DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed July 10, 2025. Claims 1-5 and 8-14 are pending in the application. Claims 1-5 and 8-14 have been amended. Claims 1-5 and 8-14 will be examined.
Status of the Claims
The rejection of claims 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
The rejection of claims 1, 2, 3, and 11-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jai et al. Publication (2017, Research on Crops, Jai et al.) is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment of the claims to add the limitations of original claims 6 and 7.
The rejection of claims 1-3 and 9-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sada (US 10,555,528) in view of Jai et al. Publication (2017, Research on Crops, Jai et al.) is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment of the claims to add the limitations of original claims 6 and 7.
The rejection of claims 1 and 4-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christine et al. (WO 2019/030098) is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment of the claims to add the limitations of original claims 6 and 7.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: misspelling. The term “based” is misspelled in claim 1, line 10. It is spelled “bsased” Appropriate correction is required.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment filed July 10, 2025
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jai et al. Publication (2017, Research on Crops, Jai et al.) in view of Tide Glufosinate 280 SL Herbicide Label (2018, EPA) and Marvel Herbicide Label (2012, FMC Corporation).
Applicant’s Invention
Applicant claims a composition comprising (i) glufosinate, L-glufosinate or an agronomically acceptable salt thereof, and (ii) fluthiacet-methyl, wherein a ratio by weight of a total amount of component (i) is at least 40 times more than a total amount of component (ii) in case of (i) being glufosinate, and is at least 20 times more than the total amount of component (i) in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, wherein a total amount of component (i) is from 100 to 600 g/L, based on the total amount of the composition; and wherein the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of from 0.15 to 15 g/L, in case of (i) being glufosinate, and in the range of from 0.2 to 30 g/L, in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, in each case based on the total amount of the composition. Applicant claims a method for producing a composition as defined in claim 1. Applicant claims a method for controlling undesired plant growth, and/or controlling harmful plants, comprising applying a composition as defined in claim 1 onto the undesired plants or the harmful plants, on parts of the undesired plants or the harmful plants, or on the area where the undesired plants or the harmful plants grow.
Determination of the scope of the content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, 11, 12, 13, and 14, Jai et al. teach the study was conducted to evaluate the efficacy and phytotoxicity of glufosinate-ammonium in controlling annual and perennial weeds on paddy rings. Glufosinate-ammonium SL (900 g a.i./ha) and glufosinate-ammonium ME (600 g a.i./ha) mixed with fluthiacet-methyl (10 g a.i./ha) were tested in the field experiment (page, 420, Abstract). The weight ratio of glufosinate-ammonium SL (glufosinate salt) to fluthiacet-methyl (fluthiacet-methyl) is 90:1, which is at least 40 times more than a total amount of component (ii) in case of being glufosinate. The weight ratio of glufosinate-ammonium ME (glufosinate salt) to fluthiacet-methyl (fluthiacet-methyl) is 60:1, which is at least 40 times more than a total amount of component (ii) in case of being glufosinate. The application rate of 600 g a.i./ha of glufosinate ammonium ME falls within the ranges of the application rates claimed in claims 13 and 14. The application rate of fluthiacet-methyl of 10 g a.i./ha falls within the ranges of the application rates claimed in claims 13 and 14.
Regarding claims 12-13, Jai et al. teach rice seedlings were transplanted in the field on May 21, 2015. The efficacy and phytotoxicity of treatments were evaluated from the experiment, which were performed randomly in three replicates. The co-mixture of fluthiacet-methyl plus glufosinate-ammonium ME were used as herbicides application treatments. The herbicides were applied using a sprayer (page 421, col. 1, Materials and Methods).
Jai et al. teach the efficacy of the two herbicides fluthiacet-methyl plus glufosinate-ammonium ME were assessed on annual weeds found on the paddy ridge. The number of these weeds was significantly reduced by fluthiacet-methyl plus glufosinate-ammonium ME. Fluthiacet-methyl and glufosinate-ammonium ME provided effective control of all weeds listed (page 421, col. E, Results and Discussion, Efficacy Assessment).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Jai et al. do not specifically disclose the total amount of component (i) is from 100 to 600 g/L, based on the total amount of the composition; and wherein the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of from 0.15 to 15 g/L, in case of (i) being glufosinate, as claimed in claim 1 or to total amount of component (i) is in the range of form 150 to 500 g/L, and the total amount of the component (ii) is in the range of from 0.2 to 10 g/L, in case of (i) being glufosinate. It is for this reason the Tide Glufosinate 280 SL Herbicide Label and Marvel Herbicide Label are added as secondary references.
