DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection overcomes Applicant’s arguments because, when read together under a proper combination analysis, Edge and Dao collectively teach each disputed limitation in the claimed context. Specifically, while Dao focuses on NWDAF-driven data collection and clearly teaches querying an AMF, obtaining UE identifiers, sending data collection requests to appropriate network functions, and receiving UE behavior data, Edge squarely addresses the missing step of determining a target network function entity serving a designated area by first mapping a defined geographic area to network coverage constructs (e.g., cells or tracking areas) and then identifying the serving mobility management function (MME/AMF) responsible for that area, rather than merely selecting a function based on a known UE. Applicant’s argument improperly narrows Edge to UE-specific location handling, but Edge explicitly discloses area-based determination of the serving core network function as a prerequisite to initiating monitoring or reporting for that area, which directly satisfies the “serving a designated area” requirement. Once this serving AMF or equivalent target NF is determined as taught by Edge, Dao’s NWDAF framework straightforwardly applies by sending queries to that AMF to obtain UE identifiers scoped by location or group, issuing data collection requests to the identified target NFs, and receiving UE behavior data in response. Thus, Applicant’s assertions that Dao requires pre-known UE IDs and that Edge lacks area-based determination are unpersuasive, as the combination expressly provides area-based NF determination (Edge) followed by AMF querying and UE-specific data collection workflows (Dao), fully meeting all elements of the claims and rendering the claims obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 15-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US 20220006707 A1) in view of Edge (US 20200053638 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dao et al. teaches a method of obtaining user equipment (UE) behavior data, performed by a data collection network function entity (Paragraph 97, 99, NWDAF (or its coordinator) is explicitly described as performing data collection and analytics functions, which directly corresponds to a data collection network function entity obtaining UE behavior data), comprising: sending a query request to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity serving the designated area, the query request being used for obtaining a list of identifiers of all UEs in the designated area (Paragraph 137, 221, 153, expressly teaches sending event exposure or subscription requests to an AMF that return UE identifiers (SUPI/GPSI) scoped by location or group); obtaining, from the AMF entity, the list of identifiers (Paragraph 177, 222, The AMF explicitly sends UE identifiers in response to subscriptions or queries); sending a data collection request to the target network function entity to perform data collection or monitoring on the UEs in the obtained list of identifiers based on the obtained list of identifiers (Paragraph 151, 168, 172, clearly teaches sending data collection requests to selected target NFs with explicit UE IDs, resulting in data collection or monitoring on those specific UEs); and receiving the behavior data of the UEs in the designated area sent by the target network function entity (Paragraph 173, 190, 174, The target NF (or its coordinator) sends collected UE data back to NWDAF, directly corresponding to receiving UE behavior data for UEs in the designated area).
Dao et al. does not explicitly teach determining a target network function entity serving a designated area.
However, Edge teaches determining a target network function entity serving a designated area (Paragraph 49, 75, 93, The network explicitly determines which mobility management function (MME/AMF) is serving UEs within the relevant network area before initiating monitoring. This is shown by first mapping a defined geographic area to network coverage constructs (cell identities and/or tracking areas) and then identifying the serving core network function responsible for those cells or tracking areas, such as an MME or, in 5G, a corresponding AMF, rather than merely selecting a network function based on a UE identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining a target network function entity serving a designated area as taught by Edge in the system of Dao et al., so that it would enable the data collection network function to accurately identify the appropriate serving network function for a given area and thereby ensure efficient, targeted, and reliable collection of user equipment behavior data for UEs located within that designated area.
Regarding claim 2, Dao et al. teaches the data collection request comprises the list of identifiers (Paragraph 81, 151, 153, 159, The data collection request explicitly includes UE identifiers as UE ID(s) (e.g., SUPI, GPSI), which are identifiers carried within the request message itself, thereby comprising a list of identifiers).
