FINAL REJECTION
Priority
Instant application 17/794,729 filed on 07/22/2022 claims benefit as follow:
CONTINUING DATA:
Status of the Application
Claims 1 -13 and 15-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filled on 02/09/2026 has been entered.
Applicant amended claim 10 by adding additional limitations:
Further, Applicant canceled claim 14.
Regarding to 112(b) rejection, Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection. Thus, the 112 rejection is withdrawn.
Further, Applicant traversed the scope of elected claims and submitted that claim 15 should not had been withdrawn.
It should be noted that Applicant elected “physical performance” in the reply filed on 07/02/2025:
Claim 15 is directed to energy species. Therefore, the claim has been withdrawn. However, after allowable subject matter is identified, examiner will consider claim 15.
Regarding 102 and 103 rejections, Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejections. Applicant added an additional step “wherein the fatigue of the subject is measured using a Vigilance Task Test”. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
However, Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejections presented in this Office action.
The 103 rejection is reapplied with an additional reference. The new reference is addressing the newly added step of measuring fatigue of the subject using a Vigilance Task Test.
Regarding double patenting rejections, Applicant submitted that “Should any claims be allowed in either application, Applicant will address any remaining rejections at that time”. Further, Applicant notified the Office that a terminal disclaimer, listing U.S. Applications 17/875,368, 17/965,754, 18/070,435, and 17/701,349, will be submitted upon allowance of pending claims 10-14 and 16, should it be necessary. Since no arguments are present, the double patenting rejections are withdrawn and reapplied with additional reference related to using a Vigilance Task Test.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group II in the reply filed on 07/02/2025.
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/02/2025.
Regarding species election, Applicant’s elected:
in the reply filed on 07/02/2025.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/02/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Costentin teaches dose of paraxanthine between 0.5 mg and 20 mg per kg of body weight (paragraph [0039]).
The dose limitation is met, and the populations are overlapping. Therefore, the functional limitations recited in instant claims (e.g. “does not create dependence” recited in instant claim 12, and “decrease fatigue of at least about 6%” recited in instant claim 1) are necessarily met. The properties of the composition naturally flow from the overlapping dose and overlapping populations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Costentin (US-20090325984-A1) in view of Basner (Basner et al., Acta Astronautica 69 (2011) 949–959).
Costentin teaches and claims using paraxanthine for the manufacture of a non-anxiogenic psychoanaleptic drug for the treatment of a neuropsychiatric disorder (claim 1) wherein the neuropsychiatric disorder is fatigue, a sleep disorder or an attention disorder (claim 2).
Costentin teaches treating with paraxanthine patients who suffer psychomotor slowing and fatigue:
Further, Costentin teaches dose between 0.5 mg and 20 mg per kg of body weight (paragraph [0039]):
Adults usually weight between 50 kg and 100 kg, thus, Costentin teaches a dose within the range recited in instant claim 13.
Regarding the decrease in fatigue of at least about 6 percent wherein the subject experiences a decrease in fatigue of at least about 6 percent relative to fatigue experienced by the subject under administration of a placebo, and wherein the fatigue of the subject is measured using a Vigilance Task Test, the properties of the recited composition naturally flow from the overlapping dose. As such, properties such as “decrease in fatigue of at least about 6 percent “accrue from a process step of administering paraxanthine are considered characteristic features of the claimed method.
Costentin does not teach measuring fatigue using a Vigilance Task Test.
Regarding the Vigilance Task Test also known as Psychomotor Vigilance Test (see instant specification paragraphs [092] and [093], Basner teaches:
Applying KSR prong (A) it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the steps disclosed by Costentin with psychomotor vigilance test because Costentin teaches using paraxanthine for treatments of a neuropsychiatric disorder (claim 1) wherein the neuropsychiatric disorder is fatigue, a sleep disorder or an attention disorder (claim 2) and Vigilance Task Test is a known test that objectively assesses fatigue-related changes.
Regarding claim 16, Costentin does not teach providing the subject with a composition comprising paraxanthine and caffeine.
However, Costentin teaches that caffeine also shows stimulating effect:
Applying KSR prong (A) it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine paraxanthine and caffeine and use it for the same purpose with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled person would have been motivated by the teachings of Costentin and by the fact that paraxantine (1,7-dimethylxanthine) is a known metabolite (breakdown product) of caffeine (1,3,7-trimethylxanthin).
Double Patenting
Claims 10-13 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 17/875368 in view of Basner (Basner et al., Acta Astronautica 69 (2011) 949–959).
The claims of 17/875368 recite methods for improving cognitive function (see claim 1), athletic performance (see claim 13) and endurance (claim 15) comprising administering to a subject 2 mg to about 800 mg of paraxanthine:
Regarding instant claim 16, the claims of 17/875368 recite paraxanthine and caffeine.
The claims of 17/875368 limit the population to slow caffeine metabolizer (SCM) subject wherein the instant claims are directed to any subject.
MPEP 2131.02 states “A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named.”
The claims of 17/875368 do not recite fatigue is measured using a Vigilance Task Test.
