DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response, filed 2 July 2026, has been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Status
2. Claims 1-9, 12-14 and 17 are currently pending and under exam herein.
Claims 10-11, 15-16 and 18-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1-9, 12-14 and 17 are rejected.
Priority
3. 371 National Stage entry from PCT application PCT/CN2021/132559 is acknowledged. Therefore, in this action all claims (claims 1-20) are examined as though they had an effective filing date of 11/23/2021. In future actions, the effective filing date of one or more claims may change, due to amendments to the claims, or further analysis of the disclosure(s) of the priority application(s).
Drawings
4. The objection to the drawings is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the drawings filed 02 July 2026.
Specification
5. The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the drawings filed 02 July 2026.
Claim Objections
6. The objections to claims 3 and 14 are withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claim amendments filed 02 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. The rejection of claims 5 and 8-9 under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claim amendments filed 02 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejection of claims 10-11, 15-16 and 17-20 under 35 USC 101 are withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claim amendments filed 02 July 2026.
8. Claims 1-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A, Prong 1
In accordance with MPEP § 2106, claims found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES) are then analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1). In the instant application, the claims recite the following limitations that equate to an abstract idea:
Claim 1 recites denoising the input Hi-C matrix to obtain a balanced distance matrix
Claim 1 recites denoising the balanced distance matrix to obtain a denoised distance matrix
Claim 1 recites sorting and ranking the denoised distance matrix to obtain a ranked distance matrix
Claim 1 recites calculating an adjacency matrix based on the ranked matrix
Claim 1 recites calculating Laplacian eigenmaps of the adjacency matrix
Claim 1 recites wherein the enhanced Hi-C matrix has a resolution such that in a range of 50 to 500 neighbor loci are observable for each locus
Claim 1 recites identifying a structural chromatin aberration from the enhanced Hi-C matrix
Claim 1 recites identifying at least one locus associated with the structural chromatin aberration
Claim 2 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the input Hi-C matrix is a raw-data Hi-C matrix
Claim 3 recites the method of claim 1 wherein the input Hi-C matrix is a normalized Hi-C matrix generated by at least one of sequential component normalization (SCN), HiCNorm, Iterative correction and eigenvector decomposition (ICE), Knight-Ruiz (KR), chromoR, and multiHiCcompare
Claim 4 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the step of denoising the Hi-C matrix to obtain the balanced distance matrix includes employing a Diffusion State Distance algorithm
Claim 5 recites the method of claim 1 normalizing the Hi-C matrix by dividing each row of the matrix with respective row sums, where the summation over each row of the matrix is equal to 1
Claim 5 recites iteratively calculating a multiple power of the normalized matrix to obtain a converged matrix
Claim 5 recites calculating a matrix M according to formula (I) recites M = (I-P+D) – 1 (I) where I is an identity matrix, P is the normalized matrix, and D is the converged matrix; and regarding each row of matrix M as a coordinate vector
Claim 5 recites calculating a pairwise distance of each row to obtain a balanced distance matrix
Claim 6 recites the method of claim 1 implementing eigenvector decomposition on the balanced distance matrix
Claim 7 recites ordering (sorting) each row of the denoised distance matrix from smallest to largest and replacing each element by its rank to get a ranked distance matrix
Claim 7 recites symmetrizing the ranked distance matrix according to formula (II) to obtain ranked matrix Rank: Rank = (R+RT)/2 (II) where R is the ranked distance matrix and RT is the transpose of R
Claim 8 recites the method of claim 1 wherein the adjacency matrix is calculated according to formula (III): Adj = e-Rank/a (III) where a is a positive number
Claim 9 recites calculating a normalized adjacency matrix N according to formula (IV) recites Lap = D-1/2AdjD-1/2 (IV) where D is a diagonal matrix, each diagonal element being the summation of a corresponding row
Claim 9 recites performing eigenvector decomposition on the normalized adjacency matrix N
Claim 9 recites retaining a second eigenvalue and a third eigenvalue and a corresponding eigenvector
Claim 12 recites generating an enhanced Hi-C matrix according to the method of claim 1 for each of the target cells and the normal cells
Claim 12 recites analyzing the enhanced Hi-C matrices to identify a structural chromatin aberration in the target cells
Claim 13 recites identifying at least one locus associated with the structural chromatin aberration in the target cells
Claim 14 recites wherein at least one locus is selected from the group consisting of SPAG9, TOB1, and UTP18
The limitations directed to ‘calculating Laplacian eigenmaps’, ‘employing a diffusion state distribution algorithm’, ‘normalizing a matrix’, ‘iteratively calculating a multiple power of a matrix’, ‘calculating a matrix according to (I-P+D)-1’, ‘calculating a pairwise distance’, ‘implementing eigenvector decomposition’, ‘symmetrizing a matrix’, ‘calculating an adjacency matrix’, ‘calculating a normalized adjacency matrix N’ and ‘performing eigenvector decomposition’ are verbal equivalents that describe a mathematical calculation that is performed as the limitation and are so simple that they could be performed with pen and paper. Therefore, these limitations fall under the "Mathematical concepts" and "Mental processes" groupings of abstract ideas.
