Claims 1-10 are currently presented for Examination.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/02/2026 has been entered and considered by the examiner. By the
amendment, claims 1-2, 4-5 and 8-9 are amended. In view of amendment made, the previous 112 rejection of the claim are withdrawn. Following Applicants arguments and amendments made, Examiner modify the prior art rejections. And, the 101 rejection is still maintained. See office action for detail.
Applicant arguments on 101 rejections
The amended claims include specific physical factors such as "temperature," "humidity," and "illuminance." These are physical conditions of a real space. The system uses these physical factors in a specific math function to create a design. The claims are not just about showing data. It is about a technical process that connects a physical environment to a specific plant layout. Because the claim focuses on these physical variables, it is not directed to an abstract idea alone. Even if the claims involve an abstract idea, it is integrated into a "practical application." The system uses physical data like temperature and light to calculate a specific design that achieves a goal. This process creates a concrete solution for designing a space. This process improves the technical field of space design. Before this invention, people had to guess or use trial and error. This system uses a math function to automate the design based on real environmental data. This is a technical improvement that goes beyond just thinking of an idea. The claims as a whole have an "inventive concept" that is significantly more than an abstract idea. It combines physical variables like temperature and light with a target goal in a unique function. This combination is not a common or routine task in this field. The specific steps to find the best amount and place for plants using this function are not standard. These additions provide a specific and technical way to solve a design problem. Therefore, the claims provide "significantly more" than a simple abstract concept and is eligible for a patent. Based on the foregoing, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 is respectfully requested.
Examiner response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the use of "temperature," "humidity," and "illuminance" removes the claims from the realm of abstract ideas because they are physical conditions. However, merely gathering environmental data ("temperature," "humidity," "illuminance") using conventional generic components, and feeding it into a "math function" does not constitute an improvement to the functioning of a computer or a technical field. The specification describes these variables as inputs, but the process of using a "math function" to determine a plant layout is a mental process or a mathematical calculation that could be performed by a human, or a generic computer, thus falling under the combination of “mental process” and "mathematical concept" exception. The "physical" variables are merely data parameters used within an algorithm/math function to create a design plan, which is a “calculation or mathematical formula”. The examiner maintains that the steps of gathering temperature, humidity, and illuminance data is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of obtaining data using generic computer components), and fall under the insignificant pre-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is well-understood, routine, and conventional activities in the field of environmental monitoring. The Applicant argues that using a math function to automate design improves space design. However, the claim does not improve the function of the computers involved, nor does it create a new physical component (like a novel sensor), but rather uses existing generic components to perform an algorithm. The steps of receiving data, applying a formula, and outputting a layout are conventional, routine steps within the computing field when processing data inputs. Simply identifying environmental factors to produce a planting map or diagram is not a technical improvement to space design. The claim does not improve the "functioning of a computer/other technology" (MPEP 2106.05(a)). Designing a layout based on data is a conventional task. Thus, 101 rejection is still maintained. See office action.
Applicant arguments on claim 1 and 9 for prior art rejection
Applicant has amended independent claims, among others, to recite that:
the environment information includes:
a temperature set in the space;
a humidity set in the space; and
an illuminance set in an illumination installed in the space, and
the generator is configured to use a function that has, as variables, an amount of plant to be arranged in the space, an arrangement of the plant to be arranged in the space, plant species of the plant to be arranged in the space, the temperature, the humidity and the illuminance and is configured to output a value of the effect with respect to values of the variables, to generate one or more pieces of information each of which indicates a combination of the amount of the plant, the arrangement of the plant, and the plant species of the plant that result in an output value of the function to be equal to the target value, and
select, from the one or more pieces of information each of which indicates the combination, at least one piece of information, as at least a part of the planting design information, indicating a combination that includes the plant species for which the respective score associated therewith corresponds to the target value. Applicant submits that cited references (Takeuchi and Nishina) do not disclose the aforementioned features.
Examiner response
In view of Applicant arguments regarding the newly added limitation, Examiner cited the new references Gently et al. (US20210027057A1) in addition with Takeuchi and Nishina for the teaching. See office action for detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
5. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. These claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
(Step 1) Is the claims to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Claims: 1-8 is directed to system or machine that falls on one of statutory category.
Claim: 9 is directed to method or process that falls on one of statutory category.
Claim 10 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable tangible recording medium, which falls into manufacture.
Claim 1, 9 and 10 recites
Step 2A, Prong 1
A spatial design method comprising:
generating, based on the layout information, the environment information, and the target value, planting design information on a design for a plant to be arranged in the space, the generating comprises: using a function that has, as variables, an amount of plant to be arranged in the space, an arrangement of the plant to be arranged in the space, plant species of the plant to be arranged in the space, the temperature, the humidity and the illuminance and is configured to output a value of the effect with respect to values of the variables, to generate one or more pieces of information each of which indicates a combination of the amount of the plant, the arrangement of the plant, and the plant species of the plant that result in an output value of the function to be equal to the target value,; (The actions of ""generating," planting design information based on various inputs (layout, environment, target value) can be practically performed by a human being in their mind, or using pencil and paper. A person can observe a space, mentally consider the environmental conditions and desired effect, and then design a planting scheme. For example, a landscape architect examines a client's yard (acquiring layout/environment info), discusses the desired "calm" atmosphere (target value), and creates a design plan (generating/outputting planting design info) using their professional judgment and standard design principles (e.g., balance, rhythm). The description "using a function... to output a value" implies a general mathematical relationship and falls under the mathematical concept. So, it falls under the combination of Mathematical Concepts" and "Mental Processes" groupings of abstract idea.)
and
selecting, from the one or more pieces of information each of which indicates the combination, at least one piece of information, as at least a part of the planting design information, indicating a combination that includes the plant species for which the respective score associated therewith corresponds to the target value. (A designer looks at a spreadsheet of 50 plant species and their drought-resistance scores. They select the 10 species that score over 8. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations are process steps that cover mental processes including an evaluation or judgment that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process, then it falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.)
