DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 5/8/2026.
Claims 5, 8-12, 15-17, 19, 21, 24, 26, 28-30, 32, and 36-41 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 13-14, 18, 20, 22-23, 25, 27, 31, 33-35, and 42-43 are pending. Claims 27, 31, 33-35, and 42-43 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the present invention is not obvious over the combination of Ergle in view of Zuchuat and Mua because the presently claimed invention having an amorphous solid having an area density range from about 90 to 110% of the area density of the tobacco material provides unexpectedly superior results in user experience (p. 8).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner will address each of Applicant’s points below.
First, Applicant notes that the Declaration submitted by inventor Walid Abi Aoun discusses several reasons why the amorphous solid and tobacco material should be distributed as evenly as possible throughout the aerosol-generating composition (citing paragraphs (5) to (10)) in order to achieve unexpectedly superior results in user experience (p. 8). Applicant specifically notes that an amorphous solid having similar area densities allows for better blending of the amorphous solid and tobacco material to promote a more homogenous composition wherein the concentration of the aerosol-former material is as uniform as possible throughout (see (13)-(14) in the Declaration; p. 9).
The Examiner has noted Applicant’s argument but finds it unpersuasive because Applicant’s offer of unexpected results are not commensurate in scope with the claims. “Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the ‘objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.’” MPEP 716.02(d). Here, Applicant argues the amorphous solid and tobacco material are blended together to evenly distribute the amorphous solid and tobacco material in the composition to achieve unexpectedly superior results in user experience. However, there is nothing in claims that require the aerosol-generating composition evenly distribute the amorphous solid and tobacco material or that the amorphous solid and tobacco material are blended together.
Applicant argues that the Examples of Mua demonstrate that the area density of the smokable filler sheets does not influence filling power at all (p. 9).
The Examiner finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive because it is unsupported by any objective evidence or reasoning. Particularly, Applicant does not provide any factual basis for supporting such a conclusion. Rather, Mua discloses Examples 1, 8 and 11 having identical compositions, the examples having decreasing respective basis weights of 100 g/m2, 85 g/m2, and 55 g/m2; and increasing corrected fill values of 5.8 cc/g, 7.3 cc/g, and 8.5 cc/g (see Tables 1-3). This further supports the position in Zuchuat that reducing the basis weight of a sheet will improve/increase the filling power of the sheet ([0022]).
Applicant argues that the Declaration establishes that neither Mua nor Zuchuat describe that matching area densities between the amorphous solid and tobacco material would control aerosol-former distribution or resolve user-experience related issues during aerosol generation (p. 9). Applicant argues that if the area density of the amorphous solid was 24% or 125% of the aera density of the tobacco material, the amorphous solid and tobacco material would not be evenly distributed and there would be a separation of the amorphous solid and the tobacco material (p. 9; see also (16) and (18) in the Declaration). Applicant supports such an argument with paragraphs (19) and (20) of the Declaration).
The Examiner finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive.
First, as discussed above, there is nothing in the claim that requires the uniform distribution of the amorphous solid and tobacco material in the composition.
Second, the Examiner notes that the Declaration by inventor Abi Aoun is insufficient to overcome the obviousness rejection because it does not contain any factual data to support the statements made by the inventor. "It is well settled that unexpected results must be established by factual evidence." MPEP 716.01(c). Particularly, Applicant’s arguments that rely on the Declaration (particularly (16)-(20)) amount to nothing more than allegations by inventor Abi Aoun. Such paragraphs in the Declaration are conclusory statements that are unsupported by factual evidence because there is no factual evidence contained in the Declaration regarding the prior art’s lower end point of 24% or upper end point of 125%. Rather, such allegations appear to merely establish what inventor expects to occur at the lower and upper end points of the prior art range (i.e., separation of the tobacco material and amorphous solid leading to a non-homogeneous distribution).
Lastly, the Examiner notes that Applicant has not satisfied their burden to establish that the results are unexpected and significant. MPEP 716.02(b). The allegations discussed above are insufficient to show that the differences between the claimed range of 90 to 110% are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance over the prior art’s lower end point of 24% or upper end point of 125%.
