DETAILED ACTION
This Action is non-final and is in response to the claims filed July 29th, 2022. Claims 1-12 are pending, of which claims 1-12 are currently rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/29/2022 and 07/31/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. It has been placed in the application file, and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Sum of Products Operations Calculated on Multiple Information Processing Circuits for Deep Learning.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0013] line 1 “the reasoner” is not mentioned anywhere else in the specification, it is unclear what this reasoner being referred to is.
[0020] line 2 “external memory 20” should be “external memory 202”.
[0023] line 2 “the second information processing circuit 2” should be “the second information processing circuit 20”.
[0029] line 1 “CP” should be “CPU”
[0048] “When there is unprocessed data (NO in step S707…repeats steps S701 to S706” should be “When there is unprocessed data (YES in step S707) …repeats steps S701 to S706”.
[0048] “When there is no more unprocessed data (YES in step S707) …terminates processes” should be “When there is no more unprocessed data (NO in step S707) …terminates processes”.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 and 10 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 line 7 “the integration circuit integrates calculation result” should be “the integration circuit integrates the calculation result”.
Claim 7 is objected to based on its dependence upon claim 6.
Claim 10 line 5 “by calculating a weighted sum accepted inputs” should be “by calculating a weighted sum of accepted inputs”.
Claim 12 line 7 “by calculating a weighted sum accepted inputs” should be “by calculating a weighted sum of accepted inputs”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a calculation result” on line 4. It is unclear if this calculation result is one of the two calculation results of the first or second processing circuits or a combination of both or some other calculation result. Appropriate correction is required. For examination purposes, the “a calculation result” will be construed to be the calculation result as a combination of the calculation results of the first and second processing circuits, which is consistent with claim 1 at lines 6-8.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “an integration result” on line 5. It is unclear if this integration result is the same integration result as recited in claim 1 line 8. Appropriate correction is required. For examination purposes, “an integration result” of claim 3 will be construed to be the same integration result recited in claim 1 line 8.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the layers” on line 4. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a programmable accelerator” on line 3. It is unclear if this “programmable accelerator” is the same as the “programmable accelerator as recited in claim 1 line 5. Appropriate correction is required. For examination purposes, the programmable accelerator as recited in claim 4 will be construed to be the same programmable accelerator as recited in claim 1.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the layers” on line 4. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by A. Almahali et al. ("FPGA-Accelerated Hadoop Cluster for Deep Learning Computations", 2015) included in the IDS filed on 07/29/2022 (hereinafter “Almahali”).
Regarding claim 1, Almahali teaches:
An information processing circuit comprises:
a first information processing circuit that performs layer operations in deep learning (CNN comprised of FPGA, the various nodes of the FPGA labeled as Mapper (as first and second information processing circuits) being used for layer operations in deep learning, shown in Pg. 571 Fig. 4 and discussed on Pg. 570 Col. 2 section B having as outputs trained weight parameters, FPGA as programmable accelerator; Pg. 566 Col. 1 third paragraph CNN operations run on various computing nodes within the FPGA, i.e., the circuitries as discussed with respect to Fig. 4);
a second information processing circuit that performs the layer operations in deep learning on input data by means of a programmable accelerator (CNN comprised of FPGA, the various nodes of the FPGA labeled as Mapper (as first and second information processing circuits) being used for layer operations in deep learning, shown in Pg. 571 Fig. 4 and discussed on Pg. 570 Col. 2 section B having as outputs trained weight parameters, FPGA as programmable accelerator; Pg. 566 Col. 1 third paragraph CNN operations run on various computing nodes within the FPGA, i.e., the circuitries as discussed with respect to Fig. 4; Pg. 570 Fig. 3 additionally shows the hardware configuration); and
an integration circuit integrates a calculation result of the first information processing circuit with a calculation result of the second information processing circuit, and output an integration result (Pg. 571 Fig. 4 Reducer as integration circuit, takes calculation results from 1st and 2nd info processing circuits and produces an integration result, also discussed on Pg. 571 Col.2 Section B; Pg. 570 Fig. 3 additionally shows the hardware configuration), wherein the first information processing circuit includes:
a parameter value output circuit in which parameters of deep learning are circuited (Pg. 571 Fig. 5 shows kernel of FPGA convolutions, weights FIFO output as parameter value output circuit for directing of CNN weights i.e., parameters); and
a sum-of-product circuit that performs a sum-of-product operation using the input data and the parameters (Pg. 570 Col. 2 Section B Lines 16-19 reducer combines weights after training i.e., a sum; Pg. 571 Col. 2 Fig. 5 sum-of-products operations occurring with respect to weights i.e., parameters and input values; Pg. 571 Col. 1 last paragraph and Col. 2 first paragraph describe the sum-of-products circuitry).
Regarding claim 2, Almahali teaches:
The information processing circuit according to claim 1, wherein the integration circuit accepts the calculation results of the first information processing circuit and the second information processing circuit as inputs, integrates the calculation results by calculating a weighted sum of accepted inputs, and output the integration result (Pg. 571 Fig. 5 takes input of weights i.e., parameters from mappers to kernel depicted (this kernel occurring in reducer), and carries out a weighted sum to produce the integration result which is output to the results FIFO).
Regarding claim 3, Almahali teaches:
The information processing circuit according to claim 1, wherein the integration circuit accepts the calculation results of the first information processing circuit and the second information processing circuit as inputs to the layers in deep learning, and outputs a calculation result based on the accepted inputs as an integration result (Pg. 571 Col. 2 Section D computations carried out for layer of CNN for deep learning operations, outputting the calculation results as discussed in Pg. 571 Col.2 Section B).