Step 2A, Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
In accordance with Step 2A, Prong 2, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional element of an acquiring layout information on a space in a facility, environment information on an environment in the space, and a target value of an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from a space design for the space; and outputting the planting design information, wherein the environment information includes: a temperature set in the space; a humidity set in the space; and an illuminance set in an illumination installed in the space, which is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of obtaining and outputting data using generic computer components), and fall under the insignificant pre-solution and post-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). The additional elements of a memory that stores information on a plurality of plant species and respective scores associated with the plurality of plant species is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of storing data), and falls under the insignificant extra solution activity. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)) The additional elements of processor and memory are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f); The additional element of a non-transitory computer-readable tangible recording medium storing a program configured to cause a computer to execute the spatial design method of claim 9 in claim 10 are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f); The claim provided does not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application in a meaningful way. They do not add an "inventive concept" because they are described at a high level of generality and involve routine, conventional activities (acquiring data, generating information, outputting data and selecting data). Merely gathering information or outputting information does not add a sufficient inventive concept. The claims do not mention any specific, non-conventional machinery or a novel computer function that allows the process to be performed in a new or improved way that a human could not do mentally or with basic tools. There is no improvement to a technological field mentioned. The result is "planting design information," which can be a drawing, a list of plants, or a conceptual plan. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
In view of Step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited exception,
i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. The additional element of an acquiring layout information on a space in a facility, environment information on an environment in the space, and a target value of an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from a space design for the space; and outputting the planting design information, wherein the environment information includes: a temperature set in the space; a humidity set in the space; and an illuminance set in an illumination installed in the space, which is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of obtaining and outputting data using generic computer components), and fall under the insignificant pre-solution and post-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)) and recognized it as generic computer functions that is well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); The additional elements of a memory that stores information on a plurality of plant species and respective scores associated with the plurality of plant species is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of storing data), and falls under the insignificant extra solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is well-\ understood, routine or conventional. ((See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (iii) Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 225, 110 USPQ2d 1984 (2014) (creating and maintaining “shadow accounts”); Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (updating an activity log); (iv) Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; The additional elements of processor and memory are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f); The additional element of a non-transitory computer-readable tangible recording medium storing a program configured to cause a computer to execute the spatial design method of claim 9 in claim 10 are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f); The claim provided does not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application in a meaningful way. They do not add an "inventive concept" because they are described at a high level of generality and involve routine, conventional activities (acquiring data, generating information, outputting data and selecting data). (SEE MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)) The steps, when considered in combination, simply describe the process of designing a space, which is a well-understood human activity. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. Thus, claims 1, 9 and 10 are not eligible.
Claim 2 further recites wherein the planting design information includes at least one of the arrangement of the plant and the amount of the plant. Designing a garden layout with specific plants, quantities, and arrangements is fundamentally an act of human creativity, planning, and mental calculation. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations are process steps that cover mental processes including an evaluation or judgment that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process, then it falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. Claim therefore, when taken as a whole, still does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim recites unpatentable ineligible subject matter for the same reasoning and analysis as mentioned for claim 1.
Claim 3 further recites wherein the planting design information includes, as the plant species, constituent element information on constituent elements of the plant to be arranged in the space. The process of selecting plants based on their specific characteristics (e.g., color, size, texture, water needs, soil requirements - the "constituent elements") to achieve a desired aesthetic or ecological outcome is a well-established human cognitive activity in landscape design. A person can perform this in their mind or using simple tools like a notebook and a plant catalog. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations are process steps that cover mental processes including an evaluation or judgment that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process, then it falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. Claim therefore, when taken as a whole, still does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim recites unpatentable ineligible subject matter for the same reasoning and analysis as mentioned for claim 1.
Claim 4 further recites selecting, based on constituent element information on constituent elements of the plant to be arranged in the space, one plant species from types of a plurality of plants, and generating the planting design information including, as the plant species, the one plant species thus selected. Analyzing data (constituent element information) and then making a selection (choosing one plant species) based on that analysis to achieve a desired outcome in a planting design. This process of observation, evaluation, and judgment is a type of mental process that can be performed by a human mind, potentially with the aid of a pen and paper. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process, then it falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. Claim therefore, when taken as a whole, still does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim recites unpatentable ineligible subject matter for the same reasoning and analysis as mentioned for claim 1.
Claim 5 further recites outputting based on the planting design information, effect information on an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from the space. Describing the goal or feeling the person should experience (e.g., "a feeling of tranquility," "enhanced focus," or "increased social interaction") is an abstract concept and a mental process. A person must subjectively observe and interpret the space to obtain this effect. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process, then it falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. Also, outputting is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of outputting data using generic computer components), and fall under the insignificant pre-solution and post-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)) and recognized it as generic computer functions that is well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); Claim therefore, when taken as a whole, still does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim recites unpatentable ineligible subject matter for the same reasoning and analysis as mentioned for claim 1.
Claim 6 further recites wherein the effect information includes at least one of a comfortableness effect in the space, a fatigue relaxation effect in the space, or an impression effect about the space. A person could, in theory, perform this process in their mind: think of a desired effect (relaxation), recall or imagine corresponding plants and arrangements, and design the space. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process, then it falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. Claim therefore, when taken as a whole, still does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim recites unpatentable ineligible subject matter for the same reasoning and analysis as mentioned for claim 1.
