DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 and 8-14 are pending in the application. Claims 1-5 and 8-14 have been amended. Claims 1-5 and 8-14 will be examined.
Status of the Claims
The rejection of claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
The rejection of claims 1, 2, 3, and 11-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN101773142 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment of the claims to add the limitations of dependent claims 6 and 7 into independent claim 1.
The rejection of claims 1 and 4-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christine et al. (WO 2019/030098) in view of Hacker et al. (US 8,536,094) is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment of the claims to add the limitations of dependent claims 6 and 7 into independent claim 1.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment filed June 25, 2025
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN101773142 in view of Liberty Herbicide EPA (2007, EPA, Liberty Herbicide) and Acevedo et al. (WO 2017/0331153). CN101773142 with English translation cited by Applicant on the IDS dated 10/7/2022. Acevedo et al. English Translation from Espacenet used for translation purposes.
Applicant’s Invention
Applicant claims a composition comprising (i) glufosinate, L-glufosinate or an agronomically acceptable salt thereof, and (ii) oxadiazon, wherein a ratio by weight of a total amount of component (i) is at least 10 times more than a total amount of component (ii) in case of (i) being glufosinate, and is at least 5 times more than the total amount of component (i) in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, wherein a total amount of component (i) is from 100 to 600 g/L based on the total amount of the composition; and wherein the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of from 0.2 to 50 g/L, in case of (i) being glufosinate, and in the range of from 0.4 to 100 g/L, in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, in each case based on the total amount of the composition. Applicant claims a method for producing a composition as defined in claim 1. Applicant claims a method for controlling undesired plant growth, and/or controlling harmful plants, comprising applying a composition as defined in claim 1 onto the undesired plants or the harmful plants, on parts of the undesired plants or the harmful plants, or on the area where the undesired plants or the harmful plants grow.
Determination of the scope of the content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, CN101773142 teaches a herbicidal composition comprising glufosinate and oxadiazon, wherein the weight ratio of the glufosinate to the oxadiazon is 1:99 to 99:1 (page 1, Abstract; Claim 1). The weight ratio of glufosinate to oxadiazon of 99:1 is 10 times a ratio of weight of the total amount of component (ii) in case of (i) being glufosinate of claim 1, and within the range of 500:1 to 13:1 of claim 2 and 125: to 15:1 of claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, CN101773142 teaches the herbicidal composition contains at least two kinds of carriers, and wherein at least one surfactant (page 1, claim 3). CN101773142 teaches the herbicidal composition wherein the surfactant comprises one or more emulsifier, dispersant and the wetting agent (page 1, claim 4).
Regarding claim 10, CN101773142 teaches compositions in the form of oil-suspending agent (page 6, Embodiments 14 and 15) and microcapsules (page 6, Embodiment 20).
Regarding claim 11, CN101773142 teaches in embodiment 12 an aqueous suspension agent of 60% active component. Glufosinate-ammonium 350 g, oxadiazon 250 g, and other ingredients. Water in a medium and the above mentioned glufosinate ammonium, oxadiazon and other ingredients are mixed (page 5, Embodiment 12).
Regarding claim 12, CN101773142 teaches in the test method glufosinate-ammonium and oxadiazon were preventive effect of broad leaved weed and grassy weed (page 7, Test method).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
CN101773142 does not specifically disclose the total amount of component (i) is from 100 to 600 g/L and the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of from 0.2 to 50 g/L in the case of (i) being glufosinate, as claimed in claim 1, or the total amount of component (i) is in the range of from 150 to 500 g/L and the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of 1 to 30 g/L in the case of (i) being glufosinate, as claimed in claim 8. It is for this reason the Liberty Herbicide EPA Label and Acevedo et al. are added as secondary references.
The Liberty® Herbicide EPA Label teaches that glufosinate ammonium is the active ingredient, which is equivalent to 1.67 pounds of active ingredient per U.S. gallon. 1.67 pounds of active ingredient per U.S. gallon is equivalent to 200.11 g/L of the active ingredient (page 4 of 35, Active Ingredient).
Acevedo et al. teach an oxadiazon nanoemulsion useful in weed control, characterized in that it contains between 54 and 66 parts (g / L) of the active ingredient OXADIAZON in a purity of between 95% and 98% (page 3, paragraph 10; page 10, claim 1, Translation). Acevedo et al. teach in relation to the final concentration of the active ingredient in the formulated product, it can be stated that the novel nanoemulsion formulation of the present invention is far superior to the commercial standard (page 7, paragraph 7, Translation). Acevedo et al. teach that the final dose rate of active ingredient per treated hectare is more than 10-fold lower with the novel formulation (page 7, paragraph 8, Translation).
