DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chisaka et al. (JP 2019-116525), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation, in view of Wang et al. (US Serial No. 2019/0278174).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, and 11; Chisaka et al. teaches a quantum dot-containing ink composition comprising a semiconductor nanoparticle (A), a quantum dot (C) comprising an organic ligand [0027] (B), and a liquid medium (e.g. solvent [0033]) (D), wherein the water content in the ink composition is of 100 ppm or less [0010]. Chisaka et al. teaches the composition further comprises a resin [0035], a photopolymerizable monomer [0036], and a photoinitiator [0038]. Chisaka et al. teaches the resin is employed in an amount of 5 parts by mass [Table 1].
Chisaka et al. fails to teach the composition further comprising an antioxidant in an amount of 5 parts by mass or more and 40 parts or less based on 100 parts by mass of the resin (B). Wang et al. teaches ink compositions suitable for use producing color filters in display devices comprising a binder resin [0055], a photopolymerizable compound [0065], a photoinitiator [0070], a solvent [0081], and preferably 0.5 to 20 parts by weight of an antioxidant [0109], such as Sumilizer® GP (phosphorus/phenol composite; see instant specification [0212]). Chisaka et al. and Wang et al. are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely ink compositions suitable for use in the production of color filters. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add, for example, 0.5 parts Sumizer® GP (i.e. 10 parts based on 100 parts of the resin compound), as taught by Wang et al., to the composition of Chisaka et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to solve a problem regarding a decline in photoluminescence intensity, as suggested by Wang et al. [0109].
In the instance 0.5 parts Sumizer® GP (i.e. 10 parts based on 100 parts of the resin compound), as taught by Wang et al., is employed in the composition of Chisaka et al. having a water content of 100 ppm (based on the total mass), the Examiner takes the position that the water content based on the mass of the antioxidant is less than 60 ppm. The Examiner looks to Table 1 of the instant specification wherein Example 3 comprises 3.5 parts of antioxidant and 100 ppm water content (based on total mass), yields a water content of 1.2 ppm based on the mass of the antioxidant. Thus, increasing the amount of the antioxidant would lessen the amount of water content based on the mass of the antioxidant.
Regarding claim 4; Chisaka et al. teaches suitable solvents for the present invention includes propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate [0033] (solubility in water is 18.5% by mass at a temperature of 20°C [instant spec 0275]).
Regarding claims 6-7; Chisaka et al. teaches suitable ligand for the present invention include 3-mercaptopropionic acid [0027] (satisfies the gas phase acidity in a range of -15 kJ/mol or more and 5 kJ/mol or less (instant spec [0045-0046]).
Regarding claim 8; Chisaka et al. teaches suitable semiconductor nanoparticles include zinc oxide [0072], which are capable of function as a light scattering agent (instant spec [0231]).
Regarding claims 9-10; Chisaka et al. teaches a cured film, suitable for use in a display panel [0055-0056; 0088].
Regarding claim 12; Chisaka et al. teaches the photopolymerizable monomer is, for example, trimethylolpropane tri(meth) acrylate, pentaerythritol tri(meth) acrylate, and pentaerythritol tetra(meth)acrylate [0036].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner makes note that the prior art in view of Nelson (US Serial No. 2019/0382658) is no longer used in the current rejection of record, thus all arguments directed to Nelson are considered moot. As such, Chisaka et al. in view of Wang et al., are still relied upon for rendering obvious the claimed curable resin composition, as required by the instant claim language.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767