Claim 7 further recites wherein the environment information includes at least one of temperature information on temperature, humidity information on humidity, light information on light, or sound information on sound in the space. The act of observing or sensing physical parameters (temperature, humidity, etc.) can be performed by a human mind. Humans can feel temperature changes, perceive light levels, and hear sounds. A claim that simply describes the concept of "acquiring" this information without specifying how it is done in an unconventional, technical way is considered an abstract idea or mental process. The concept is a "basic tool of scientific and technological work" and not a specific invention. This is an abstract idea because it describes the result (gathering data) using generic, mental, or conventional steps. Claim therefore, when taken as a whole, still does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim recites unpatentable ineligible subject matter for the same reasoning and analysis as mentioned for claim 1.
Claim 8 further recites the generating comprises generating the planting design information on the plant corresponding to a feature amount data piece complying with the target value of the feature amount data pieces. A person mentally, or using a basic spreadsheet, thinks about a desired effect (e.g., "calming atmosphere"). They recall or look up plants known to have calming effects (e.g., lavender, chamomile). They then select these plants for their design. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations are process steps that cover mental processes including an evaluation or judgment that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process, then it falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. The use of a “wherein the memory store feature amount data pieces for each of types of plants or for each of constituent elements of the plants, the feature amount data pieces corresponding to effects which the person in the space is to obtain” is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of storing data), and falls under the insignificant extra solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is well-\ understood, routine or conventional. ((See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (iii) Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 225, 110 USPQ2d 1984 (2014) (creating and maintaining “shadow accounts”); Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (updating an activity log); (iv) Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; Claim therefore, when taken as a whole, still does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim recites unpatentable ineligible subject matter for the same reasoning and analysis as mentioned for claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi et al. (PUB NO: US 20170273249 A1) in view of Nishina et al. (PUB NO: JP2010172305A) and further in view of Genty et al. (PUB NO: US20210027057A1)
Regarding claim 1
Tekeuchi teaches a spatial design system comprising (see fig 1-information processing apparatus) and :
and a processor configured to perform operations comprising; (fig 1)
acquiring: layout information on a space in a facility (see fig 1 and see para 63-66-- As illustrated in FIG. 3, an object 212 corresponding to the landscape shape of a garden has been input in an input screen 210. The layout acquisition unit 102 acquires arrangement information of the plant input by the user. Specifically, the layout acquisition unit 102 acquires the information indicating the types of a plant arranged on the object and the arrangement region. With regard to the object 212 illustrated in FIG. 3, for example, the layout acquisition unit 102 acquires information indicating the types of plants arranged on the respective regions 212A 212B, 212C, 212D and 212E on the object 212, and information indicating the positions and shapes of the respective regions 212A, 212B, 212C, 212D and 212E.)
environment information on an environment in the space, (see para 71-73 and fig 1- The vegetation information acquisition unit 104 acquires, from the vegetation information storage unit 106, vegetation information relating to the influences exerted by respective plants on each other. In addition, the vegetation information storage unit 106 may have stored therein information relating to growth conditions suitable for respective plants to grow, such as amount of sunlight, amount of water, climate, temperature, or the like.) and
generating, based on the layout information, the environment information, and the target value, planting design information on a design for a plant to be arranged in the space; (see para 55-The input unit 100 is an interface which allows a user to design a natural environment such as a garden. For example, the input unit 100 is an input screen where the user inputs the shape of a landscape such as a garden, and an arrangement of plants arranged on the landscape. see para 83-88- The modified plan generation unit 110 modifies the arrangement of the plants on the object whose validity has been evaluated to be low by the validity evaluation unit 108, and generates a modified plan in which the plants are arranged according to an arrangement with higher validity. In addition, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a plurality of modified plans with higher validity and allow the user to select either of the modified plans to be employed. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a screen display including a plurality of modified plans with changed arrangements of the plants arranged on the object by the user. FIG. 6 is an exemplary screen display indicating modified plans of the arrangement of the plants of the object illustrated in FIG. 5. As illustrated in FIG. 6, modified plans 242A, 242B, 242C and 242D of the plant arrangement on the object are displayed on a screen display 240. See also fig 7)
outputting the planting design information. (see para 89- An output unit 114 is an interface for outputting information from the information processing apparatus 1A to the outside. For example, the output unit 114 may be a display device. In such a case, the output unit 114 displays, to the user, an image indicating the object and the plant arrangement input to the input unit 100 by the user, a prediction image after the plant has grown generated by the growth image generation unit 112, an evaluation result of the validity of the plant arrangement by the validity evaluation unit 108, and a modified plan image of the plant arrangement generated by the modified plan generation unit 110 or the like)
wherein the environment information includes: a temperature set in the space; (see para 71-73 and fig 1- The vegetation information acquisition unit 104 acquires, from the vegetation information storage unit 106, vegetation information relating to the influences exerted by respective plants on each other. In addition, the vegetation information storage unit 106 may have stored therein information relating to growth conditions suitable for respective plants to grow, such as amount of sunlight, amount of water, climate, temperature, or the like.) and
the variable as an arrangement of the plant to be arranged in the space, (see Takeuchi para 66-for example, the layout acquisition unit 102 acquires information indicating the types of plants arranged on the respective regions 212A 212B, 212C, 212D and 212E on the object 212, and information indicating the positions and shapes of the respective regions 212A, 212B, 212C, 212D and 212E.)
