Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/13/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 14-24 remain pending in this application. Claims 20-21 remain withdrawn. The examiner acknowledges no new matter has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 4 recite the limitation "the first coating portion" in lines 3-4 and 2 respectively. These recitations may refer to “a first coating portion” on line 12 of claim 1 or “a first coating portion” of line 2 of claim 3. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To resolve this, the examiner advises to amend “a first coating portion” of line 2 of claim 3 to “the first coating portion.” For the purpose of examination, the Examiner has treated a first coating portion claim 3 as the same component of a first coating portion in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, 11, 14-17, 19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shixi et al. (CN108987655A) in view of Kim et al. (KR 2018/0008039 A) and further in view of Kogetsu et al. (US 2018/0145304 A1). Shixi et al. was cited in the IDS filed 7/22/2022. A translation of Shixi et al. was cited in the IDS filed 3/3/2023.
Regarding claim 1, Shixi et al. teaches an electrode assembly (see e.g. the electrode plates noted in the Abstract), comprising:
a first electrode plate (see e.g. the first pole piece 11 in Fig. 1-19 and page 3: paragraph 2 of Shixi et al. translation);
a second electrode plate (see e.g. the second pole piece 12 in Fig. 1-19 and page 3: paragraph 2 of Shixi et al. translation), wherein a polarity of the second electrode plate is opposite to a polarity of the first electrode plate (see e.g. in page 3: paragraph 2 of Shixi et al. translation the polarity of the first pole piece 11 is opposite to the polarity of the second pole piece 12); and
a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (see e.g. the isolation film 15 or separator in page 5: paragraph 4 of Shixi et al. translation and Fig. 18. Shixi et al. teaches the electrode assembly is formed by winding the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate by how in page 4: paragraph 3, page 5: paragraph 4, and Fig. 15 notes the cell can optionally be laminated or wound so the details on the separator within the laminated battery, on page 5: paragraph 4 of Shixi et al. translation and Fig. 18, would also be applicable to the wound battery. While Fig. 15 doesn’t point out the separator, there is a separator line between the First tabs 13 and Second tabs 14 that are associated with the different poles as discussed in page 3: paragraph 2 of Shixi et al. translation);
wherein the electrode assembly further comprises:
a first tab disposed on the first electrode plate (see e.g. the first pole piece 11 with one of the first tabs 13 in Fig. 16 and noted in annotated Fig. A and B);
a second tab disposed on the second electrode plate (see e.g. the second pole piece 12 with one of the second tabs 14 in Fig. 15 and Fig. 17 and noted in annotated Fig. A and B);
and a third tab disposed on the second electrode plate (see e.g. the second pole piece 12 with the other second tab 14 in Fig. 15 and Fig. 17 and noted in annotated Fig. A and B); and
a first coating portion of the first electrode plate (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this by the first active material layer 111 coated on the first substrate in page 3: paragraph 3); wherein
in a thickness direction of the electrode assembly, a projection of the first tab, a projection of the second tab, and a projection of the third tab on a projection plane perpendicular to the thickness direction of the electrode assembly do not overlap (see e.g. by no overlapping of any of the tabs in Fig. 15 when looking directly onto the page, i.e. perpendicular to the page).
wherein the first tab comprises a connecting portion and a protruding portion (see e.g. connecting portion and protruding portion of first tab 13 in annotated Fig. E). The connecting portion connects the first electrode plate (see e.g. by its attachment to the first substrate 110 of the first pole piece 11 in annotated Fig. E and discussed in Page 3: paragraph 3 of Shixi et al. translation). The protruding portion extends out of the electrode assembly (see e.g. the protrusion vertically beyond the first substrate 110 in annotated Fig. E and discussed in Page 5: paragraph 8 to Page 6: paragraph 1 of Shixi et al. translation).
Shixi et al. fails to explicitly teach a third insulator disposed on a first coating portion of the first electrode plate;
wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a first insulator disposed on the first electrode plate, and the first insulator overlays the connecting portion.
in the thickness direction of the electrode assembly, the third insulator overlaps the second tab.
