DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated March 4, 2026, claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are elected and claims 3-10 and 13-16 are withdrawn. No amendments were made to the claims.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that the rejection does not adequately consider the unexpected technical effects achieved by the specific combination of the charging method and nitrile-containing electrolytic solution as disclosed in the present specification and that that Wang discloses nitrile compound additives for electrolytic solutions, but does not teach or suggest that such additives, when combined with a specific multi-stage charging method that increases the charge voltage limit.
It should be noted that constant voltage/constant current charging is well-known in the battery art, as evidenced by Nakatsuji. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be expected to try charging any battery using traditional methods of charging, including that of the electrolyte solution of Wang.
Further, Wang ¶6 teaches "Nitrile compounds, such as glutaronitrile and adiponitrile, have an electrochemical window up to 8.3 V (vs Li/Li+), which is wider than the electrochemical windows of all aprotic solvents, including sulfones, and have the advantages of good thermal stability, low viscosity, and high dielectric constant." and ¶21 teaches "In the overcharging preventive electrolyte according to the first aspect of the present disclosure, the additive B may be at least one selected from the group consisting of propanedinitrile, butanedinitrile, glutaronitrile, adiponitrile, heptanedinitrile, cyanomethoxy acetonitrile, 1,3,6-hexanetrinitrile, 1,2,3-propanetrinitrile, 1,3,5-pentanetrinitrile, 3,3-bis(cyanomethyl) glutaronitrile, and 3,3-bis(cyanomethyl) adiponitrile." Thus teaching that the voltage is optimized using the electrolytic solution to prevent overcharging. This is further discussed in ¶43-48 where a constant current constant voltage is used for charging. It would thus be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the electrolytic solution of Wang to the charging of Nakatsuji in order to prevent overcharging and thus damage to the battery.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because it is unclear which feature of FIGS. 4-8 is being referred to by the labels. It is suggested to amend the figures to clearly indicate the referred to feature as follows using FIG. 5 as an example:
Further some of the labels are written over a line which makes distinguishing the label difficult. From FIG. 5:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsuji et al. US20110267009A1 in view of Wang US20170018803A1.
Regarding claim 1. Nakatsuji discloses a method for enhancing battery cycle performance, applied in a battery (14) (FIG. 1-2), wherein the method comprises the following steps:
at a first stage (T1-T2), charging the battery at a first-stage current (I1A) until reaching a first-stage voltage (Vth1) (¶60); and
at a second stage (T2-T3), charging the battery at a second-stage current (I2A/I1B) until reaching a second-stage voltage (Vfull) , wherein the second-stage voltage is greater than the first-stage voltage (Vfull>Vth1), and the second-stage current is less than the first-stage current (I2A<I1A) (¶60).
Although Nakatsuji discloses a lithium ion battery (¶28), it is not directed toward the electrolyte and thus does not teach the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive, the additive comprises a nitrile compound, and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5%.
In a secondary lithium battery Wang teaches wherein the lithium battery is a lithium-ion battery (Wang, [0007]) the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive (Wang, [0013], [0022]),, the additive comprises a nitrile compound (Wang, [0022]), and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5% (Wang, [0023]), encompassing the claimed range of 0.5% to 5%, the Courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and similarly a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP 2144.05, in order to prevent a lithium-ion battery from being overcharged (Wang, [0010]) and overheating.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Nakatsuji with the teaching of Wang wherein the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive, the additive comprises a nitrile compound, and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5% thereby preventing a lithium-ion battery from being overcharged and overheating.
Regarding claim 11. An electronic device (FIG. 1), comprising a battery (14) and a battery management unit (202), and the battery management unit is configured to execute a method for enhancing battery cycle performance, wherein the method comprises the following steps (FIG. 2):
at a first stage (T1-T2), charging the battery at a first-stage current (I1A) until reaching a first-stage voltage (Vth1) (¶60); and
at a second stage (T2-T3), charging the battery at a second-stage current (I2A/I1B) until reaching a second-stage voltage (Vfull) , wherein the second-stage voltage is greater than the first-stage voltage (Vfull>Vth1), and the second-stage current is less than the first-stage current (I2A<I1A) (¶60).
Although Nakatsuji discloses a lithium ion battery (¶28), it is not directed toward the electrolyte and thus does not teach the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive, the additive comprises a nitrile compound, and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5%.
In a secondary lithium battery Wang teaches wherein the lithium battery is a lithium-ion battery (Wang, [0007]) the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive (Wang, [0013], [0022]),, the additive comprises a nitrile compound (Wang, [0022]), and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5% (Wang, [0023]), encompassing the claimed range of 0.5% to 5%, the Courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and similarly a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP 2144.05, in order to prevent a lithium-ion battery from being overcharged (Wang, [0010]) and overheating.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Nakatsuji with the teaching of Wang wherein the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive, the additive comprises a nitrile compound, and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5% thereby preventing a lithium-ion battery from being overcharged and overheating.
Regarding claim 2 and claim 12. Nakatsuji does not explicitly disclose that the additive comprises a nitrile compound represented by Structural Formula 1:
wherein, Ru is selected from substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkylidene or C1 to C10 alkyleneoxy.
Wang discloses that the additive comprises a nitrile compound represented by Structural Formula 1:
(formula 4 - ¶8)
wherein, R11 is selected from substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkylidene or C1 to C10 alkyleneoxy (¶8 – “each of R7 to R14 is one independently selected from the group consisting of linear alkyl groups with 1 to 10 carbon atoms, side chain-containing alkyl groups, double bond-containing hydrocarbon groups, triple bond-containing hydrocarbon groups, ether bond-containing alkyl groups, or carbonyl-containing alkyl groups”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Zhang with the teaching of Nakatsuji wherein the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive, the additive comprises a nitrile compound, and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5% thereby preventing a lithium-ion battery from being overcharged and overheating.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamamoto et al. US8283075B2 discloses constant current and constant voltage charging of a battery with a nitrile compound (column 8, line 25).
Yi et al. US20210135289A1 - ¶148 – constant current and constant voltage charging of a battery with a nitrile compound.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859