to generate one or more pieces of information each of which indicates a combination of the amount of the plant, the arrangement of the plant, and the plant specifies of the plant (see para 66- Specifically, the layout acquisition unit 102 acquires the information indicating the types of a plant arranged on the object and the arrangement region. see para 83-The modified plan generation unit 110 modifies the arrangement of the plants on the object whose validity has been evaluated to be low by the validity evaluation unit 108, and generates a modified plan in which the plants are arranged according to an arrangement with higher validity. In addition, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a plurality of modified plans with higher validity and allow the user to select either of the modified plans to be employed. See para 83-In addition, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a plurality of modified plans with higher validity and allow the user to select either of the modified plans to be employed. See para 107-The sowing information generation unit 116 determines the densities and the intervals of the sowing positions 252A to 252E in consideration of the germination rate and the optimized densities of the plants arranged to the areas 212A to 212E.)
and selecting, from the one or more pieces of information each of which indicates the combination, at least one piece of information, as at least a part of the planting design information, indicating a combination that includes the plant species for which the respective score associated there with corresponds to the target value. (See para 80-In addition, the validity evaluation unit 108 may evaluate the validity of the arrangement of the plants arranged on the object by the user based on scores, with 100 being the perfect score. In addition, the validity evaluation unit 108 may evaluate the validity of the arrangement of the plants arranged on the object by the user based on scores, with 100 being the perfect score. see para 83-The modified plan generation unit 110 modifies the arrangement of the plants on the object whose validity has been evaluated to be low by the validity evaluation unit 108, and generates a modified plan in which the plants are arranged according to an arrangement with higher validity. In addition, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a plurality of modified plans with higher validity and allow the user to select either of the modified plans to be employed)
Takeuchi does not teach a memory that stores information on a plurality of plant species and respective scores associated with the plurality of plant species, a target value of an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from a space design for the space, a humidity set in the space and an illuminance set in an illumination installed in the space, the variables as an amount of plant to be arranged in the space, plant species of the plant to be arranged in the space and the generating comprises: using a function that has, as variables, …..is configured to output a value of the effect with respect to values of the variables and the plant species of the plant that result in an output value of the function to be equal to the target value.
In the related field of invention, Nishina teaches a memory that stores information on a plurality of plant species and respective scores associated with the plurality of plant species; (see page 1- The present invention is a database that stores various types of information about foliage plants for each type of plant. Thermal comfort effect value processing unit composed of a relative humidity calculation unit that calculates indoor relative humidity from resistance and ventilation, and a humidity/ thermal comfort level storage unit that stores the relationship between relative humidity and thermal comfort level. And a relaxation effect value processing unit that stores the accumulated green vision rate-relaxation degree relational expression, and the relaxation effect value processing part is virtually arranged based on the distance-green vision rate relational expression. In the present invention, the processing means includes an air purification effect value processing unit including an air purification effect value storage unit that stores an air purification effect value for each type of house plant, and the air purification effect value processing unit. See page 3-Next, 11 types of houseplants (Pakila, Yucca, Consinna, Speckled Kapok, Kapok, Slochiku, Massangiana, Potos,Benjamin, ArecaPalm, Gold Crest) displayed in the "houseplant" display area 2e of the display 2c. The houseplant to be arranged is selected with the mouse 2b.)
a target value of an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from a space design for the space (see page 1-In order to respond to the diverse needs of residents, it is necessary to have a dialogue with the residents in the process of greening the living environment. See page 7-placing priority on the type of foliage plants that excel in air purification, or placing foliage plants with an emphasis on a sense of comfort, etc.)
a humidity set in the space; (see page 4-The indoor relative humidity calculation unit 3 a3 calculates the indoor relative humidity from the pore resistance calculated by the above equation (1) and the indoor and outdoor ventilation amounts.)
and an illuminance set in an illumination installed in the space, (see page 2-In the present invention, the processing means includes an illuminance distribution calculating unit that calculates an indoor illuminance distribution of the living environment)
the variables as an amount of plant to be arranged in the space, plant species of the plant to be arranged in the space, (See page 3-Next, 11 types of houseplants (Pakila, Yucca, Consinna, Speckled Kapok, Kapok, Slochiku, Massangiana, Potos,Benjamin, ArecaPalm, Gold Crest) displayed in the "houseplant" display area 2e of the display 2c. The houseplant to be arranged is selected with the mouse 2b. see page 5- number of pots of the foliage plants virtually placed by the resident.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method or system of spatial design as disclosed by Takeuchi to include a memory that stores information on a plurality of plant species and respective scores associated with the plurality of plant species, a target value of an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from a space design for the space, a humidity set in the space and an illuminance set in an illumination installed in the space, the variables as an amount of plant to be arranged in the space, plant species of the plant to be arranged in the space as taught by Nishina in the system of Takeuchi in order to provide an interactive living environment greening design support system capable of realizing an optimal greening of a living environment in response to various needs of residents, thus improving the occupant's comfort by greening a living environment, that is, arranging a houseplant in the living environment (determination of the type, size, number of pots, and placement location of the houseplant etc. Etc.) in relation to a residential environment greening design support system. (see abstract and page 1, Nishina)
The combination of Takeuchi and Nishina does not teach the generating comprises: using a function that has, as variables, …..is configured to output a value of the effect with respect to values of the variables and the plant species of the plant that result in an output value of the function to be equal to the target value.
