DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 5 September 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, and 10 have been amended, claims 2 and 3 have been canceled, new claims 11 and 12 have been introduced, and claims 1 and 4-12 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (WO 2019/195553 A1), in view of SUN et al. (US 2019/0074500; hereinafter “Sun”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a laminated body (see Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6), comprising:
a solid electrolyte layer (see p. 22-25; see Fig. 2 – labeled SSE); and
a layer (IL layer, see Fig. 2) containing a heat-resistant resin (polymer film of anode interface layer) and an ion-conductive material (liquid electrolyte that is coated or soaked or impregnated into the polymer film, see p. 27),
the solid electrolyte layer (see Fig. 2 – SSE layer) and the layer containing the heat-resistant resin and the ion-conductive material (see Fig. 2 – IL layer) being adjacent to each other,
the ion-conductive material is at least one selected from the group consisting of an ionic liquid (liquid electrolyte, see p. 27) and a mixture of an ionic liquid and a lithium salt.
Zhang teaches wherein the heat-resistant resin is a polyamide (see p. 27), but is silent to the polyamide having a glass-transition temperature of not less than 300° C.
Sun teaches aromatic polyamide polymers (such as PPTA, PMIA, PBA, PSA), has high heat resistance and its glass transition temperature is higher than 300°C. Sun teaches that a high temperature-resistance can improve the safety of the lithium-ion power battery (see [0005]).
In view of Sun’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the body of Zhang to include a polyamide having a glass-transition temperature of not less than 300° C, as taught by Sun, because it has a high temperature-resistance that can improve the safety of the lithium-ion battery.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhang and Sun teaches wherein a solid electrolyte contained in the solid electrolyte layer is an inorganic solid electrolyte (Zhang: see p. 22).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhang and Sun teaches wherein the inorganic solid electrolyte is an oxide-based solid electrolyte or a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (Zhang: see p. 22).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang and Sun teaches an all-solid-state secondary battery, comprising:
a positive electrode (Zhang: cathode current collector, see Fig. 2);
a laminated body recited in claim1 (see rejection for claim 1 above); and
a negative electrode (Zhang: anode current collector, see Fig. 2),
the layer containing the heat-resistant resin and the ion-conductive material (Zhang: IL layer, see Fig. 2) being disposed between the negative electrode (Zhang: anode current collector, see Fig. 2) and the solid electrolyte layer (Zhang: SSE layer, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches a short circuit prevention film, comprising:
a heat-resistant resin (polymer film of anode interface layer); and an ion-conductive material (liquid electrolyte that is coated or soaked or impregnated into the polymer film, see p. 27),
the ion-conductive material being at least one selected from the group consisting of an ionic liquid (liquid electrolyte, see p. 27) and a mixture of an ionic liquid and a lithium salt.
Zhang teaches wherein the heat-resistant resin is a polyamide (see p. 27), but is silent to the polyamide having a glass-transition temperature of not less than 300° C.
Sun teaches aromatic polyamide polymers (such as PPTA, PMIA, PBA, PSA), has high heat resistance and its glass transition temperature is higher than 300°C. Sun teaches that a high temperature-resistance can improve the safety of the lithium-ion power battery (see [0005]).
In view of Sun’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the body of Zhang to include a polyamide having a glass-transition temperature of not less than 300° C, as taught by Sun, because it has a high temperature-resistance that can improve the safety of the lithium-ion battery.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhang and Sun teaches a method for producing an all-solid-state secondary battery recited in claim 6,
said method comprising the step of:
disposing, between the solid electrolyte layer (Zhang: SSE layer, see Fig. 2) and the negative electrode (Zhang: anode current collector, see Fig. 2), the layer containing the heat-resistant resin and the ion-conductive material (Zhang: IL layer, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhang and Sun teaches a method for preventing a short circuit in an all-solid-state secondary battery,
said method comprising the step of:
disposing, between a positive electrode (Zhang: cathode current collector, see Fig. 2) and a negative electrode (Zhang: anode current collector, see Fig. 2), a laminated body recited in claim 1 (combination of IL and SSE layers, see Fig. 2 of Zhang; see rejection for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhang and Sun teaches a method for preventing a short circuit in an all-solid-state secondary battery,
said method comprising the step of:
disposing, between a positive electrode (Zhang: cathode current collector, see Fig. 2) and a negative electrode (Zhang: anode current collector, see Fig. 2), a short circuit prevention film recited in claim 7 (see rejection for claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhang and Sun teaches wherein the layer consists of the heat-resistant resin and the ion-conductive material (Zhang: see p. 27 – the anode interface layer is a polymer film as described herein with a liquid electrolyte).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhang and Sun teaches the film consisting of the heat-resistant resin and the ion-conductive material (Zhang: see p. 27 – the anode interface layer is a polymer film as described herein with a liquid electrolyte).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 4-6, Applicant argues, with respect to claims 1 and 7, that the prior art fails to teach a polyamide having a glass-transition temperature of not less than 300° C and the ion-conductive material is at least one selected from the group consisting of an ionic liquid and a mixture of an ionic liquid and a lithium salt as required by amended claim 1.
The Examiner finds these arguments moot as amended claim 1 is now being rejected by Zhang in view of Sun. Their combination teaches both the required ionic liquid (Zhang: liquid electrolyte, see p. 27) and a polyamide (Zhang: see p. 26-27, and Sun: see [0005]) having a glass-transition temperature of not less than 300° C (Sun: see [0005]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 8 December 2025
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735