Applicant argues that claim 1 is distinguished from claims 2-15 of copending Application No. 18/042840 and from claims 14-15 of copending application No. 18/042861 (p. 10).
The Examiner finds Applicant’s conclusion unpersuasive because Applicant provides no reasoning why such claims should be distinguished from the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 18, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ergle et al. (US 2009/0038629; of record) in view of Mua (US 2006/0021626; of record) and Zuchuat et al. (US 2017/0035095).
Regarding claim 1, Ergle a smokable material composition ([0047]-[0048]; “aerosol-generating composition”) comprising:
a flavor-bearing sheet ([0026]; “amorphous solid”) in the form of a non-volatile matrix provided by a film-forming coagulating material typically comprise about 15 to about 80% by weight, more typically between 50 to about 80% by weight, and preferably between about 60 to about 80% by weight ([0033]); the film-forming coagulating material comprising:
polyols ([0027]) including glycerol ([0028]) and polymeric ethers including polyalkylene glycols such as polyethylene glycol, polypropylene glycol ([0029]) (“aerosol-former material”);
natural polymers and derivatives thereof ([0027]) including cellulose and cellulose derivatives, alginates, pectins, and guar gum ([0031]; see claim 7 of the instant application, reciting that “the gelling agent comprises alginate and/or pectin and/or guar gum;” see also the instant specification at p. 8, ll. 1-11, describing that the gelling agents include cellulose (and derivatives; “gelling agent”); and combinations thereof ([0027]; see also Claim 2); and
shredded tobacco filler ([0048]; “tobacco material”),
wherein the weight ratio of the shredded flavor-bearing sheets to the tobacco filler will typically range from about 1:100 to about 1:5 ([0050]).
In one example, Ergle discloses a flavor-bearing sheet comprising 45% propylene glycol (i.e., “aerosol-former material in an amount of from about 40 to 80wt%”) and 25% carboxymethyl cellulose (i.e., “gelling agent…wherein the amount of gelling agent and filler taken together is from about 10 to 60 wt%”) (Example 5, sheet 5).
Regarding the claim limitation “wherein the aerosol-generating composition has an aerosol-former material content from about 5 to 30 wt%,” the use of the flavor-bearing sheet 5 in Example 5, in combination with the disclosed weight ratio of 1:5 of flavor-bearing sheet to tobacco would result in an aerosol-former content of about 7.5% (1/6*45) (i.e., an aerosol-former material content from about 5 to 30wt% of the aerosol-generating composition”).
Ergle further discloses that any shredded tobacco may be used in the present invention ([0051]).
Regarding the claim limitation “wherein the tobacco material has an area density, and the amorphous solid has an area density,” one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the flavor-bearing sheet and the shredded tobacco filler of Ergle would have a certain area density.
However, Ergle does not explicitly teach wherein the area density of the amorphous solid is from about 90 to 110% the area density of the tobacco material. Specifically, Ergle does not explicitly teach the area densities of the shredded tobacco filler or the flavor-bearing sheet.
Zuchuat teaches a reconstituted tobacco sheet (abstract) wherein it is desirable to provide a method in which the reconstituted tobacco sheet has an increased filling power ([0005]), wherein the basis weight (i.e., “area density”) of the reconstituted tobacco sheet is reduced to improve the filling power of the tobacco ([0022]), and wherein the reconstituted tobacco sheet has a basis weight of less than about 230 grams per square meter and preferably a basis weight of at least about 80 grams per square meter ([0021]).
Therefore, Zuchuat teaches that basis weight (i.e., “area density”) of a filler is a result-effective variable that affects the filling power of the filler.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shredded tobacco in Ergle to have a basis weight of about 80-230 g/m2 as in Zuchuat because (a) such a modification involves discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable, which involves changing the basis weight of the tobacco material to obtain various amounts of filling power, involving only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 II(B)); and (b) such a modification predictably and desirably results in increasing the filling power of the tobacco which advantageously reduces the overall tobacco weight in the smoking articles (Zuchuat; [0022]).
