DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16, 22, 23, 25, 28, 29, 34, 35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected –invention--, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Cancellation of claims 3, 7, 9, 13, 17-21, 24, 27, 30-33 is acknowledged. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on 12/1/25. Applicant’s election with traverse of Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-12, 14-15 in the reply filed on 12/1/25 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1 December 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims include special technical features that are not included over the prior art reference Shani (U.S. 200902346126). The examiner maintains the Unity of Invention Restriction Requirement in regards to the special technical feature of “a cartridge that is configured to be received into a base defining a receptacle” due to the broad recitation and interpretation of configured to be received. This functional language is not required to be considered during the analysis of special technical features. Furthermore, the broad nature of this recitation would include any cartridge located within or adjacent to the base and lead box. The Shani reference discloses a cartridge, element 91, that is contained within the lead box or base, element 97, and fulfills the requirement of the limitation: “configured to be received into a base.”
Furthermore, the amendments to claim 34 to include language consistent with claim 1 do not overcome the grounds of the restriction because the amended claim 34 still remains consistent with the grouping restriction rationale associated with claim 16 due to the recitation of an “afterloader base.”
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “guide tube defines a helical notch,” “quarter toroid shape” and “dummy source wire” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
-Line 2 recites “brachy therapy”. Examiner recommends amending to –brachytherapy—
-Line 2 recites “the cartridge configured”. Examiner recommends amending to –the cartridge is configured—
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term “Varian Varisource” in [0045], which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 14, 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 6 recites “claim 1s,” in line 1. Examiner recommends amending to –claim 1,--
-Claim 14 recites “wherein the second guide” in lines 2-3. Examiner recommends amending to –and wherein the second guide—
-Claim 15 recites “the dummy wire” in line 2. Examiner recommends amending to –the dummy source wire—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-Claim 15 recites “drive and control system” which is a generic placeholder. There is no sufficient structure for this limitation provided in the claims. The function of this limitation is to extend the dummy wire from the cartridge. According to the specification the drive and control system includes wheels and a modular remote after loader (MRA) [0030 and 0031] and programmable logic controller [0054] and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claim 1 recites “the position of the radiation source” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
-Claim 4 recites “the guide tube” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
-Claim 6 recites “the barrel” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
-Claim 6 recites “an angular displacement of the barrel” in line 2. It is unclear what displacement is measured in relation to. Further clarification should be provided to define whether this is measuring displacement from the rotational axis or a separate embodiment.
-Claim 8 recites “the barrel” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
-Claim 14 recites “wherein…differs from the first guide tube in pitch” in lines 2-3. It is unclear what is meant by this recitation in terms of the difference between the first and second guide tube. Further clarification should be provided to identify whether this limitation requires that the pitch of each guide tube differs from one another, whether the pitch of an alternative structure separates the guide tubes or a separate embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thornton (U.S. 6048300).
Regarding Claim 1, Thornton teaches a cartridge that is configured to be received into a base defining a receptacle [Fig. 2, elements 20 (cartridge), 19 (receptacle and base)], the cartridge comprising: a radiation source [Abstract]—reference to radioactive sourcewire; a shield that is configured to receive the radiation source [Fig. 2, element 100 (source shield)]; a guidewire coupled to the radiation source [Col 6, lines 61-62]—reference to active sourcewire; and at least one motor that is configured to move the guidewire to thereby adjust the position of the radiation source [Fig. 2, element 42 (motor)] and [Fig. 5, element 66 (emergency retract motor)] and [Col 8, lines 12-17]—reference to the emergency retract motor retracting the sourcewire from the catheter in the patient, therefore adjusting the position of the source.
