Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant arguments concerning claim amendments (e.g. “a single mouthpiece configured to delivery emissions from the HNB stick and the ECIG pod into an adult user’s mouth…”) are addressed in the rejections below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 26-28 and 30-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The species elected was not “a distinct mouthpiece that encompasses the first mouthpiece and the second mouthpiece”. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/28/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11-13, 15, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanchez et al. (US 20160135506).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 11, 12, and 29, Sanchez et al. disclose a hybrid aerosol generating article with:
a housing (external and internal surfaces and a cavity within inherently having proximal and distal ends, see figure 1), the housing receives
a second fragrance insert (i.e. HNB Stick, see figure 19, 203)
a housing (external and internal surfaces and a cavity within inherently having proximal and distal ends, see figure 19, 221)
a non-liquid aerosol forming material (220)
an air intake and air inlet (217)
a mouthpiece that delivers emissions from both aerosol generators (222) in a single air stream
a heating element [0055]
a first aerosol forming cartridge (i.e. ECIG pod, see figure 19, element 202)
an aerosol forming liquid
a heater [0014] [0008] (211)
an air intake (210)
mouthpiece (opposite the air intake end)
a battery (206)
Regarding claim 13, Sanchez et al. disclose that the heater located in the fragrance delivery segment is added to “control the release of fragrance”. This implies that the heater controls the release of fragrance by controlling heat (i.e. temperature) allowing the user to control temperature to control fragrance release.
Regarding claim 15, Sanchez et al. disclose multiple segements in the heat not burn stick [0105](figure 28b, 28c)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez et al. (US 20160135506) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Sampson et al. (US 20160007649).
Sanchez et al. do not disclose ventilation in the mouthpiece. However, ventilation in the mouthpieces of smoking articles is notoriously well known. Dilution of smoke with outside air through vents is a well-known technique. For instance, Sampson et al. disclose a smoking device with a mouthpiece that draws air in through ventilation holes and mixed it with emissions generated by the device. The ventilation, “results in greater dilution of the smoke stream and thus provides yet further different smoking sensory experience to the user for each inhalation.” [0085]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing to use ventilation in the mouthpiece as described by Sampson et al. in the device of Sanchez et al. to provide users with different sensory experiences and dilution of the smoke stream.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747