DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the August 17th, 2026 arguments and remarks (“Remarks”).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received on August 17th, 2026:
Claims 1, 5-6, and 8-12 are pending in the current application. Claim 1 has been amended.
No new matter has been introduced. Support for the amended limitations is found in the applicant’s disclosure including the originally filed claims and specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 17th, 2026 have been fully considered as further described below:
Regarding Claim 1, applicant argues that reference Kang does not teach the claimed ratio of 30 to 45 parts by weight of a first monomer mixture as amended (see pg. 5 of the “Remarks”). Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 as described have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Further, applicant argues that Kang teaches a broad weight ratio of polymer A to polymer B and fails to identify the ratio as a result effective variable to balance adhesion and flexibility (see pgs. 5-7 of the “Remarks”).
In response, the prior art must recognize that the weight ratio of polymer A to polymer B is a variable that achieves a desirable result to sufficiently establish said ratio as a result effective variable; there is no requirement for the result of the prior art to be the same as the result or advantages of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2145.05 III.C.).
Kang states that when a weight ratio between a polymer A (acryl-based copolymer B) to a polymer B (conjugated diene-based copolymer A) is within the desired range of 1:99, the battery resistance may be enhanced; further, Kang teaches that when said ratio ranges from 99:1, the occurrence of swelling at high temperature can be inhibited, preventing the binder composition from deteriorating high-temperature characteristics of a battery ([0035]). Therefore, the prior art recognizes that the weight ratio between polymer A and polymer B is a result effect variable to balance battery resistance and prevent swelling. Regarding the advantages of the prior art differing from those of the claimed invention, "the fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious." Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985) (see MPEP 2145(II)). Optimizing flexibility and adhesion of the claimed invention would flow naturally from optimizing resistance and swelling as suggested by Kang and involves mere routine optimization in view of the creative steps employed by a skilled artisan. As said ratio of Kang overlaps the claimed range of 60:40 to 90:10 (para. 34), it is deemed obvious for a skilled artisan to arrive at the claimed ratio (see MPEP § 2144.05, I).
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20180351177 A1) in view of Matsuo et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20200411867 A1 equivalent to WO Pat. No. 2019159706 A1) as further evidenced by Kim et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20130216906 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang et al. teaches a negative electrode binder composition for a secondary battery (para. 14) used in the formation of the negative electrode (para. 114). Kang et al. teaches a polymer (A) (referred to as copolymer B in the prior art) comprising a first monomer mixture in which can include:
1 to 60 parts by weight of a (meth)acrylamide group-containing monomer ((meth)acrylamide-based monomer) ([0026]), overlapping the claimed range of 50 to 90 parts by weight,
an unsaturated carboxylic acid-based monomer ([0026]),
10 to 97.9 parts by weight of a (meth)acrylic acid ester-based monomer such as methyl acrylate ([0042]) (inherently possessing a solubility of about 60 g/L in water, within the claimed range of 100 g/L or less), overlapping the claimed range of 1 to 25 parts by weight (para. 39).
As described, the monomer having a solubility in water of 100 g/L or less can include an alkyl (meth)acrylate having 1 to 10 carbon atoms such as methyl acrylate (para. 42). Further, the polymer (A) does not require styrene, and Kang discloses a case in which the equivalent polymer (A) does not contain styrene (see Example 2 of Kang).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP § 2144.05, I).
Further, the negative electrode binder composition can include a polymer (B) (referred to as copolymer A in the prior art) made of particles forming a particulate polymer (para. 32). The weight ratio of polymer (A) (copolymer B in the prior art) and the particulate polymer (B) (copolymer A in the prior art) is 1:99 to 99:1, overlapping the claimed range of 60:40 to 90:10 (para. 34) (see MPEP § 2144.05, I). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the teachings of Kang et al. to prevent the binder composition from deteriorating high-temperature battery characteristics (para. 35).
As the occurrence of swelling at high temperatures can be inhibited and deteriorating high temperature characteristics can be prevented by adjusting said weight ratio of the polymer (A) (copolymer B) to polymer (B) (copolymer A), with said swelling inhibition and prevention of deteriorating high temperature characteristics increasing as the weight ratio is increased, the precise weight ratio would have been considered a known result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the weight ratio of polymer A to polymer B of Kang et al. to obtain the desired balance between enhancing battery resistance and prevention of swelling and deteriorating high-temperature characteristics (Kang et al., para. 35) (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Kang et al. does not teach wherein the unsaturated carboxylic acid-based monomer is present in an amount of 30 to 45 parts by weight of polymer (A) of the first monomer mixture.
In the same field of endeavor, Matsuo et al. teaches analogous art of a binder composition for a non-aqueous secondary battery electrode comprising a backbone polymer comprising an unsaturated carboxylic acid-based monomer (ethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acid monomer unit) in a proportion of 1 to 50 parts by weight (1 to 50 mass %) ([0017]). Matsuo et al. teaches that when the proportion in which the unsaturated carboxylic acid-based monomer is included in the backbone polymer is 1 mass % or more, peel strength of an electrode can be improved; on the other hand, when the proportion in which the unsaturated carboxylic acid-based monomer is included in the backbone polymer is 50 mass % or less, spring-back of an electrode can be inhibited ([0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the binder composition comprising polymer A of Kang et al. wherein the unsaturated carboxylic acid-based monomer is present in a proportion of 1 to 50 parts by weight as taught by Matsuo et al., overlapping the range of 1 to 20 parts by weight of Kang et al., and the claimed range of 30 to 45 parts by weight of the present invention (see MPEP § 2144.05, I). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification described to provide improved peel strength of the electrode and inhibit spring-back as described above. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the teachings of Matsuo et al. useful in providing updated information, in view of the more recent publication date, based on new discoveries and advancements in the field of endeavor.
