DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the remarks filed on April 02, 2026 for the application filed July 29, 2022. Claims 11 and 29 have been newly cancelled. Claim 34 has been newly added. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 12-13, 19-21, 24-25, 27, 30-31, and 34 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 12-13, 19-21, 24-25, 27, 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Kalhan et al. (US2007/0223620A1), in view of Liu et al. (US2011/0116435A1) and Christoffersson et al. (US2019/0312684A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kalhan teaches a method for wireless communication (Paragraph [0001]: The present invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more specifically to broadcasting content material or data to mobile wireless devices.)
comprising: generating, for a set of source symbols representing data to be transmitted in a broadcast channel, a set of encoded symbols for transmitting in the broadcast channel; transmitting a first number of the set of encoded symbols over the broadcast channel (Paragraph [0007]: Briefly, a system and method is provided for broadcasting content data to a number of mobile devices. This content data may be video, image, or audio data, for example. The content data is arranged into data blocks, and each data block is broadcast using an initial set of rateless transmission symbols. Mobile devices that did not receive a sufficient number of initial symbols respond with a NACK message, and a NACK rate for the broadcast system is monitored. Paragraph [0030]: Referring now to FIG. 3, a method for broadcasting data using a wireless network is illustrated. Method 75 has a data block which is represented by K number of data symbols as shown in block 77. These K number of data symbols may be encoded using a rateless encoding scheme into rateless transmission symbols as shown in block 79. A set of initial symbols is sized to have N symbols as shown in block 82. The value of N is set so that a threshold number of wireless devices is likely to be able to decode the data block using only the initial symbols. Paragraph [0032]: At a time 107 the network sends an initial set of transmission symbols, with the transmission symbols having been encoded using a rateless code process. The network takes a period of time to send the initial symbols, and completes sending the set of initial symbols at time 109. The number oT initial symbols has been selected such that most mobiles should be able to decode or reconstruct the data block with the symbols received during the initial send period. Those mobile devices that received some, but not enough, transmission symbols will then generate NACK responses indicating that they need additional symbols.)
receiving, from at least a portion of a set of UEs and before transmitting additional symbols of the set of encoded symbols over the broadcast channel, feedback acknowledgement indicating whether the data is recovered from the first number of the set of encoded symbols (Paragraph [0004]: To provide adaptability, the network may require that mobile units provide an acknowledgment that broadcast packets have been successfully received. In this arrangement, the network sends data packets to each mobile unit, and the mobile unit responds to the network with an acknowledgment (“ACK”) response. By acknowledging receipt of the data packets, the network can be assured that mobile stations are properly receiving data. Paragraph [0005]: As an alternative to waiting for an ACK response, a network may be configure to count a no-acknowledgment (“NACK”) response that indicates that a mobile station did not successfully receive a complete set of data packets. Paragraph [0022]: The initial set of transmission symbols is transmitted or broadcast to all the mobile units. After a short delay, mobile units that did not receive a sufficient number of symbols respond with a NACK message. It will be appreciated that the network may start monitoring for these NACKs at any time, but will typically wait until after all initial symbols have been sent. In this way, mobile devices having received sufficient numbers of transmission symbols make no response, so therefore reverse link traffic is limited only to those mobile devices that failed to receive a sufficient number of transmission symbols in a first transmission time period. The NACK's response rate is monitored as shown in block 22. In this way, the number of NACKs per unit time is monitored, and is used to determine when additional transmission symbols should be broadcast. Paragraph [0030]: Referring now to FIG. 3, a method for broadcasting data using a wireless network is illustrated. Method 75 has a data block which is represented by K number of data symbols as shown in block 77. These K number of data symbols may be encoded using a rateless encoding scheme into rateless transmission symbols as shown in block 79. A set of initial symbols is sized to have N symbols as shown in block 82. The value of N is set so that a threshold number of wireless devices is likely to be able to decode the data block using only the initial symbols. Paragraph [0031]: Typically, the value of N will be selected such that about 90% to 95% of all mobile devices are able to recover the data block using only the initial transmission symbols. However, some of the mobile stations receiving a broadcast data wiii not receive K number of transmission symbols, but will receive a number smaller than K. Accordingly, these mobile devices will not be able to recover the data block. These mobile devices respond to the network with a NACK, and depending upon NACK rates in the overall system, the network may respond with additional symbols as shown in block 84. Paragraph [0032]: At a time 107 the network sends an initial set of transmission symbols, with the transmission symbols having been encoded using a rateless code process. The network takes a period of time to send the initial symbols, and completes sending the set of initial symbols at time 109. The number oT initial symbols has been selected such that most mobiles should be able to decode or reconstruct the data block with the symbols received during the initial send period. Those mobile devices that received some, but not enough, transmission symbols will then generate NACK responses indicating that they need additional symbols.);