Regarding Claim 2, Thornton teaches further comprising: a housing [Col 5, line 21]—reference to a housing; a barrel that is coupled to the at least one motor so that rotation of the at least one motor causes the barrel to rotate within the housing about a rotational axis [Fig. 2, element 56 (active drive unit)] and [Col 10, lines 60]—drum having a rotational axis; a guide tube that is wrapped around the barrel and that is coupled to the housing so that it remains fixed within the housing as the barrel rotates [Fig. 2 elements 104 and 90 (tube) and take-off mechanisms)]; a carriage track that is coupled to the barrel so that the carriage track rotates around the rotational axis as the barrel rotates [Col 6, lines 64-67]—discloses the pivot blocks interpreted as the tracks, wherein the carriage track extends along the barrel in a direction that is parallel to the rotational axis [Col 6, lines 66-67]—describes the parallel passages and [Col 9, lines 61-64]—describes the pivot blocks and tubes guiding the structures in the helical groove in the drum which would include a direction parallel to the rotational axis; a carriage that is movable along the carriage track and simultaneously along the guide tube [Fig. 10, element 148 (slider)]; and a rotator that is housed within the carriage [Fig. 10, element 140 (rollers-low friction elements) so that the rotator is rotatable about an axis that is tangent to a direction of movement of the carriage, wherein the rotator is coupled to the guidewire so that as the carriage moves, the guidewire advances through the guide tube [Col 9, lines 23-26]—discusses advancement of the wire through the catheter (guidetube) and [Col 9, lines 46-51]—describes movement of the guidewire in a tangential axis to the periphery of the drum and slider.
Regarding Claim 4, Thornton teaches wherein the guide tube defines a helical notch [Col 9, lines 7-9].
Regarding Claim 6, Thornton teaches further comprising at least one encoder that is configured to measure an angular displacement of the barrel [Col 8, lines 55-62]—refers to encoder and motor current sensor and [Col 10, lines 25-30]—describes adjusting angular position of the drive and drum system.
Regarding Claim 8, Thornton teaches further comprising a plurality of rollers that rotatably support an interior of the barrel [Fig. 10, elements 140 (rollers)]—also previously interpreted as “rotators” and [Col 9, lines 20-25]—describes the rollers surrounding the drum over the entire circumference and providing containment of the wire within supports.
Regarding Claim 10, Thornton teaches further comprising a dummy source wire [Col 6, lines 59-62]—reference to dummy wire.
Regarding Claim 11, Thornton teaches wherein at least a portion of the shield is removable and replaceable [Col 5, lines 18-27]—describes the shielding being contained within the cartridge and the cartridge being removable from the head of the device. Based on the interpretation of the limitations required by the claim, the shield meets the requirement of removal from the head as the limitation does not specify what reference structure the shield is removable or replaceable from.
Regarding Claim 12, Thornton teaches further comprising a loading port [Fig. 2, element 7 (catheter receiver assembly)], wherein at least a portion of the loading port is removable and replaceable [Col 7, lines 30-33]—describes the catheter being received in the assembly and attaching to the cartridge, therefore, being removable and replaceable.
Regarding Claim 14, Thornton teaches wherein the guide tube is a first guide tube [Fig. 2, element 92 (first take-off tube)], wherein the cartridge is configured to receive a second guide tube in place of the first guide tube [Fig. 2, element 94 (second take-off tube)], wherein the second guide tube differs from the first guide tube in pitch [Col 6, lines 66]—refers to the guide tubes being spaced into separate, parallel passages within the shield by tubes 102, 104. It can therefore be understood that since the tubes are located within different guide passages, they differ from each other in terms of pitch.
Regarding Claim 15, Thornton teaches further comprising a drive and control system that is configured to extend the dummy wire from the cartridge [Cols 9 and 10, lines 65-3]—describes the active drive unit using the take-off tube to extend the wire through the tube into the catheter receiver as well as mentioning that the dummy drive unit (element 54) operates in the same manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thornton (U.S. 6048300) in view of Chi Sing (U.S. 20120108881).
Regarding Claim 5, Thornton is silent on wherein the shield has a quarter toroid shape. Chi Sing teaches wherein the shield has a quarter toroid shape [0055]—describes the supports including shielding that are shaped to a predetermined arcuate shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include certain structural elements with an arched shape as taught by Chi Sing to include in the design of the shielding element as suggested by Thornton, as Thornton discusses the object of the described invention as providing a fail-safe wire storage and delivery mechanism for retaining wire of the storage drum which is of a circular shape [Col 3, lines 37-45] and with Chi Sing because Chi Sing teaches the use of this shape to create rigid and bias within the elongate members of the applicator supports [0052].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Lamoureux (U.S. 20080009661)—describes an afterloader device with a removable shield
-Bueche (U.S. 5851172)-includes reference to an arcuate shielded compartment with tubular guide channels
-Sauerwein (U.S. 4631415)-references drive systems used within a shielding container that houses radiation sources and coupling elements that drive movement within cables and hose elements to promote movement.
/B.N.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791