DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 03/16/2026 which amended claims 11, 17 and 25. Claims 11-28 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-19 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al (US 2021/0055548; hereinafter referred to as Rao) in view of Remillard et al (US 2016/0103319; hereinafter referred to as Remillard), Yoneyama (US 2018/0024359) and Chen (US 2016/0109714).
Regarding Claim 11, Rao discloses a combined display system (Figure 2A; Display Configuration 202) for a vehicle (Figures 2A-2G; Vehicle 204) to show a virtual image in a field of view of a user (see Figures 2A-2G and Paragraph [0025]), the combined display system (Figure 2A; Display Configuration 202) comprising:
a plurality of displays (Figure 2G; Display Unit 207), each of which is configured to generate a partial beam of a composite projection light beam having an associated partial display content (see Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the plurality of display units 207 are distributed across the windshield 206 (e.g., to form an array of display units 207) to control image light to appear in a position that is viewable through the windshield 206 to appear at a virtual location 211), and display surfaces of which are arranged adjacent to one another and physically separated from one another and/or spatially aligned differently in a beam propagation direction (see Figure 2G and Paragraph [0030]; wherein it is disclosed that in addition to the stereoscope images 238a/b described above with respect to FIG. 2F, another display unit may project a current speed indicator 240 (e.g., a display unit on the left end of the windshield) and still other display units may project a navigation instruction 242 (e.g., display units on the right end of the windshield). The speed indicator 240 and navigation instruction 242 may be displayed in a near-field (e.g., in a different field relative to the virtual image 232′), while the virtual image 232′ may be displayed in a far-field); and
wherein the windshield (Figure 2G; Windshield 206) is reflective on a user side (see Figures 2A-2G; Paragraphs [0024]-[0025]), and is in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle (Figures 2A-2G; Vehicle 204) such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed on the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, is generated behind the windshield (see Figures 2A-2G; Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the plurality of display units 207 are distributed across the windshield 206 (e.g., to form an array of display units 207) to control image light to appear in a position that is viewable through the windshield 206 to appear at a virtual location 211).
Rao does not expressly disclose that the display surfaces are physically separated from one another and spatially aligned in different non-parallel orientations; and a continuously coherent combiner screen, which is formed as a single, continuous monolithic piece, which is reflective on a user side, and which is attachable or is attached in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle in front of a windshield such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed of the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, is generated behind the combiner screen, wherein the plurality of displays are an odd number of displays, and the display surfaces have different orientations with respect to the combiner screen.
Remillard discloses a combined display system (Figure 3B) for a vehicle (Figure 3B; Vehicle 101) to show a virtual image in a field of view of a user (see Paragraph [0010]), the combined display system (Figure 3B) comprising:
a plurality of displays (Figure 3B; Display Devices 115), each of which is configured to generate a partial beam of a composite projection light beam having an associated partial display content (see Figure 3B and Paragraph [0010]; wherein it is disclosed that each of the display devices 115 can generate a display 120 that generally includes data 110 that the computer 105 has received from one or more components in the vehicle 101, such as data 110 relating to vehicle 101 speed, location, status of vehicle 101 systems, etc. The display devices 115 may be arranged to provide displays 120 at various locations on or with respect to the vehicle 101, such as on vehicle 101 pillars, on a vehicle 101 windscreen, hood, dashboard, etc), and display surfaces (Figure 3B; Displays 120) of which are arranged adjacent to one another (see Figure 3B), physically separated from one another (see Figure 3B), and spatially aligned in different non-parallel orientations (see Figure 3B; wherein the display devices 115 are arranged along the dash panel 130, at or near a base of a pillar, on a steering column, etc such that the displays 120 are aligned in different non-parallel orientations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined display system of Rao such that the display surfaces are physically separated from one another and spatially aligned in different non-parallel orientations, as taught by Remillard, because doing so would advantageously allow for the displays to be tiled to occupy substantially the entire horizontal width at or near a bottom portion of a windscreen (see Remillard Paragraph [0014]).
Rao as modified by Remillard does not expressly disclose a continuously coherent combiner screen, which is formed as a single, continuous monolithic piece, which is reflective on a user side, and which is attachable or is attached in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle in front of a windshield such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed of the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, is generated behind the combiner screen, wherein the plurality of displays are an odd number of displays, and the display surfaces have different orientations with respect to the combiner screen.