transmitting, if feedback for the data is received from at least a threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the UEs, a new set of encoded symbols representing new data in the broadcast channel; and transmitting, if feedback for the data is received from less than the threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the UEs, a second number of the set of encoded symbols over the broadcast channel (Abstract: The content data is arranged into data blocks, and each data block is broadcast using an initial set of rateless transmission symbols. Mobile devices that did not receive a sufficient number of initial symbols respond with a NACK message, and a NACK rate for the broadcast system is monitored. Responsive to the NACK rate, additional symbols may be broadcast or otherwise transmitted to mobile devices, and, the NACK rate is used to determine when to terminate transmission of additional symbols for a particular data block. The NACK rate may also be used as feedback to the broadcast system to adjust the transmission scheme. Paragraph [0021]: In method 10, the rateless coding process is applied to each data file to generate a set of initial transmission symbols as shown in block 17. The number of initial symbols may be set according to the desired transmission coverage or transmission integrity. For example, the initial set of symbols may include enough transmission symbols so that about 95% of the mobile users will be able to decode the data blocks from the initial symbols only. In other examples, the number of initial symbols transmitted may be adjusted to accommodate stricter or more relaxed requirements. Further, the number of initial symbols per data block may be adapted dynamically according to transmission quality and feedback received from the mobile devices. Paragraph [0022]: The initial set of transmission symbols is transmitted or broadcast to all the mobile units. After a short delay, mobile units that did not receive a sufficient number of symbols respond with a NACK message. It will be appreciated that the network may start monitoring for these NACKs at any time, but will typically wait until after all initial symbols have been sent. In this way, mobile devices having received sufficient numbers of transmission symbols make no response, so therefore reverse link traffic is limited only to those mobile devices that failed to receive a sufficient number of transmission symbols in a first transmission time period. The NACK's response rate is monitored as shown in block 22. In this way, the number of NACKs per unit time is monitored, and is used to determine when additional transmission symbols should be broadcast. For example, once the NACK rate has reached a threshold point or increases at a certain rate, method 10 transmits additional transmission symbols as shown in block 19. These additional transmission symbols may be sent to all the mobile devices, or they may be sent to the subset responding with a NACK message. Paragraph [0029]: Depending upon NACK rates for the entire broadcast system, the base station may broadcast additional transmission symbols to one, a subset or all mobile units. Mobile units that do not have a sufficient number of symbols continue to monitor for received symbols, and continue to periodically generate NACK messages if insufficient symbols have not been received. Paragraph [0040]: Since this initial time period is set such that the vast majority of mobile devices are expected to have received sufficient symbols, the mobile device may then move on to start receiving the next block as shown in block 211. In this way, the mobile device may begin receiving symbols indicative of the next block. Paragraph [0041]: After the initial time period has ended, the wireless device evaluates the transmission symbols received for the first block as shown in block 213. If sufficient symbols have been received to decode or recover the data block, then the data block is decoded and recovered and no further action is required for this block as shown in block 217. However, if sufficient symbols have not been received, then the mobile device generates a NACK message and sends that NACK message back to the base station as shown in block 225. Optionally, the NACK message may include channel quality information, such as signal to noise ratio, as shown in block 227. The mobile device then opens an additional transmission time window in which it waits for additional transmission symbols.)
Kalhan does not explicitly teach feedback acknowledgement (ACK); feedback ACK from a threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs.
However, Liu teaches feedback acknowledgement (ACK); feedback ACK from a threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs (Paragraph [0041]: In another policy, the M-BlockAckReq sender can stop retransmission attempts after it receives the M-BlockAcks corresponding to this M-BlockAckReq from a certain (predetermined) fraction of intended receivers/destinations/receiving stations. The fraction is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Paragraph [0042]: If one or more packets are not correctly received by one or more intended multicast receivers according to the bitmap of the receiver block acks, the multicast sender arranges the retransmission of this or these lost packets again. For example, the multicast sender stops the retransmission attempt of a data packet if the fraction of receivers that have correctly received this packet is greater than or equal to a threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide feedback acknowledgement (ACK); feedback ACK from a threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, as taught by Liu in the system of Kalhan, so that the percentage or fraction of ACKs received from the receivers can be used to determine the next step to be taken by the transmitter in the transmission process, and provide an efficient mechanism for reliable data transmission (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0041], [0042]).
The combination of Kalhan and Liu does not explicitly teach selecting a randomly selected subset of a plurality of cell-edge UEs as a random selection from the cell-edge UEs, wherein the plurality of cell-edge UEs are a portion of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel; cell-edge UEs.
