Priority
The claim to priority as a 371 filing of PCT/ES2021/070038, filed on January 21, 2021, which claims benefit to ES U202030121, filed on January 23, 2020 is acknowledged in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on July 22, 2022 has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “internal fan” (claim 5); “advertising elements” (claim 17) and “a sealing means” (claims 18-19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 8-9 and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, the limitation “grille” recites in line 2 should be changed to “grill”
In claims 8-9, the limitation “the tube” recites in line 6 should be changed to “the tubular body”.
In claim 13, the limitation “grille” recites in lines 3 and 7 should be changed to “grill”
In claim 13, the limitation “the tube” recites in lines 4 and 6 should be changed to “the tubular body”
In claim 14, the limitation “the tube” recites in line 4 should be changed to “the tubular body”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. None of the physical structure for the sealing means that applicant had possession of at the time of filing was discussed in the original disclosure. A list of examples does not show possession.
Claims 4, 8-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claim 8, the limitations “a hole” recites in line 4; "a front opening" recited in line 5; and “an impurity collection tanks” recites in line 9 renders the claim indefinite and unclear to the relationship between “a hole” in line 8; “a front opening” at line 4; and “an impurity collection tanks” recites in line 15 in claim 1 to whether they are the same of different. Clarification is requested. NOTE: for purpose of examination, it is presumed it is the same hole, front opening and impurity collection tank.
In claim 9, the limitations “a hole” recites in line 5 renders the claim indefinite and unclear to the relationship between “a hole” in line 8 in claim 1 o whether they are the same of different. Clarification is requested. NOTE: for purpose of examination, it is presumed it is the same hole.
Regarding claim 18, please see the written description rejection above regarding the scope of claim 18 in terms of the applicant’s structure at the time of possession, and as a result, the equivalents thereof.
Regarding claim 19, it is unclear how the sealing means can be a cork stopper, closing gate…, a closure, and a clamp with a wire tie simultaneously. Applicant has not discussed how each of these independent type of closures is usable in combination with each other and as such the scope of the claim is unclear.
In claim 20, the limitations “a hole” recites in line 10 renders the claim indefinite and unclear to the relationship between “a hole” in line 8 in claim 1 o whether they are the same of different. Clarification is requested. NOTE: for purpose of examination, it is presumed it is the same hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pla Cortes (ES 1184909) in view of Hamm (US Pub. 2017/0227232) (both cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Pla Cortes discloses a smoker for food preparation , comprising: a tubular main body (100) including: a front opening (4) connected to an internal combustion chamber (2) where combustible and flavoring material (3) are arranged in front of a grill or filter (5); a smoke outlet (6) on the opposite side of the tubular body (100), which a through hole (end of smoke outlet 6) provided for this purpose, is connected to a hood, lid or cover (11) suitable for covering a container (12) with foodstuff (14); a flame generator (7), which is driven through the front opening (4) to burn the combustible and flavoring material (3) generating a flow of smoke (10) into the interior of the hood, lid or cover (11) (Fig. 1-3; Abstract). Pla Cortes does not disclose an impurity collection tank located behind the grill or filter. Hamm discloses an impurity collection tank (13) located behind the grill or filter (36) (Fig. 1; Par. 18 and 20-21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Pla Cortes, an impurity collection tank located behind the grill or filter, as taught by Turner, for the purpose of collecting solid particles, such as ash.
Regarding claim 2, Hamm discloses the impurity collection tank (13) is removable (Fig. 1; Par. 21).
Regarding claim 3, Hamm discloses a hatch that is provides access to the inner grill or filter (36) (Fig. 1). (Note: by removing the ash catcher 13, that provides access to the filter 36).
Regarding claim 4, Pla Cortes discloses the flame generator (7) is a driven flame generator, generating a flow of smoke into the tubular body (100) towards the inside of the hood, lid or cover (11) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Pla Cortes discloses the hole (15) of the hood, lid, or cover (11) is dimensioned to insert a part of the tubular body; and the smoke outlet (6) oriented towards the internal walls of the hood, lid or cover (11) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Pla Cortes discloses the smoke outlet (6) is in a vertical position (Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 8, Pla Cortes discloses the tubular body (100) is arranged vertically, being incorporated into the hood, lid or cover (11) through the hole (15) made at the top thereof, the tubular body (100) further comprising: the front opening (4) located at the top, at the end of a first angle section of the tube (Fig. 1-2); smoke outlet (6) in a second section of the wall on the side opposite of the tubular body (100) that is housed inside the hood, lid, or cover (11) (Fig. 3). Hamm discloses the impurity collection tank (13) located behind the grill or filter (36) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Pla Cortes disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including from Pla Cortes, the grill or filter (5) of the tubular body (100) is incorporated in the vicinity of the inner end of the tubular body such that the tubular body defines a surface on which the combustible and flavoring material (3) to be burned is supported; and from Hamm, the impurity collection tank (13) is located in the lower section of the tubular body (11) under the grille or filter (36) except the grill or filter is an inclined position. With respect to the limitation, the grill or filter is an inclined position, at the time the invention was made it would have been obvious mater of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the grill or filter is an inclined position instead of horizontal position. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the Applicant' s invention to perform equally well with the grill or filter is an inclined position or horizontal position, because both position performs the function of filtering ash equally well (MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
Regarding claim 15, Pla Cortes discloses the tubular body (100) incorporates a stop (9) so that it does not slide inside the hood, lid, or cover (11) beyond what is provided for (Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 16, Pla Cortes discloses the tubular body (100) further comprises a handle (8) to extract the tubular body 9100) from the hole (15) of the hood, lid, or cover (1) (Fig. 1 and 3).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pla Cortes (ES 1184909) in view of Hamm (US Pub. 2017/0227232) and further view of Rong (CN 209914924) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 5, Pla Cortes/Hamm disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above except an internal fan. Rong discloses an internal fan (220) (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Pla Cortes/Hamm, an internal fan, as taught by Rong, for the purpose of blowing smokes to the outlet hole.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pla Cortes (ES 1184909) in view of Hamm (US Pub. 2017/0227232) and further view of Sternin et al. (US Pat. 4,934,272) (new cited).