Yoneyama discloses a combined display system (Figures 1 and 2) for a vehicle to show a virtual image in a field of view of a user (see Figures 1 and 2; Paragraph [0031]), the combined display system (Figures 1 and 2) comprising: a continuously coherent combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2), which is formed as a single, continuous monolithic piece (see Paragraph [0079]; wherein it is disclosed that the size of the combiner 2 covers the entirety of the windshield 1), which is reflective on a user side (see Paragraph [0033]), and which is attachable or is attached in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle in front of a windshield (Figure 1; Windshield 1; Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile) such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed of the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, is generated behind the combiner screen (see Figures 1 and 2; Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is the projection receiving member to which the visible light projected from the magnifying glass 7 is projected. An operator of the automobile can visually recognize information such as a picture or a character related to operation by seeing the visible light that is projected to the combiner 2 and reflected. The combiner 2 has a function of transmitting visible light from the outside of the windshield 1 (outer world). Thus, the operator can visually recognize an image in which the image (virtual image) based on the visible light projected from the magnifying glass 7 is overlaid on a scene of the outer world).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the windshield of Rao as modified by Remillard by incorporating the continuously coherent combiner screen formed as a single, continuous monolithic piece, as taught by Yoneyama, wherein upon combination, the continuously coherent combiner screen, would be formed as a single, continuous monolithic piece, which would be reflective on a user side, and attachable or attached in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle in front of a windshield such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed of the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, would be generated behind the combiner screen, because doing so would provide a combiner which makes it possible to prevent the high brightness external light from entering eyes of the operator without hindering the front field of view of the operator, by irradiating a range, in the combiner 2, positioned on a line connecting an object emitting the high brightness external light (high brightness object) and the eyes of the operator with light of a specific wavelength (for example, ultraviolet light) to locally decrease the light transmittance of the range irradiated with ultraviolet light (see Yoneyama Paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
Additionally, while Rao as modified by Remillard and Yoneyama does not expressly disclose that the plurality of displays are an odd number of displays Rao does disclose that the number of display units used to display a given image may vary. In some examples, the display units used to display various virtual images or indicators on/through the windshield may be greater than the number of virtual images and/or indicators displayed on/through the windshield. In other examples, the same number or fewer display units may be used to display the number of virtual images and/or indicators displayed on/through the windshield. The number of display units used to display a given virtual image or set of virtual images may depend on parameters of the virtual image(s), such as a size, resolution, content, color, etc (see Rao Paragraph [0030]). As such, Rao recognizes that the number of displays is a result effective variable which can be adjusted as necessary to produce virtual images of a certain size, resolution, content or color. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the plurality of displays are an odd number of displays since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Rao as modified by Remillard and Yoneyama does not expressly disclose that the display surfaces have different orientations with respect to the combiner screen.
Chen discloses display surfaces (Figure 1; First and Second Image Sources 11 and 12) having different orientations with respect to a combiner screen (see Figure 1; wherein the first and second image sources 11 and 12 are disposed above and below the windshield A”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined display system of Rao as modified by Remillard and Yoneyama such that the display surfaces have different orientations with respect to the combiner screen, as taught by Chen, because doing so would allow for the simultaneous display of a long distance image and a short distance image (see Chen Paragraph [0002]).
Regarding Claim 12, Rao as modified by Remillard, Yoneyama and Chen discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Yoneyama further discloses the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2) is integrally formed (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile).
Regarding Claim 13, Rao as modified by Remillard, Yoneyama and Chen discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Yoneyama further discloses the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2) is transparent on a rear side (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 has a function of transmitting visible light from the outside of the windshield 1 (outer world)).
Regarding Claim 14, Rao as modified by Remillard, Yoneyama and Chen discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Yoneyama further discloses the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2) is curved having curvature parameters which are steady in a surface (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile and wherein it is an inherent property of an automobile windshield to be curved).
Regarding Claim 15, Rao as modified by Remillard, Yoneyama and Chen discloses the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Yoneyama further discloses the curvature parameters are constant (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile and wherein it is an inherent property of an automobile windshield to be curved with constant curvature parameters).
