Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12, 14-16, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (“Microstructure-Controlled Ni-Rich Cathode Material by Microscale Compositional Partition for Next-Generation Electric Vehicles”, Advanced Energy Materials 9(15), 1803902, February 2019) in view of Li et al. (“Towards superior cyclability of LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 cathode material for lithium ion batteries via synergetic effects of Sb modification”, Journal of Alloys and Compounds 798, pp. 93-103, August 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a positive electrode active material for a lithium secondary battery comprising secondary particles made of primary particles elongated in shape (i.e. with a long axis and a short axis) (Kim p. 6, top of second column). The primary particles can be seen to have a short axis (i.e. grain size) of approximately 0.1-0.2 µm (Kim Fig. 5), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Kim does not teach that heteroatoms are present at the grain boundaries of the particles. Li teaches that adding 0.5 mol% Sb2O3 to the hydroxide precursor particles during lithiation improves cyclability and lithium-ion mobility (Li Conclusions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add Sb2O3 to the lithiation step of Kim in order to improve cyclability and lithium-ion mobility. Applicant has indicated that this will result in more antimony at the grain boundaries than in the particle interiors ([00392] of the instant specification) and reduced agglomeration of the primary particles when calcining at temperatures above 700 °C ([00401] of the instant specification).
The heteroatom is present at 0.5 mol% (Li Conclusions), which falls within the range of the instant claim. Since more antimony will be present at the grain boundaries, the concentration at the grain boundaries will necessarily be more than 0.5 mol%.
Regarding claim 2, the particles have average angle of 2.5° (see extension lines added to Fig 5e of Kim below), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, the particles extend radially from the center, so the distance between extension lines and parallel lines radiating from the center of the particle is substantially less than 1µm (see extension lines added Fig 5e of Kim above), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, approximately 100% of the primary particles in the outer 50% of the secondary particle are radially oriented (see Kim Fig 5e), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, the secondary particles have a diameter of 11 µm (Kim Results and Discussion, first paragraph), so 40% of the distance from the outer surface to the center is 2.2 µm, which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, lithium diffuses in a direction corresponding to the long axis (Kim Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, the primary particles have a short axis of approximately 0.1-0.2 µm and a long axis of approximately 1 µm (Kim Fig. 5e), for a typical aspect ratio of 5-10, which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, the secondary particles have a diameter of 11 µm (Kim Results and Discussion, first paragraph), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim teaches the use of Sb (Li Conclusions).
Regarding claim 12, the material of modified Kim is made by calcining a lithium compound (LiOH) with an NCM-based composite metal hydroxide (Kim Experimental Section, 2nd paragraph), and the Sb2O3 is added at the same time as the lithium hydroxide (Li 2.1. Samples synthesis).
Regarding claim 14, the material is made by calcining a lithium compound (LiOH) with an NCM-based composite metal hydroxide (Kim Experimental Section, 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 15, the NCM-based composite metal hydroxide is made by co-precipitation of Ni, Co, and Mn (Kim Experimental Section, 2nd paragraph) with a concentration gradient from the core to the outer surface (Kim Abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a pouch-type lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode with the positive electrode active material, a negative electrode comprising graphite, and an electrolyte solution comprising a lithium salt (LiPF6 in EC/EMC) (Kim Experimental Section, Electrochemical Test). This configuration necessarily includes a separator between the electrodes.
Regarding claim 20, modified Kim gives an example that does not have a concentration gradient throughout the secondary particle (CC90; Kim 4. Experimental Section).
Regarding claim 21, the concentration of the heteroatom at the grain boundary is greater than 0.5 mol%, which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Alternatively, modified Kim teaches that cyclability improves with increasing antimony concentration (Li Fig. 6 and Table 3). Antimony concentration is therefore a recognized result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select an appropriate antimony concentration, including values within the range of the instant claim, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See, e.g., In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (“Minimization of the cation mixing in Li1+x(NMC)1−xO2 as cathode material”, Journal of Power Sources 195(5), pp. 1292-1301, March 2010).
Regarding claim 13, the material has a crystal structure with alternating layers of lithium and transition metals (Kim Fig. 1) with a doping region (Li Fig. 1).
Zhang teaches that swapping of lithium and nickel atoms (cation mixing) is unavoidable in such layered transition metal oxides (Zhang Introduction). The TM layer must therefore necessarily include some lithium, and the lithium layer must therefore necessarily include some transition metal.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Susai et al. ("Improving Performance of LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 Cathode Materials for Lithium-Ion Batteries by Doping with Molybdenum-Ions: Theoretical and Experimental Studies," ACS Applied Energy Materials 2(6), pp. 4521-4534, May 2019).
Regarding claim 19, modified Kim does not teach the use of a molybdenum heteroatom. Susai teaches that adding a molybdenum heteroatom to NCM active materials, with increased concentrations on the surface, decreases capacity loss and increases capacity and rate capability (Susai Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use a molybdenum heteroatom in the NCM material of modified Kim to decrease capacity loss and increase capacity and rate capability.
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722