However, Christoffersson teaches selecting a randomly selected subset of a plurality of cell-edge UEs as a random selection from the cell-edge UEs, wherein the plurality of cell-edge UEs are a portion of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel; cell-edge UEs (Paragraph [0008]: UEs close to the NW node are able to successfully decode the receive message. In FIG. 1, UE1 has succeeded the decoding (OK for each transmission and re-transmission). Bu UEs at cell-edge (here UE2 an d UEN) may not always be able to decode the message even with a re-transmission message. Paragraph [0040]: According to some embodiments herein controlling the success rate of the group transmissions is performed by tuning the number of retransmissions and diversity difference to achieve the desired success rate as measured by….reports from the UEs. Paragraph [0043]: A subset of the UEs/vehicles maybe selected for reporting….acknowledgement of on-going transmissions, and statistics of the recent transmissions. The more UEs/vehicles that are selected to provide feedback, the higher the signaling overhead in the UpLink (UL) is. The extreme case is to let all UEs in the group provide feedback. In order to avoid unnecessary signaling overhead, it is enough to select UEs that are close to the group border to report. The UEs selected for reporting may change over time, e.g. due to user/vehicle mobility. Paragraph [0049]: The embodiments described above hence relate a NW node that sends….transmissions with autonomous retransmissions to a group of UEs and receive….feedback from a subset of those UEs. Based on the feedback, the NW node is configured to control the success rate by altering….the number of autonomous retransmissions. The UEs that are selected to provide feedback are cell-edge UEs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting a randomly selected subset of a plurality of cell-edge UEs as a random selection from the cell-edge UEs, wherein the plurality of cell-edge UEs are a portion of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel; cell-edge UEs, as taught by Christoffersson, in the combined system of Kalhan and Liu, in order to avoid unnecessary signaling overhead. Since cell-edge UEs have the worst connection quality, it is enough to select UEs that are close to the group border to report (Christoffersson: Paragraphs [0008], [0040], [0043], [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising (see rejection for claim 1);
Kalhan further teaches receiving, from at least an additional portion of the set of UEs and before transmitting additional symbols of the set of encoded symbols over the broadcast channel, the feedback indicating whether the data is recovered from the first number of the set of encoded symbols and the second number of the set of encoded symbols (Paragraph [0022]: The initial set of transmission symbols is transmitted or broadcast to all the mobile units. After a short delay, mobile units that did not receive a sufficient number of symbols respond with a NACK message. It will be appreciated that the network may start monitoring for these NACKs at any time, but will typically wait until after all initial symbols have been sent. In this way, mobile devices having received sufficient numbers of transmission symbols make no response, so therefore reverse link traffic is limited only to those mobile devices that failed to receive a sufficient number of transmission symbols in a first transmission time period. The NACK's response rate is monitored as shown in block 22. In this way, the number of NACKs per unit time is monitored, and is used to determine when additional transmission symbols should be broadcast. For example, once the NACK rate has reached a threshold point or increases at a certain rate, method 10 transmits additional transmission symbols as shown in block 19. These additional transmission symbols may be sent to all the mobile devices, or they may be sent to the subset responding with a NACK message. Paragraph [0023]: Method 10 continues to send additional transmission symbols and monitor the NACK rate until the NACK rate stops declining, or reaches a constant or near constant level. Upon reaching this NACK condition, method 10 becomes aware that the further broadcast of additional transmission symbols results in only limited improvement in decoding coverage. Alternatively, the transmission of the additional symbols may be stopped when so much time has elapsed that a data block can no longer be meaningfully decoded, or when the absolute NACK rate indicates that all or nearly all wireless mobile devices have successfully decoded the data block. In these cases, the transmission of additional symbols is stopped as shown in block 26.)