Regarding claim 3, Dao et al. teaches after the obtaining, from the AMF entity, the list of identifiers, the method further comprises: receiving a report sent by the AMF entity after it is determined by the AMF entity that the list of identifiers of the UEs in the designated area has changed (Paragraph 136, 137, 173, 176, teaches that after initial UE-related data is obtained from the AMF, the AMF (directly or via storage/notification services) detects newly collected or changed UE-related information and sends a notification/report identifying updated UE identifiers, which is received by the data-consuming entity).
Regarding claim 4, Dao et al. teaches the determining the target network function entity serving the designated area comprises: sending a network function query request to a network repository function (NRF) entity, wherein the network function query request is used for querying the target network function entity serving the designated area (Paragraph 104, 113–114, teaches sending a discovery/query message to an NRF to identify a network function (set, subset, or instance) that serves a particular service area or zone); receiving a response message sent by the NRF entity, the response message being used for indicating the target network function entity (Paragraph 115–118, explicitly discloses that the NRF responds to a discovery request with identifying information that indicates the target network function entity selected to serve the request); and/or, wherein, the behavior data is mobility event data, and the target network function entity is an AMF entity (Paragraph 80, 88, 105, 173, teaches mobility-related event data and explicitly identifies AMF as the network function providing UE mobility events, satisfying the mapping of mobility behavior data to an AMF entity); or the behavior data is session management event data, and the target network function entity is a session management function (SMF) entity (Paragraph 80, 88, 105, 173, teaches mobility-related event data and explicitly identifies AMF as the network function providing UE mobility events, satisfying the mapping of mobility behavior data to an AMF entity).
Regarding claim 6, Dao et al. teaches the receiving the behavior data of the UEs in the designated area sent by the target network function entity comprises: receiving separately the behavior data of each user equipment in the designated area sent by the target network function entity (Paragraph 172, 173, 177, teaches that network functions collect and send behavior-related data on a per-UE basis, with each UE identified individually (e.g., UE ID and location), resulting in separate behavior data for each UE being received); wherein the method further comprises: receiving behavior data of UEs moving into and/or moving out of the designated area sent by the target network function entity (Paragraph 88, 176, 191, teaches receiving UE behavior data that includes dynamic location information tied to service areas and registration areas, which inherently reflects UEs entering and leaving a designated area); determining the behavior data of all UEs in the designated area (Paragraph 192, 195, 197, teaches aggregating collected per-UE behavior data retrieved from storage and performing analytics over that data, thereby determining behavior data for all UEs within the designated area).
Regarding claim 15, Dao et al. teaches a network device, comprising: a transceiver, a memory, a processor, and a program stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and execute the following process: sending a query request to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity serving the designated area, the query request being used for obtaining a list of identifiers of all UEs in the designated area (Paragraph 137, 221, 153, expressly teaches sending event exposure or subscription requests to an AMF that return UE identifiers (SUPI/GPSI) scoped by location or group); obtaining, from the AMF entity, the list of identifiers (Paragraph 177, 222, The AMF explicitly sends UE identifiers in response to subscriptions or queries); sending a data collection request to the target network function entity to perform data collection or monitoring on the UEs in the obtained list of identifiers based on the obtained list of identifiers (Paragraph 151, 168, 172, clearly teaches sending data collection requests to selected target NFs with explicit UE IDs, resulting in data collection or monitoring on those specific UEs); and receiving the behavior data of the UEs in the designated area sent by the target network function entity (Paragraph 173, 190, 174, The target NF (or its coordinator) sends collected UE data back to NWDAF, directly corresponding to receiving UE behavior data for UEs in the designated area).
Dao et al. does not explicitly teach determining a target network function entity serving a designated area.
However, Edge teaches determining a target network function entity serving a designated area (Paragraph 49, 75, 93, The network explicitly determines which mobility management function (MME/AMF) is serving UEs within the relevant network area before initiating monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining a target network function entity serving a designated area as taught by Edge in the system of Dao et al., so that it would enable the data collection network function to accurately identify the appropriate serving network function for a given area and thereby ensure efficient, targeted, and reliable collection of user equipment behavior data for UEs located within that designated area.
