous. For examination on the merits, the language is interpreted as follows: “the protrusions in [[each]] said pair.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao-yuan (CN 211801652 U) in view of Luo (CN 104741236 A),
Regarding claim 1 below, as interpreted, Yao-yuan is relied upon as the closest prior art. Citations found in the prior art reference to Yao-yuan are provided initially below with claim 1 and then to Luo:
A dust collector (dust collecting structure 100; Figs. 1, 4 ), comprising:
a base body having a receiving chamber formed therein (frame 10 in Fig. 1);
the first slot being positioned at one side of the separator and the second slot being positioned at the other side of the separator;
a repelling module including a plurality of repeller plates arranged in parallel (repulsive pole inserting plate group 30; Figs. 1, 3), the plurality of repeller plates being disposed in the plurality of first slots (Figs. 1, 3); and
a collecting module (collecting pole inserting plate group 20; Figs. 1, 4) including a first collection unit and a second collection unit arranged in parallel (collecting pole plate group 22; collecting pole plate group 23; Fig. 4), the first collection unit including a plurality of first collector plates arranged in parallel (collecting plates 21; Figs. 1, 3, 4), the second collection unit including a plurality of second collector plates arranged in parallel (collecting plates 21; Figs. 1, 3, 4); the first collection unit and the second collection unit being detachably inserted and the plurality of first collector plates and the plurality of second collector plates being arranged at intervals (Figs. 3, 4); the collecting module being detachably connected to the base body, so that the plurality of first collector plates and the plurality of second collector plates being inserted respectively into the plurality of second slots (Figs. 1, 3, 4).
Yao-yuan does not appear state explicitly the limitation “a separator provided in the receiving chamber to form a plurality of first slots and a plurality of second slots arranged at intervals.” However, Yao-yuan teaches the third connecting plate 232 and fourth connecting plate 233 are integrally formed and shown with the collecting pole plate group 23 in Fig. 4. Each of the third connecting plate 232 and fourth connecting plate 233 has a plurality of first slots and a plurality of second slots (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to utilize the plurality of slots in third connecting plate 232 and fourth connecting plate 233 (i.e., first and second plurality of slots) to detachably connect the collecting pole plate group 22 and collecting pole plate group 23 is detachably connect the collecting pole plate group to use the daily tool for detailed and comprehensive cleaning, and easy of drying, and avoiding generating tip discharge and creepage tracking, to improve the user experience as taught in Yao-yuan.
Additionally, Yao-yuan does not appear state explicitly “a pair of protrusions formed inside each of the second slots, wherein the protrusions in each pair are disposed opposite to each other to grip the collector plate; and wherein each protrusion includes a first surface and a second surface, the first surface facing an opening of the each of the second slots and the second surface facing away from an opening of the each of the second slots; the first surface being an inclined surface, an end of the first surface connected to the separator being close to the opening of the each of the second slots, and the other end of the first surface being away from the opening of the each of the second slots; the second surface is a curved surface; the second surface bends towards a direction away from the opening of the each of the second slots.”
However, Luo discloses a dust collecting device including slots (Fig. 5) that has a pair of protrusions (clamping parts a, b in slot wall 121 in Figs. 3-4) formed inside each of the slots, wherein the protrusions of in said pair are disposed opposite to each other to grip the collection plate (Figs. 3, 4, 5 ); wherein each protrusion includes a first surface and a second surface (Figs. 3, 4, 5), the first surface facing an opening of the second slot and the second surface facing away from an opening of the second slot (Fig. 4); the first surface being an inclined surface, an end of the first surface connected to the separator being close to the opening of the second slots (Fig. 4), and the other end of the first surface being far from the opening of the second slots; the second surface is a curved surface (Fig. 4); second surface bends towards a direction away from the opening of each the second slots (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to include the at least one pair of protrusions as disclosed in Luo with the dust collector of Yao-yuan to contact tightly with the conductive sheet (i.e., hold tightly or grip) with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 4, the teaching of Yao-yuan and Luo is set forth above. Yao-yuan discloses further at least one long side of each collector plate is provided with a circular tube having an axial direction parallel to the extension direction of the long side and an outer surface connected to the long side. Whereas, “a first cylindrical bump 224, two ends of the first cylindrical bump 224 are respectively connected with the first connecting plate 222 and the second connecting plate 223; the upper edge of the collecting lower flashboard 231 (far away from one side of the exclusion pole plate group 30) is formed with a second cylindrical bulge 235, two ends of the second cylindrical bulge 235 are respectively connected with the third connecting plate 232 and the fourth connecting plate 233. the design of the first cylindrical bulge 224 and the second cylindrical bulge 235, reinforcing the collecting plate 21” (Fig. 4).
For claims 5 and 6, the teaching of Yao-yuan and Luo is set forth above. Yao-yuan discloses further the receiving chamber includes a first side wall, a second side wall, a third side wall and a fourth side wall that are connected end-to-end in sequence (collecting upper flashboard 221, first connecting plate 222, second connecting plate 223, third connecting plate 232, fourth connecting plate 233; Fig. 4), the first side wall and the second side wall being disposed opposite to each other, the third side wall and the fourth side wall being disposed opposite to each other, and the first side wall and the second side wall each being provided with the separator respectively (Figs. 1, 4), wherein the first side wall and the second side wall have a length greater than the length of the third side wall and the fourth side wall (Fig. 4).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao-yuan and Luo taken with Ran (US 20200197952 A1).
For claim 2, the prior art to Yao-yuan and Luo is set forth above and discloses the first collector plate and the second collector plate but does not appear to state explicitly that plates are metal. Ran does disclose that conventional collector pieces, i.e., the first collector and the second collect plates, are made of metal (par [0029]). As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to have for the first collector and the second collector plates of the combined teachings of Yao-yuan and Luo to be metal since metal for the plate to be subjected to conductive collection.
For claim 3, the teaching of the prior art is set forth above. Yao-yuan discloses each collection unit includes two connection plates positioned at two ends of the long side of the plurality of collector plates respectively and connected to the short side of the plurality of collector plates respectively (Fig. 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SONJI TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
October 28, 2025
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776