Regarding Claim 16, Rao as modified by Remillard, Yoneyama and Chen discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Rao further discloses at least some of the plurality of displays (Figure 2G; Display Unit 207) are positioned or positionable at display distances different from one another from the combiner screen (see Figure 3; Paragraph [0038]; wherein it is disclosed that a movable optic 302 that is moveable to adjust a position, orientation, and/or depth of field of displayed data may be incorporated into any suitable display configuration such that when the movable optic 302 is in position 302a, image light from the display 304 may be transmitted through a windshield 308 to produce an image at a first depth of field indicated at 310a. Responsive to moving the movable optic to position 302b, image light from the display 304 may be transmitted through the windshield 308 to produce the image at a second depth of field indicated at 310b), which are measured in a direction of the respective partial beam, to show the associated partial display contents in the virtual image in predetermined projection distances different from one another from the combiner screen (see Figure 3; Paragraph [0038]; wherein it is disclosed that a movable optic 302 that is moveable to adjust a position, orientation, and/or depth of field of displayed data may be incorporated into any suitable display configuration such that when the movable optic 302 is in position 302a, image light from the display 304 may be transmitted through a windshield 308 to produce an image at a first depth of field indicated at 310a. Responsive to moving the movable optic to position 302b, image light from the display 304 may be transmitted through the windshield 308 to produce the image at a second depth of field indicated at 310b).
Regarding Claim 17, Rao discloses a combined display system (Figure 2A; Display Configuration 202) for a vehicle (Figures 2A-2G; Vehicle 204) to show a virtual image in a field of view of a user (see Figures 2A-2G and Paragraph [0025]), the combined display system (Figure 2A; Display Configuration 202) comprising:
a plurality of displays (Figure 2G; Display Unit 207), each of which is configured to generate a partial beam of a composite projection light beam having an associated partial display content (see Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the plurality of display units 207 are distributed across the windshield 206 (e.g., to form an array of display units 207) to control image light to appear in a position that is viewable through the windshield 206 to appear at a virtual location 211), and display surfaces of which are arranged adjacent to one another and offset in relation to one another and/or spatially aligned differently in a beam propagation direction (see Figure 2G and Paragraph [0030]; wherein it is disclosed that in addition to the stereoscope images 238a/b described above with respect to FIG. 2F, another display unit may project a current speed indicator 240 (e.g., a display unit on the left end of the windshield) and still other display units may project a navigation instruction 242 (e.g., display units on the right end of the windshield). The speed indicator 240 and navigation instruction 242 may be displayed in a near-field (e.g., in a different field relative to the virtual image 232′), while the virtual image 232′ may be displayed in a far-field); and
wherein the windshield (Figure 2G; Windshield 206) is reflective on a user side (see Figures 2A-2G; Paragraphs [0024]-[0025]), and is in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle (Figures 2A-2G; Vehicle 204) such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed on the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, is generated behind the windshield (see Figures 2A-2G; Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the plurality of display units 207 are distributed across the windshield 206 (e.g., to form an array of display units 207) to control image light to appear in a position that is viewable through the windshield 206 to appear at a virtual location 211).
Rao does not expressly disclose that the display surfaces are offset in relation to one another, and spatially aligned in different non-parallel orientations and a continuously coherent combiner screen, which is reflective on a user side, and which is attachable or is attached in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle in front of a windshield such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed of the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, is generated behind the combiner screen, wherein the combiner screen is curved around a vertical plane, and the combiner screen, in a horizontal extension direction perpendicular thereto, covers a viewing angle of at least 30 ̊ from a spatial region predetermined for user eyes, and the display surfaces have different orientations with respect to the combiner screen.