Regarding claim 16, Dao et al. teaches the data collection request comprises the list of identifiers (Paragraph 81, 151, 153, 159, The data collection request explicitly includes UE identifiers as UE ID(s) (e.g., SUPI, GPSI), which are identifiers carried within the request message itself, thereby comprising a list of identifiers).
Regarding claim 17, Dao et al. teaches after the obtaining, from the AMF entity, the list of identifiers, the processor is further configured for: receiving a report sent by the AMF entity after it is determined by the AMF entity that the list of identifiers of the UEs in the designated area has changed (Paragraph 136, 137, 173, 176, teaches that after initial UE-related data is obtained from the AMF, the AMF (directly or via storage/notification services) detects newly collected or changed UE-related information and sends a notification/report identifying updated UE identifiers, which is received by the data-consuming entity).
Regarding claim 18, Dao et al. teaches the determining the target network function entity serving the designated area comprises: sending a network function query request to a network repository function (NRF) entity, wherein the network function query request is used for querying the target network function entity serving the designated area (Paragraph 104, 113–114, teaches sending a discovery/query message to an NRF to identify a network function (set, subset, or instance) that serves a particular service area or zone); receiving a response message sent by the NRF entity, the response message being used for indicating the target network function entity (Paragraph 115–118, explicitly discloses that the NRF responds to a discovery request with identifying information that indicates the target network function entity selected to serve the request); and/or, wherein, the behavior data is mobility event data, and the target network function entity is an AMF entity (Paragraph 80, 88, 105, 173, teaches mobility-related event data and explicitly identifies AMF as the network function providing UE mobility events, satisfying the mapping of mobility behavior data to an AMF entity); or the behavior data is session management event data, and the target network function entity is a session management function (SMF) entity (Paragraph 80, 88, 105, 173, teaches mobility-related event data and explicitly identifies AMF as the network function providing UE mobility events, satisfying the mapping of mobility behavior data to an AMF entity).
Regarding claim 20, Dao et al. teaches the receiving the behavior data of the UEs in the designated area sent by the target network function entity comprises: receiving separately the behavior data of each user equipment in the designated area sent by the target network function entity (Paragraph 172, 173, 177, teaches that network functions collect and send behavior-related data on a per-UE basis, with each UE identified individually (e.g., UE ID and location), resulting in separate behavior data for each UE being received); wherein the processor is further configured for: receiving behavior data of UEs moving into and/or moving out of the designated area sent by the target network function entity (Paragraph 88, 176, 191, teaches receiving UE behavior data that includes dynamic location information tied to service areas and registration areas, which inherently reflects UEs entering and leaving a designated area); determining the behavior data of all UEs in the designated area (Paragraph 192, 195, 197, teaches aggregating collected per-UE behavior data retrieved from storage and performing analytics over that data, thereby determining behavior data for all UEs within the designated area).
Claims 8-11, 14, 22-25, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge (US 20200053638 A1) in view of Dao et al. (US 20220006707 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Edge teaches a method of sending user equipment behavior data, performed by a network function entity, wherein the network function entity is an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (Paragraph 93, 94, expressly identifies the AMF as the network function entity performing the disclosed method steps), and the method comprises: receiving a query request sent by a data collection network function entity, the query request being used for obtaining a list of identifiers of all UEs in the designated area (Paragraph 47, 49, 95, A data-collection network entity sends the AMF a request defining a designated area, which necessarily determines the set of UEs (and their identifiers) associated with that area).
Edge does not explicitly teach sending the list of identifiers to the data collection network function entity; receiving a data collection request sent by the data collection network function entity to perform data collection or monitoring on the UEs in the list of identifiers based on the list of identifiers; and sending the behavior data of the UEs in the designated area to the data collection network function entity.