transmitting, if feedback for the data is received from at least the threshold percentage of a second randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, the new set of encoded symbols representing new data in the broadcast channel: and transmitting, if feedback for the data is received from less than the threshold percentage of the second randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, a third number of the set of encoded symbols over the broadcast channel (Abstract: The content data is arranged into data blocks, and each data block is broadcast using an initial set of rateless transmission symbols. Mobile devices that did not receive a sufficient number of initial symbols respond with a NACK message, and a NACK rate for the broadcast system is monitored. Responsive to the NACK rate, additional symbols may be broadcast or otherwise transmitted to mobile devices, and, the NACK rate is used to determine when to terminate transmission of additional symbols for a particular data block. The NACK rate may also be used as feedback to the broadcast system to adjust the transmission scheme. Paragraph [0021]: In method 10, the rateless coding process is applied to each data file to generate a set of initial transmission symbols as shown in block 17. The number of initial symbols may be set according to the desired transmission coverage or transmission integrity. For example, the initial set of symbols may include enough transmission symbols so that about 95% of the mobile users will be able to decode the data blocks from the initial symbols only. In other examples, the number of initial symbols transmitted may be adjusted to accommodate stricter or more relaxed requirements. Further, the number of initial symbols per data block may be adapted dynamically according to transmission quality and feedback received from the mobile devices. Paragraph [0022]: The initial set of transmission symbols is transmitted or broadcast to all the mobile units. After a short delay, mobile units that did not receive a sufficient number of symbols respond with a NACK message. It will be appreciated that the network may start monitoring for these NACKs at any time, but will typically wait until after all initial symbols have been sent. In this way, mobile devices having received sufficient numbers of transmission symbols make no response, so therefore reverse link traffic is limited only to those mobile devices that failed to receive a sufficient number of transmission symbols in a first transmission time period. The NACK's response rate is monitored as shown in block 22. In this way, the number of NACKs per unit time is monitored, and is used to determine when additional transmission symbols should be broadcast. For example, once the NACK rate has reached a threshold point or increases at a certain rate, method 10 transmits additional transmission symbols as shown in block 19. These additional transmission symbols may be sent to all the mobile devices, or they may be sent to the subset responding with a NACK message. Paragraph [0029]: Depending upon NACK rates for the entire broadcast system, the base station may broadcast additional transmission symbols to one, a subset or all mobile units. Mobile units that do not have a sufficient number of symbols continue to monitor for received symbols, and continue to periodically generate NACK messages if insufficient symbols have not been received. Paragraph [0040]: Since this initial time period is set such that the vast majority of mobile devices are expected to have received sufficient symbols, the mobile device may then move on to start receiving the next block as shown in block 211. In this way, the mobile device may begin receiving symbols indicative of the next block. Paragraph [0041]: After the initial time period has ended, the wireless device evaluates the transmission symbols received for the first block as shown in block 213. If sufficient symbols have been received to decode or recover the data block, then the data block is decoded and recovered and no further action is required for this block as shown in block 217. However, if sufficient symbols have not been received, then the mobile device generates a NACK message and sends that NACK message back to the base station as shown in block 225. Optionally, the NACK message may include channel quality information, such as signal to noise ratio, as shown in block 227. The mobile device then opens an additional transmission time window in which it waits for additional transmission symbols.)
Kalhan does not explicitly teach feedback ACK; feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of a randomly selected subset of the set of UEs.
However, Liu teaches feedback ACK; feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of a randomly selected subset of the set of UEs (Paragraph [0041]: In another policy, the M-BlockAckReq sender can stop retransmission attempts after it receives the M-BlockAcks corresponding to this M-BlockAckReq from a certain (predetermined) fraction of intended receivers/destinations/receiving stations. The fraction is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Paragraph [0042]: If one or more packets are not correctly received by one or more intended multicast receivers according to the bitmap of the receiver block acks, the multicast sender arranges the retransmission of this or these lost packets again. For example, the multicast sender stops the retransmission attempt of a data packet if the fraction of receivers that have correctly received this packet is greater than or equal to a threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide feedback ACK; feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of a randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, as taught by Liu in the system of Kalhan, so that the percentage or fraction of ACKs received from the receivers can be used to determine the next step to be taken by the transmitter in the transmission process, and provide an efficient mechanism for reliable data transmission (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0041], [0042]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the method of claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
Kalhan further teaches wherein a first symbol of the second number of the set of encoded symbols is at least a period number of symbols from a last symbol of the first number of the set of encoded symbols, if feedback for the data is received from at least the threshold percentage of the second randomly selected subset of the set of UEs (Abstract: The content data is arranged into data blocks, and each data block is broadcast using an initial set of rateless transmission symbols. Mobile devices that did not receive a sufficient number of initial symbols respond with a NACK message, and a NACK rate for the broadcast system is monitored. Responsive to the NACK rate, additional symbols may be broadcast or otherwise transmitted to mobile devices, and, the NACK rate is used to determine when to terminate transmission of additional symbols for a particular data block. The NACK rate may also be used as feedback to the broadcast system to adjust the transmission scheme. Paragraph [0021]: In method 10, the rateless coding process is applied to each data file to generate a set of initial transmission symbols as shown in block 17. The number of initial symbols may be set according to the desired transmission coverage or transmission integrity. For example, the initial set of symbols may include enough transmission symbols so that about 95% of the mobile