The Tide Glufosinate 280 SL Herbicide Label teaches the active ingredient is glufosinate ammonium. Tide Glufosinate 280 SL Herbicide Label contains the equivalent of 2.34 pounds per active ingredient per U.S. gallon, which is equivalent to 280 g/L.
The Marvel Herbicide Label teaches the active ingredients include fluthiacet methyl and fomesafen. Marvel Herbicides contains 0.117 lb. ai of fluthiacet methyl per gallon, which is equivalent to 14 g/L.
Finding a prima facie obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jai et al., the Tide Glufosinate 280 Herbicide Label and the Marvel Herbicide Label and use a total amount of component (i) from 100 to 600 g/L or 150 to 500 g/L; and wherein the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of from 0.15 to 15 g/L, in case of (i) being glufosinate, as claimed in claim 1 or 0.2 to 10 g/L, in case of (i) being glufosinate, as claimed in claim 8.
Jai et al. teach the study was conducted to evaluate the efficacy and phytotoxicity of glufosinate-ammonium in controlling annual and perennial weeds on paddy rings. Glufosinate-ammonium SL and glufosinate-ammonium ME (600 g a.i./ha) mixed with fluthiacet-methyl (10 g a.i./ha) were tested in the field experiment (page, 420, Abstract). The weight ratio of glufosinate-ammonium ME (glufosinate salt) to fluthiacet-methyl (fluthiacet-methyl) is 60:1, which is at least 40 times more than a total amount of component (ii) in case of being glufosinate. The application rates of 600 g a.i./ha of glufosinate ammonium ME falls within the ranges of the application rates claimed in claims 13 and 14. The application rate of fluthiacet-methyl of 10 g a.i./ha falls within the ranges of the application rates claimed in claims 13 and 14. Tide Glufosinate 280 SL Herbicide Label contains the equivalent of 2.34 pounds per active ingredient per U.S. gallon, which is equivalent to 280 g/L. The Marvel Herbicide Label teaches Marvel Herbicides contains 0.117 lb. ai of fluthiacet methyl per gallon, which is equivalent to 14 g/L, when mixed with an additional herbicide.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the teachings of the Tide Glufosinate 280 SL Herbicide and the Marvel Herbicide Label to determine the amount of glufosinate and fluthiacet-methyl used in the compositions taught by Jai et al. Jai et al. teach the use of glufosinate-ammonium SL, which is the same herbicide as Tide Glufosinate 280 SL. This glufosinate ammonium SL contains 280 g/L. The Marvel Herbicide Label demonstrates that when fluthiacet methyl is used with another herbicide it contains 14 g/L of fluthiacet methyl. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use well-known concentrations, such as those taught by the Tide Glufosinate 280 SL Herbicide EPA Label and the Marvel Herbicide Label, to formulate effective herbicidal compositions with a reasonable expectation of success, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2141 [R-6] KSR International CO. v. Teleflex lnc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use experimentation and optimization to determine the optimal herbicidal effect. The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining result effective amounts of the ingredients beneficially taught by the cited references) is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.
Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of the arguments and the amendment to independent claim 1, filed July 10, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3 and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection, as indicated hereinabove.
Claims 1 and 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christine et al. (WO 2019/030098), Deckwer et al. (WO 2019/020283) and Marvel Herbicide Label (2012, FMC Corporation). Christine et al. cited by Applicant on the IDS dated 10/7/2022.
Applicant’s Invention
Applicant claims a composition comprising (i) glufosinate, L-glufosinate or an agronomically acceptable salt thereof, and (ii) fluthiacet-methyl, wherein a ratio by weight of a total amount of component (i) is at least 40 times more than a total amount of component (ii) in case of (i) being glufosinate, and is at least 20 times more than the total amount of component (ii) in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, wherein a total amount of component (i) is from 100 to 600 g/L, based on the total amount of the composition; and wherein the total amount of component (ii) if in the range of from 0.15 to 15 g/L, in case of (i) being glufosinate, and in the range of from 0.2 to 30 g/L, in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, in each case based on the total amount of the composition. Applicant claims a method for producing a composition as defined in claim 1. Applicant claims a method for controlling undesired plant growth, and/or controlling harmful plants, comprising applying a composition as defined in claim 1 onto the undesired plants or the harmful plants, on parts of the undesired plants or the harmful plants, or on the area where the undesired plants or the harmful plants grow.