Remillard discloses a combined display system (Figure 3B) for a vehicle (Figure 3B; Vehicle 101) to show a virtual image in a field of view of a user (see Paragraph [0010]), the combined display system (Figure 3B) comprising:
a plurality of displays (Figure 3B; Display Devices 115), each of which is configured to generate a partial beam of a composite projection light beam having an associated partial display content (see Figure 3B and Paragraph [0010]; wherein it is disclosed that each of the display devices 115 can generate a display 120 that generally includes data 110 that the computer 105 has received from one or more components in the vehicle 101, such as data 110 relating to vehicle 101 speed, location, status of vehicle 101 systems, etc. The display devices 115 may be arranged to provide displays 120 at various locations on or with respect to the vehicle 101, such as on vehicle 101 pillars, on a vehicle 101 windscreen, hood, dashboard, etc), and display surfaces (Figure 3B; Displays 120) of which are arranged adjacent to one another (see Figure 3B), offset in relation to one another (see Figure 3B), and spatially aligned in different non-parallel orientations (see Figure 3B; wherein the display devices 115 are arranged along the dash panel 130, at or near a base of a pillar, on a steering column, etc such that the displays 120 are aligned in different non-parallel orientations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined display system of Rao such that the display surfaces are arranged adjacent to one another, offset in relation to one another and spatially aligned in different non-parallel orientations, as taught by Remillard, because doing so would advantageously allow for the displays to be tiled to occupy substantially the entire horizontal width at or near a bottom portion of a windscreen (see Remillard Paragraph [0014]).
Rao as modified by Remillard does not expressly disclose a continuously coherent combiner screen, which is reflective on a user side, and which is attachable or is attached in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle in front of a windshield such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed of the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, is generated behind the combiner screen, wherein the combiner screen is curved around a vertical plane, and the combiner screen, in a horizontal extension direction perpendicular thereto, covers a viewing angle of at least 30 ̊ from a spatial region predetermined for user eyes, and the display surfaces have different orientations with respect to the combiner screen.
Yoneyama discloses a combined display system (Figures 1 and 2) for a vehicle to show a virtual image in a field of view of a user (see Figures 1 and 2; Paragraph [0031]), the combined display system (Figures 1 and 2) comprising: a continuously coherent combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2), which is reflective on a user side (see Paragraph [0033]), and which is attachable or is attached in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle in front of a windshield (Figure 1; Windshield 1; Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile) such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed of the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, is generated behind the combiner screen (see Figures 1 and 2; Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is the projection receiving member to which the visible light projected from the magnifying glass 7 is projected. An operator of the automobile can visually recognize information such as a picture or a character related to operation by seeing the visible light that is projected to the combiner 2 and reflected. The combiner 2 has a function of transmitting visible light from the outside of the windshield 1 (outer world). Thus, the operator can visually recognize an image in which the image (virtual image) based on the visible light projected from the magnifying glass 7 is overlaid on a scene of the outer world), wherein the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2) is curved around a vertical plane (see Figure 1; Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile and thereby the combiner 2 inherently is curved around a vertical plane), and the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2), in a horizontal extension direction perpendicular thereto, covers a viewing angle of at least 30 ̊ from a spatial region predetermined for user eyes (see Paragraph [0079]; wherein it is disclosed that the size of the combiner 2 covers the entirety of the windshield 1 and thereby inherently also covers a viewing angle of at least 30 ̊ from a spatial region predetermined for user eyes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the windshield of Rao as modified by Remillard by incorporating the continuously coherent combiner screen, as taught by Yoneyama, wherein upon combination, the continuously coherent combiner screen, would be reflective on a user side, and attachable or attached in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle in front of a windshield such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed of the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, would be generated behind the combiner screen wherein the combiner screen would be curved around a vertical plane, and the combiner screen, in a horizontal extension direction perpendicular thereto, would cover a viewing angle of at least 30 ̊ from a spatial region predetermined for user eyes, because doing so would provide a combiner which makes it possible to prevent the high brightness external light from entering eyes of the operator without hindering the front field of view of the operator, by irradiating a range, in the combiner 2, positioned on a line connecting an object emitting the high brightness external light (high brightness object) and the eyes of the operator with light of a specific wavelength (for example, ultraviolet light) to locally decrease the light transmittance of the range irradiated with ultraviolet light (see Yoneyama Paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
Rao as modified by Remillard and Yoneyama does not expressly disclose that the display surfaces have different orientations with respect to the combiner screen.
Chen discloses display surfaces (Figure 1; First and Second Image Sources 11 and 12) having different orientations with respect to a combiner screen (see Figure 1; wherein the first and second image sources 11 and 12 are disposed above and below the windshield A”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined display system of Rao as modified by Remillard and Yoneyama such that the display surfaces have different orientations with respect to the combiner screen, as taught by Chen, because doing so would allow for the simultaneous display of a long distance image and a short distance image (see Chen Paragraph [0002]).