Moreover, Mua teaches a smokable filler material (abstract) wherein it is known that tobacco cut rag exhibits a fill value of about 6 to 7 cc/g ([0035]) and the filler of the presently claimed invention includes a fill value of 5.7 to 8.88 cc/g, which is more closely approximating what is found in tobacco cut rag ([0035]), and has a basis weight from 55 g/m2 to 100 g/m2 ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to said skilled artisan to have modified the shredded flavor-bearing sheets of Ergle to have a basis weight of 55-100 g/m2 as in Mua because (a) such a modification involves discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable, which involves changing the basis weight of the filler to obtain various amounts of filling power (see Zuchuat above), involving only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 II(B)); and (b) such a modification predictably results in increasing the fill value of the shredded flavor-bearing sheet in order to more closely exhibit the properties exhibited by tobacco (Mua; [0006]) with the additional benefit of having improved flavor characteristics with minimal Hoffman Analyte deliveries (Mua; [0008]).
Regarding the claim limitation “the area density of the amorphous solid being from about 90 to 110% of the area density of the tobacco material,” modified Ergle discloses the shredded flavor-bearing sheet would have a basis weight of 55-100 g/m2, and the shredded tobacco filler would have a basis weight of about 80-230 g/m2. This means that the shredded flavor-bearing sheet would have an area density of 23.9-125% the area density of the shredded tobacco filler. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, modified Ergle discloses wherein the film-forming coagulating material typically comprise about 15 to about 80% by weight, more typically between 50 to about 80% by weight, and preferably between about 60 to about 80% by weight ([0033]); wherein the weight ratio of the shredded flavor-bearing sheets to the tobacco filler will typically range from about 1:100 to about 1:5 ([0050]). wherein the weight ratio of the shredded flavor-bearing sheets to the tobacco filler will typically range from about 1:100 to about 1:5 ([0050]).
In one example, Ergle discloses a flavor-bearing sheet comprising 45% propylene glycol (i.e., “aerosol-former material”) and 25% carboxymethyl cellulose (i.e., “gelling agent”) (Example 5, sheet 5). This means that the use of the flavor-bearing sheet 5 in Example 5, in combination with the disclosed weight ratio of 1:5 of flavor-bearing sheet to tobacco would result in an aerosol-former content of about 7.5% (1/6*45) (i.e., an aerosol-former material content from about 5 to 30wt% of the aerosol-generating composition”).
In another example, non-limiting illustration, Ergle discloses that the amount of polyethylene glycol to be present in an amount of about 70wt% ([0037]).
However, Ergle does not explicitly teach that the aerosol-former material content is from about 10 to 20wt% of aerosol-generating composition or that the aerosol-former material is comprised in the amorphous solid in an amount of from 50 to 70wt% of the amorphous solid in combination with the gelling agent being present in the amorphous solid.
Ergle further teaches that the following example (i.e., Example 5) demonstrates improvement in film quality of the flavor bearing sheet by adding propylene glycol ([0076]), and that the following example (i.e., Example 6) demonstrates the improvement in the film quality of the flavor bearing sheet of the present invention by adding glycerol in the taste quality of the cigarettes ([0079]).
Therefore, Ergle discloses that the amount of propylene glycol and glycerol are result effective variables that affect the film quality of the flavor bearing sheet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have increase the amount of propylene glycol in the flavor bearing sheet 5 of Example 5 and/or to have added glycerol to the flavor bearing sheet 5 of Example 5 in Ergle to obtain higher quality flavor bearing sheets because it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B). Moreover, such optimization would have been within the prior art conditions because Ergle suggests that the amount of film-coagulating material including the polyols ([0027]) and/or polymeric ethers ([0029]) may be in an amount of up to 80wt%, which would mean the polyol and/or polymeric ether can be present in an amount of 13.3% when the ratio of the flavor bearing sheet to tobacco filler is 1:5 (1/6*80). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ergle discloses the weight ratio of the shredded flavor-bearing sheets to the tobacco filler will typically range from about 1:100 to about 1:5 ([0050]).
