DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated November 5, 2025, claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are elected and claims 3-10 and 13-16 are withdrawn.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 1-4 and 11-14 and further election of Species A, claims 2 and 12, in the reply filed on November 5, 2025 is acknowledged. It is noted that claims 1 and 11 are generic in Group II. As such, claims 1, 2, 11 and 12 are being examined infra.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the labels of FIGS. 4-8 are degraded in quality and difficult to distinguish from one another. Examiner suggests enlarging the figures and placing each on a separate page.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsuji et al. US20110267009A1 in view of Wang US20170018803A1.
Regarding claim 1. Nakatsuji discloses a method for enhancing battery cycle performance, applied in a battery (14) (FIG. 1-2), wherein the method comprises the following steps:
at a first stage (T1-T2), charging the battery at a first-stage current (I1A) until reaching a first-stage voltage (Vth1) (¶60); and
at a second stage (T2-T3), charging the battery at a second-stage current (I2A/I1B) until reaching a second-stage voltage (Vfull) , wherein the second-stage voltage is greater than the first-stage voltage (Vfull>Vth1), and the second-stage current is less than the first-stage current (I2A<I1A) (¶60).
Although Nakatsuji discloses a lithium ion battery (¶28), it is not directed toward the electrolyte and thus does not teach the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive, the additive comprises a nitrile compound, and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5%.
In a secondary lithium battery Wang teaches wherein the lithium battery is a lithium-ion battery (Wang, [0007]) the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive (Wang, [0013], [0022]),, the additive comprises a nitrile compound (Wang, [0022]), and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5% (Wang, [0023]), encompassing the claimed range of 0.5% to 5%, the Courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and similarly a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP 2144.05, in order to prevent a lithium-ion battery from being overcharged (Wang, [0010]) and overheating.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Zhang with the teaching of Nakatsuji wherein the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive, the additive comprises a nitrile compound, and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5% thereby preventing a lithium-ion battery from being overcharged and overheating.
Regarding claim 11. An electronic device (FIG. 1), comprising a battery (14) and a battery management unit (202), and the battery management unit is configured to execute a method for enhancing battery cycle performance, wherein the method comprises the following steps (FIG. 2):
at a first stage (T1-T2), charging the battery at a first-stage current (I1A) until reaching a first-stage voltage (Vth1) (¶60); and
at a second stage (T2-T3), charging the battery at a second-stage current (I2A/I1B) until reaching a second-stage voltage (Vfull) , wherein the second-stage voltage is greater than the first-stage voltage (Vfull>Vth1), and the second-stage current is less than the first-stage current (I2A<I1A) (¶60).
Although Nakatsuji discloses a lithium ion battery (¶28), it is not directed toward the electrolyte and thus does not teach the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive, the additive comprises a nitrile compound, and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5%.
In a secondary lithium battery Wang teaches wherein the lithium battery is a lithium-ion battery (Wang, [0007]) the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive (Wang, [0013], [0022]),, the additive comprises a nitrile compound (Wang, [0022]), and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5% (Wang, [0023]), encompassing the claimed range of 0.5% to 5%, the Courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and similarly a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP 2144.05, in order to prevent a lithium-ion battery from being overcharged (Wang, [0010]) and overheating.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Zhang with the teaching of Nakatsuji wherein the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive, the additive comprises a nitrile compound, and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5% thereby preventing a lithium-ion battery from being overcharged and overheating.
Regarding claim 2 and claim 12. Nakatsuji does not explicitly disclose that the additive comprises a nitrile compound represented by Structural Formula 1:
wherein, Ru is selected from substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkylidene or C1 to C10 alkyleneoxy.
Wang discloses that the additive comprises a nitrile compound represented by Structural Formula 1:
(formula 4 - ¶8)
wherein, R11 is selected from substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkylidene or C1 to C10 alkyleneoxy (¶8 – “each of R7 to R14 is one independently selected from the group consisting of linear alkyl groups with 1 to 10 carbon atoms, side chain-containing alkyl groups, double bond-containing hydrocarbon groups, triple bond-containing hydrocarbon groups, ether bond-containing alkyl groups, or carbonyl-containing alkyl groups”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Zhang with the teaching of Nakatsuji wherein the battery comprises an electrolytic solution containing an additive, the additive comprises a nitrile compound, and a mass percent of the nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution is 0.5% to 5% thereby preventing a lithium-ion battery from being overcharged and overheating.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure..
Hung et al. US20210066946A1 discloses multiple charging stages – see FIG. 1.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859