Regarding Claim 18, Rao as modified by Remillard, Yoneyama and Chen discloses the limitations of claim 17 as detailed above.
Yoneyama further discloses the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2) is curved symmetrically around the vertical plane (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile and wherein it is an inherent property of an automobile windshield to be curved symmetrically around a vertical plane).
Regarding Claim 19, Rao as modified by Remillard, Yoneyama and Chen discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Yoneyama further discloses the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2) is curved around a vertical plane (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile and wherein it is an inherent property of an automobile windshield to be curved around a vertical plane), and the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2), in a horizontal extension direction perpendicular to the vertical plane, has a constant radius of curvature (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile and wherein it is an inherent property of an automobile windshield to be curved with constant curvature parameters).
Regarding Claim 21, Rao as modified by Remillard, Yoneyama and Chen discloses the limitations of claim 19 as detailed above.
Yoneyama further discloses the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2) is curved symmetrically around the vertical plane (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile and wherein it is an inherent property of an automobile windshield to be curved symmetrically around a vertical plane).
Regarding Claim 22, Rao as modified by Remillard, Yoneyama and Chen discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Rao as modified by Yoneyama further discloses the combiner screen (Yoneyama Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2) is curved around a vertical plane and extends in a horizontal extension direction perpendicular to the vertical plane (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile and wherein it is an inherent property of an automobile windshield to be curved symmetrically around a vertical plane), a central display of the plurality of displays (Rao Figure 2G; wherein the central display corresponds to the display unit 207 closest to the middle of windshield 206) is arranged opposite to a central section of the combiner screen in a middle in the horizontal extension direction and is aligned symmetrically with respect to the vertical plane (Rao Figure 2G; wherein the central display corresponds to the display unit 207 closest to the middle of windshield 206), and the remaining displays of the plurality of displays are lateral displays (see Figure 2G; wherein the plurality of display units 207 not centered with the windshield 206 constitute the lateral displays), which are arranged on both sides of the central display opposite to lateral sections of the combiner screen (see Rao Figure 2G), into which the central section merges in the horizontal extension direction, and are aligned approximately along the horizontal extension direction, in each case symmetrically in pairs with respect to the vertical plane (see Rao Figure 2G; wherein there is a display unit 207 aligned with the center of windshield 206 and a plurality of display units 207 which extend in a left and right direction thereof to illuminate the remainder of the windshield 206).
Regarding Claim 23, Rao as modified by Remillard, Yoneyama and Chen discloses the limitations of claim 22 as detailed above.
Yoneyama further discloses the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2) is curved symmetrically around the vertical plane (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile and wherein it is an inherent property of an automobile windshield to be curved symmetrically around a vertical plane).
Regarding Claim 24, Rao as modified by Remillard, Yoneyama and Chen discloses the limitations of claim 22 as detailed above.