users will be able to decode the data blocks from the initial symbols only. In other examples, the number of initial symbols transmitted may be adjusted to accommodate stricter or more relaxed requirements. Further, the number of initial symbols per data block may be adapted dynamically according to transmission quality and feedback received from the mobile devices. Paragraph [0022]: The initial set of transmission symbols is transmitted or broadcast to all the mobile units. After a short delay, mobile units that did not receive a sufficient number of symbols respond with a NACK message. It will be appreciated that the network may start monitoring for these NACKs at any time, but will typically wait until after all initial symbols have been sent. In this way, mobile devices having received sufficient numbers of transmission symbols make no response, so therefore reverse link traffic is limited only to those mobile devices that failed to receive a sufficient number of transmission symbols in a first transmission time period. The NACK's response rate is monitored as shown in block 22. In this way, the number of NACKs per unit time is monitored, and is used to determine when additional transmission symbols should be broadcast. For example, once the NACK rate has reached a threshold point or increases at a certain rate, method 10 transmits additional transmission symbols as shown in block 19. These additional transmission symbols may be sent to all the mobile devices, or they may be sent to the subset responding with a NACK message. Paragraph [0029]: Depending upon NACK rates for the entire broadcast system, the base station may broadcast additional transmission symbols to one, a subset or all mobile units. Paragraph [0032]: At a time 107 the network sends an initial set of transmission symbols, with the transmission symbols having been encoded using a rateless code process. The network takes a period of time to send the initial symbols, and completes sending the set of initial symbols at time 109. The number oT initial symbols has been selected such that most mobiles should be able to decode or reconstruct the data block with the symbols received during the initial send period. Those mobile devices that received some, but not enough, transmission symbols will then generate NACK responses indicating that they need additional symbols. Paragraph [0040]: Since this initial time period is set such that the vast majority of mobile devices are expected to have received sufficient symbols, the mobile device may then move on to start receiving the next block as shown in block 211. In this way, the mobile device may begin receiving symbols indicative of the next block. Paragraph [0041]: However, if sufficient symbols have not been received, then the mobile device generates a NACK message and sends that NACK message back to the base station as shown in block 225. Optionally, the NACK message may include channel quality information, such as signal to noise ratio, as shown in block 227. The mobile device then opens an additional transmission time window in which it waits for additional transmission symbols.)
Kalhan does not explicitly teach feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs.
However, Liu teaches feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs (Paragraph [0041]: In another policy, the M-BlockAckReq sender can stop retransmission attempts after it receives the M-BlockAcks corresponding to this M-BlockAckReq from a certain (predetermined) fraction of intended receivers/destinations/receiving stations. The fraction is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Paragraph [0042]: If one or more packets are not correctly received by one or more intended multicast receivers according to the bitmap of the receiver block acks, the multicast sender arranges the retransmission of this or these lost packets again. For example, the multicast sender stops the retransmission attempt of a data packet if the fraction of receivers that have correctly received this packet is greater than or equal to a threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, as taught by Liu in the system of Kalhan, so that the percentage or fraction of ACKs received from the receivers can be used to determine the next step to be taken by the transmitter in the transmission process, and provide an efficient mechanism for reliable data transmission (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0041], [0042]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising (see rejection for claim 1);
Kalhan further teaches determining the first number of the set of encoded symbols based on a parameter value that represents receiving the set of source symbols with a threshold probability (Paragraph [0021]: In method 10, the rateless coding process is applied to each data file to generate a set of initial transmission symbols as shown in block 17. The number of initial symbols may be set according to the desired transmission coverage or transmission integrity. For example, the initial set of symbols may include enough transmission symbols so that about 95% of the mobile users will be able to decode the data blocks from the initial symbols only. In other examples, the number of initial symbols transmitted may be adjusted to accommodate stricter or more relaxed requirements. Further, the number of initial symbols per data block may be adapted dynamically according to transmission quality and feedback received from the mobile devices. Paragraph [0025]: It will also be appreciated that the number of symbols in the initial symbol set may be adjusted according to communication quality.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising (see rejection for claim 1);
Kalhan further teaches determining the first number of the set of encoded symbols based on a parameter value obtained as a function of historical transmitter overhead (Paragraph [0021]: In method 10, the rateless coding process is applied to each data file to generate a set of initial transmission symbols as shown in block 17. The number of initial symbols may be set according to the desired transmission coverage or transmission integrity. For example, the initial set of symbols may include enough transmission symbols so that about 95% of the mobile users will be able to decode the data blocks from the initial symbols only. In other examples, the number of initial symbols transmitted may be adjusted to accommodate stricter or more relaxed requirements. Further, the number of initial symbols per data block may be adapted dynamically according to transmission quality and feedback received from the mobile devices. Paragraph [0025]: It will also be appreciated that the number of symbols in the initial symbol set may be adjusted according to communication quality. For example, if transmitting a particular number of initial symbols causes a very large NACK rate, the process may be adjusted to include more symbols in the initial symbol set. In a similar example, if the transmission of the initial set results in an extremely low NACK rate, then the number of symbols in the initial set may be reduced to try to reduce network traffic. Paragraph [0026]: Method 10 collects information regarding NACKs and NACK rate, which provides useful statistical information regarding the performance of the forward broadcast link. This statistical information may be used to make adjustments in the transmission scheme for future transmissions as shown in block 32.)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising (see rejection for claim 1);
