DETAILED ACTION
All rejections and objections not mention below have been withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Applications No. 62/965,371 and 63/094,741, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. A claim by claim analysis indicated that the compounds of claim 49 are not fully supported by the priority documents and thus claim 49 receives a priority date of 01/25/2021. The rest of the claims were given a priority date of 01/24/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/08/2023, 12/04/2023, 03/04/2024, 10/22/2024, 04/01/2025, 08/14/2025, 09/05/2025 and 06/08/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections – New due to Amendments
Claims 1, 7-are objected to because of the following informalities: floating "; and" instead of a period at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 7-9, 13, 16-19, 20-21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35-36 and 50 are objected to because of the following informalities: carbon-linked and carbon linked are used these should be consistent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 -New due to Amendments
Claims 1, 7-9, 13, 16-19, 20-21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35-36 and 50 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. See period added in the third line on page 4.
Claims 1, 7-9, 13, 16-19, 20-21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35-36 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim language “carbon-linked” is indefinite and one of ordinary skill in the art would not know the scope of the claims 1, 7-9, 13, 16-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35-36 and 50. It is unclear for example if this is meant to encompass two groups linked by a carbon chain, or two groups bound through one or two carbon atoms within the groups themselves. For the purpose of examining the broadest reasonable interpretation was used, which would be to understand carbon-linked as any of the above interpretations.
The variables p is not mentioned in relation to how they would connect to formula I thus claims 1, 7-9, 13, 16-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35-36 and 50 are indefinite as one of ordinary skill in the art would not know how they would attach. For the purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation is if the groups can attach anywhere on formula I.
Claims 1, 7- recites the limitation "the aryl" in line 1 of page 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if it refers to just the aryl in option (ii) or both options (ii) and (i) because it is in option (ii) but it refers to the level of the two option by pointing out just the 6-membered heteroaryl and the aryl and no other options so in that case it is likely referring to both options (i) and (ii). For the broadest reasonable interpretation both options are assumed to be referred to.
Claims 13 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 34 improperly broaden claim 1 from which it depends because it includes a double bond for the X location which has been amended out of claim 1. Claim 13 is rejected because the amendment requires the R5 to be attached to formula I through C while claim 13 improperly broadens claim 1 to include O groups as well. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 – NEW due to Amendments
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 17, 18, 20, 21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by STN (STN, ACS CAS 1295307-72-0 REGISTRY, 16 May 2011) .
The reference STN, ACS CAS 1295307-72-0 REGISTRY teaches the following compound, wherein X=CH2, n=2, R1=H, J1=CH, J2=J3=CH, R2=H, Z=O, R3=R4=aryl with a substituted aryl further substituted with R100=CF3, R5=H. This anticipates claims 1, 7, 8, 17, 18, 20, 21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35.
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17, 18, 20, 21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by STN (STN, ACS CAS 1299870-19-1 REGISTRY, 24 May 2011) .
The reference STN, ACS CAS 1299870-19-1 REGISTRY teaches the following compound, wherein X=CH2, n=2, R1=H, J1=CH, J2=J3=CH, R2=H, Z=O, R3=R4=6-memebered heteroaryl with a substituted aryl further substituted with R100=Br, R5=Me. This anticipates claims 1, 9, 17, 18, 20, 21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35.
Claim(s) 1, 13, 17, 18, 20, 21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by STN (STN, ACS CAS 1317299-48-1 REGISTRY, 14 August 2011) .
The reference STN, ACS CAS 1317299-48-1 REGISTRY teaches the following compound, wherein X=CH2, n=2, R1=H, J1=CH, J2=J3=CH, R2=H, Z=O, R3=R4=6-memebered aryl with a substituted heteroaryl, R5=OMe, R100=Cl. This anticipates claims 1, 13, 17, 18, 20, 21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35.
Double Patenting- updated due to Amendments and IDS
Claims 1, 7-8, 17-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 4-11, 14-16, 18, 27-29, 37-39 of copending Application No. 19/122,953 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The application ‘953 claims:
This anticipates claims 1, 7-8, 17-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 7-8, 13, 17-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 30-31, 34-36 and 49-51 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-11, 14-16, 18, 27-29, 37-39 of copending Application No. 19/122,953.
The application ‘953 claims:
The specification of the reference application teaches the use of these compounds for treatment of diseases including cancer ([006] and abstract). Thus it would be obvious to make pharmaceutical composition for delivery to treat cancer. A compound claim can be used to reject a method claim if the utility is disclosed in the specification. See Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F. 3d 1381, 1385 (CAFC 2010). See also MPEP § 804(II)(B)(2)(a).
This helps to teach claims 1, 7-9, 13, 17-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 30-31, 34-36 and 49-51.