However, regarding the Vigilance Task Test also known as psychomotor vigilance test (see instant specification paragraphs [092] and [093], Basner teaches:
Applying KSR prong (A) it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use psychomotor Vigilance Task Test because Vigilance Task Test is a known test that objectively assesses fatigue-related changes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 10-13 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28-29, 31-34 and 37-46 of copending Application No. 17/965754 in view of Basner (Basner et al., Acta Astronautica 69 (2011) 949–959).
The claims of 17/965754 recite methods for improving physical performance, comprising providing a subject with a composition comprising about 50 mg to about 800 mg of paraxanthine (see claim 28):
Regarding instant claim 16, the claims of recite paraxanthine and caffeine (see claim 32).
Regarding claims 12 and 14, the properties of the recited composition comprising paraxanthine naturally flow from the overlapping dose and overlapping populations. Since the dose limitation is met and the populations are overlapping, the functional limitations recited in instant claims are necessarily met.
The claims of 17/965754 do not recite fatigue is measured using a Vigilance Task Test.
Regarding the Vigilance Task Test also known as psychomotor vigilance test (see instant specification paragraphs [092] and [093], Basner teaches:
Applying KSR prong (A) it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use psychomotor Vigilance Task Test because Vigilance Task Test is a known test that objectively assesses fatigue-related changes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 9, 11 and 19 of copending Application No. 18/070435 in view of Basner (Basner et al., Acta Astronautica 69 (2011) 949–959).
The claims of Application No. 18/070435 recite:
Since the dose limitation is met and the populations are overlapping, the functional limitations recited in instant claims are necessarily met.
The claims of 18/070435 do not recite fatigue is measured using a Vigilance Task Test.
Regarding the Vigilance Task Test also known as psychomotor vigilance test (see instant specification paragraphs [092] and [093], Basner teaches:
Applying KSR prong (A) it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use psychomotor Vigilance Task Test because Vigilance Task Test is a known test that objectively assesses fatigue-related changes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 10-13 and 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 9, 11 and 19 of copending Application No. 18/070435 in view of Costentin (US-20090325984-A1) and in view of Basner (Basner et al., Acta Astronautica 69 (2011) 949–959).
Although claims 10-14 have been rejected above, alternative reasoning is provided below.
The claims of Application No. 18/070435 recite:
The claims of Application No. 18/070435 do not explicitly recite improving physical performance or fatigue. Further, the claims of 18/070435 do not recite fatigue is measured using a Vigilance Task Test.
However, one of ordinary skill would expect that improvement of muscle function results in reduction of fatigue. Stronger, more efficient muscles require less effort to perform the same tasks, leading to less perceived fatigue.
In addition, Costentin teaches treating with paraxanthine patients who suffer psychomotor slowing and fatigue:
Regarding the Vigilance Task Test also known as psychomotor vigilance test (see instant specification paragraphs [092] and [093], Basner teaches:
Applying KSR prong (A) it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use psychomotor Vigilance Task Test because Vigilance Task Test is a known test that objectively assesses fatigue-related changes.
Regarding claim 16, the claims of 18/070435 do not recite providing the subject with a composition comprising paraxanthiene and caffeine.
However, Costentin teaches that caffeine also shows stimulating effect:
Applying KSR prong (A) it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine paraxanthine and caffeine and use it for the same purpose with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled person would have been motivated by the teachings of Costentin and by the fact that paraxantine (1,7-dimethylxanthine) is a known metabolite (breakdown product) of caffeine (1,3,7-trimethylxanthin).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 10-13 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13-14, 16-23 and 25-26 of copending Application No. 17/701349 in view of Vgontzas (VGONTZAS, A.N., BIXLER, E.O. and CHROUSOS, G.P. (2006), Obesity-Related Sleepiness and Fatigue. Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences, 1083: 329-344) and in view of Basner (Basner et al., Acta Astronautica 69 (2011) 949–959).
The claims of Application No. 17/701349 recite a method for promoting weight loss in a subject comprising administering to the subject the seme compound as recited in the instant claims.
Further, regarding instant claim 16, the claims of Application No. 17/701349 recite composition comprising paraxanthine and caffeine (see claim 5).
The claims of Application No. 17/701349 do not explicitly recite improving physical performance or fatigue, and the claims of 17/701349 do not recite fatigue is measured using a Vigilance Task Test.
However, the properties of the recited composition naturally flow from the overlapping dose.
In addition, Vgontzas teaches that obesity led to sleepiness and fatigue (see title).
Regarding the Vigilance Task Test also known as psychomotor vigilance test (see instant specification paragraphs [092] and [093], Basner teaches:
Applying KSR prong (A) it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Vgontzas and the recitations of claims of 17/701349 and use the composition to reduce fatigue with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled person would expect that weight loss will result in reduction of fatigue and increased energy levels because a subject with a higher mass requires more energy to perform the same activities. Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use psychomotor Vigilance Task Test because Vigilance Task Test is a known test that objectively assesses fatigue-related changes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621