Rao further discloses a control unit (Figure 2A; Display Controller 214) for activating the plurality of displays (Figure 2G; Display Unit 207) and for providing display contents to be displayed (see Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the display unit 207 may be controlled by an individual display controller (e.g., display controller 214) and/or a single display controller may control the display of each display unit 207), wherein: the central display (Figure 2G; wherein the central display is the display closest to the center of the windshield 206) and the control unit (Figure 2A; Display Controller 214) are configured to show a partial display content in the field of the view of the user via the central display and the central section of the combiner screen, which comprises predetermined static and/or dynamic items of information about a current vehicle system or movement state and/or about an upcoming route section, for assisting the vehicle operation, for navigation, and/or for entertaining the user (see Paragraph [0030]; wherein it is disclosed that the display units may project a navigation instruction 242 (e.g., display units on the right end of the windshield). The speed indicator 240 and navigation instruction 242 may be displayed in a near-field (e.g., in a different field relative to the virtual image 232′), while the virtual image 232′ may be displayed in a far-field); and/or
Regarding Claim 25, Rao discloses a vehicle (Figures 2A-2G; Vehicle 204) comprising:
a windshield (Figures 2A-2G; Windshield 206);
a dashboard arranged underneath the windshield (see Figures 2A-2G; wherein the position of the display units 207 coincides with the dashboard of the vehicle 204);
a vehicle seat arranged in front of the dashboard (see Figure 2B; Paragraph [0025]); and
a combined display system (Figure 2A; Display Configuration 202) for a vehicle (Figures 2A-2G; Vehicle 204) to show a virtual image in a field of view of a user (see Figures 2A-2G and Paragraph [0025]), the combined display system (Figure 2A; Display Configuration 202) comprising:
a plurality of displays (Figure 2G; Display Unit 207), each of which is configured to generate a partial beam of a composite projection light beam having an associated partial display content (see Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the plurality of display units 207 are distributed across the windshield 206 (e.g., to form an array of display units 207) to control image light to appear in a position that is viewable through the windshield 206 to appear at a virtual location 211), and display surfaces of which are arranged adjacent to one another, physically separated from one another or spatially aligned in different non-parallel orientations (see Figure 2G and Paragraph [0030]; wherein it is disclosed that in addition to the stereoscope images 238a/b described above with respect to FIG. 2F, another display unit may project a current speed indicator 240 (e.g., a display unit on the left end of the windshield) and still other display units may project a navigation instruction 242 (e.g., display units on the right end of the windshield). The speed indicator 240 and navigation instruction 242 may be displayed in a near-field (e.g., in a different field relative to the virtual image 232′), while the virtual image 232′ may be displayed in a far-field); and
wherein the windshield (Figure 2G; Windshield 206) is reflective on a user side (see Figures 2A-2G; Paragraphs [0024]-[0025]), and is in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle (Figures 2A-2G; Vehicle 204) such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed on the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, is generated behind the windshield (see Figures 2A-2G; Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the plurality of display units 207 are distributed across the windshield 206 (e.g., to form an array of display units 207) to control image light to appear in a position that is viewable through the windshield 206 to appear at a virtual location 211); wherein the plurality of displays (Figure 2G; Display Unit 207) are arranged in the dashboard (see Figures 2A-2G).
Rao does not expressly disclose that the display surfaces are physically separated from one another and spatially aligned in different non-parallel orientations and a continuously coherent combiner screen, which is formed as a single continuous, monolithic piece, which is reflective on a user side, and which is attachable or is attached in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle in front of a windshield such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed of the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, is generated behind the combiner screen, wherein the combiner screen is arranged in the beam path of the composite projection light beam generated by the plurality of displays in front of the windshield such that the virtual image is shown in the field of the user when the user looks through the combiner screen and the windshield, and the display surfaces have different orientations with respect to the combiner screen.
Remillard discloses a combined display system (Figure 3B) for a vehicle (Figure 3B; Vehicle 101) to show a virtual image in a field of view of a user (see Paragraph [0010]), the combined display system (Figure 3B) comprising:
a plurality of displays (Figure 3B; Display Devices 115), each of which is configured to generate a partial beam of a composite projection light beam having an associated partial display content (see Figure 3B and Paragraph [0010]; wherein it is disclosed that each of the display devices 115 can generate a display 120 that generally includes data 110 that the computer 105 has received from one or more components in the vehicle 101, such as data 110 relating to vehicle 101 speed, location, status of vehicle 101 systems, etc. The display devices 115 may be arranged to provide displays 120 at various locations on or with respect to the vehicle 101, such as on vehicle 101 pillars, on a vehicle 101 windscreen, hood, dashboard, etc), and display surfaces (Figure 3B; Displays 120) of which are arranged adjacent to one another (see Figure 3B), physically separated from one another (see Figure 3B), and spatially aligned in different non-parallel orientations (see Figure 3B; wherein the display devices 115 are arranged along the dash panel 130, at or near a base of a pillar, on a steering column, etc such that the displays 120 are aligned in different non-parallel orientations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined display system of Rao such that the display surfaces are arranged adjacent to one another, physically separated from one another and spatially aligned in different non-parallel orientations, as taught by Remillard, because doing so would advantageously allow for the displays to be tiled to occupy substantially the entire horizontal width at or near a bottom portion of a windscreen (see Remillard Paragraph [0014]).