Determination of the scope of the content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 5, Christian et al. teach herbicidal mixtures comprising L-glufosinate or its salt and at least one protoporphyrinogen-IX-oxidase inhibitor (Abstract). Christian et al. teach it has been found that L-glufosinate (compound I) and at least one protoporphyrinogen-IX-oxidase inhibitor (compound II) show a higher activity in burndown programs, in industrial vegetation management and forestry, in vegetable and perennial crops and in turf and lawn (page 2, lines 34-37). Christian et al. teach fluthiacet-methyl is a preferred protoporphyrinogen-IX-oxidase inhibitor (page 3, line 7, page 5, lines 2 and 26). Christian et al. teach the mixtures have a weight ratio of compound I to compound II is preferably from 1000:1, 400:1, more preferably 500:1 (page 4, lines 30-31). Christian et al. teach in Table 1 fluthiacet-methyl (page 7, Table 1) and in Table 2, mixture M-9 is L-glufosinate and fluthiacet-methyl (page 7, Table 2).
Regarding claim 9, Christian et al. teach an herbicidal formulation which comprises a herbicidally active mixture and at least one carrier material, including liquid and/or solid carrier (page 12, lines 35-37).
Regarding claim 10, Christian et al. teach examples of mixture types are suspensions (e.g. SC, OD), and capsules (page 9, lines 1-5, page 11, line 10).
Regarding claim 11, Christian et al. teach the inventive mixtures can be converted into customary types of agrochemical mixtures, e.g. solutions, emulsions, suspensions (page 8, lines 24-25).
Regarding claim 12, Christian et al. teach a method for burndown treatment of undesirable vegetation in crops, comprising applying an inventive mixture to a locus where crops will be planted or emergence of the crop.
Regarding claim 12, Christian et al. teach a method for controlling undesirable vegetation, which comprises applying an inventive mixture to a locus where undesirable vegetation is present or expected to be present, wherein application can be done before, during and/or after the emergence of the undesirable vegetation (page 13, lines 20-23).
Christian et al. teach the spray mixture is from 10 to 2000 l/ha, 50 to 1000 l/ha.
Christian et al. teach the application rate of the mixture is from 5 to 6000 g/ha, preferably 100 to 5000 g/ha, from 200 to 4000 g/ha, more preferable from 300 to 3000 g/ha of active ingredient (page 14, lines 21-27, page 31, lines 17-20).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Christian et al. teach the inventive mixtures are suitable for combating/controlling common harmful plant fields, where useful plants shall be planted. The inventive mixtures include grain crops, legumes such as soybeans (page 20, lines 16-35). The crops taught by Christian et al. are row crops. Christian et al. teach the rate of application of L-glufosinate is usually from 50 g/h to 3000 g/ha, preferably in the range from 100 g/ha to 2000 g/ha or from 200 g/ha to 1500 g/ha. The application rate of the protoporphyrinogen-IX-oxidase inhibitor is from 1 g/ha to 2000 g/ha, more preferably from 25 g/ha to 900 g/ah of active substance (page 31, lines 28-32).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Christian et al. do not specifically disclose the total amount of component (i) is from 100 to 600 g/L and the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of from 0.2 to 30 g/L in the case of (i) being L-glufosinate, as claimed in claim 1, or the total amount of component (i) is in the range of from 150 to 500 g/L and the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of 0.4 to 20 g/L in the case of (i) being L-glufosinate, as claimed in claim 8. It is for this reason Deckwer et al. and the Marvel Herbicide Label are added as secondary references.
Deckwer et al. teach in preferred compositions the total amount of L-glufosinate and/or agronomically acceptable salts is equal to or less than 600 g/L (g/L= gram per liter)…even more preferably is equal to or less than 350 g/L, in each case based on the total amount of the composition (page 15, lines 19-22).
Regarding claim 1, Deckwer et al. teach the total amount of L-glufosinate and/or agronomically acceptable salts in a composition is in the range of from 50 to 600 g/L, based on the total amount of the composition (page 15, lines 23-24).
Regarding claim 8, Deckwer et al. teach the total amount of L-glufosinate is more preferably in the range of from 150 to 350 g/L, in each case based on the total amount of the composition (page 15, line 25).
The Marvel Herbicide Label teaches the active ingredients include fluthiacet methyl and fomesafen. Marvel Herbicides contains 0.117 lb. ai of fluthiacet methyl per gallon, which is equivalent to 14 g/L.