In the related field of invention, Genty teaches the generating comprises: using a function that has, as variables, …..is configured to output a value of the effect with respect to values of the variables and the plant species of the plant that result in an output value of the function to be equal to the target value, (see para 45-The autonomous plant-growth optimization system further includes an artificial-intelligence decision model to autonomously make and/or optimize growing decisions. The artificial-intelligence decision model processes inputs from one or more of image sensors, environmental sensors, and user data to predict the correct spectrum and intensity of light needed to achieve desired harvest characteristics and/or yield of one or more plants in the indoor farm. see para 69-70-Recipe analysis 160 (shown in deep-learning model 130 of FIG. 1) may be performed to determine optimal value of input variables for desired outputs of various types of plants. Recipe analysis 160 may take into account user-defined parameters. Outputting a decision and confidence score 165 (shown in deep-learning model 130 of FIG. 1) may be performed by determining the results of each tasks, along with a confidence score indicating the artificial-intelligence engine's confidence in its results.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method or system of spatial design as disclosed by Takeuchi and Nishina to include the generating comprises: using a function that has, as variables, …..is configured to output a value of the effect with respect to values of the variables and the plant species of the plant that result in an output value of the function to be equal to the target value as taught by Genty in the system of Takeuchi and Nishina for incorporating artificial intelligence (AI) and Internet-of-Things (IoT) for monitoring and optimizing plant growth and quality in an indoor farm using optical sensors, imaging sensors, environmental sensors, and light sensors in real-time. Input from multiple sensors is used to determine characteristics about plants growing in an indoor farm and to automatically adjust the growing conditions, including light provided to the plants, to optimize the growth at each of the plants' growth phases to achieve the desired harvest traits. (see para 002, Genty)
Regarding claim 2
Takeuchi in view of Nishina and Genty teaches the spatial design system of claim 1. Takeuchi further teaches wherein the planting design information includes at least one of the arrangements of the plant, (see para 84-87-It is preferred that a plant having a similar size, color and breed to those of the plant before replacement is selected as the plant after replacement. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a screen display including a plurality of modified plans with changed arrangements of the plants arranged on the object by the user. See para 61- Furthermore, an arrangement of plants is input by the user on the input object. For example, the types of plants arranged and the regions arranged may be indicated by displaying the surface of the object in different colors for each plant. See para 71-For example, certain types of plants are known to have so-called allelopathy which inhibits or promotes growth of other plants or microbes by discharging chemical materials to the surrounding environment.)
Takeuchi does not teach the amount of plant in the space.
In the related field of invention, Nishina teaches the amount of plant in the space; (see page 3-Next, 11 types of houseplants (Pakila, Yucca, Consinna, Speckled Kapok, Kapok, Slochiku, Massangiana, Potos, Benjamin, Areca Palm, Gold Crest) displayed in the “houseplant” display area 2e of the display 2c. The houseplant to be arranged is selected with the mouse 2b.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method or system of spatial design as disclosed by Takeuchi to include the amount of plant in the space as taught by Nishina in the system of Takeuchi and Genty in order to provide an interactive living environment greening design support system capable of realizing an optimal greening of a living environment in response to various needs of residents, thus improving the occupant's comfort by greening a living environment, that is, arranging a houseplant in the living environment (determination of the type, size, number of pots, and placement location of the houseplant etc. Etc.) in relation to a residential environment greening design support system. (see abstract and page 1, Nishina)
Regarding claim 3
Takeuchi in view of Nishina and Genty teaches the spatial design system of claim 1. Takeuchi further teaches wherein the planting design information includes, as the plant species, constituent element information on constituent elements of the plant to be arranged in the space.(see para 84-85- Specifically, when any of the arranged plants is evaluated to have low validity because it suppresses (exerting allelopathy on) the growth of other plants, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a modified plan with improved validity by increasing the distance between the plant having allelopathy and other plants. In addition, a modified plan with improved validity may be generated by replacing the plant having allelopathy with a plant which does not have allelopathy. In such a case, it is preferred that a plant having a similar size, color and breed to those of the plant before replacement is selected as the plant after replacement.)
Regarding claim 4
Takeuchi in view of Nishina and Genty teaches the spatial design system of claim 1. Takeuchi further teaches the generating comprises: selecting, based on constituent element information on constituent elements of the plant to be arranged in the space, one plant species from types of a plurality of plants, and generating the planting design information including, as the plant species, the one plant species thus selected.(see para 84-85- Specifically, when any of the arranged plants is evaluated to have low validity because it suppresses (exerting allelopathy on) the growth of other plants, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a modified plan with improved validity by increasing the distance between the plant having allelopathy and other plants. In addition, a modified plan with improved validity may be generated by replacing the plant having allelopathy with a plant which does not have allelopathy. In such a case, it is preferred that a plant having a similar size, color and breed to those of the plant before replacement is selected as the plant after replacement.)
Regarding claim 5
Takeuchi in view of Nishina and Genty teaches the spatial design system of claim 1. Takeuchi further teaches the operation comprise, outputting based on the planting design information, (see para 89 and fig 1- An output unit 114 is an interface for outputting information from the information processing apparatus 1A to the outside. For example, the output unit 114 may be a display device. In such a case, the output unit 114 displays, to the user, an image indicating the object and the plant arrangement input to the input unit 100 by the user, a prediction image after the plant has grown generated by the growth image generation unit 112, an evaluation result of the validity of the plant arrangement by the validity evaluation unit 108, and a modified plan image of the plant arrangement generated by the modified plan generation unit 110 or the like.)
Takeuchi does not teach the operation comprise; outputting based on the planting design information effect information on an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from the space.