Kalhan further teaches determining the threshold percentage as indicating, with a threshold probability, that another threshold percentage of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel have recovered the data from the first number of the set of encoded symbols (Paragraph [0021]: In method 10, the rateless coding process is applied to each data file to generate a set of initial transmission symbols as shown in block 17. The number of initial symbols may be set according to the desired transmission coverage or transmission integrity. For example, the initial set of symbols may include enough transmission symbols so that about 95% of the mobile users will be able to decode the data blocks from the initial symbols only. In other examples, the number of initial symbols transmitted may be adjusted to accommodate stricter or more relaxed requirements. Further, the number of initial symbols per data block may be adapted dynamically according to transmission quality and feedback received from the mobile devices. Paragraph [0022]: The initial set of transmission symbols is transmitted or broadcast to all the mobile units. After a short delay, mobile units that did not receive a sufficient number of symbols respond with a NACK message. It will be appreciated that the network may start monitoring for these NACKs at any time, but will typically wait until after all initial symbols have been sent. In this way, mobile devices having received sufficient numbers of transmission symbols make no response, so therefore reverse link traffic is limited only to those mobile devices that failed to receive a sufficient number of transmission symbols in a first transmission time period. The NACK's response rate is monitored as shown in block 22. In this way, the number of NACKs per unit time is monitored, and is used to determine when additional transmission symbols should be broadcast. For example, once the NACK rate has reached a threshold point or increases at a certain rate, method 10 transmits additional transmission symbols as shown in block 19. These additional transmission symbols may be sent to all the mobile devices, or they may be sent to the subset responding with a NACK message. Paragraph [0032]: At a time 107 the network sends an initial set of transmission symbols, with the transmission symbols having been encoded using a rateless code process. The network takes a period of time to send the initial symbols, and completes sending the set of initial symbols at time 109. The number oT initial symbols has been selected such that most mobiles should be able to decode or reconstruct the data block with the symbols received during the initial send period.)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kalhan further teaches wherein the feedback is received from at least the portion of the set of UEs in a feedback period corresponding to transmission of the data (Paragraph [0022]: It will be appreciated that the network may start monitoring for these NACKs at any time, but will typically wait until after all initial symbols have been sent. In this way, mobile devices having received sufficient numbers of transmission symbols make no response, so therefore reverse link traffic is limited only to those mobile devices that failed to receive a sufficient number of transmission symbols in a first transmission time period. The NACK's response rate is monitored as shown in block 22. Paragraph [0028]: For each data block, base station 54 transmits an initial set of transmission symbols to all mobile units 57, 58, and 59. Upon receiving a data packet for a data block, a mobile unit opens up a time window, and receives transmission symbols during that time period. At the conclusion of the time period, the mobile unit determines if it has received sufficient transmission symbols to decode the data block. If it has not received sufficient symbols, the mobile unit responds with a NACK message to base station 54.)
Kalhan does not explicitly teach the feedback ACK.
However, Liu teaches the feedback ACK (Paragraph [0041]: In another policy, the M-BlockAckReq sender can stop retransmission attempts after it receives the M-BlockAcks corresponding to this M-BlockAckReq from a certain (predetermined) fraction of intended receivers/destinations/receiving stations. The fraction is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Paragraph [0042]: If one or more packets are not correctly received by one or more intended multicast receivers according to the bitmap of the receiver block acks, the multicast sender arranges the retransmission of this or these lost packets again. For example, the multicast sender stops the retransmission attempt of a data packet if the fraction of receivers that have correctly received this packet is greater than or equal to a threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the feedback ACK, as taught by Liu in the system of Kalhan, so that the ACKs received from the receivers can be used to determine the next step to be taken by the transmitter in the transmission process, and provide an efficient mechanism for reliable data transmission (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0041], [0042]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising (see rejection for claim 12);
Kalhan further teaches adjusting the feedback period based at least in part on determining a level of transmitter overhead based on a number of the set of encoded symbols as compared to a number of the set of source symbols (Paragraph [0021]: In method 10, the rateless coding process is applied to each data file to generate a set of initial transmission symbols as shown in block 17. The number of initial symbols may be set according to the desired transmission coverage or transmission integrity. For example, the initial set of symbols may include enough transmission symbols so that about 95% of the mobile users will be able to decode the data blocks from the initial symbols only. In other examples, the number of initial symbols transmitted may be adjusted to accommodate stricter or more relaxed requirements. Further, the number of initial symbols per data block may be adapted dynamically according to transmission quality and feedback received from the mobile devices. Paragraph [0025]: It will also be appreciated that the number of symbols in the initial symbol set may be adjusted according to communication quality. For example, if transmitting a particular number of initial symbols causes a very large NACK rate, the process may be adjusted to include more symbols in the initial symbol set. In a similar example, if the transmission of the initial set results in an extremely low NACK rate, then the number of symbols in the initial set may be reduced to try to reduce network traffic. Paragraph [0026]: Method 10 collects information regarding NACKs and NACK rate, which provides useful statistical information regarding the performance of the forward broadcast link. This statistical information may be used to make adjustments in the transmission scheme for future transmissions as shown in block 32. Paragraph [0030]: These K number of data symbols may be encoded using a rateless encoding scheme into rateless transmission symbols as shown in block 79. A set of initial symbols is sized to have N symbols as shown in block 82. The value of N is set so that a threshold number of wireless devices is likely to be able to decode the data block using only the initial symbols. The number 1010 will be selected according to expected transmission quality, as well as monitored NACK rates and information received from the mobile devices.)