However, Kim et al. teaches a wound electrode with a positive electrode collector 111 with a positive electrode tab 121 in Para 30-31. The negative electrode sheet 112 may include a negative electrode collector and negative electrode active material and may have an electrode protecting member 140 that may include an insulating material that corresponds with the electrode tab 120 that prevents damage to the separation member 114 and short circuiting in Para. 34-35 and Fig. 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first electrode plate with a coating and second electrode plates with a connecting portion of a tab of Shixi et al., to incorporate an electrode protecting member made of an insulating material to the coating of the first electrode plate across from the connecting portion of the tab of Shixi et al., as taught by Kim et al., in order to prevent damage to the separator and prevent short circuiting as noted in Para. 35-35 of Kim et al..
Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a first insulator disposed on the first electrode plate, and the first insulator overlays the connecting portion.
However, Kogetsu et al. teaches in Para. 28, Para. 45, and Fig. 1 that an overlapping portion of positive-electrode current collecting lead 24 and first uncoated portion 40a is covered with an insulating layer 5, and the root of positive-electrode current collecting lead 24 is fixed by the insulating layer 5. Therefore, it suppresses motion of the positive-electrode current collecting lead 24 and the risk that an internal short circuit is caused by positive-electrode current collecting lead 24 is also reduced.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connecting portion of Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. to be covered by an insulating layer, as taught by Kogetsu et al., to suppress lead movement and internal short circuiting as noted in Para. 45 of Kogetsu et al.
Figure A. Annotated Fig. A of Fig. 15 of Shixi et al.
Figure B. Annotated Fig. B of Fig. 18 of Shixi et al.
Figure E. Annotated Fig. E of Fig. 3 of Shixi et al.
Regarding claim 2, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the projection of the first tab on the projection plane is located between the projection of the second tab and the projection of the third tab (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this in page 4: paragraph 9 that the arrangement modes of the first tabs 13, found in Fig. 3-8, and second tabs 14, found in Fig. 9-14, can be freely combined. The combination of the arrangement modes of Fig. 7 and Fig. 11, as shown in annotated Fig. C and D show the first tab in the center of the sheet while the second and third tabs are on the edges. Before and after the winding of the first pole piece and second pole piece found in Fig. 7 and Fig. 11 respectively, the first tab would be located between the second and third tabs when looking at the assembly in a vertical x-direction direction when comparing annotated Fig. C and D, the same plane as looking perpendicular onto the page in Fig. 15).
Figure C. Annotated Fig. C of Fig. 7 of Shixi et al.
Figure D. Annotated Fig. D of Fig. 11 of Shixi et al.
Regarding claim 3, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first coating portion and a first empty foil portion (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this by the first active material layer 111 coated on the first substrate in page 3: paragraph 3, and the white regions of the first substrate 110 that do not contain the first active material layer 111 in Fig. 3-8), and
Wherein the second electrode plate comprises a second coating portion and a second empty foil portion (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this by the second active material layer 121 coated on the second substrate in page 3: paragraph 4, and the white regions of the first substrate 120 that do not contain the second active material layer 121 in Fig. 9-14),
Wherein the first coating portion is formed by coating a surface of a first current collector with a first active layer (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this by the first active material layer 111 coated on the first substrate in page 3: paragraph 3), and
the second coating portion is formed by coating a surface of a second current collector with a second active layer (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this by the second active material layer 121 coated on the second substrate in page 3: paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 10, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 3, wherein the second empty foil portion comprises a first empty foil region and a second empty foil region (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this by the two white portions denoting the second substrate 120 of the second pole piece 12 that lacks the gray second active material layer 121 that has been coated on to the second substrate 120 in page 3: paragraph 4 of Shixi et al. translation. There are two or more empty foil regions of the second substrate 120 because they are white regions of the second substrate 120 that lack the gray coating of the second active material layer 121 of the second pole piece 12 in Fig. 9-14. Annotated Fig. D serves as an example showing the first and second empty foil regions. Annotated Fig. D points out the first and second ends of the second active material layer 121), the first empty foil region is connected to a first end of the second coating portion, the second empty foil region is connected to a second end of the second coating portion (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this by annotated Fig. D as these ends or edges are directly connected respectively to the first and second empty foil regions. This teaching applies to the arrangement modes in Fig. 9-14, but has only been annotated in Annotated Fig. D. In annotated Fig. D), and the second tab and the third tab are disposed in the first empty foil region and the second empty foil region respectively (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this by as shown by the annotations of Annotated Fig. D of the second tab and the third tab disposed in the first empty foil region and the second empty foil region respectively. This teaching applies to the arrangement modes in Fig. 9-11, but has only been annotated in Annotated Fig. D).