However, Nishina further teaches the operation comprise, outputting based on the planting design information effect information on an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from the space.(see page 7--The output unit output unit 4 is com posed of, for example, a liquid crystal display, and as shown in the output screen of FIG. 5, based on the information output from the graphing processing unit 3f, the "thermal comfort effect", "relaxation effect", "air" Six items of "purification effect", "visual effect", "feeling of peace", and "glamor" are displayed in the "expected effect" display area 2g in a radar chart. In this way, if a desired foliage plant is selected and placed virtually anywhere in the room, each effect expected by placing the foliage plant is displayed in a graph and is also placed virtually.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method or system of spatial design as disclosed by Takeuchi to include the operation comprise; outputting based on the planting design information effect information on an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from the space as taught by Nishina in the system of Takeuchi and Genty in order to provide an interactive living environment greening design support system capable of realizing an optimal greening of a living environment in response to various needs of residents, thus improving the occupant's comfort by greening a living environment, that is, arranging a houseplant in the living environment (determination of the type, size, number of pots, and placement location of the houseplant etc. Etc.) in relation to a residential environment greening design support system. (see abstract and page 1, Nishina)
Regarding claim 6
Takeuchi in view of Nishina and Genty teaches the spatial design system of claim 1. Takeuchi does not teach wherein the effect information includes at least one of a comfortableness effect in the space, a fatigue relaxation effect in the space, or an impression effect about the space.
In the related field of invention, Nishina teaches wherein the effect information includes at least one of a comfortableness effect in the space, a fatigue relaxation effect in the space, or an impression effect about the space. (see page 2-The present invention is a database that stores various types of information about foliage plants for each type of plant, the conditions of the living environment, and the like, and at least one foliage plant in the database is selected and placed virtually indoors. When the foliage plants are virtually arranged, the thermal comfort effect, the relaxation effect, the air purification effect, the visual effect to relieve or recover visual fatigue and the image effect in the residential environment where the conditions are specified Is a living environment greening design support system comprising processing means for digitizing the data on the basis of various information stored in the database, and output means for visually outputting each digitized effect.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method or system of spatial design as disclosed by Takeuchi to include wherein the effect information includes at least one of a comfortableness effect in the space, a fatigue relaxation effect in the space, or an impression effect about the space as taught by Nishina in the system of Takeuchi and Genty in order to provide an interactive living environment greening design support system capable of realizing an optimal greening of a living environment in response to various needs of residents, thus improving the occupant's comfort by greening a living environment, that is, arranging a houseplant in the living environment (determination of the type, size, number of pots, and placement location of the houseplant etc. Etc.) in relation to a residential environment greening design support system. (see abstract and page 1, Nishina)
Regarding claim 7
Takeuchi in view of Nishina and Genty teaches the spatial design system of claim 1. Takeuchi further teaches wherein the environment information includes at least one of temperature information on temperature, humidity information on humidity, light information on light, or sound information on sound in the space. (see para 72-Specifically, the vegetation information acquisition unit 104 may acquire information relating to growth conditions suitable for respective plants to grow, such as amount of sunlight, amount of water, climate, temperature, or the like.)
Regarding claim 8
Takeuchi in view of Nishina and Genty teaches the spatial design system of claim 1. Takeuchi further teaches wherein the memory stores feature amount data pieces for each of types of plants or for each of constituent elements of the plants, the feature amount data pieces corresponding to effects which the person in the space is to obtain, (see para 71-75 The vegetation information acquisition unit 104 acquires, from the vegetation information storage unit 106, vegetation information relating to the influences exerted by respective plants on each other. For example, certain types of plants are known to have so-called allelopathy which inhibits or promotes growth of other plants or microbes by discharging chemical materials to the surrounding environment. The vegetation information acquisition unit 104 acquires information relating to the influence exerted by such a plant on other plants as vegetation information. The validity evaluation unit 108 evaluates the validity of the arrangement of the plants arranged on an object, based on the vegetation information acquired by the vegetation information acquisition unit 104. Specifically, the validity evaluation unit 108 evaluates the influences exerted by the respective arranged plants on each other, and evaluates that the validity is low when the arrangement of the plants input by the user may inhibit growth of the plants. see para 80- Here, the validity evaluation unit 108 may evaluate the validity of the arrangement of the plants arranged on the object by the user, by ranking into a plurality of levels such as “∘ (good)”, “Δ (fair)” and “X (bad)”. In addition, the validity evaluation unit 108 may evaluate the validity of the arrangement of the plants arranged on the object by the user based on scores, with 100 being the perfect score. See para 193- The ROM 162 stores a program and an arithmetic operation parameter used by the CPU 160. The RAM 164 temporarily stores a program used in execution of the CPU 160, a parameter which appropriately changes in the execution, or the like. The CPU 160 executes functions of, e.g., the layout acquisition unit 102, the vegetation information acquisition unit 104, the validity evaluation unit 108, the modified plan generation unit 110, the growth image generation unit 112, the sowing information generation unit 116, the pipeline design unit 118, the nutrient solution calculation unit 120, the scenery optimization unit 122, the environmental evaluation unit 126, the environment optimization unit 128, or the like.)
the generating comprises generating the planting design information on the plant corresponding to a feature amount data piece complying with the target value of the feature amount data pieces.(see para 83-84- The modified plan generation unit 110 modifies the arrangement of the plants on the object whose validity has been evaluated to be low by the validity evaluation unit 108, and generates a modified plan in which the plants are arranged according to an arrangement with higher validity. In addition, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a plurality of modified plans with higher validity and allow the user to select either of the modified plans to be employed. Specifically, when any of the arranged plants is evaluated to have low validity because it suppresses (exerting allelopathy on) the growth of other plants, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a modified plan with improved validity by increasing the distance between the plant having allelopathy and other plants. In addition, a modified plan with improved validity may be generated by replacing the plant having allelopathy with a plant which does not have allelopathy. In such a case, it is preferred that a plant having a similar size, color and breed to those of the plant before replacement is selected as the plant after replacement.)