Regarding claim 19, Kalhan teaches to: generate, for a set of source symbols representing data to be transmitted in a broadcast channel, a set of encoded symbols for transmitting in the broadcast channel; transmit a first number of the set of encoded symbols over the broadcast channel; receive, from at least a portion of a set of UEs and before transmitting additional symbols of the set of encoded symbols over the broadcast channel, feedback acknowledgement indicating whether the data is recovered from the first number of the set of encoded symbols; transmit, if feedback for the data is received from at least a threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, a new set of encoded symbols representing new data in the broadcast channel: and transmit, if feedback for the data is received from less than the threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, a second number of the set of encoded symbols over the broadcast channel (see rejection for claim 1);
Kalhan does not explicitly teach an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and operable, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to; feedback acknowledgement (ACK); feedback ACK from a threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs.
However, Liu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and operable, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to (Paragraph [0052]: It is to be understood that the present invention may be implemented in various forms of hardware, software, firmware, special purpose processors, or a combination thereof. Preferably, the present invention is implemented as a combination of hardware and software. Moreover, the software is preferably implemented as an application program tangibly embodied on a program storage device. The application program may be uploaded to, and executed by, a machine comprising any suitable architecture. Preferably, the machine is implemented on a computer platform having hardware such as one or more central processing units (CPU), a random access memory (RAM), and input/output (I/O) interface(s). The computer platform also includes an operating system and microinstruction code. The various processes and functions described herein may either be part of the microinstruction code or part of the application program (or a combination thereof), which is executed via the operating system.)
feedback acknowledgement (ACK); feedback ACK from a threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and operable, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to; feedback acknowledgement (ACK); feedback ACK from a threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, as taught by Liu in the system of Kalhan, so that the percentage or fraction of ACKs received from the receivers can be used to determine the next step to be taken by the transmitter in the transmission process, and provide an efficient mechanism for reliable data transmission (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0041], [0042]).
The combination of Kalhan and Liu does not explicitly teach selecting a randomly selected subset of a plurality of cell-edge UEs as a random selection from the cell-edge UEs, wherein the plurality of cell-edge UEs are a portion of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel; cell-edge UEs.
However, Christoffersson teaches selecting a randomly selected subset of a plurality of cell-edge UEs as a random selection from the cell-edge UEs, wherein the plurality of cell-edge UEs are a portion of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel; cell-edge UEs (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting a randomly selected subset of a plurality of cell-edge UEs as a random selection from the cell-edge UEs, wherein the plurality of cell-edge UEs are a portion of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel; cell-edge UEs, as taught by Christoffersson, in the combined system of Kalhan and Liu, in order to avoid unnecessary signaling overhead. Since cell-edge UEs have the worst connection quality, it is enough to select UEs that are close to the group border to report (Christoffersson: Paragraphs [0008], [0040], [0043], [0049]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 19);
Kalhan further teaches to receive, from at least an additional portion of the set of UEs and before transmitting additional symbols of the set of encoded symbols over the broadcast channel, the feedback indicating whether the data is recovered from the first number of the set of encoded symbols and the second number of the set of encoded symbols; transmit, if feedback for the data is received from at least the threshold percentage of a second randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, the new set of encoded symbols representing new data in the broadcast channel: and transmit, if feedback for the data is received from less than the threshold percentage of the second randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, a third number of the set of encoded symbols over the broadcast channel (see rejection for claim 2)
Kalhan does not explicitly teach feedback ACK; feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of a randomly selected subset of the set of UEs.
However, Liu teaches feedback ACK; feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of a randomly selected subset of the set of UEs (see rejection for claim 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide feedback ACK; feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of a randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, as taught by Liu in the system of Kalhan, so that the percentage or fraction of ACKs received from the receivers can be used to determine the next step to be taken by the transmitter in the transmission process, and provide an efficient mechanism for reliable data transmission (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0041], [0042]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 20);
Kalhan further teaches to determine based on determining that a first symbol of the second number of the set of encoded symbols is at least a period number of symbols from a last symbol of the first number of the set of encoded symbols, whether feedback for the data is received from at least the threshold percentage of the second randomly selected subset of the set of UEs (see rejection for claim 3);
Kalhan does not explicitly teach feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs.