The application ‘953 does not teach the specific compounds of claims 36 or 49 or the methods or compositions of claims 50-51.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compounds and formula of application ‘953 to achieve compounds and formulas of the instant invention because the application has a lead compound that is included in instant formula (I)
. One would have a motivation to do so to treat the disease described by the reference application. Additionally, the lead compound
, only differs from the compounds of claim 49 by two methyl groups. Furthermore,
only differs from the compounds of claim 36 by one methyl group Further, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963). Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to substitute the H group for a Me. 2144.08(II)(A)(4)(c). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because methyl for H are minor changes in structure. The same logic holds for substituting a Me for an H group.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 17-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 30-31, 34-36 and 50 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-30 of copending Application No. 18/746,835 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The application ‘835 claims the following wherein X=CH2, n=2, R1=H, J1=CMe, J2=CH, J3=CH, R2=H, Z=O, R3=R4= heteroaryl:
This helps to teach claims 1, 17-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 30-31, 34-35-36 and 50.
The application ‘835 claims the following:
The application ‘835 claims the following:
This helps to teach claims 1, 17-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 30-31, 34-35-36 and 50.
The application ‘835 does not teach J1=CH in a specific compound all claims.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compounds and formula of application ‘835 to achieve compounds and formulas of the instant invention because the application has a lead compound that is included in instant formula (I)
. One would have a motivation to do so to treat the disease described by the reference application. Additionally, the lead compound
, only differs from the compounds the instant claims by one methyl group. Further, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963). Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to substitute the H group for a Me. 2144.08(II)(A)(4)(c). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because methyl for H are minor changes in structure. The same logic holds for substituting a Me for an H group.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 49 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/529,564 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The application ‘564 claims:
This compound only differs from the compound 53 of instant claim 49 by two methyl groups.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified application ‘564 to achieve the instant compounds because they only differ in two methyl groups replacing H (see reference claim 15 and instant compound 53). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because one of the methyl is suggested by the generic reference formula to be H and the other methyl is not a significant change in the structure and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that the similar structure would give the compound a similar function and thus would be motivated to make the new compound to treat the same diseases as the original structure. It is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963). The same logic holds for substituting a Me for an H group.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 17-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 30-31, 34-36, 49, 50, and 51 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 12054475 B2.
The patent ‘475 claims:
The patent ‘475 teaches “The present disclosure is further based, in part, on the discovery that various compounds described herein can potently and/or selectively inhibit one or more ALDH enzymes such as ALDH1a3 and/or ALDH1a2, can inhibit the retinoid pathway activation, and can treat various diseases such as cancer and Type 2 Diabetes”(column 2).A compound claim can be used to reject a method claim if the utility is disclosed in the specification. See Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F. 3d 1381, 1385 (CAFC 2010). See also MPEP § 804(II)(B)(2)(a).
The patent ‘475 does not teach J1=CH or the specific compounds of claim 49, however the only difference between the reference compound and the instant claimed compound is one methyl groups replacing H.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified patent ‘475 to achieve the instant compounds because they only differ in one methyl groups replacing H (see reference claim 29 and instant compound 59 and instant claim 1 optionally substituted carbon -linked heterocyclyl). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because one of the methyl is suggested to be H by the generic reference formula for R22 thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that the similar structure would give the compound a similar function and thus would be motivated to make the new compound to treat the same diseases as the original structure. It is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963). The same logic holds for substituting a Me for an H group.
Claims 49, and 51 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. US 12162855 B2.
The patent ‘855 claims:
The patent ‘855 teaches “Provided herein are compounds, compositions and methods for treating cancers, for example, metastatic cancers (e.g., a metastatic breast cancer, such as a basal-like breast cancer, a HER-2 positive breast cancer), chemoresistant cancers (e.g., cancers resistant to paclitaxel and/or doxorubicin) in a subject in need thereof”(page 1).A compound claim can be used to reject a method claim if the utility is disclosed in the specification. See Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F. 3d 1381, 1385 (CAFC 2010). See also MPEP § 804(II)(B)(2)(a).
The patent ‘855 the specific compounds of claim 49, however the only difference between the reference compound and the instant claimed compound 32 is the connection of amide group to the fused ring.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified patent ‘855 to achieve the instant compounds because they only differ in the location of the amide connection to the fused ring (see reference claim 1 and instant compound 32). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that the similar structure would give the compound a similar function and thus would be motivated to make the new compound to treat the same diseases as the original structure. MPEP § 2144.09(II) also states position isomers are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In addition, the Court has stated that “[i]f a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentability.” KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that:
This argument was found to be unpersuasive because is only true if it is the only rejection remaining since this is not the case it is not persuasive.
Additionally, the arguments that the new amendment makes the instant claim allowable over the double patenting rejections is not persuasive because due to the new amendment the rejections have been updated to account for this new limitation.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 7-9, 13, 16-19, 20-21, 25, 28, 30, 31, 34, 35-36 and 49-51 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 06/08/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627