112 issues
Claims 1,2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states, starting line 3 through line 5, “having a structure in which a part derived from……..from the diol are repeated,”. This language is considered indefinite since, it cannot be understood what it is giving to the claim or how it limits the claim to what is already there. The specification was consulted to try to determine what it means, but to no avail. Therefore, the meets and bounds of the claim is unclear.
Further, in claim 1, the meets and bounds of the claim are unclear with respect to the term “or a derivative thereof”, since it is unclear what is desired or embraced by the limitation. The specification, page 3 , has a section of “dicarboxylic acid or a derivative thereof”, which discloses dicarboxylic acids, but fails to describe what the extent or applicants’ consider “a derivative thereof”.
Double patenting Issues
Claims 1,2,5 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,6,7 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/248336. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, the method claims of the copending teach all of the claimed limitations minus the claimed color value. Such as color value would be expected to be inherent to the claimed polyester of the copending application since it discloses the making of the same polyester copolymer as is claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1,2 and 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,2 and 10-12 of copending Application No. 18/568372. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, the polyester claims of the copending teach all of the claimed limitations minus the claimed ratio of ethylene glycol to dicarboxylic acid or derivative thereof. Such a molar is believe to be embraced, since 1) the instant claimed molar ratio is large range which encompasses a 1:1 ratio which would the first option to one skilled in the art, and 2) would be expected to be embraced since all of the properties, haze, color value and viscosity are almost exactly the same.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1,2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donelson et al- 2009/0017320 in view of Matsumoto et al 2013/0253165 and JP 2006290996-Nobuhachi.
Donelson et al. disclose copolyesters comprising repeating units of diacid residues and diol residues wherein at least 80 mole percent of the diacid residues are terephthalic acid residues and up to 20 mole percent of one or more of one or more other dicarboxylic acid residues such as bis(2- hydroxyethyl)terephthalate (BHET) [0046]. Donelson et al. disclose the diol component of the copolyester comprises from 98 to 1 mole percent ethylene glycol residues and 2 to 99 mole percent 1,3- cyclohexanedimethanol and/or 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues [0047]. Donelson et al. disclose in one embodiment that the mole ratio of ethylene glycol and 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues is about 5:95 to 95:5, and more preferably about 50:50 to about 77:23 [0047] meeting the instant limitation of 0.07:1 to 20:1.
Donelson et al. do not disclose that 1) the molar ratio of a diol and a dicarboxylic acid or a derivative thereof is 0.2:1 to 1.35:1 and 2) that the BHET is from recycled products.
Matsumoto et al. disclose a polyester composition comprising a dicarboxylic acid component preferably terephthalic acid from the standpoint of mechanical properties, heat resistance, and polymerizability [0015] and various diols such as ethylene glycol and cyclohexanedimethanol [0016]. Matsumoto et al. disclose the molar ratio of diol component to dicarboxylic acid component is 1.05 to 1.30 [0022, 0053; Example 1] with the benefit of the time cycle can be shortened because the esterification reaction proceeds efficiently and the heat resistance is maintained due to reduced by-product formation of dimers of the diol component [0019]. One of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious to use the benefits of the molar ratio of diol to dicarboxylic acid of Matsumoto et al. being within the range of the instant claim with the polyester composition of Donelson et al. to shortened the time cycle, reduce by-product formation, and maintain mechanical properties and heat resistance.
In regards to claim 2, Donelson et al. disclose cyclohexanedimethanol [0047-0048]. In regards to claim 5, Donelson et al. disclose the polyesters comprise an inherent viscosity (IV) of about 0.5 to about 1.2 dL/g [0067; Claim 1]. In regards to claim 6, Matsumoto et al. disclose unreacted diol is distilled out of the reaction system, thereby suppressing the by-product formation of dimers of the diol component [0027]. In regards to claim 7, Donelson et al. in view of Matsumoto et al. disclose a polyester composition of the instant claim 1, therefore would possess the haze properties of the instant claim. With respect to the amended claim 1, and the new limitation of color value, one skilled in the art would expect the modified copolyester of Donelson to possess the claim color value, since the ratios and amounts of each monomer/component in the least overlap with the claimed. The burden is shifted to applicants to prove otherwise.
Nobuhachi discloses the making of polyesters, specifically PET, using BHET. The reference teaches recycling PET, which results in the formation of BHET (i.e. recycled BHET) which is then used to make additional polyesters. Nobuhachi teaches that them obviously, recycling polyesters is good for the environment but also that when using the recycled BHET to make the polyesters, one achieves good hue.
Therefore, it would have been obvious one skilled in the art to have used the modified polyester of Donelson and Matsumoto, and to further have replaced the virgin BHET of Donelson with a recycled BHET for improved environmental effects and to also to achieved improved hue, as taught by Nobuhachi.
/RANDY P GULAKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1766