DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hai (WO 2022/000694) in view of Huizhou China Star Optoelectronics Technology (CN 112394565), hereinafter “Huizhou”, each of record.
Regarding claim 1, Hai discloses a display panel (Figs. 1, 4, 6-8), comprising:
a display panel body (10) having a display side (e.g., upper side in Figs.) and a non-display side (e.g., lower side in Figs.) opposite to the display side;
a first polarizer (12) disposed on the non-display side (Figs. 6-7); and
a first wave plate (20) disposed on the display side (Figs. 1, 4, 6-8), wherein the first wave plate is a 3/4 wave plate (Fig. 5; para. [0064]),
a pair of glasses (Figs. 9-10) comprising a second polarizer (42) and a second wave plate (43), and the second wave plate is a 3/4 wave plate (para. [0095]),
wherein an acute angle between an absorption axis of the first polarizer (12) and an optical axis of the first wave plate (20) is greater than or equal to 40 degrees and less than or equal to 50 degrees (paras. [0081-0083]);
a first protective layer (22, 20a) is disposed on a side of the first wave plate (20) away from the display panel body (10) (Figs. 1, 4, 6-8), and a second protective layer (43a) is disposed on a side of the second wave plate (43) away from a polarizing layer (42) of the second polarizer (42) (Figs. 9-10), the first protective layer (20a) being a surface treatment layer of the first wave plate (20) (paras. [0073, 0084]), and the second protective layer (43a) being a surface treatment layer of the second wave plate (43) (para. [0097]); and
the display panel body (10) comprises a liquid crystal layer (para. [0078]).
Hai fails to explicitly disclose wherein the display panel is configured to present images in cooperation with the pair of glasses; and the display panel body comprises an array substrate and a color filter substrate.
However, Huizhou discloses a display panel (2, Figs. 1-2),
wherein the display panel (2) is configured to present images in cooperation with a pair of glasses (20) comprising a second polarizer (6) and a second wave plate (7) (Figs. 2-3; paras. [0053-0054]); and
the display panel body (2) comprises an array substrate (21), a color filter substrate (23), and a liquid crystal layer (22) sandwiched between (Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the display panel is configured to present images in cooperation with the pair of glasses; and the display panel body comprises an array substrate and a color filter substrate, as in Huizhou, into the display panel of Hai to improve the anti-peeping effect of the display device (Huizhou, para. [0029]), and to provide a complete modulating panel for effective color imaging display.
Regarding claim 2, Hai discloses wherein the first wave plate (20) is directly attached to a surface of the display panel body (10) on the display side, and a side of the first wave plate (20) away from the display panel body is not provided with another polarizer (Figs. 1, 4, 6-8).
Regarding claim 4, Hai discloses wherein the acute angle between the absorption axis of the first polarizer (12) and the optical axis of the first wave plate (20) is equal to 45 degrees (paras. [0081-0083]).
Regarding claim 5, Hai discloses wherein the display panel (10) is a vertical alignment liquid crystal display panel or a fringe field switching liquid crystal display panel (13; para. [0083]).
Regarding claim 6, Hai discloses a display system (Figs. 1, 4, 6-10), comprising:
a display panel (Figs. 1, 4, 6-8) comprising: a display panel body (10) having a display side (e.g., upper side in Figs.) and a non-display side (e.g., lower side in Figs.) opposite to the display side, a first polarizer (12) disposed on the non-display side (Figs. 6-7), and a first wave plate (20) disposed on the display side (Figs. 1, 4, 6-8); and
a pair of glasses (Figs. 9-10) comprising a second polarizer (42) and a second wave plate (43), wherein the second polarizer (42) comprises a polarizing layer (para. [0093]), the second wave plate (43) is disposed on a side of the polarizing layer away from eyes (para. [0096]),
wherein each of the first wave plate (20) and the second wave plate (43) is a 3/4 wave plate (Fig. 5; paras. [0064, 0095]);
an acute angle between an absorption axis of the first polarizer (12) and an optical axis of the first wave plate (20) is greater than or equal to 40 degrees and less than or equal to 50 degrees (paras. [0081-0083]);
a first protective layer (22, 20a) is disposed on a side of the first wave plate (20) away from the display panel body (10) (Figs. 1, 4, 6-8), and a second protective layer (43a) is disposed on a side of the second wave plate (43) away from a polarizing layer (42) of the second polarizer (Figs. 9-10), the first protective layer (20a) being a surface treatment layer of the first wave plate (20) (paras. [0073, 0084]), and the second protective layer (43a) being a surface treatment layer of the second wave plate (43) (para. [0097]); and
the display panel body (10) comprises a liquid crystal layer (para. [0078]).