Regarding claim 11, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein, in the thickness direction of the electrode assembly, the first tab and the third tab are interspaced with at least one layer of first electrode plate or one layer of second electrode plate (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this as seen in annotated Fig. A in which vertically, horizontally, and diagonally there are electrode plates between the first and third tabs as seen in annotation A. The thin dark lines to which the tabs are connected to appear to be the first and second substrates of the first and second pole pieces while the dotted line is the separator and thick dark line is the active material layers. The first tab is attached to a thin dark line vertically below it and this thin dark line is assumed to be the first substrate based on the other figures and specification that the First Tab 13 is attached to first substrate 110 of the first pole piece 11 in page 3: paragraph 2-3 of Shixi et al. translation. The second substrate of the first pole piece of Fig. 15 is vertically, horizontally, and diagonally located between the first and third tab).
Regarding claim 14, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 11, a winding initiation end of the second electrode plate comprises a cut portion (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this by the exterior cut edge or straight end that is integral to the initial winding process and is the initial end or start of the wound structure that one externally sees as shown in Fig. A).
The previous combination of Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a second insulator, a winding initiation end of the second electrode plate comprises a cut portion, and the second insulator overlays the cut portion.
However, in Para. 65 and Fig. 3 of Kogetsu et al. teaches the negative-electrode current collecting lead 22 is connected to second uncoated portion (A) 20a and fixing insulating tape 54 is pasted on second uncoated portion (A) 20a. The fixing insulating tape 54 is used for fixing the outermost periphery of the electrode group after winding and partially covers an overlapping portion of negative-electrode current collecting lead 22 and second uncoated portion (A) 20a.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply a fixing insulating tape to the edge or cut portion of the current collector sheet and any leads of the previous combination of references of Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al., as taught by Kogetsu et al., to fix the wound structure together as explained in Para. 65 and shown in Fig. 3 of Kogetsu et al.
Regarding claim 15, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first tab extends out of a first end of the electrode assembly, and the second tab and the third tab extend out of a second end of the electrode assembly (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this as seen in annotated Fig. A in which the dotted line dissects the two ends of which the tabs are disposed. This is also taught in the arrangement mode, as discussed in page 4: paragraph 9 of Shixi et al. translation, when Fig. 8 and 12 are combined, or in Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 16, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the second and third tabs are integrally formed (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this by the fact that they are both connected to the second pole piece 12 to make up a single piece as seen in annotated Fig. D, but also Fig 9-14 and discussed in Page 3: paragraph 3 of Shixi et al. translation). the second tab extends out of a first end of the electrode assembly, and the third tab extends out of a second end of the electrode assembly (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this via annotated Fig. D by the second tab extending out of an end on one side and the third tab extending out of an end on the opposite or other side. This teaching applies to the arrangement modes in Fig. 9-14, but has only been annotated in Annotated Fig. D).