The remaining limitations for sorting and ranking a matrix, ‘ordering each row of a matrix’, ‘analyzing the matrix’, ‘identifying structural aberrations’, ‘identifying a locus’, ‘retaining the second or third eigenvalue’, ‘relating structural chromatin aberration to a medical condition’, ‘selecting a disease’, ‘identifying a structural chromatin aberration from the enhanced Hi-C matrix’ and ‘identifying at least one locus associated with the structural chromatin aberration’ recite data analysis steps that can be practically performed in the human mind because the human mind is capable of identifying relevant information, comparing values, and determining information from other values.
Limitations in claim 1 directed to limiting the resolution of the Hi-C matrix and limitations of claims 2 and 3 directed to limiting the starting matrix and the limitation in claim 14 further limiting the selected genomic locus further limit the mental process/mathematical concepts recited in the independent claim but do not change their nature as a mental processes and mathematical concepts.
As such, claims 1-9 and 12-14 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 1: YES).
Step 2A, Prong 2
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite an additional element that reflects an improvement to technology or applies or uses the recited judicial exception in some other meaningful way. Rather, the instant claims recite additional elements that amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a generic computing environment or insignificant extra-solution activity. Specifically, the claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 1 recites providing an input Hi-C matrix from a biological sample of a subject
Claim 12 recites providing target cells and normal cells
The limitations for providing an input Hi-C matrix and for providing target and control cells merely serve to gather data that is used as input for the judicial exception. Therefore, this limitation is mere data gathering activity. As set forth in MPEP 2106.05(g), mere data gathering activity has been identified by the courts as insignificant extra-solution activity that does not provide a practical application.
The above recited additional elements do not provide a practical application of the recited judicial exception. As such, claims 1-9 and 12-14 are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 2: NO).
Step 2B
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements that equate to mere instructions to apply the recited exception in a generic computing environment or well-understood, and conventional activity.
The additional elements that amount to data gathering do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. These data gathering element are routine, well understood and conventional as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP 2106.05(d) including determining the level of a biomarker in blood by any means (Mayo Collaborative servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968), detecting DNA in a sample (Sequenom, 788 F.3d at 1377-78, 115 USPQ2d at 1157); Cleveland Clinic Foundation 859 F.3d at 1362, 123 USPQ2d at 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017); analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546 and Using polymerase chain reaction to amplify and detect DNA, Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Ariosa Diagnostics, Inc. v. Sequenom, Inc., 788 F.3d 1371, 1377, 115 USPQ2d 1152, 1157 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
The additional elements do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: No). As such, claims 1-9 and 12-14 are not patent eligible.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 17, applicants arguments filed 02 July 2026 have been fully considered and were persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-9 and 12-14, arguments filed 02 July 2026 have been fully considered and were not persuasive.
Argument 1: regarding Step 2A prong 1, the claims are not directed to the judicial exception
Applicant asserts that because the preamble states that the method is for “detecting chromatin aberrations indicative of a medical condition”, the claims are not directed to the patent ineligible concept (i.e. the judicial exception) (citing the Alice test) (see response to OA p. 9, para.6 – p. 10, para. 2).
Response to argument: This argument is not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in a claim. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation in claim 1 is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
In addition, Step 2A, Prong 1 does not determine whether the claims are directed to a judicial exception but rather determines whether the claims recite a judicial exception. Regardless of the weight of the preamble, it does not negate the fact that the claim recites limitations that recite a judicial exception. Whether or not the claim is directed to the judicial exception or not is determined at Step 2A, Prong 2.
Argument 2: regarding Step 2A prong 2, the claims provide a specific improvement to technology
The applicant asserts that the mathematical operations used in the Hi-C Chromatin analysis method disclosed are not generic and together address low signal-to-noise ratio and low resolution. They provide a specific improvement to the technology of Hi-C chromatin analysis enabling detection of chromatin aberrations at resolutions not previously achieved (see response to OA p. 10, para. 2 – p. 10, para. 2-3).
Response to argument: This argument is not persuasive because as set forth in MPEP 2106.05(a), the judicial exception alone cannot provide the technological improvement. The applicant did not provide an argument or explanation as to how the improvement is provided by the additional elements, either alone or in combination with the judicial exception.