Finding a prima facie obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CN101773142, the Liberty® Herbicide EPA Label, and Acevedo et al. to determine the amount of glufosinate (component (i)) and oxadiazon (component (ii)) in the composition. CN101773142 teaches a herbicidal composition comprising glufosinate and oxadiazon, wherein the weight ratio of the glufosinate to the oxadiazon is 1:99 to 99:1 (page 1, Abstract; Claim 1). The weight ratio of glufosinate to oxadiazon of 99:1 is 10 times a ratio of weight of the total amount of component (ii) in case of (i) being glufosinate of claim 1, and within the range of 500:1 to 13:1 of claim 2 and 125: to 15:1 of claim 3. The Liberty® Herbicide EPA Label teaches that glufosinate ammonium contains 1.67 pounds of active ingredient per U.S. gallon, which is equivalent to 200.11 g/L of the active ingredient. Acevedo et al. teach an oxadiazon nanoemulsion useful in weed control, characterized in that it contains between 54 and 66 parts (g / L) of the active ingredient Oxadiazon in a purity of between 95% and 98%. Acevedo et al. teach that the final dose rate of the active ingredient per treated hectare is more than 100-fold lower with the novel formulation and is far superior to the commercial standard.
Based on these teachings one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the teachings of the Liberty® Herbicide EPA Label and Acevedo et al. to determine the amount of glufosinate and oxadiazon used in the composition taught by CN101773142. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use well-known concentrations, such as those taught by the Liberty® Herbicide EPA Label and Acevedo et al., which teaches the lower dose between 54 and 66 g/L is far superior to the commercial standard, to formulate effective herbicidal compositions with a reasonable expectation of success, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2141 [R-6] KSR International CO. v. Teleflex lnc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use experimentation and optimization to determine the optimal herbicidal effect. The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining result effective amounts of the ingredients beneficially taught by the cited references) is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.
Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of the arguments and the amendment to independent claim 1, filed July 10, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 2, 3, and 11-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection, as indicated hereinabove.
Claims 1 and 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christine et al. (WO 2019/030098) in view of Deckwer et al. (WO 2019/020283) and Acevedo et al. (WO 2017/0331153). Christine et al. cited by Applicant filed 10/7/2022.
Acevedo et al. English Translation from Espacenet used for translation purposes.
Applicant’s Invention
Applicant claims a composition comprising (i) glufosinate, L-glufosinate or an agronomically acceptable salt thereof, and (ii) oxadiazon, wherein a ratio by weight of a total amount of component (i) is at least 10 times more than a total amount of component (ii) in case of (i) being glufosinate, and is at least 5 times more than the total amount of component (i) in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, wherein a total amount of component (i) is from 100 to 600 g/L based on the total amount of the composition; and wherein the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of from 0.2 to 50 g/L, in case of (i) being glufosinate, and in the range of from 0.4 to 100 g/L, in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, in each case based on the total amount of the composition. Applicant claims a method for producing a composition as defined in claim 1. Applicant claims a method for controlling undesired plant growth, and/or controlling harmful plants, comprising applying a composition as defined in claim 1 onto the undesired plants or the harmful plants, on parts of the undesired plants or the harmful plants, or on the area where the undesired plants or the harmful plants grow.
Determination of the scope of the content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 5, Christian et al. teach herbicidal mixtures comprising L-glufosinate or its salt and at least one protoporphyrinogen-IX-oxidase inhibitor (Abstract). Christian et al. teach it has been found that L-glufosinate (compound I) and at least one protoporphyrinogen-IX-oxidase inhibitor (compound II) show a higher activity in burndown programs, in industrial vegetation management and forestry, in vegetable and perennial crops and in turf and lawn (page 2, lines 34-37). Christian et al. teach oxadiazon is a preferred protoporphyrinogen-IX-oxidase inhibitor (page 3, line 8, page 5, line 3). Christian et al. teach the mixtures have a weight ratio of compound I to compound II is preferably from 1000:1, 400:1, more preferably 500:1 (page 4, lines 30-31).
Regarding claim 9, Christian et al. teach an herbicidal formulation which comprises a herbicidally active mixture and at least one carrier material, including liquid and/or solid carrier (page 12, lines 35-37).
Regarding claim 10, Christian et al. teach examples of mixture types are suspensions (e.g. SC, OD), and capsules (page 9, lines 1-5, page 11, line 10).