Hai fails to explicitly disclose the pair of glasses is configured to present images displayed by the display panel; and the display panel body comprises an array substrate and a color filter substrate.
However, Huizhou discloses a display panel (2, Figs. 1-2), comprising:
wherein the pair of glasses (20) is configured to present images displayed by the display panel (2) (Figs. 2-3; paras. [0053-0054]); and
the display panel body (2) comprises an array substrate (21), a color filter substrate (23), and a liquid crystal layer (22) sandwiched between (Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the pair of glasses is configured to present images displayed by the display panel; and the display panel body comprises an array substrate and a color filter substrate, as in Huizhou, into the display system of Hai to improve the anti-peeping effect of the display device (Huizhou, para. [0029]), and to provide a complete modulating panel for effective color imaging display.
Regarding claim 9, Hai discloses wherein an acute angle between an absorption axis of the second polarizer and an optical axis of the second wave plate is greater than or equal to 40 degrees and less than or equal to 50 degrees.
However, Huizhou discloses wherein an acute angle between an absorption axis of the second polarizer (6) and an optical axis of the second wave plate (7) is greater than or equal to 40 degrees and less than or equal to 50 degrees (para. [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein an acute angle between an absorption axis of the second polarizer and an optical axis of the second wave plate is greater than or equal to 40 degrees and less than or equal to 50 degrees, as in Huizhou, into the display panel of Hai to improve contrast.
Regarding claim 10, Hai discloses wherein when the pair of glasses (Figs. 9-10) faces the display panel (Figs. 1, 4, 6-8), an optical axis of the first wave plate (20) and an optical axis of the second wave plate (43) are perpendicular to each other (paras. [0067, 0095]), and an acute angle between the optical axis of the first wave plate (20) and an absorption axis of the first polarizer (12) is 45 degrees (paras. [0081-0083]).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Hai discloses wherein when the pair of glasses (Figs. 9-10) faces the display panel (Figs. 1, 4, 6-8), the absorption axis of the first polarizer (12) is arranged in a first direction, an absorption axis of the second polarizer (42) is arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (paras. [0083, 0095]), an angle between the optical axis of the first wave plate (20) and the first direction is 45 degrees, and an angle between the optical axis of the second wave plate (43) and the first direction is 135 degrees (paras. [0081-0083]), and wherein an angle between the optical axis of the first wave plate (20) and the first direction is 135 degrees, and an angle between the optical axis of the second wave plate (43) and the first direction is 45 degrees (paras. [0081-0083]).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Hai discloses wherein when the pair of glasses (Figs. 9-10) faces the display panel (Figs. 1, 4, 6-8), an absorption axis of the second polarizer (42) is arranged in a first direction, the absorption axis of the first polarizer (12) is arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (paras. [0083, 0095]), an angle between the optical axis of the first wave plate (20) and the first direction is 45 degrees, and an angle between the optical axis of the second wave plate (43) and the first direction is 135 degrees (paras. [0081-0083]), and wherein an angle between the optical axis of the first wave plate (20) and the first direction is 135 degrees, and an angle between the optical axis of the second wave plate (43) and the first direction is 45 degrees (paras. [0081-0083]).
Regarding claim 15, Hai discloses wherein the second wave plate (43) is located in the second polarizer (42) (Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 17, Hai discloses wherein the acute angle between the absorption axis of the first polarizer (12) and the optical axis of the first wave plate (20) is equal to 45 degrees (paras. [0081-0083]).
Regarding claim 18, Hai discloses wherein each of the first wave plate (20) and the second wave plate (43) comprises at least one of cyclic polyolefin and triacetate (para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 19, Hai discloses wherein the display panel (10) is a vertical alignment liquid crystal display panel or a fringe field switching liquid crystal display panel (13; para. [0083]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 30, 2025, with respect to the limitation of each of the first and second wave plates being a 3/4 wave plate, as recited in claims 1 and 6, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant has argued that the compensation value range of first and second wave plates 20 and 43 of Hai does not include 3λ/4 (Remarks, pp. 7-8). These arguments are perplexing as Hai includes this value (Hai, Fig. 5, paras. [0064, 0095]).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendments to claims 1 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not solely rely on the primary reference applied in the prior rejection of record for the teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Thus, the new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Hai in view of Huizhou is considered appropriate in accordance with the amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871