Argument 3: regarding Step 2A prong 2, the additional elements integrate the judicial exception into a practical application
The applicant asserts that the amended limitations in claim 1 (i.e. the generating an enhanced Hi-C with a high resolution, the identifying a structural chromatin aberration and a locus associated with the aberration) transforms the math into a practical application. The applicant further asserts that the limitations of claim 12-14, which add specific limitations to samples, medical conditions and loci further transform the math into a practical application (see response to OA p. 10, para. 4 – p. 11, para. 3).
Response to argument: This argument is not persuasive because these added limitations to claim 1 and limitations of claims 12-14 were identified as judicial exceptions (or limitations to judicial exceptions that do not change their position as judicial exceptions). As set forth in MPEP 2106.05(a), the judicial exception alone cannot provide the technological improvement. For the indicated claims to be patent eligible, the practical application would need to be provided by the additional elements (i.e. the data gathering activities), either alone or in combination with the judicial exception.
Argument 4: regarding Step 2B, the additional elements integrate the judicial exception into a practical application
Applicant asserts that when taken as an ordered combination, the claims are meaningful and amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception (see response to OA p. 12, para. 1-3).
Response to argument: The argument is not persuasive because the additional elements (providing an input Hi-C matrix from biological samples and providing target cells) were analyzed and determined to insignificant extra solution activities that were well-understood, routine and conventional, and thus do not amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of Claims 1-2 and 4-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (BioRxiv preprint, p. 1-8, 2018, previously cited) in view of Wang et al., (Nature communications, 9:3108 p. 1-8, 2018 on IDS filed 01/03/2024, previously cited), Imakaev et al. (Nature Methods, Vol 9, No. 10 p. 999-1007, 2012 on IDS filed 01/03/24, previously cited), Zhang et al. (NeuroImage, vol. 156, p. 128-145, 2017, previously cited) and Sun et al. (Proceedings of the 5th (ICPRAM), p. 162-169, 2016) as evidenced by Cao et al. (Plos One, Vol. 8, Issue 10, p. 1-12; on IDS filed 06/12/2024, previously cited) is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed 02 July 2026.
The rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (BioRxiv preprint, p. 1-8, 2018, previously cited) in view of Wang et al., (Nature communications, 9:3108 p. 1-8, 2018; on IDS filed 01/03/2024, previously cited), Imakaev et al. (Nature Methods, Vol 9, No. 10 p. 999-1007, 2012, previously cited), Zhang et al. (NeuroImage, vol. 156, p. 128-145, 2017; on IDS filed 01/03/2024, previously cited) and Sun et al. (Proceedings of the 5th (ICPRAM), p. 162-169, 2016, previously cited), as evidenced by Cao et al. (Plos One, Vol. 8, Issue 10, p. 1-12; on IDS filed 06/12/2024, previously cited) as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-9 above, and further in view of Rao et al. (Cell, vol. 159, p. 1665-1680, 2014, previously cited) is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed 02 July 2026.
The rejection of claims 12-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (BioRxiv preprint, p. 1-8, 2018, previously cited), in view of Wang et al., (Nature communications, 9:3108 p. 1-8, 2018; on IDS filed 01/03/2024, previously cited), Imakaev et al. (Nature Methods, Vol 9, No. 10 p. 999-1007, 2012; on IDS filed 01/03/2024, previously cited), Zhang et al. (NeuroImage, vol. 156, p. 128-145, 2017, previously cited) and Sun et al. (Proceedings of the 5th (ICPRAM), p. 162-169, 2016, previously cited), as evidenced by Cao et al. (Plos One, Vol. 8, Issue 10, p. 1-12; on IDS filed 06/12/2024, previously cited), as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-9 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (BMC Medical Genomics vol. 13 issue 69, p. 1-18, 2020, previously cited) is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed 02 July 2026.
The rejection of claim 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (BioRxiv preprint, p. 1-8, 2018, previously cited), in view of Wang et al., (Nature communications, 9:3108 p. 1-8, 2018; on IDS filed 01/03/2024, previously cited), Imakaev et al. (Nature Methods, Vol 9, No. 10 p. 999-1007, 2012; on IDS filed 01/03/2024, previously cited), Zhang et al. (NeuroImage, vol. 156, p. 128-145, 2017, previously cited and Sun et al. (Proceedings of the 5th (ICPRAM), p. 162-169, 2016, previously cited), as evidenced by Cao et al. (Plos One, Vol. 8, Issue 10, p. 1-12; on IDS filed 06/12/2024, previously cited), in view of Lin et al. (BMC Medical Genomics vol. 13 issue 69, p. 1-18, 2020, previously cited), as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-16 above, and further in view Kim et al. (Nature communications, Vol. 7, issue 12991, p 1-17, 2016, previously cited) is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed 02 July 2026.