Regarding claim 9
Tekeuchi teaches a spatial design method comprising (see fig 1-information processing apparatus)
acquiring layout information on a space in a facility (see fig 1 and see para 63-66-- As illustrated in FIG. 3, an object 212 corresponding to the landscape shape of a garden has been input in an input screen 210. The layout acquisition unit 102 acquires arrangement information of the plant input by the user. Specifically, the layout acquisition unit 102 acquires the information indicating the types of a plant arranged on the object and the arrangement region. With regard to the object 212 illustrated in FIG. 3, for example, the layout acquisition unit 102 acquires information indicating the types of plants arranged on the respective regions 212A 212B, 212C, 212D and 212E on the object 212, and information indicating the positions and shapes of the respective regions 212A, 212B, 212C, 212D and 212E.)
environment information on an environment in the space, (see para 71-73 and fig 1- The vegetation information acquisition unit 104 acquires, from the vegetation information storage unit 106, vegetation information relating to the influences exerted by respective plants on each other. In addition, the vegetation information storage unit 106 may have stored therein information relating to growth conditions suitable for respective plants to grow, such as amount of sunlight, amount of water, climate, temperature, or the like.) and
generating, based on the layout information, the environment information, and the target value, planting design information on a design for a plant to be arranged in the space; (see para 55-The input unit 100 is an interface which allows a user to design a natural environment such as a garden. For example, the input unit 100 is an input screen where the user inputs the shape of a landscape such as a garden, and an arrangement of plants arranged on the landscape. see para 83-88- The modified plan generation unit 110 modifies the arrangement of the plants on the object whose validity has been evaluated to be low by the validity evaluation unit 108, and generates a modified plan in which the plants are arranged according to an arrangement with higher validity. In addition, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a plurality of modified plans with higher validity and allow the user to select either of the modified plans to be employed. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a screen display including a plurality of modified plans with changed arrangements of the plants arranged on the object by the user. FIG. 6 is an exemplary screen display indicating modified plans of the arrangement of the plants of the object illustrated in FIG. 5. As illustrated in FIG. 6, modified plans 242A, 242B, 242C and 242D of the plant arrangement on the object are displayed on a screen display 240. See also fig 7)
outputting the planting design information. (see para 89- An output unit 114 is an interface for outputting information from the information processing apparatus 1A to the outside. For example, the output unit 114 may be a display device. In such a case, the output unit 114 displays, to the user, an image indicating the object and the plant arrangement input to the input unit 100 by the user, a prediction image after the plant has grown generated by the growth image generation unit 112, an evaluation result of the validity of the plant arrangement by the validity evaluation unit 108, and a modified plan image of the plant arrangement generated by the modified plan generation unit 110 or the like)
wherein the environment information includes: a temperature set in the space; (see para 71-73 and fig 1- The vegetation information acquisition unit 104 acquires, from the vegetation information storage unit 106, vegetation information relating to the influences exerted by respective plants on each other. In addition, the vegetation information storage unit 106 may have stored therein information relating to growth conditions suitable for respective plants to grow, such as amount of sunlight, amount of water, climate, temperature, or the like.) and
the variable as an arrangement of the plant to be arranged in the space, (see Takeuchi para 66-for example, the layout acquisition unit 102 acquires information indicating the types of plants arranged on the respective regions 212A 212B, 212C, 212D and 212E on the object 212, and information indicating the positions and shapes of the respective regions 212A, 212B, 212C, 212D and 212E.)
to generate one or more pieces of information each of which indicates a combination of the amount of the plant, the arrangement of the plant, and the plant specifies of the plant (see para 66- Specifically, the layout acquisition unit 102 acquires the information indicating the types of a plant arranged on the object and the arrangement region. see para 83-The modified plan generation unit 110 modifies the arrangement of the plants on the object whose validity has been evaluated to be low by the validity evaluation unit 108, and generates a modified plan in which the plants are arranged according to an arrangement with higher validity. In addition, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a plurality of modified plans with higher validity and allow the user to select either of the modified plans to be employed. See para 83-In addition, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a plurality of modified plans with higher validity and allow the user to select either of the modified plans to be employed. See para 107-The sowing information generation unit 116 determines the densities and the intervals of the sowing positions 252A to 252E in consideration of the germination rate and the optimized densities of the plants arranged to the areas 212A to 212E.)
and selecting, from the one or more pieces of information each of which indicates the combination, at least one piece of information, as at least a part of the planting design information, indicating a combination that includes the plant species for which the respective score associated there with corresponds to the target value. (See para 80-In addition, the validity evaluation unit 108 may evaluate the validity of the arrangement of the plants arranged on the object by the user based on scores, with 100 being the perfect score. In addition, the validity evaluation unit 108 may evaluate the validity of the arrangement of the plants arranged on the object by the user based on scores, with 100 being the perfect score. see para 83-The modified plan generation unit 110 modifies the arrangement of the plants on the object whose validity has been evaluated to be low by the validity evaluation unit 108, and generates a modified plan in which the plants are arranged according to an arrangement with higher validity. In addition, the modified plan generation unit 110 may generate a plurality of modified plans with higher validity and allow the user to select either of the modified plans to be employed)
Takeuchi does not teach a memory that stores information on a plurality of plant species and respective scores associated with the plurality of plant species, a target value of an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from a space design for the space, a humidity set in the space and an illuminance set in an illumination installed in the space, the variables as an amount of plant to be arranged in the space, plant species of the plant to be arranged in the space and the generating comprises: using a function that has, as variables, …..is configured to output a value of the effect with respect to values of the variables and the plant species of the plant that result in an output value of the function to be equal to the target value.