A ratio of 1:5 would mean that the flavor bearing sheet is 16.7% of the overall smokable material composition (1/6) (i.e., “about 5 to 40wt% of the aerosol-generating composition”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ergle discloses the flavor bearing sheet 5 in Example 5 lacks a filler (see Example 5).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ergle discloses 25% carboxymethyl cellulose in the flavor bearing sheet 5 in Example 5 (Example 5; “gelling agent is comprised in the amorphous solid in an amount of from about 5 to 50wt% of the amorphous solid”).
Regarding claim 18, modified Ergle discloses the tobacco may include flue-cured, Burley, Turkish, Oriental, and expanded tobacco ([0051]; “tobacco material does not comprise reconstituted tobacco”).
Regarding claim 20, modified Ergle discloses wherein any shredded tobacco may be used with the present invention ([0051]).
However, modified Ergle is silent as to the tobacco material is cut rag tobacco.
Mua further teaches a smokeable filler material (abstract) wherein it is known that tobacco cut rag exhibits a fill value of 6 to 7 cc/g whereas prior art fillers have a fill value of 4 to 4.5 cc/g, and the low fill value of the prior art results in a heavy smoking article with a poor burn rate and smoke delivery ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the shredded tobacco in Ergle for cut rag tobacco as in Mua to obtain the predictable result of forming a smoking composition with the benefit of being lighter and having a higher burn rate and smoke delivery than prior art fillers having a lower fill value (Mua; [0035]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Ergle discloses the flavor-bearing sheet is shredded into a confetti cut of about 1/32” ([0048]; “shredded sheet”).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ergle et al. in view of Mua and Zuchuat et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Metzner et al. (US 5722431; of record).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ergle discloses the smokable material composition as discussed above with respect to claim 1, wherein any shredded tobacco may be used with the present invention ([0051]).
However, modified Ergle is silent as to the tobacco material is fine-cut.
Metzner teaches a method for the production of cut tobacco for smokable articles (abstract) wherein it is known in the art that tobacco leaves for smokable articles and fine-cut differ in consistency and taste perception (col. 1, ll. 10-19). Metzner solves this problem by treating the tobacco leave for cut tobacco and fine-cut (col. 2, ll. 42-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the shredded tobacco in modified Ergle for the treated fine-cut tobacco as in Metzner to obtain the predictable result of forming a smoking composition with the benefit of improving the consistency and taste perception of the composition (Metzner; col. 2, ll. 42-52).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ergle discloses the fine-cut tobacco material is made from tobacco lamina material (Metzner; col. 2, ll. 53-65).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ergle et al. in view of Mua and Zuchuat et. al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2006/0086367; of record).
Regarding claim 22, modified Ergle discloses the smokeable material composition as discussed above with respect to claim 1, wherein the tobacco may be treated with additives and the like according to conventional practice ([0051]).
However, modified Ergle is silent as to where in the tobacco material comprises an aerosol-former material in an amount of from 1 to 10wt% of the tobacco material.
Li teaches a tobacco smoking mixture (abstract) comprising tobacco and a mixture of palladium and glycerin wherein the glycerin is present in an amount of about 8 to 13% by weight of the tobacco smoking mixture ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added palladium and 8-13% glycerin as in Li to Ergle’s tobacco because in order to reduce the cytotoxicity and/or mutagenicity of the smoke produced when the tobacco smoking mixture is burned (Li; [0004]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ergle et al. in view of Mua and Zuchuat et al. as applied to claims 20 and 23 above, and further in view of Iwanaga et al. (US 2021/0235747; of record).
Regarding claim 25, modified Ergle discloses the smokable material composition as discussed above with respect to claims 20 and 23, wherein the tobacco material is a cut rag tobacco (Mua; [0035]), and wherein the flavor-bearing sheet is shredded into a confetti cut of about 1/32” ([0048]; “shredded sheet,” equivalent to 0.79 mm).
However, modified Ergle does not explicitly teach the cut width of the amorphous solid being about 90 to 110% of the cut width of the cut rag tobacco.