Regarding claim 9, Pla Cortes/Hamm disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including from Pla Cortes, the tubular body (100) incorporated into the hod, lid, or cover (11) position through the hole (15); and the front opening (4) is located laterally at the end of the external section of the tubular body (100) (Fig. 1-3) except the tubular body is in horizontal position through the hole made laterally. Sternin et al. discloses the tubular body (23) is in horizontal position through the hole made laterally (Fig. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Pla Cortes/Hamm, the tubular body is in horizontal position through the hole made laterally, as taught by Stemin et al., for the purpose of utilizing the smoker in horizontal position to the grill.
Regarding claim 10, Sternin et al. discloses the tubular body (28) is straight (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Pla Cortes discloses the tubular body (100) is angled (Fig. 1-3).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pla Cortes (ES 1184909) in view of Hamm (US Pub. 2017/0227232), Sternin et al. (US Pat. 4,934,272) and further view of Rong (CN 209914924).
Regarding claim 12, Pla Cortes/Hamm/Sternin disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including from Pla Cortes, the tubular body (100) (Fig. 1) except the tubular body is divided into separable and attached sections. Rong discloses the tubular body (300, 400) is divided into separable and attached sections (300 and 400) (Fig. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Pla Cortes/Hamm/Sternin, the tubular body is divided into separable and attached sections, as taught by Rong, for the purpose of de-assembly the main body for convenient to store and clean.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pla Cortes (ES 1184909) in view of Hamm (US Pub. 2017/0227232), Sternin et al. (US Pat. 4,934,272) and further view of Zimmerman (US Pub. 2006/0068067) (new cited).
Regarding claim 14, Pla Cortes/Hamm/Sternin disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including from Pla Cortes, the smoke outlet (6) is arranged vertically that closes the rear end of the tubular body (100) (Fig. 1-3) except the smoke outlets are defined by a plurality of perforations. Zimmerman discloses the smoke outlets (70) are defines by a plurality of perforations (74) (Fig. 3-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Pla Cortes/Hamm/Sternin, the smoke outlets are defined by a plurality of perforations, as taught by Zimmerman, for the purpose of having a plurality of outlet orifices to release of the flavor.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pla Cortes (ES 1184909) in view of Hamm (US Pub. 2017/0227232) and further view of Heinrich (DE 202008000936) (new cited).
Regarding claim 17, Pla Cortes/Hamm disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including from Pla Cortes, the handle (8) defines a surface except the handle defines a surface capable of including advertising element. Heinrich discloses the handle (1) defines a surface capable of including advertising element (7) (Fig. 1 and 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Pla Cortes/Hamm, the handle defines a surface capable of including advertising element, as taught by Heinrich, for the purpose of having a logo on the handle for advertising the product.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pla Cortes (ES 1184909) in view of Hamm (US Pub. 2017/0227232) and further view of Ahumado en frio (new cited).
Regarding claims 18-19, Pla Cortes/Hamm disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including from Pla Cortes, the hole (15) of the hood, lid, or cover (1) (Fig. 3) except a sealing means to cover the hole of the hood, lid or cover; is one or more of a cork stopper, a closing gate that slides horizontally like a peephole on a door or a hatch, a closure, or a clamp with a wire tie. Ahumado en frio discloses a sealing means to cover the hole of the hood, lid or cover is a closure (the video shown the hood with the sealing means, a closure). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Pla Cortes/Hamm, a sealing means to cover the hole of the hood, lid or cover; is one or more of a cork stopper, a closing gate that slides horizontally like a peephole on a door or a hatch, a closure, or a clamp with a wire tie, as taught by Ahumado en frio, for the purpose of sealing the hood to prevent the smoke to escaping from the hood.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pla Cortes (ES 1184909) in view of Hamm (US Pub. 2017/0227232) and further view of Zimmerman (US Pub. 2006/0068067).
Regarding claim 20, Pla Cortes/Hamm disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including from Pla Cortes, the tubular main body (100) with the smoke outlet (6) that allow directing the flow of smoke through the hole (15) of the hood, lid or cover (11) (Fig. 3) except an additional body comprising: one or more connectable ducts located on its perimeter; one or more directional duct coupled to the one or more connectable outlets that allows directing the flow of smoke simultaneously inside one or more hod, lid, or covers located independently of the tubular body and to which they are coupled at their opposite end through the hole made therein for that purpose. Zimmerman discloses an additional body comprising: one or more connectible outlets (108) located on its perimeter; one or more directional ducts (104A-104C) coupled to the one or more connectible outlet (108) that allow directing the flow of smoke simultaneously (Fig. 1 and 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Pla Cortes/Hamm, an additional body comprising: one or more connectable ducts located on its perimeter; one or more directional duct coupled to the one or more connectable outlets that allows directing the flow of smoke simultaneously inside one or more hod, lid, or covers located independently of the tubular body and to which they are coupled at their opposite end through the hole made therein for that purpose, as taught by Zimmerman, for the purpose of providing multiple smoke outlet to smoke multiple items.
Conclusion
/HUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
HUNG D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761