However, Dao et al. teaches sending the list of identifiers to the data collection network function entity (Paragraph 108, 173, 190, teaches transmitting UE-ID–bearing data records for all UEs matching the request scope to the data analytics function); receiving a data collection request sent by the data collection network function entity to perform data collection or monitoring on the UEs in the list of identifiers based on the list of identifiers (Paragraph 161, 172, 222, explicitly discloses the AMF receiving subscription requests identifying specific UE IDs and subsequently performing UE-specific monitoring and data collection); and sending the behavior data of the UEs in the designated area to the data collection network function entity (Paragraph 173, 174, 190, clearly discloses transmitting collected UE behavior data, including mobility and event information scoped by UE ID and location, to the data analytics function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending the list of identifiers to the data collection network function entity; receiving a data collection request sent by the data collection network function entity to perform data collection or monitoring on the UEs in the list of identifiers based on the list of identifiers; and sending the behavior data of the UEs in the designated area to the data collection network function entity as taught by Dao et al. in the system of Edge, so that the AMF can fully support end-to-end UE behavior analytics for a designated area by enabling coordinated identification, monitoring, and reporting of relevant UEs to the requesting data collection function.
Regarding claim 9, Edge teaches the data collection request comprises the list of identifiers (Paragraph 47–49, The passage teaches that a data/location request explicitly includes UE identity information (e.g., IMSI/MSISDN) and associated identity-based parameters).
Regarding claim 10, Edge teaches after the sending the list of identifiers to the data collection network function entity, the method further comprises: sending, to the data collection network function entity, report information of the list of identifiers after UE moves into and/or moves out of the designated area (Paragraph 27, 46, 58, 61, 65, 70, The passage teaches detecting UE movement into or out of a designated area and subsequently sending event report information identifying those UEs to a requesting network entity following such movement events).
Regarding claim 11, Edge teaches after the sending the behavior data of the UEs in the designated area to the data collection network function entity, the method further comprises: monitoring UEs moving into and/or moving out of the designated area (Paragraph 27, 46, 58, The passage expressly discloses continuous monitoring of UE movement relative to a designated area, including detecting entry into and exit from that area as trigger events); sending behavior data of the UEs moving into and/or moving out of the designated area to the data collection network function entity (Paragraph 61, 65, 70, Upon detecting entry or exit events, the UE and network send corresponding event reports upstream to a network entity that collects and forwards the UE behavior information); and/or, wherein, the behavior data is mobility event data, and the target network function entity is an AMF entity (Paragraph 46, 58, 93, The disclosed trigger events correspond to UE mobility events and are explicitly mapped to AMF-based signaling flows in a 5G implementation); or the behavior data is session management event data, and the target network function entity is a session management function (SMF) entity (Paragraph 93, 122, The passage teaches network-function-based event reporting where session-related behavior may be handled by a core network function other than the AMF, consistent with SMF-type session event handling), wherein, in case that the behavior data is the session management event data and the target network function entity is the session management function (SMF) entity, the method further comprises: subscribing to the AMF entity serving the designated area for information of UEs in the designated area (Paragraph 49, 93, 108, The passage discloses a network entity initiating and maintaining an ongoing event-reporting relationship with the AMF serving the area to obtain UE-related information); receiving the information of UEs reported by the AMF entity (Paragraph 65, 67, 93, The disclosed signaling flow includes the AMF generating and transmitting UE event information that is received by another network entity for further processing).
Regarding claim 14, Edge teaches the data collection request comprises a location information list used for indicating the designated area (Paragraph 46, 47, 49, The passage teaches that a request includes target-area details that are represented as and/or converted into a list of location identifiers (e.g., cell IDs and/or tracking areas), which functions as a location information list indicating the designated area).
Regarding claim 22, Edge teaches a network device, comprising: a transceiver, a memory, a processor, and a program stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to read the program in the memory to implement steps of the method according to claim 8 (Paragraph 135–137, The passage discloses a network entity having a transceiver (external interface), memory storing executable program modules, and one or more processors that execute the stored program to implement the disclosed periodic and triggered location method steps corresponding to the referenced method).