Yoneyama discloses a combined display system (Figures 1 and 2) for a vehicle to show a virtual image in a field of view of a user (see Figures 1 and 2; Paragraph [0031]), the combined display system (Figures 1 and 2) comprising: a continuously coherent combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2), which is formed as a single, continuous monolithic piece (see Paragraph [0079]; wherein it is disclosed that the size of the combiner 2 covers the entirety of the windshield 1), which is reflective on a user side (see Paragraph [0033]), and which is attachable or is attached in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle in front of a windshield (Figure 1; Windshield 1; Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is a projection receiving member bonded to the inner surface or the outer surface of a windshield 1 of the automobile) such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which is composed of the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, is generated behind the combiner screen (see Figures 1 and 2; Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that the combiner 2 is the projection receiving member to which the visible light projected from the magnifying glass 7 is projected. An operator of the automobile can visually recognize information such as a picture or a character related to operation by seeing the visible light that is projected to the combiner 2 and reflected. The combiner 2 has a function of transmitting visible light from the outside of the windshield 1 (outer world). Thus, the operator can visually recognize an image in which the image (virtual image) based on the visible light projected from the magnifying glass 7 is overlaid on a scene of the outer world), wherein the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2) is arranged in the beam path of the composite projection light beam generated by the plurality of displays in front of the windshield (Figure 1; Windshield 1) such that the virtual image is shown in the field of the user when the user looks through the combiner screen (Figures 1 and 2; Combiner 2) and the windshield (see Paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the windshield of Rao as modified by Remillard by incorporating the continuously coherent combiner screen, as taught by Yoneyama, wherein upon combination, the continuously coherent combiner screen, which is formed as a single continuous, monolithic piece, would be reflective on a user side, and would be attachable or attached in a beam path of the composite projection light beam in the vehicle in front of a windshield such that a virtual image shown in the field of view of the user, which would be composed of the partial display contents of the plurality of displays, would be generated behind the combiner screen, wherein the combiner screen would be arranged in the beam path of the composite projection light beam generated by the plurality of displays in front of the windshield such that the virtual image would be shown in the field of the user when the user looks through the combiner screen and the windshield, because doing so would provide a combiner which makes it possible to prevent the high brightness external light from entering eyes of the operator without hindering the front field of view of the operator, by irradiating a range, in the combiner 2, positioned on a line connecting an object emitting the high brightness external light (high brightness object) and the eyes of the operator with light of a specific wavelength (for example, ultraviolet light) to locally decrease the light transmittance of the range irradiated with ultraviolet light (see Yoneyama Paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
Rao as modified by Remillard and Yoneyama does not expressly disclose that the display surfaces have different orientations with respect to the combiner screen.
Chen discloses display surfaces (Figure 1; First and Second Image Sources 11 and 12) having different orientations with respect to a combiner screen (see Figure 1; wherein the first and second image sources 11 and 12 are disposed above and below the windshield A”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined display system of Rao as modified by Remillard and Yoneyama such that the display surfaces have different orientations with respect to the combiner screen, as taught by Chen, because doing so would allow for the simultaneous display of a long distance image and a short distance image (see Chen Paragraph [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 and 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 20, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitation requiring the radius of curvature approximately corresponds to a mean user distance from the combiner screen.
This limitation in combination with the limitations of claims 11 and 19 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Regarding Claim 26, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitation requiring the combined display system is arranged and aligned symmetrically around a vertical vehicle longitudinal plane going centrally through a vehicle seat of the user.
This limitation in combination with the limitations of claim 25 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Regarding Claim 27, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitation requiring the vehicle is configured as a single-track vehicle in which the combined display system is arranged and aligned symmetrically around a vertical vehicle longitudinal plane extending in the middle in the vehicle.
This limitation in combination with the limitations of claim 25 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Regarding Claim 28, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitation requiring the windshield is delimited by an A-pillar on both sides in a vehicle transverse direction; and the combiner screen extends in front of the windshield over an entire width in the vehicle transverse direction, from one A-pillar to the other A-pillar or over an entire horizontal angle range delimited by the A-pillars, which is seen from a spatial region predetermined for eyes of the user.
This limitation in combination with the limitations of claims 25 and 27 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882