Iwanaga teaches a smoking article including a tobacco filler (abstract) wherein the tobacco filler 923) is a tobacco leaf that is cut into strips having a width of 0.8 to 1.2 mm to form cut rags ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the width of modified Ergle’s cut rag to be in the range of 0.8 to 1.2 mm as in Iwanaga because such a modification involve the mere change in the size of a component. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV).
Regarding the claim limitation “the cut width of the amorphous solid being about 90 to 110% of the cut width of the cut rag tobacco,” the confetti cut flavor-bearing sheet and the cut rag tobacco having a width of 0.8 mm would meet such a limitation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 13-14, 20, 22-23, and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-15 of copending Application No. 18/042840 (reference application).
Regarding claim 1, the copending application recites an aerosol-generating composition comprising:
tobacco material, and
an amorphous solid, the amorphous solid comprising:
(a) aerosol generating agent in an amount of from about 25 to 80 wt% of the amorphous solid;
(b) one or more gelling agents selected from cellulosic gelling agents, guar gum, acacia gum and mixtures thereof;
(c) filler in an amount of at least about 15 wt% of the amorphous solid; and
(d) optionally, active substance;
wherein the amount of gelling agent and filler taken together is from about 20 to 75 wt% of the amorphous solid,
wherein the aerosol-generating composition has an aerosol generating agent content of from about 5 to 30 wt% of the aerosol-generating composition, these weights being calculated on a dry weight basis (claim 2), and
wherein the tobacco material has an area density, and the amorphous solid has an area density, the area density of the amorphous solid being from about 90 to 110% of the area density of the tobacco material (claim 10).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims include different, but overlapping, ranges for the aerosol generating agent and gelling agent and filler, and include a more specifically claimed gelling agent that anticipates the claimed gelling agent.
Regarding claim 2, the copending application recites wherein the aerosol generating agent content is from about 10 to 20 wt% of the of the aerosol-generating composition (claim 11).
Regarding claim 3, the copending application recites wherein the amorphous solid is comprised in the aerosol-generating composition in an amount of from about 5 to 40 wt% of the aerosol-generating composition (claim 12).
Regarding claim 4, the copending application recites wherein the filler is comprised in the amorphous solid in an amount of from about 15 to about 35 wt% (claim 13), which overlaps the claimed range of 1 to 15wt%.
Regarding claim 6, the copending application recites wherein the aerosol generating agent is comprised in the amorphous solid in an amount of from about 30 to about 60 wt% (claim 14), which overlaps the claimed 50 to 70wt%.
Regarding claim 7, the copending application recites wherein the gelling agent is comprised in the amorphous solid in an amount of from about 20 to about 40 wt% (claim 15), which anticipates the claimed range of 5 to 50wt%.
Regarding claim 13, the copending application recites wherein the tobacco material is fine-cut (claim 3).
Regarding claim 14, the copending application recites wherein the tobacco material comprises lamina tobacco (claim 4).
Regarding claim 20, the copending application recites wherein the tobacco material comprises cut rag tobacco (claim 5), and wherein the cut rag tobacco is present in an amount of at least 90 wt% of the tobacco material (claim 6).
Regarding claim 22, the copending application recites wherein the tobacco material comprises aerosol generating agent in an amount of from 1 to 10 wt% of the tobacco material (claim 7).
Regarding claim 23, the copending application recites wherein the amorphous solid is a shredded sheet blended with the tobacco material (claim 8).
Regarding claim 25, the copending application recites wherein the tobacco material comprises cut rag tobacco having a cut width, and the amorphous solid shredded sheet has a cut width, the cut width of the amorphous solid being from about 90 to 110% of the cut width of the cut rag tobacco (claim 9).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 13-14, 20, and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-15 of copending Application No. 18/042861 (reference application) in view of Mua (US 2006/0021626; of record) and Zuchuat et al. (US 2017/0035095).