Regarding claim 17, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a fourth tab (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches a fourth tab as seen in annotated Fig. A and B), the fourth tab is disposed on the first electrode plate or the second electrode plate (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this as seen in annotated Fig. A and Fig. 3-8 in which the fourth tab is disposed on the same plate as the first tab, the first pole piece and makes up part of the Third Tab 13); and,
in the thickness direction of the electrode assembly, a projection of the fourth tab on the projection plane does not overlap the projections of the first tab, the second tab, and the third tab (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this as noted in page 2: paragraph 4 and seen in annotated Fig. A and B and be looking both in the y-direction as seen in Fig. 15 and directly onto the page of Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 19, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 1.
Shixi et al. teaches a first tab and a third tab (see e.g. the first tabs 13 in Fig. 16 and noted in annotated Fig. A and B and the other second tab 14 in Fig. 15 and Fig. 17 and noted in annotated Fig. A and B).
The previous combination of Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. fails to explicitly teach to explicitly teach wherein a surface of the first tab, or a surface of the third tab is plated with a metal material capable of being soldered and/or brazed.
However, Kogetsu et al. teaches the positive electrode current collecting lead 24 for a lithium ion battery may be preferably aluminum, aluminum alloy, nickel, nickel alloy, iron, or stainless steel in Para. 56.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first tab of the previous combination Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al., to comprise one of the metal materials as taught by Kogetsu et al., as it is an art recognized suitable material for the intended purpose of a positive lead or tab for a li-ion battery. This obviousness rejection is made under the interpretation that the First Tab 13 is a positive or cathode tab as seen by the plus sign in Fig. 18 of Shixi et al.. However, page 3: paragraph 2 of Shixi et al. states that the Second Tab 14 is a cathode tab. In case that the latter is true, the obviousness statement would be applied to the third tab as seen in annotated Fig. A and B that is part of the Second Tab 14. These metal materials are inherently capable and widely known in the art of being soldered and/or brazed.
Regarding claim 22, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first insulator is configured to prevent a short circuit between the first tab and the second electrode plate and to prevent burrs on the connecting portion of the first tab from damaging the second electrode plate (See e.g. Shixi et al. teaches the first tab by the first pole piece 11 with one of the first tabs 13 in Fig. 16 and noted in annotated Fig. A and B. Shixi et al. teaches the second electrode plate by the second pole piece 12 in Fig. 1-19 and page 3: paragraph 2 of Shixi et al. translation. Kogetsu et al. teaches in Para. 28, Para. 45, and Fig. 1 that an overlapping portion of positive-electrode current collecting lead 24 and first uncoated portion 40a is covered with insulating layer 5, and the root of positive-electrode current collecting lead 24 is fixed via insulating layer 5. This suppresses motion of the positive-electrode current collecting lead 24 and the risk that an internal short circuit is caused by positive-electrode current collecting lead 24 is also reduced. Because the combination of teachings (see claim 1) meet all claim limitations of the first insulator recited thus far, and teach reducing internal short circuiting, the structure would be reasonably expected by one of ordinary skill in the art to be reasonably capable of preventing burrs on the connecting portion of the first tab from damaging the second electrode plate considering it is indistinguishable from the claimed structure as recited thus far and lacking anything to the contrary. This is further supported that the prior art explicitly teaches prevention of short circuiting, the other limitation describing the function of the structure. See MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 23, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 14 (see e.g. upon the combination of references (see claim 1) of the first tab 13 and second tab 14 of Shixi et al. each being applied an insulating layer, as taught by Kogetsu et al. in Para. 28, Para. 45, and Fig. 1, because the tabs are spaced apart on separate plates as seen by Fig. 7 and 11 of Shixi et al., it would result in the insulating layers 5 of Kogetsu et al. to also be spaced apart.)
Regarding claim 24, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the separator is wound to form a plurality of layers, and the first electrode plate is wound to form a plurality of layers (see e.g. the Shixi et al. translation teaches this by the first pole piece 11 in Fig. 1-19 and page 3: paragraph 2 of Shixi et al. translation and separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate as seen by the isolation film 15 or separator in page 5: paragraph 4 of Shixi et al. translation and Fig. 18 and the wound structure of many layers in Fig. 15), the connecting portion and first insulator are located in the same layer of the first electrode plate (see e.g. the combination of teachings (see claim 1) leads to an insulator layer 5 of Kogetsu et al. being applied to a connecting portion (see annotated Fig. E) of Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al.. Structurally, in order for the first insulator to cover the connection portion of the tab based upon the combined teachings, it would be located in the same layer of the first electrode plate i.e. cumulatively be in the same layer of the electrode plate that resides between two adjacent layers of separator. See Fig. 1 of Kogetsu et al.).