Regarding claim 11, Christian et al. teach the inventive mixtures can be converted into customary types of agrochemical mixtures, e.g. solutions, emulsions, suspensions (page 8, lines 24-25). Christian et al. teach examples of mixture types and their preparation (page 10, lines 34-44-page 11, lines 1-44).
Regarding claim 12, Christian et al. teach a method for burndown treatment of undesirable vegetation in crops, comprising applying an inventive mixture to a locus where crops will be planted or emergence of the crop.
Regarding claim 12, Christian et al. teach a method for controlling undesirable vegetation, which comprises applying an inventive mixture to a locus where undesirable vegetation is present or expected to be present, wherein application can be done before, during and/or after the emergence of the undesirable vegetation (page 13, lines 20-23).
Christian et al. teach the spray mixture is from 10 to 2000 l/ha, 50 to 1000 l/ha.
Christian et al. teach the application rate of the mixture is from 5 to 6000 g/ha, preferably 100 to 5000 g/ha, from 200 to 4000 g/ha, more preferable from 300 to 3000 g/ha of active ingredient (page 14, lines 21-27, page 31, lines 17-20).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Christian et al. teach the inventive mixtures are suitable for combating/controlling common harmful plant fields, where useful plants shall be planted. The inventive mixtures include grain crops, legumes such as soybeans (page 20, lines 16-35). The crops taught by Christian et al. are row crops. Christian et al. teach the rate of application of L-glufosinate is usually from 50 g/h to 3000 g/ha, preferably in the range from 100 g/ha to 2000 g/ha or from 200 g/ha to 1500 g/ha. The application rate of the protoporphyrinogen-IX-oxidase inhibitor is from 1 g/ha to 2000 g/ha, more preferably from 25 g/ha to 900 g/ah of active substance (page 31, lines 28-32).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Christian et al. do not specifically disclose examples comprising oxadiazon, the total amount of component (i) is from 100 to 600 g/L, and the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of from 0.4 to 100 g/L in the case of (i) being L-glufosinate, as claimed in claim 1, or the total amount of component (i) is in the range of from 150 to 500 g/L and the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of 2.5 to 60 g/L in the case of (i) being L-glufosinate, as claimed in claim 8. It is for this reason Deckwer et al. and Acevedo et al. are added as secondary references.
Deckwer et al. teach in preferred compositions the total amount of L-glufosinate and/or agronomically acceptable salts is equal to or less than 600 g/L (g/L= gram per liter)…even more preferably is equal to or less than 350 g/L, in each case based on the total amount of the composition (page 15, lines 19-22).
Regarding claim 1, Deckwer et al. teach the total amount of L-glufosinate and/or agronomically acceptable salts in a composition is in the range of from 50 to 600 g/L, based on the total amount of the composition (page 15, lines 23-24).
Regarding claim 8, Deckwer et al. teach the total amount of L-glufosinate is more preferably in the range of from 150 to 350 g/L, in each case based on the total amount of the composition (page 15, line 25).
The teachings of Acevedo et al. with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is hereby incorporated and are therefore applied in the instant rejection as discussed above.
Finding a prima facie obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Christian et al., Deckwer et al. and Acevedo et al. and formulate a composition comprising L-glufosinate and oxadiazon. Christian et al. teach herbicidal mixtures comprising L-glufosinate or its salt and at least one protoporphyrinogen-IX-oxidase inhibitor. Christian et al. teach it has been found that L-glufosinate (compound I) and at least one protoporphyrinogen-IX-oxidase inhibitor (compound II) show a higher activity in burndown programs, in industrial vegetation management and forestry, in vegetable and perennial crops and in turf and lawn. Christian et al. teach oxadiazon is a preferred protoporphyrinogen-IX-oxidase inhibitor. Based on these teachings one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivate to formulate a composition comprising L-glufosinate and oxadiazon because these compositions are known in the art. In view of In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (C.C.P.A. 1980), it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more compositions each of which is taught by prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition that is to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art, thus claims that requires no more than mixing together two or three conventional herbicides set forth prima facie obvious subject matter.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Christian et al., Deckwer et al., and Acevedo et al. to determine the amount of L-glufosinate (component (i)) and oxadiazon (component (ii)) used in the composition. Christian et al. teach the ratio of compound I to compound II is preferably from 1000:1, 400:1, more preferably 500:1. Christian et al. teach the spray mixture is from 10 to 2000 l/ha, 50 to 1000 l/ha. Deckwer et al. teach the total amount of L-glufosinate is more preferably in the range of from 150 to 350 g/L, in each case based on the total amount of the composition. Acevedo et al. teach an oxadiazon nanoemulsion useful in weed control, characterized in that it contains between 54 and 66 parts (g / L) of the active ingredient Oxadiazon in a purity of between 95% and 98%. Acevedo et al. teach that the final dose rate of the active ingredient per treated hectare is more than 100-fold lower with the novel formulation and is far superior to the commercial standard.
