Acknowledgement made of amendment filed 2/04/2026.
Claim Interpretation
The claims 1-5 and 11-15, specifically claim 1 and 11 recite the limitation ‘an optical means for reducing a divergence angle of light from the light source’. This limitation appears to refer to the collimation elements 15 or 18, in figures 8 and 11, see for example paragraphs 0059, 0062 and 0097 of the PGPub of this application. Therefore, examiner will restrict the interpretation of this limitation to a collimation lens or equivalent collimation optical element such as a parabolic mirror or combination catadioptric collimation optical element. Claims 2-5 and 12-15 are given this interpretation inasmuch as they depend from claims 1 and 11 without further specifying the optical means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al. (JP 2018-084596), Machine translation into English provided by examiner, in view of Cammenga et al. (US 2017/0045737 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 11, Hirata teaches a light source device (14a-b, 15, 21, 16, 18a, 171, figure 23; 17, figure 22) that supplies light to an information display device (402, figure 23, element 402 is a liquid crystal panel),
Wherein the light source device includes:
A point shaped or planar light source (paragraph 0104);
An optical means (15, figure 23) for reducing a divergence angle of the light from the light source (paragraph 0089, describes a collimation function, i.e. ‘parallel light’); and
A light guide (17, figure 22; 171-172, figure 23) having a reflections surface (172, figure 23) that reflects light form the light source to propagate to the information display device (402, figure 23),
Wherein the reflection surface of the light guide is disposed so as to face the information display device (172 has to face 402, in figure 23 in order to reflect light through the LCD panel),
Wherein light in a specific polarization direction is emitted from the information display device is arranged below a window glass (figure 5) as image light (paragraph 0044).
Hirata does not specify the image light emitted in the specific polarization direction allows image information to be visually recognizable through the window glass by folding back an optical path to reflect upward by a reflection mirror that is provided on the window glass with a reflective polarizing plate, and polarized light other than light in the specific polarization direction is transmitted through the reflective polarizing plate so that an inside of a vehicle can be visually recognized in an information non-display state.
Cammenga teaches light in a specific polarization direction is emitted from the information display device as image light (paragraph 0043); and
the image light emitted in the specific polarization direction allows image information to be visually recognizable through the window glass by folding back an optical path to reflect upward by a reflection mirror that is provided on the window glass (paragraph 0022, see also figure 1B) with a reflective polarizing plate (paragraph 0032), and polarized light other than light in the specific polarization direction is transmitted through the reflective polarizing plate so that an inside of a vehicle can be visually recognized in an information non-display state (see figure 4A).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display system of Hirata to include a reflective polarizer on the windscreen such as taught in Cammenga because the reflective polarizer improves the reflectance of the windscreen for the display light thus reducing reflection losses and making the image easier to see (paragraph 0043 and 0044).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 12-13, Hirata teaches wherein a divergence angle of the image light form the information display device is within + 30 degrees and further within + 10 degrees (paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Hirata teaches the horizontal diffusion angle and a vertical diffusion angle of image light form the information display device are different (paragraph 0042; the contrast performance with respect to the divergence angle of the image is more pronounced in the horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Hirata teaches wherein the information display device has a liquid crystal display panel element (paragraph 0044), and has a contrast performance obtained by multiplying a contrast, which is obtained according to characteristic of polarizing plates provided on a light incidence surface and an emission surface (see paragraph 0044 which states that polarization plates are arranged on light incident and exit surfaces and that high contrast is obtained thereby), by a reciprocal of cross transmittance of the reflective polarizing plate (since Hirata has the same structure it follows that the contrast performance can be obtained in the same manner as claimed).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (page 15) that the projector HUD in Cammenga vs the display based HUD in Hirata are so fundamentally different that the combination is not obvious, examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that aside from the image source, display of an image on a windscreen or a combiner is the same in both references, and they both form virtual images directly reflected from the combiner to the eyes of the user (see paragraph 0023 of Cammenga). In this specific modification, the type of combiner in Cammenga (i.e. the windshield) has a reflective polarizer layer attached to the windshield to reduce reflection losses in at the windshield and increase visibility of the displayed image (0043-0044), which benefit would apply to the display of Hirata inasmuch as both systems could benefit from an improved reflection of the display image and decrease transmission of sunlight. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN D HOWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 5/19/2026