Claims 4, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shixi et al. (CN108987655A) in view of view of Kim et al. (KR 2018/0008039 A) and Kogetsu et al. (US 2018/0145304 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Bingjiang et al. (CN 205355186 U). Bingjiang et al. was cited in the IDS filed 7/22/2022.
Regarding claim 4, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 3.
Shixi et al. teaches an active layer of the first coating with a first tab disposed on the first empty foil portion (see e.g. the first pole piece 11 with one of the first tabs 13 in Fig. 16 and noted in annotated Fig. A and B and may be placed on the first substrate 110 of the first pole piece in the Shixi translation Page 3: paragraphs 2-3);
Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein a first groove is provided on the active layer on the first coating portion, and the first tab is disposed in the first groove or, the first tab is disposed on the first empty foil portion.
However, Bingjiang et al. teaches two electrodes by the first and second pole pieces with first and second current collectors and active material layers respectively in claim 1. Bingjiang et al. teaches grooves embedded into the active material layer in claim 1 on which the lug or tab is embedded in claim 1 and Fig. 1. Bingjiang et al. teaches this optimizes the tab position of the pole piece to improve the problem of low power core hardness, easy deformation and poor symmetry, improving battery abuse testing passing rate in its abstract.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode assembly of Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. so that first tab is embedded in a groove on the first active material layer, as taught by Bingjiang et al., so as to optimize the tab position of the pole piece so as to improve the problem of low power core hardness, easy deformation and poor symmetry, improving battery abuse testing passing rate as discussed in the abstract of Bingjiang et al..
Regarding claim 5, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al., Kogetsu et al., and Bingjiang et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 4, wherein, in a length direction of the first electrode plate, a distance between the first groove and an end of the first electrode plate is 1/2-1/3 of a total length of the first electrode plate. (See e.g. discussion of claim 4. Shixi et al. teaches the first tabs 13 may be positioned on the ends or center of the first electrode plate on page 4: paragraph 4-5 of the Shixi et al. translation. Thus, when a groove of Binjiang et al. in claim 1 and Fig. 1 is applied to the first tab 13 of Shixi et al., the result is a groove centered in the middle of the first pole piece i.e. half the length of the electrode plate).
Regarding claim 7, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 3.
Shixi et al. teaches a second tab disposed on the second electrode plate (see e.g. Shixi et al. teaches the second pole piece 12 with one of the second tabs 14 in Fig. 15 and Fig. 17 and noted in annotated Fig. A and B);
Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein a second groove is provided on the second coating portion, the second tab is disposed in the second groove, and at least two lateral edges of the second groove contact the active layer on the second coating portion.
However, Bingjiang et al. teaches two electrodes by the first and second pole pieces with first and second current collectors and active material layers respectively in claim 1. Bingjiang et al. teaches grooves embedded into the active material layer in claim 1 on which the lug or tab is embedded in claim 1 and Fig. 1. Bingjiang et al. teaches this optimizes the tab position of the pole piece to improve the problem of low power core hardness, easy deformation and poor symmetry, improving battery abuse testing passing rate in its abstract. The edges of the grooves, as seen by 111 and 211 in Fig. 3 and 4, contact the edges of the first and second active material layers making up the first and second pole pieces respectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode assembly of Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. so that second tab is embedded in a groove on the second active material layer and the edges of the groove contact the sides of the second active material layer on the second pole piece, as taught by Bingjiang et al., so as to optimize the tab position of the pole piece so as to improve the problem of low power core hardness, easy deformation and poor symmetry, improving battery abuse testing passing rate as discussed in the abstract Bingjiang et al..