Based on these teachings one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the teachings of Deckwer et al. and Acevedo et al. to determine the amount of glufosinate and oxadiazon used in the composition taught by Christian et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use well-known concentrations, such as those taught by Deckwer et al. and Acevedo et al., which teaches the lower dose between 54 and 66 g/L is far superior to the commercial standard, to formulate effective herbicidal compositions with a reasonable expectation of success, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2141 [R-6] KSR International CO. v. Teleflex lnc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use experimentation and optimization to determine the optimal herbicidal effect. The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining result effective amounts of the ingredients beneficially taught by the cited references) is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.
Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, and Applicant’s amendment, filed July 10, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 4-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection as indicated hereinabove.
Applicant argues that WO ‘098 does not teach or suggest the total amounts in combination with the weight ratios of components (i) and (ii) as claimed in amended claim 1. In response to Applicant’s argument, as indicated in the new rejection of record, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the teachings of Deckwer et al. and Acevedo et al. to determine the amount of L-glufosinate and oxadiazon used in the composition taught by Christian et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use well-known concentrations to formulate effective herbicidal compositions with a reasonable expectation of success, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2141 [R-6] KSR International CO. v. Teleflex lnc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use experimentation and optimization to determine the optimal herbicidal effect. The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining result effective amounts of the ingredients beneficially taught by the cited references) is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.
Applicant argues that the synergy provided by the claimed herbicidal mixture is clearly demonstrated in the specification. Applicant argues that the synergistic effects demonstrated by the claimed invention could not have been predicted. Applicant argues that it was found that the herbicidal effects of a claimed composition was increased significantly and synergistically. In response to Applicant’s argument, evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with that of the claimed subject matter. The data provided in the original specification in Tables 1, 2, 3, and 4 glufosinate (280 g/L) and oxadiazon (300 g/L) applied at 327 g ai/ha and 0.8 g ai/ha, respectively, at a weight ratio of 483:1 demonstrates purported unexpected herbicidal activity on various weed species. While this data appears to be unexpected, compared to the application of the herbicides alone, it is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Applicant claims a composition comprising (i) glufosinate, L-glufosinate or an agronomically acceptable salt thereof, and (ii) oxadiazon, wherein a ratio by weight of a total amount of component (i) is at least 10 times more than a total amount of component (ii) in case of (i) being glufosinate, and is at least 5 times more than the total amount of component (i) in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, wherein a total amount of component (i) is from 100 to 600 g/L based on the total amount of the composition; and wherein the total amount of component (ii) is in the range of from 0.2 to 50 g/L, in case of (i) being glufosinate, and in the range of from 0.4 to 100 g/L, in case of (i) being L-glufosinate, in each case based on the total amount of the composition.
All of the data presented is directed to glufosinate and oxadiazon. However, the claims are also directed to compositions comprising L-glufosinate and oxadiazon, wherein the weight ratios and perimeters for L-glufosinate and oxadiazon claimed are different from those compositions comprising glufosinate and oxadiazon. Since Applicant has claims directed specifically to L-glufosinate and oxadiazon one would expect to obtain different results. See claims 1, 4 and 5. As such, the data is not representative of the full scope of the claims, specifically to compositions comprising L-glufosinate and oxadiazon. In addition, the total amount of glufosinate tested is 280 g/L. It cannot be determined if the results demonstrated using 280 g/L of glufosinate is indicative of the use of 100 to 600 g/L of glufosinate or L-glufosinate, currently claimed. In addition, 380 g/L of oxadiazon is above the range of 0.2 to 50 g/L if (i) is glufosinate and 0.4 to 100 g/L if (i) is L-glufosinate. As such, it cannot be determined if the results demonstrated using 380 g/L, which is much higher than the claimed ranges for glufosinate and L-glufosinate, is indicative of the use of 0.2 to 50 g/L when (i) is glufosinate or 0.4 to 100 g/L when (i) is L-glufosinate. Applicant has not established nonobvious evidence that is commensurate in scope with that of the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDRIAE M HOLT/ Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614