DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR-20130107132-A) (see translation) and further in view Tan; “Tan, C., Luo, H., Du, K. et al. Core-shell structured Li[(Ni0.9Co0.05Al0.05)0.6(Ni0.4Co0.2Mn0.4)0.4]O2 cathode material for high-energy lithium ion batteries. Ionics 24, 1293–1304 (2018)” and Wakada (US-20140079995-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a positive electrode having a positive electrode mixture layer, a negative electrode (see e.g., page 7 paragraph 3, regarding lithium secondary battery), and a nonaqueous electrolyte (see e.g., [0051], regarding nonaqueous electrolyte preferentially used as liquid electrolyte because of reactivity between lithium and moisture), wherein the positive electrode mixture layer includes a positive electrode active material and inactive particles, wherein the inactive particles are ceramics (see e.g., page 7 paragraph 3 to page 8 paragraph 1, regarding ceramic filler disposed in the pores of active material layer), the positive electrode active material includes a lithium-containing composite oxide (see e.g., page 8 paragraph 3, regarding cathode active material composed of composite metal oxide such as LiCoO2, LiMn2O4, LiNiO2, LiNi1-xCoxCoO2, LiNixCoyMnzO2, or LiFePO4), an average particle size D1 of the positive electrode active material of 5 μm to 15 μm (see e.g., see e.g., page 8 paragraph 2) and an average particle size D2 of the inactive particles of 0.1 to 0.8 μm (see e.g., page 8 paragraph 2, regarding ceramic filler powder size) which overlaps with the claimed range of D1> D2, and which overlaps with the claimed range D1/D2 of the average particle size D1 to the average particle size D2 of 5 to 30.
Kim discloses that the cathode material may be composite metal oxides (see e.g., Kim; [0043]). Kim does not explicitly show the claimed formula LiaNi1-x-yCoxMyO2 where 0<a≤1.2, 0≤x≤0.1, 0≤y≤0.1, 0<x+y≤0.1, and M includes Al. This claimed formula includes a range wherein y may be 0, which means that M is not specifically required.
Tan discloses a cathode material for high-energy lithium ion batteries comprising of a material that is LiNi-0.9Co0.05Al0.05O2 (see e.g., Tan; page 2 introduction, regarding “Li(Ni0.9Co0.05Al0.05)O2 was used as a core to maintain enough energy density of the cathode material”). The material as disclosed by Tan provides molar ratios of the metal elements that fall within with the claimed formula. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode material of Kim by using the cathode material comprising LiNi-0.9Co0.05Al0.05O2 disclosed by Tan in order to improve energy density (see e.g., Tan; page 2 introduction), and enhance structural stability, inhibit side reaction during cycling, improve cycling performance, improve electrochemical performance, and improve thermal stability (see e.g., Tan; page 10 conclusion). Tan is further analogous art because Tan discloses a similar particle size of the cathode material (see e.g., Tan; fig. 1b-c, wherein the scale of measurement shows 5 μm), and discloses the inclusion of Mn in the material (see e.g., Tan; page 2 introduction regarding shell material, page 10 conclusion).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a viscosity at 30°C of the nonaqueous electrolyte is 1.5 mPa-s or less. However, Wakada teaches that the viscosity of an electrolyte solution is 0.1 cp to 2 cp (see e.g., Wakada; [0218]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.5 mPa-s or less, and provides an example wherein the viscosity is 1.1 cp (see e.g., Wakada; [0434]). Wakada is analogous art and combinable because Wakada discloses that a nonaqueous solvent may be used (see e.g., Wakada; [0065]) which overlaps with the solvents used be Kim (see e.g., Kim; [0051]), and also uses similar lithium composite oxides in the positive electrode (see e.g., Wakada; [0049]-[0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had an electrolyte disclosed Kim that has a viscosity of 0.1 cp to 2 cp as disclosed by Wakada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a low viscosity electrolyte to increase the ionic conductivity and so that the occurrence of unevenness in concentration of lithium ions in the organic solvent can be prevented, and the internal resistance of the lithium secondary battery can be reduced (see e.g., Wakada; [0218], [0249]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the viscosity at 30 °C of the nonaqueous electrolyte is 1.3 mPa - s or less. However, Wakada teaches that the viscosity of an electrolyte solution is 0.1 cp to 2 cp (see e.g., Wakada; [0218]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.3 mPa-s or less, and further provides an example wherein the viscosity is 1.1 cp (see e.g., Wakada; [0434]). Wakada is analogous art and combinable because Wakada discloses that a nonaqueous solvent may be used (see e.g., Wakada; [0065]) which overlaps with the solvents used be Kim (see e.g., Kim; [0051]), and also uses similar lithium composite oxides in the positive electrode (see e.g., Wakada; [0049]-[0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had an electrolyte disclosed Kim that has a viscosity of 0.1 cp to 2 cp as disclosed by Wakada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a low viscosity electrolyte to increase the ionic conductivity and so that the occurrence of unevenness in concentration of lithium ions in the organic solvent can be prevented, and the internal resistance of the lithium secondary battery can be reduced (see e.g., Wakada; [0218], [0249]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1. Kim further discloses the D2 of the inactive particles is 0.1 to 0.8 μm (see e.g., page 8 paragraph 2, regarding ceramic filler powder size), which falls within the claimed range 0.1 μm or more and 10 μm or less.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the ceramic filler may be included between 0.5 to 3 wt% (see e.g., page 8 paragraph 7, regarding ceramic filler and cathode active material in weight ratio of 0.5 to 3 : 99.5 to 97) which falls within the claimed range of the inactive particles relative to a total of the positive electrode active material and the inactive particles is 0.1 mass% or more and 15 mass% or less.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the ceramics include at least one selected from the group consisting of silica, alumina, and titania (see e.g., Kim; page 8 paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR-20130107132-A) (see translation), Tan; “Tan, C., Luo, H., Du, K. et al. Core-shell structured Li[(Ni0.9Co0.05Al0.05)0.6(Ni0.4Co0.2Mn0.4)0.4]O2 cathode material for high-energy lithium ion batteries. Ionics 24, 1293–1304 (2018),” and Wakada (US-20140079995-A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Muraoka (JP-2012033381-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the positive electrode mixture layer is 100 μm or more. However, Muraoka discloses a positive electrode mixture layer of 140 to 200 μm (see e.g., Muraoka; [0012]) which overlaps with the claimed range of 100 μm or more. Muraoka is further equivalent analogous art because Muraoka similarly discloses a nonaqueous electrode secondary battery wherein the positive electrode is provided with a binder. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kim by providing a positive electrode mixture layer thickness of 140 to 200 μm disclosed by Muraoka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase capacity, prevent breakage of the positive electrode, and prevent decrease in cycle characteristics (see e.g., Muraoka; [0013]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728