DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In this instance, the following limitations are not supported in the drawings nor in the originally filed specification, and are thus deemed to be new matter:
With regard to claim 16, there is no support in the specification nor in the drawings as to “a first elongate portion” and “a second elongate portion” (of the joining member).
With regard to claim 17, there is no support in the specification that “the joining member is formed of a rigid material”.
With regard to claims 19 and 20, there is no support in the specification nor in the drawings of “a first joining member” and “at least a second joining member”, each of which being “coupled to the connector via the connection member”.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “rigid” in claim 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rigid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-12, new independent claim 15, and new claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2018/0048033), cited in the Information Disclosure Statement dated October 23, 2023.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 9, Lee et al. disclose a battery module and its method of manufacture (paragraphs [0069]-[0072] and [0119]-[0133]; and Figures 1, 2, 10, 11, and 14), in which the battery module (120) and its method of manufacture comprise the following structural features and process steps:
stacking a plurality of battery cells (30) to be mounted in cartridges (10) of a cartridge stack (10A), into which the plurality of battery cells (30) including electrode leads (25) are stacked, wherein coupling of the electrode leads (25) results in the electrode leads (25) protruding from at least two adjacent battery cells (30) among the plurality of battery cells (30) to form an electrode lead joint body (see paragraphs [0069]-[0072]; and Figures 1 and 2);
providing a sensing assembly (97) to be coupled to the electrode lead joint body (see Figure 2), wherein the sensing assembly (97) transmits voltage information for one or more of the plurality of battery cells (30) via a voltage sensing module (84) of the sensing assembly (97), and the sensing assembly (97) further comprises a connector, a connection member for coupling the connector and one of the electrode leads (25), and providing a joining member disposed at a first end of the connection member (see Figure 10),
wherein at least two (including more than two) of the electrode leads (25) are bent to be welded via laser welding (see paragraph [0073]) to be coupled to form an electrode lead joint body, and the joining member is coupled to the electrode lead joint body (see paragraph [0129]; and Figure 10).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. disclose that a first surface of the electrode lead joint body lies in a plane perpendicular to a direction in which the one of the electrode leads (25) protrudes from the battery cell (30), as shown in Figures 2 and 10.
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. disclose that the electrode leads (25) include positive and negative electrode leads (25), wherein the positive and negative electrode leads (25) of a single battery cell (30) protrude in directions facing each other (see paragraph [0072]; and Figures 2 and 10).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Lee et al. disclose that an insulating cover (88) covers first and second surfaces of the battery cell stack from which the electrode leads (25) protrude, and wherein the sensing assembly (97) is coupled by being positioned on an inside surface of the insulating cover (88) and coupled to the electrode leads (25), such that the sensing assembly (97) is mounted on first and second surfaces of the battery cell stack (see Figures 2 and 10).
Regarding claims 5-7, 11, and 12, Lee et al. disclose that the inside surface of the insulating cover (88) faces the electrode leads (25) and is formed with a mounting part that is indented so as to couple the sensing assembly (97) thereto (see Figure 11), wherein the insulating cover (88) comprises a cover part and an opening part that is formed at a position corresponding to a section where the joining member is coupled to the electrode lead joint body, wherein the cover part covers the opening part to be formed as an opening/closing structure (see Figures 11 and 14).
Regarding new independent claim 15, as well as new claims 17 and 18, Lee et al. disclose a battery module (paragraphs [0069]-[0072] and [0119]-[0133]; and Figures 1, 2, 10, 11, and 14), in which the battery module (120) comprises the following structural features:
a plurality of battery cells (30) to be mounted in cartridges (10) of a cartridge stack (10A), into which the plurality of battery cells (30) including electrode leads (25) are stacked, wherein coupling of the electrode leads (25) results in the electrode leads (25) protruding from at least two adjacent battery cells (30) among the plurality of battery cells (30) to form an electrode lead joint body (see paragraphs [0069]-[0072]; and Figures 1 and 2);
a sensing assembly (97) to be coupled to the electrode lead joint body (see Figure 2), wherein the sensing assembly (97) transmits voltage information for one or more of the plurality of battery cells (30) via a voltage sensing module (84) of the sensing assembly (97), and the sensing assembly (97) further comprises a connector, a connection member for coupling the connector and one of the electrode leads (25), and a joining member formed of a “rigid” material (since it has sufficient strength to join two structural features together, as broadly interpreted) disposed at a first end of the connection member (see Figure 10); and
an insulating cover (88) that covers first and second surfaces of the battery cell stack from which the electrode leads (25) protrude, and wherein the sensing assembly (97) is coupled by being positioned on an inside surface of the insulating cover (88) and coupled to the electrode leads (25), such that the sensing assembly (97) is mounted on first and second surfaces of the battery cell stack (see Figures 2 and 10),
wherein at least two of the electrode leads (25) are bent and coupled to form an electrode lead joint body, and the joining member is coupled to the electrode lead joint body (see paragraph [0129]; and Figure 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0048033), and further in view of KR 20190134229 A, of which a complete copy of the Korean document with a machine translation was provided with the Information Disclosure Statement dated July 26, 2022.