Regarding claim 8, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. Kogetsu et al., and Bingjiang et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 7, wherein the third tab is disposed on the second empty foil portion (see e.g. Shixi et al. teaches this as seen in the arrangement modes of the second tabs 14 making up the second and third tabs in Fig. 9-14. An example is annotated Fig. D in which the third tab is located on the white region denoting the bare second substrate 120 that is part of the second pole piece 12. The white region denotes the second substrate 120 is empty because it does not contain the gray second active material layer 121 in Fig. 9-14 that is coated onto the second substrate 120 in page 3: paragraph 4 of Shixi et al. translation).
Regarding claim 9, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al., Kogetsu et al., and Bingjiang et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 7, wherein a third tab disposed on the second electrode plate (see e.g. Shixi et al. teaches this as seen by the second pole piece 12 with the other Second Tab 14 in Fig. 15 and Fig. 17 and noted in annotated Fig. A and B), wherein a third groove is provided on the second coating portion, and the third tab is disposed in the third groove (See e.g. discussion of claim 7 of modifying the second tab 14 of Fig. 15 and 17 of Shixi et al. to be on a groove of the active material of claim 1 and Fig. 1 of Bingjiang et al. It would have been obvious to further modify the third tab of Shixi or the other second tab 14 in Fig. 15 and 17 to also be disposed in a groove on the active material, as taught by Bingjiang, for the added benefits. See MPEP 2144.04 VI B);
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shixi et al. (CN108987655A) in view of view of Kim et al. (KR 2018/0008039 A) and Kogetsu et al. (US 2018/0145304 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tajima et al. (JP 2013-243083 A). Tajima et al. was cited in the IDS filed 8/22/2023.
Regarding claim 18, Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. teach the electrode assembly according to claim 1.
Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein at least two electrical connection portions are disposed at an end at which the first tab extends out of the electrode assembly, and the at least two electrical connection portions are interspaced configured to connect to an external circuit.
However, Tajima et al. teaches an apparatus in which the positive electrode has a first tab, as pointed out in annotated Fig. F, that extends vertically upright out of the electrode assembly 12. The positive electrode terminal 25 and negative electrode terminal 26 are also on the upright vertical side of the electrode assembly 12, as shown in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. F. As shown in Fig. 2, and paragraph 15, the external terminals 25 and 26a are external of the secondary battery 10 and are therefore capable of physically and electrically connecting to an external circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery structure of Shixi et al. in view of Kim et al. and Kogetsu et al., to includes electrode terminals on the same side as the first tab that extend externally out of the battery, as taught by Tajima et al, to compactly produce a battery that is capable of transferring energy.
Figure F. Annotated Fig. F of Fig. 1 of Koyama et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-11, 14-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new combination of the references cited in the Final Rejection filed 9/22/2025 and Kim et al. (KR 2018/0008039 A) to address the newly added limitations
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2014/225326 A teaches multiple tabs on bare substrate and active material. This was cited in the IDS filed 8/22/2023.
JP 2012003877 A teaches tabs extending onto both vertical sides of a substrate. This was cited in the IDS filed 5/9/2025.
WO 2019/069890 A1 teaches insulating tape that covers exposed electrode tabs connected to the substrate. This was cited in the IDS filed 5/9/2025.
CN 108336416 A teaches significant layers of wound plating between electrode tabs. This was cited in the IDS filed 5/9/2025.
WO 2013/038677 A teaches tabs of different polarities on opposing sides vertically and horizontally of the plates. This was cited in the IDS filed 5/9/2025.
CN 207753111 A teaches electrode tabs on vertically opposite ends of the plates. This was cited in the IDS filed 7/22/2022.
US 2016/0072149 A1 teaches taping of wound electrode body
US 2016/0190654 A1 teaches taping of internal wound end
US 2018/0233301 A1 teaches internal wound electrode body layering
/KATHERINE J METZGER/Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723