Regarding claim 1, the copending application recites: an aerosol-generating composition comprising:
tobacco material, and
an amorphous solid as defined in claim 1;
wherein the aerosol-generating composition has an aerosol generating agent content of from about 5 to 30 wt% of the aerosol-generating composition, these weights being calculated on a dry weight basis (claim 14),
wherein the amorphous solid comprises:
(a) aerosol generating agent in an amount of from about 25 to 80 wt% of the amorphous solid;
(b) one or more gelling agents selected from methyl cellulose, guar gum and mixtures thereof; and
(c) filler in an amount of at least about 15 wt% of the amorphous solid; wherein the amount of gelling agent and filler taken together is from about 20 to 75 wt% of the amorphous solid (claim 1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims include different, but overlapping, ranges for the aerosol generating agent and gelling agent and filler, and include a more specifically claimed gelling agent that anticipates the claimed gelling agent.
Regarding the claim limitation “wherein the tobacco material has an area density, and the amorphous solid has an area density,” one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the amorphous solid and the tobacco material of the copending application would have a certain area density.
However, the copending application does not explicitly teach wherein the area density of the amorphous solid is from about 90 to 110% the area density of the tobacco material.
Zuchuat teaches a reconstituted tobacco sheet (abstract) wherein it is desirable to provide a method in which the reconstituted tobacco sheet has an increased filling power ([0005]), wherein the basis weight (i.e., “area density”) of the reconstituted tobacco sheet is reduced to improve the filling power of the tobacco ([0022]), and wherein the reconstituted tobacco sheet has a basis weight of less than about 230 grams per square meter and preferably a basis weight of at least about 80 grams per square meter ([0021]).
Therefore, Zuchuat teaches that basis weight (i.e., “area density”) of a filler is a result-effective variable that affects the filling power of the filler.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tobacco material of the copending application to have a basis weight of about 80-230 g/m2 as in Zuchuat because (a) such a modification involves discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable, which involves changing the basis weight of the tobacco material to obtain various amounts of filling power, involving only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 II(B)); and (b) such a modification predictably and desirably results in increasing the filling power of the tobacco which advantageously reduces the overall tobacco weight in the smoking articles (Zuchuat; [0022]).
Moreover, Mua teaches a smokable filler material (abstract) wherein it is known that tobacco cut rag exhibits a fill value of about 6 to 7 cc/g ([0035]) and the filler of the presently claimed invention includes a fill value of 5.7 to 8.88 cc/g, which is more closely approximating what is found in tobacco cut rag ([0035]), and has a basis weight from 55 g/m2 to 100 g/m2 ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to said skilled artisan to have modified the amorphous solid of the copending application to have a basis weight of 55-100 g/m2 as in Mua because (a) such a modification involves discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable, which involves changing the basis weight of the filler to obtain various amounts of filling power (see Zuchuat above), involving only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 II(B)); and (b) such a modification predictably results in increasing the fill value of the shredded flavor-bearing sheet in order to more closely exhibit the properties exhibited by tobacco (Mua; [0006]) with the additional benefit of having improved flavor characteristics with minimal Hoffman Analyte deliveries (Mua; [0008]).
Regarding the claim limitation “the area density of the amorphous solid being from about 90 to 110% of the area density of the tobacco material,” the modified copending application discloses the amorphous solid would have a basis weight of 55-100 g/m2, and the tobacco material would have a basis weight of about 80-230 g/m2. This means that the amorphous solid would have an area density of 55-125% the area density of the tobacco material. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 13, the copending application recites wherein the tobacco material is fine-cut (claim 15).
Regarding claim 14, the copending application recites wherein the tobacco material comprises lamina tobacco (claim 15).
Regarding claim 20, the copending application recites wherein the tobacco material comprises cut rag tobacco (claim 15).
Regarding claim 23, the copending application recites wherein the amorphous solid is a shredded sheet blended with the tobacco material (claim 15).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ghanouni (WO 2020/028468) discloses an amorphous solid (abstract) having any suitable area density such as from 90 to 110 g/m2, which are particularly suitable where the aerosol-generating material is included in a sheet form or a shredded sheet (p. 10, ll. 12-18).
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SONNY V NGUYEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755