Finding a prima facie obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Christian et al., Deckwer et al., and the Marvel Herbicide Label to determine the amount of L-glufosinate (component (i)) and fluthiacet-methyl (component (ii)) in the composition. Christian et al. teach a mixture M-9 is L-glufosinate and fluthiacet-methyl. The ratio of compound I to compound II is preferably from 1000:1, 400:1, more preferably 500:1. Christian et al. teach the spray mixture is from 10 to 2000 l/ha, 50 to 1000 l/ha. Deckwer et al. teach the total amount of L-glufosinate is more preferably in the range of from 150 to 350 g/L, in each case based on the total amount of the composition. The Marvel Herbicide Label teaches the active ingredients include fluthiacet methyl and fomesafen. Marvel Herbicides contains 0.117 lb. ai of fluthiacet methyl per gallon, which is equivalent to 14 g/L.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the teachings of Deckwer et al. and the Marvel Herbicide Label to determine the amount of L-glufosinate and fluthiacet methyl used in the compositions taught by Christian et al. The Marvel Herbicide Label demonstrates that when fluthiacet methyl is used with another herbicide it contains 14 g/L of fluthiacet methyl. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use well-known concentrations, such as those taught by the Deckwer et al. and the Marvel Herbicide Label, to formulate effective herbicidal compositions with a reasonable expectation of success, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2141 [R-6] KSR International CO. v. Teleflex lnc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use experimentation and optimization to determine the optimal herbicidal effect. The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining result effective amounts of the ingredients beneficially taught by the cited references) is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.
Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, and Applicant’s amendment, filed July 105, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 4-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection as indicated hereinabove. Applicant argues that WO ‘098 does not teach or suggest the total amounts in combination with the weight ratios of components (i) and (ii) as claimed in amended claim 1. In response to Applicant’s argument, as indicated in the new rejection of record, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the teachings of Deckwer et al. and the Marvel Herbicide Label to determine the amount of L-glufosinate and fluthiacet methyl used in the composition taught by Christian et al. The Marvel Herbicide Label demonstrates that when fluthiacet methyl is used with another herbicide it contains 14 g/L of fluthiacet methyl. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use well-known concentrations, such as those taught by Deckwer et al. and the Marvel Herbicide Label, to formulate effective herbicidal compositions with a reasonable expectation of success, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2141 [R-6] KSR International CO. v. Teleflex lnc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use experimentation and optimization to determine the optimal herbicidal effect. The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining result effective amounts of the ingredients beneficially taught by the cited references) is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.
Applicant argues that the synergy provided by the claimed herbicidal mixture is clearly demonstrated in the specification. Applicant argues that the synergistic effects demonstrated by the claimed invention could not have been predicted. Applicant argues that it was found that the herbicidal effects of a claimed composition was increased significantly and synergistically. In response to Applicant’s argument, evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with that of the claimed subject matter. The data provided in the original specification in Table 1 glufosinate (280 g/L) and fluthiacet-methyl (109 g/L) applied at 246 g ai/ha and 0.72 g ai/ha, respectively, purportedly demonstrates unexpected herbicidal activity. The data provided in the original specification in Table 2 glufosinate (280 g/L) and fluthiacet-methyl (109 g/L) applied at 246 g ai/ha and 0.72 g ai/ha, purportedly demonstrates unexpected herbicidal activity. While this data appears to be unexpected, compared to the application of the herbicides alone, it is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Applicant claims a composition comprising (i) glufosinate, L-glufosinate or an agronomically acceptable salt thereof, and (ii) fluthiacet-methyl, wherein a ratio by weight of a total amount of component (i) is at least 40 times more than a total amount of component (ii) in case of (i) being glufosinate, and is at least 20 times more than the total amount of component (i) in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, wherein the total amount of component (i) is from 100 to 600 g/L based on the total amount of the composition; and wherein the total amount of the component (ii) is in the range of from 0.15 to 15 g/L, in case of (i) being glufosinate, and in the range of from 0.2 to 30 g/L, in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, in each case based on the total amount of the composition.
All of the data presented is directed to glufosinate and fluthiacet-methyl. The claims are also directed to compositions comprising L-glufosinate and fluthiacet-methyl wherein the weight ratios and perimeters for L-glufosinate and fluthiacet-methyl claimed are different from those compositions comprising glufosinate and fluthiacet-methyl. Since Applicant has claims directed specifically to L-glufosinate and fluthiacet-methyl, one would expect to obtain different results. See claims 1, 4 and 5. As such, the data is not representative of the full scope of the claims, specifically to compositions comprising L-glufosinate and fluthiacet-methyl. In addition, the total amount of glufosinate tested is 280 g/L. It cannot be determined if the results demonstrated using 280 g/L of glufosinate is indicative of the use of 100 to 600 g/L of glufosinate or L-glufosinate, currently claimed. In addition, 109 g/L of fluthiacet-methyl is above the range of 0.15 to 15 g/L if (i) is glufosinate and 0.2 to 30 g/L if (i) is L-glufosinate. As such, it cannot be determined if the results demonstrated using 109 g/L, which is much higher than the claimed ranges for glufosinate and L-glufosinate, is indicative of the use of 0.15 to 15 g/L when (i) is glufosinate or 0.2 to 30 g/L when (i) is L-glufosinate. Applicant has not established nonobvious evidence that is commensurate in scope with that of the claimed subject matter
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDRIAE M HOLT/ Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614