However, Liu teaches feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs (see rejection for claim 3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide feedback ACK from the threshold percentage of the randomly selected subset of the set of UEs, as taught by Liu in the system of Kalhan, so that the percentage or fraction of ACKs received from the receivers can be used to determine the next step to be taken by the transmitter in the transmission process, and provide an efficient mechanism for reliable data transmission (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0041], [0042]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 19);
Kalhan further teaches to determine the first number of the set of encoded symbols based on a parameter value that represents receiving the set of source symbols with a threshold probability (see rejection for claim 6).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 19);
Kalhan further teaches to determine the first number of the set of encoded symbols based on a parameter value obtained as a function of historical transmitter overhead (see rejection for claim 7).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 19);
Kalhan further teaches to determine the threshold percentage as indicating, with a threshold probability, that another threshold percentage of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel have recovered the data from the first number of the set of encoded symbols (see rejection for claim 9);
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 19);
Kalhan further teaches to receive the feedback from at least the portion of the set of UEs in a feedback period corresponding to transmission of the data (see rejection for claim 12);
Kalhan does not explicitly teach the feedback ACK.
However, Liu teaches the feedback ACK (see rejection for claim 12);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the feedback ACK, as taught by Liu in the system of Kalhan, so that the ACKs received from the receivers can be used to determine the next step to be taken by the transmitter in the transmission process, and provide an efficient mechanism for reliable data transmission (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0041], [0042]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 30);
Kalhan further teaches to adjust the feedback period based at least in part on determining a level of transmitter overhead based on a number of the set of encoded symbols as compared to a number of the set of source symbols (see rejection for claim 13).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalhan et al. (US2007/0223620A1), in view of Liu et al. (US2011/0116435A1) and Christoffersson et al. (US20190312684A1), and further in view of Sheikh et al. (US2011/0244853A1).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of the combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson does not explicitly teach comparing signal measurement reports from at least a portion of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel to a threshold to determine the cell-edge UEs.
However, Sheikh teaches comparing signal measurement reports from at least a portion of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel to a threshold to determine the cell-edge UEs (Paragraph [0008]: Determining a number of UEs that are located near a cell edge of the base station preferably further comprises determining a number of UEs that are located near a cell edge of the base station based on the signal strengths of the downlink signals reported by the plurality of UEs. The method preferably further comprises calculating an average signal strength value of the signal strengths of the downlink signals reported by the UEs located near the cell edge. Paragraph [0029]: The UEs 201 a-201 e collect and report data on several metrics that are used to provide a measure of current cell coverage and performance (step 310). The metrics are analyzed in a control unit such as the master control unit 90, the RICC 96, or the server 97 to determine the average number or percentage of UEs which are located at a cell edge 201 d (“Nce”) of the base station 10 based on the strength of the downlink signals (step 315). UEs such as UE 201 d shown in FIG. 2A having a downlink signal strength below a predefined threshold SRX — threshold are classified as being located at a cell edge.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide comparing signal measurement reports from at least a portion of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel to a threshold to determine the cell-edge UEs, as taught by Sheikh in the combined system of Kalhan, Liu, and Christoffersson, so that the signal strength reported by the UEs can be used to determine if they are cell edge UEs, and accordingly, the base station can take steps to improve downlink transmission power/rates (Sheikh: Paragraphs [0008], [0029]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 09, 2025 with respect to claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 19-21, 24, 25, 27, 30, and 31 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kalhan et al. (US2007/0223620A1), in view of Liu et al. (US2011/0116435A1); claims 11 and 29 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kalhan in view of Liu, and further in view of Morimoto et al. (US2010/0128650) have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that Kalhan, Liu, and Morimoto, when taken alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest "selecting a randomly selected subset of a plurality of cell-edge UEs as a random selection from the cell-edge UEs, wherein the plurality of cell-edge UEs are a portion of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel,” as recited in part in amended independent claim 1, and also in amended independent claim 19 which recites similar features. However, Christoffersson teaches "selecting a randomly selected subset of a plurality of cell-edge UEs as a random selection from the cell-edge UEs, wherein the plurality of cell-edge UEs are a portion of all UEs receiving the broadcast channel.” Christoffersson teaches that UEs at a cell edge may not be always able to decode messages received from the network node. A subset of UEs are selected to report the acknowledgements of ongoing transmissions and statistics of recent transmissions received from the network node. The network node selects a subset of UEs to receive feedback from them to control the success rate of the transmissions. The network node selects the cell-edge UEs to provide this feedback in order to avoid unnecessary signaling overhead. Since cell-edge UEs have the worst connection quality, it is enough to select UEs that are close to the cell-edge to report feedback of the received ongoing transmissions.
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461