Regarding claim 23, Edge teaches the data collection request comprises the list of identifiers (Paragraph 47–49, The passage teaches that a data/location request explicitly includes UE identity information (e.g., IMSI/MSISDN) and associated identity-based parameters).
Regarding claim 24, Edge teaches after the sending the list of identifiers to the data collection network function entity, the processor is further configured for: sending, to the data collection network function entity, report information of the list of identifiers after UE moves into and/or moves out of the designated area (Paragraph 27, 46, 58, 61, 65, 70, The passage teaches detecting UE movement into or out of a designated area and subsequently sending event report information identifying those UEs to a requesting network entity following such movement events).
Regarding claim 25, Edge teaches after the sending the behavior data of the UEs in the designated area to the data collection network function entity, the processor is further configured for: monitoring UEs moving into and/or moving out of the designated area (Paragraph 27, 46, 58, The passage expressly discloses continuous monitoring of UE movement relative to a designated area, including detecting entry into and exit from that area as trigger events); sending behavior data of the UEs moving into and/or moving out of the designated area to the data collection network function entity (Paragraph 61, 65, 70, Upon detecting entry or exit events, the UE and network send corresponding event reports upstream to a network entity that collects and forwards the UE behavior information); and/or, wherein, the behavior data is mobility event data, and the target network function entity is an AMF entity (Paragraph 46, 58, 93, The disclosed trigger events correspond to UE mobility events and are explicitly mapped to AMF-based signaling flows in a 5G implementation); or the behavior data is session management event data, and the target network function entity is a session management function (SMF) entity (Paragraph 93, 122, The passage teaches network-function-based event reporting where session-related behavior may be handled by a core network function other than the AMF, consistent with SMF-type session event handling), wherein, in case that the behavior data is the session management event data and the target network function entity is the session management function (SMF) entity, the processor is further configured for: subscribing to the AMF entity serving the designated area for information of UEs in the designated area (Paragraph 49, 93, 108, The passage discloses a network entity initiating and maintaining an ongoing event-reporting relationship with the AMF serving the area to obtain UE-related information); receiving the information of UEs reported by the AMF entity (Paragraph 65, 67, 93, The disclosed signaling flow includes the AMF generating and transmitting UE event information that is received by another network entity for further processing).
Regarding claim 28, Edge teaches the data collection request comprises a location information list used for indicating the designated area (Paragraph 46, 47, 49, The passage teaches that a request includes target-area details that are represented as and/or converted into a list of location identifiers (e.g., cell IDs and/or tracking areas), which functions as a location information list indicating the designated area).
Allowable Subject Matter
Some concepts from the specification that could be added to the independent claims to possibly make them allowable would be to add the obtained list of UE identifiers directly within the data collection request sent to the target network function entity so that the target network function can explicitly identify which UEs in the designated area are to be monitored. It further describes dynamically handling changes in the designated area by receiving reports from the AMF when UEs move into or out of the area, and continuing to collect behavior data for those newly entering or departing UEs so that monitoring remains comprehensive over time rather than static. The disclosure also contemplates determining the target network function entity through interaction with a network repository function (NRF), thereby providing a concrete network-level mechanism for selecting the appropriate serving entity based on the designated area. Additionally, the specification distinguishes between different types of behavior data, such as mobility event data versus session management event data, and associates those data types with different target network function entities (e.g., AMF or SMF), reflecting a more granular and flexible monitoring framework. The embodiments further describe receiving behavior data on a per-UE basis, rather than only in aggregate form, and explicitly including location information identifying the designated area in the data collection request. In cases where session management behavior data is collected from an SMF, the specification also introduces the concept of the SMF subscribing to the AMF to obtain information about UEs in the designated area, enabling coordinated, cross-function monitoring that is not limited to a single network function’s local knowledge.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ferrari et al. (US 20240430846 A1)
Edge et al. (US 20230403533 A1)
Edge et al. (US 20210051559 A1)
Keating et al. (US 20200229130 A1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464