In the related field of invention, Nishina teaches a memory that stores information on a plurality of plant species and respective scores associated with the plurality of plant species; (see page 1- The present invention is a database that stores various types of information about foliage plants for each type of plant. Thermal comfort effect value processing unit composed of a relative humidity calculation unit that calculates indoor relative humidity from resistance and ventilation, and a humidity/ thermal comfort level storage unit that stores the relationship between relative humidity and thermal comfort level. And a relaxation effect value processing unit that stores the accumulated green vision rate-relaxation degree relational expression, and the relaxation effect value processing part is virtually arranged based on the distance-green vision rate relational expression. In the present invention, the processing means includes an air purification effect value processing unit including an air purification effect value storage unit that stores an air purification effect value for each type of house plant, and the air purification effect value processing unit. See page 3-Next, 11 types of houseplants (Pakila, Yucca, Consinna, Speckled Kapok, Kapok, Slochiku, Massangiana, Potos,Benjamin, ArecaPalm, Gold Crest) displayed in the "houseplant" display area 2e of the display 2c. The houseplant to be arranged is selected with the mouse 2b.)
a target value of an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from a space design for the space (see page 1-In order to respond to the diverse needs of residents, it is necessary to have a dialogue with the residents in the process of greening the living environment. See page 7-placing priority on the type of foliage plants that excel in air purification, or placing foliage plants with an emphasis on a sense of comfort, etc.)
a humidity set in the space; (see page 4-The indoor relative humidity calculation unit 3 a3 calculates the indoor relative humidity from the pore resistance calculated by the above equation (1) and the indoor and outdoor ventilation amounts.)
and an illuminance set in an illumination installed in the space, (see page 2-In the present invention, the processing means includes an illuminance distribution calculating unit that calculates an indoor illuminance distribution of the living environment)
the variables as an amount of plant to be arranged in the space, plant species of the plant to be arranged in the space, (See page 3-Next, 11 types of houseplants (Pakila, Yucca, Consinna, Speckled Kapok, Kapok, Slochiku, Massangiana, Potos,Benjamin, ArecaPalm, Gold Crest) displayed in the "houseplant" display area 2e of the display 2c. The houseplant to be arranged is selected with the mouse 2b. see page 5- number of pots of the foliage plants virtually placed by the resident.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method or system of spatial design as disclosed by Takeuchi to include a memory that stores information on a plurality of plant species and respective scores associated with the plurality of plant species, a target value of an effect which a person in the space is to obtain from a space design for the space, a humidity set in the space and an illuminance set in an illumination installed in the space, the variables as an amount of plant to be arranged in the space, plant species of the plant to be arranged in the space as taught by Nishina in the system of Takeuchi in order to provide an interactive living environment greening design support system capable of realizing an optimal greening of a living environment in response to various needs of residents, thus improving the occupant's comfort by greening a living environment, that is, arranging a houseplant in the living environment (determination of the type, size, number of pots, and placement location of the houseplant etc. Etc.) in relation to a residential environment greening design support system. (see abstract and page 1, Nishina)
The combination of Takeuchi and Nishina does not teach the generating comprises: using a function that has, as variables, …..is configured to output a value of the effect with respect to values of the variables and the plant species of the plant that result in an output value of the function to be equal to the target value.
In the related field of invention, Genty teaches the generating comprises: using a function that has, as variables, …..is configured to output a value of the effect with respect to values of the variables and the plant species of the plant that result in an output value of the function to be equal to the target value, (see para 45-The autonomous plant-growth optimization system further includes an artificial-intelligence decision model to autonomously make and/or optimize growing decisions. The artificial-intelligence decision model processes inputs from one or more of image sensors, environmental sensors, and user data to predict the correct spectrum and intensity of light needed to achieve desired harvest characteristics and/or yield of one or more plants in the indoor farm. see para 69-70-Recipe analysis 160 (shown in deep-learning model 130 of FIG. 1) may be performed to determine optimal value of input variables for desired outputs of various types of plants. Recipe analysis 160 may take into account user-defined parameters. Outputting a decision and confidence score 165 (shown in deep-learning model 130 of FIG. 1) may be performed by determining the results of each tasks, along with a confidence score indicating the artificial-intelligence engine's confidence in its results.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method or system of spatial design as disclosed by Takeuchi and Nishina to include the generating comprises: using a function that has, as variables, …..is configured to output a value of the effect with respect to values of the variables and the plant species of the plant that result in an output value of the function to be equal to the target value as taught by Genty in the system of Takeuchi and Nishina for incorporating artificial intelligence (AI) and Internet-of-Things (IoT) for monitoring and optimizing plant growth and quality in an indoor farm using optical sensors, imaging sensors, environmental sensors, and light sensors in real-time. Input from multiple sensors is used to determine characteristics about plants growing in an indoor farm and to automatically adjust the growing conditions, including light provided to the plants, to optimize the growth at each of the plants' growth phases to achieve the desired harvest traits. (see para 002, Genty)
Regarding claim 10
Takeuchi further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable tangible recording medium storing a program configured to cause a computer to execute the spatial design method of claim 9. (See fig 22 and para 191-200- The ROM 162 stores a program and an arithmetic operation parameter used by the CPU 160. The RAM 164 temporarily stores a program used in execution of the CPU 160, a parameter which appropriately changes in the execution, or the like. The CPU 160 executes functions of, e.g., the layout acquisition unit 102, the vegetation information acquisition unit 104, the validity evaluation unit 108, the modified plan generation unit 110, the growth image generation unit 112, the sowing information generation unit 116, the pipeline design unit 118, the nutrient solution calculation unit 120, the scenery optimization unit 122, the environmental evaluation unit 126, the environment optimization unit 128, or the like.)
Conclusion
7. All claims 1-10 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PURSOTTAM GIRI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2186
/RENEE D CHAVEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2186