Additionally, a moisture content is a well-known property in which can be measured by drying a film of a negative electrode binder film for an electrode as further evident by Kim et al. (para. 75).
“Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
“‘Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.’ In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id” (see MPEP 2112.01).
As prior art reference Kang et al. modified by Matsuo et al. teaches a binder composition (polymer A and particulate polymer B mixed in a ratio as claimed, utilizing a monomer having low solubility) substantially identical to the claimed composition, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect to observe a moisture content within the claimed range of 3.1 wt.% to 8 wt.%. Further, the moisture content does not further limit the structure or manufacturing process of applicant’s invention but rather defines a property and measurement method of said property of the claimed composition; therefore, as the prior art teaches the same composition, one would expect to observe said moisture content.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the teachings of Kang et al. to provide a binder composition for the negative electrode active material capable of enhancing performance of a secondary battery and exhibiting improved adhesion (para. 8).
Regarding Claim 5, Kang et al. teaches a particulate polymer (B) (copolymer A) with an average particle diameter of 50 nm to 300 nm (0.05 µm to 0.3 µm), within the claimed range of 1 µm or less (para. 32). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the teachings of Kang et al. to provide the binder composition with improved adhesion (para. 32).
Regarding Claim 6, Kang et al. teaches the particulate polymer (B) (copolymer A) being a polymer of a second monomer mixture containing a conjugated diene-based monomer, a vinyl-based monomer (such as styrene in which is aromatic, para. 44), and an unsaturated carboxylic acid-based monomer (para. 37). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the teachings of Kang et al. to provide a binder composition for the negative electrode active material capable of enhancing performance of a secondary battery and exhibiting improved adhesion (para. 8).
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20180351177 A1) in view of Matsuo et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20200411867 A1 equivalent to WO Pat. No. 2019159706 A1) as further evidenced by Kim et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20130216906 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasaki (E.P. Pat. No. 2752927 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kang et al. does not teach a weight average molecular weight of the polymer (A) of 100,000 g/mol to 2,000,000 g/mol.
In the same field of endeavor, Sasaki teaches analogous art of art of a binder composition for a secondary battery negative electrode wherein a weight average molecular weight of a binder polymer of 10,000 [g/mol] to 1,000,000 [g/mol] (para. 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polymer (A) of Kang et al. to include a molecular weight between 10,000 g/mol and 1,000,000 g/mol as taught by Sasaki, overlapping the claimed range of 100,000 g/mol to 2,000,000 g/mol (see MPEP § 2144.05, I). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the molecular weight specified by Sasaki to provide a negative electrode with improved strength and dispersibility of the negative electrode active material (Sasaki, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 9, Kang et al. teaches a negative electrode active material layer comprising the binder composition (para. 108).
Kang et al. does not teach the negative electrode active material layer containing a silicon-based negative electrode active material.
In the same field of endeavor, Sasaki teaches analogous art of art of a binder composition for a secondary battery negative electrode wherein the negative electrode active material is a silicon-based negative electrode active material (para. 132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative electrode active material layer of Kang et al. to include a silicon-based negative electrode active material as taught by Sasaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification as Sasaki teaches an active material containing silicon provides advantages such as increasing the electric capacity of the secondary battery (para. 132).
Regarding Claim 10, Kang et al. teaches the negative electrode active material slurry or layer comprising graphite as the negative electrode active material in which is a material other than a silicon-based negative electrode active material (para. 108).
Regarding Claim 11, Kang et al. does not teach a weight percentage of the silicon based negative electrode active material.
In the same field of endeavor, Sasaki teaches analogous art of art of a binder composition for a secondary battery negative electrode wherein the negative electrode active material is a silicon- and carbon- based negative electrode active material (para. 133). The weight ratio of the silicon-based negative electrode material to the graphite material (carbon active material) is 5:95 to 50:50 (5 wt.% to 50 wt.% of silicon- based) of the total negative electrode active material (para. 143), within the claimed range of 5 wt.% or greater.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative electrode active material of Kang et al. to include a silicon- based negative electrode active material as taught by Sasaki included in an amount of 5 wt.% to 50 wt.% of the total active material, within the claimed range of 5 wt.% or greater. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification as Sasaki teaches a weight ratio as described achieving a balance between high capacity and improved cycle property (para. 143).
Regarding Claim 12, as applied to claim 1, Kang et al. teaches a binder composition for a secondary battery (para. 14) in which the secondary battery can be a lithium secondary battery (para. 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the teachings of Kang et al. to provide a binder composition for the negative electrode active material capable of enhancing performance of a secondary battery and exhibiting improved adhesion (para. 8).
Conclusion
/C.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729