Regarding claim 4, Almahali teaches:
The information processing circuit according to any one of claim 1, wherein the integration circuit performs layer operations in deep learning by means of a programmable accelerator (Pg. 570 Col. 2 section B, FPGA as programmable accelerator for layer operations in deep learning).
Regarding claim 5, Almahali teaches:
The information processing circuit according to any one of claim 1, wherein the integration circuit inputs the same input data as the input data accepted by the first information processing circuit and the second information processing circuit, and weights calculation results of the first information processing circuit and the second information processing circuit based on weighting parameters determined according to the input data (Pg. 571 Fig. 5 shows kernel of FPGA convolutions, weights FIFO output as parameter value output circuit for directing of CNN weights i.e., parameters as determined by training via first and second processing circuits (nodes/Mappers), weighted sum carried out with respect to weights and inputs from the Image FIFO output, the image data as input data that was also used to train the weight data, as such it was input to the Mapper nodes i.e., first and second processing circuits).
Claims 9-10 recite the method practiced by the information processing circuit of claims 1-2 respectively and are therefore rejected for the same reasons therein.
Claims 11-12 recite the non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a program executing deep learning with instructions to execute the method practiced by the information processing circuit of claims 1-2 respectively and are therefore rejected for the same reasons therein. Almahali additionally discloses a processor and memory, which can be used for storing program instructions to be carried out on the FPGA (Almahali: Pg. 570 Col 2 Section C and PG. 571 Col. 1 first paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almahali further in view of Huang et al. (US 2020/0410337 A1) (hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 6, while Almahali teaches the information processing circuit according to claim 1, as well as a first and second information processing circuit for outputting respective calculation results in deep learning (Almahali: CNN comprised of FPGA, the various nodes of the FPGA labeled as Mapper (as first and second information processing circuits) being used for layer operations in deep learning, shown in Pg. 571 Fig. 4 and discussed on Pg. 570 Col. 2 section B having as outputs trained weight parameters, FPGA as programmable accelerator; Pg. 566 Col. 1 third paragraph CNN operations run on various computing nodes within the FPGA, i.e., the circuitries as discussed with respect to Fig. 4) and an integration circuit for outputting an integration result (Almahali: Pg. 571 Fig. 4 Reducer as integration circuit, takes calculation results from 1st and 2nd info processing circuits and produces an integration result, also discussed on Pg. 571 Col.2 Section B; Pg. 570 Fig. 3 additionally shows the hardware configuration), Almahali does not explicitly teach these operations occurring in an intermediate layer for an intermediate layer.
However, Huang teaches neural network with multiple processing nodes including input layers, intermediate layers (hidden layers) and output layer, each of the layers carrying out sum of products operations (Huang: ¶ 0036). In combining Almahali with Huang, this would allow for all layers of deep learning of Almahali to have the same structure in order to carry out sum of products operations.
It would be obvious to combine the intermediate layers for sum of product operations as taught by Huang with the information processing circuit structure as taught by Almahali as both teachings are directed towards sum of product operations in a deep learning setting. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings because this would allow for the circuit to take in many more inputs and carry out operations with many more weights than if the structure were only on one layer (Huang: ¶ 0036).
Almahali in view of Huang therefore teaches:
The information processing circuit according to claim 1,
wherein
the first information processing circuit outputs a calculation result of an intermediate layer in deep learning,
the second information processing circuit performs the layer operation in deep learning using the calculation result of the intermediate layer as input data; and
the integration circuit integrates calculation results of the intermediate layer,
the calculation result of the first information processing circuit and the calculation result of the second information processing circuit,
and outputs the integration result.
Regarding claim 7, Almahali in view of Huang further teaches:
The information processing circuit according to claim 6,
wherein the first information processing circuit outputs an output from the intermediate layer that performs feature extraction as the calculation result (Huang: ¶ 0056 CNN operations at of the layers are used for extraction of features of input image).
It would be obvious to combine the feature extraction at an intermediate layer as taught by Huang with the information processing circuit structure as taught by Almahali as both teachings are directed towards sum of products operations for deep learning. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to be able to obtain an output feature map for neural network operations (Huang: ¶ 0056).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almahali further in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0334539) (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 8, while Almahali teaches the information processing circuit according to claim 1, as well as a learning circuit for learning of parameters (Almahali: Pg. 572 Col. 1 Section B system is trained via MNIST learning system, MNIST classifies data based on labels, and this is used in order to train the network to train and learn parameters i.e., weights), Almahali does not explicitly teach the learning circuit correcting based on a difference between a calculation result and a correct answer label.
However, Wang teaches a calculation result is for a sum of products operation (Wang: ¶ 0098), and the difference between the predicted outcome i.e., calculation result and the label i.e., correct label answer is computed, tuning being carried out in order to training to be more accurate (Wang: ¶ 0078).
It would be obvious to combine the difference calculation in order to tune the learning of parameters as taught by Wang with the information processing circuit as taught by Almahali as both teachings are directed towards sum of products operations in deep learning. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings because this would determine an accuracy of the neural network and training, and correct parameters appropriately (Wang: ¶ 0071).
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Z. Qin (“ThunderNet: Towards Real-time Generic Object Detection, 2019) teaches a two-stage detector for CNN-based detectors, including Spatial Attention Module (SAM) for reweighting the feature map.
Tomita (US 2017/0228634 A1) teaches an arithmetic processing circuit including a first layer for a recognition neural network, having FIFOs and LUTs as well as multiplication and addition circuits in order to carry out multiply-accumulate operations and learning of parameters.
Conclusion
/M.D.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2151 /EMILY E LAROCQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2182