Regarding claims 8 and 13, Lee et al. disclose a battery pack that includes the battery module (120) and its method of manufacture (of independent claims 1 and 9, respectively), wherein the battery module (120) would be operable to be housed in a pack frame, but fail to teach a thermal conductive resin layer disposed between the battery module and the pack frame.
However, KR ‘229 discloses a plurality of battery modules (100) provided inside a pack frame (module case (200)) that includes a thermal conductive resin (300) provided therebetween (abstract; paragraphs [0090]-[0092] of translation; and Figures 1-4), in which the thermal conductive resin to be applied adjacent battery modules (100) and between adjacent battery cells (20) during the stacking step (and including the bending and coupling of the electrode leads of independent claim 9 above), as shown in Figures 3 and 4, would be advantageous for the purpose of obtaining efficient adhesion and heat dissipation characteristics (see abstract and paragraph [0092] of translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the thermal conductive resin to be disposed between the battery module and the pack frame, as taught by KR ‘229, to be applied to the battery module and battery cells disclosed by Lee et al., in order to prevent overheating via efficient heat dissipation and adhesion characteristics (KR ‘229; see abstract and paragraph [0092] of translation).
Claim 14 and new claims 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0048033).
Regarding claim 14, although Lee et al. disclose the steps of independent claim 9 above, including coupling the sensing assembly (97), Lee et al. fail to explicitly teach a step of wrapping the battery cell stack with a holding band prior to coupling with a sensing assembly (97). However, and as set forth in applicants’ claim 10 above, the sensing assembly (97) is coupled by being positioned on an inside surface of the insulating cover (88) and coupled to the electrode leads (25), such that the sensing assembly (97) is mounted on first and second surfaces of the battery cell stack (see Figures 2 and 10), thus providing secure connections. In view of the teachings of Lee et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a holding band or other type of holding means to improve stability to the battery cell stack and subcomponents thereof, in order to obtain a secure connection to the sensing assembly and battery cell stack (Lee et al.; see paragraphs [0131]-[0133]; and Figures 2 and 10).
Regarding new claim 16, although Lee et al. disclose the structural features of the battery module of independent claim 1 above, including that the joining member extends from the connection member to the electrode lead joint body (see paragraph [0129]; and Figure 10), Lee et al. do not explicitly disclose that the joining member includes obliquely arranged first and second elongate portions (also refer to the above 35 USC 112(a) rejection above). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that inclusion of first and second elongate portions (broadly interpreted to be extending ends and/or projections of the joining member) to have any desired orientation (including obliquely), would be obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success, since orientation is merely a parameter having a finite number of predictable solutions, in order to obtain a more secure connection of subcomponents within the battery module.
Regarding new claims 19 and 20, although Lee et al. disclose the structural features of the battery module of independent claim 1 above, including the joining member and the electrode lead joint body, Lee et al. do not explicitly disclose the first and second joining members, each of which is coupled to the connector via the connection member (also refer to the above 35 USC 112(a) rejections above). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a single joining member could be duplicated for use as a plurality of joining members for coupling to the connector via the connection member, for the purpose of obtaining a more secure connection of subcomponents within the battery module. Moreover, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the applicants’ amendments received by the USPTO on September 18, 2025 and October 15, 2025, as well as the replacement drawing sheets received on September 18, 2025. The replacement drawing sheets overcome the prior objections to the drawings. Although the amendments overcome the prior objections to the abstract, specification, and claim 13, as well as the prior 35 USC 112(b) rejection, new 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) rejections are raised in above sections 2 and 4 due to addition of new claims. The applicants have added new claims 15-20. Claims 1-20 are currently under consideration in the application.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the argument pertaining to the new limitations has been addressed in the newly underlined portions applied above in the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection addressing the applicants’ amendments to independent claims 1 and 9. In addition, the addition of new independent claim 15 (and new claims 16-20 that depend from independent claim 1) raise new grounds of rejection (including 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) rejections for dependent claims 16-20), and new independent claim 15 has been addressed in the above 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection above.
With regard to the applicants’ remarks/arguments on pages 11 and 12 of the amendment, the applicants’ major argument is that the new “welded/welding” limitations (that replaced “coupled/coupling” of independent claims 1 and 9, respectively) are not taught by Lee et al., as discussed in the telephone interview of September 9, 2025. However, after reviewing the entire specification of Lee et al., it was determined that the electrode leads are to be connected “via laser welding or the like” (see paragraph [0073] of Lee et al.). Therefore, the applicants’ amendments to independent claims 1 and 9 do not distinguish over the prior art of record. Furthermore, new claims 16, 17, 19, and 20 were added, but these claims include new matter (rejected under 35 USC 112(a)) that lack disclosure in the specification so as to inhibit distinct understanding of these limitations. In view of the 35 USC 112(a), 35 USC 112(b), 35 USC 102(a)(1), and 35 USC 103 rejections, and for these additional reasons, claims 1-20 remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicants' amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 December 21, 2025