9. Claims 1-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Lin et al. (BMC Medical Genomics vol. 13 issue 69, p. 1-18, 2020, previously cited), in view of Wang et al., (Nature communications, 9:3108 p. 1-8, 2018 on IDS filed 01/03/2024, previously cited), as evidenced by Cao et al. (Plos One, Vol. 8, Issue 10, p. 1-12; on IDS filed 06/12/2024, previously cited) and Rao et al. (Cell, vol. 159, p. 1665-1680, 2014, previously cited), in view of Dokmanic et al. (IEEE SIGNAL PROCESSING MAGAZINE, November 2015, p. 12-30, newly cited), in view of Sun et al. (Proceedings of the 5th (ICPRAM), p. 162-169, 2016, previously cited) and further in view of Liu et al. (BioRxiv preprint, p. 1-8, 2018, previously cited). The italicized text corresponds to the instant claim limitations. This rejection is newly recited and necessitated by the claim amendments.
Regarding claim 1, Lin et al. disclose that In silico analysis was conducted using genomic and transcriptomic data of TCGA breast invasive carcinoma cohort downloaded from cBioPortal and that total of 1014 primary tumor samples of ERα-positive and -negative types were available with both mRNA-seq gene expression and copy number data, and 96 adjacent normal tissue samples with gene expression data. (p. 2, col. 2, para. 2; providing an input Hi-C matrix from a biological sample of a subject).
Regarding claim 1, Lin et al. discloses using Hi-C analysis to identify five adjoining regions from 17q11.1 to 17q24.1 as hotspots of chromothripsis (an event of genomic instability leading to complex chromosomal alterations in cancer) and that the event was linked to upregulation of 96 loci that predominantly regulate cell-cycle machineries in advance of luminal tumors. Lin et al. further teaches that one of these loci was tousled like kinase 2 (TLK2) known to participate in DNA damage checkpoint control and known to be an actionable target of phenothiazine antipsychotics (PTZs). Lin et al. further discloses that the antiproliferative effect of PTZs was prominent in high TLK2-expressing cells, compared to low expressing cells (p. 7, Fig. 2; p. 8, legend of Fig. 2; abstract; identifying a structural chromatin aberration from the enhanced Hiu-C matrix; and identifying at least one locus associated with the structural chromatin aberration in the target cells).
Regarding claim 1, Lin et al. is silent to denoising the input Hi-C matrix to obtain a balanced distance matrix, but this limitation was known in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, as taught by Wang et al.
Pertaining to claim 1, Wang et al. teaches methods for generating enhanced Hi-C matrices by using either ‘network enhancement’ or ‘diffusion state distance algorithms’ to denoise an input Hi-C matrix and the result is a symmetric, positive semi-definite, doubly stochastic matrix. Wang et al. further discloses denoising weighted biological networks including Hi-C data and its method involves conversion/normalization into a symmetric doubly stochastic matrix (i.e. a balanced matrix because its rows and columns have normalized equal sums) (p. 3, col. 2 para. 2 – p. 5, col. 1, para. 1, p. 7, col. 1, para. 1; denoising the input Hi-C matrix to obtain a balanced distance matrix).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses using the 1 kb and 5 kb in situ Hi-C data from Rao et al. as raw data to apply their approach to make an enhanced Hi-C matrix. As evidenced by Rao et al., for their Hi-C contact matrices with resolutions of 5 kb and 1 kb, each matrix locus corresponds to a genomic bin and matrix entries represent contacts between respective loci. For a 5-kb matrix, 50 neighboring loci corresponds to 250 kb (i.e. 5 kb x 50) and 500 neighboring loci corresponds to 2.5 Mb (i.e. 5 kb x 500); therefore, at the disclosed 5-kb resolution, a genomic interval of 250 kb-2.5 Mb comprises 50-500 neighboring loci. Rao et al. further analyzes local chromatin interactions within this scale, including loops predominantly < 2 Mb between nearby loci. Given this resolution disclosed by Rao et al., the method of Wang et al. has the same resolution because it uses Rao et al. data as input and network enhancement does not re-bin the matrix. Wang et al. discloses NE takes a weighted network and produces a network on the same set of nodes with new edge weights (Rao et al., p. 5, para. 2; p. 9, para. 1; Wang et al. Fig. 3a; p. 3, col. 2, para. 4; p. 2, col. 2, para. 2; wherein a resolution of the enhanced Hi-C matrix is such that in a range of 50 to 500 neighbor loci are observable for each loci).
An invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Wang et al. taught that the challenge of noisy interaction measurements plagues Hi-C data. Wang et al. further taught that denoising Hi-C data enhances edges within each community and sharper boundaries between communities. (p. 2, col. 1, para. 1; p. 4, col. 1, para. 1). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the denoising taught by Wang et al. to the Hi-C analysis method taught by Lin et al. in order to enhance edges and sharpen boundaries between communities. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would predict that data transformation and denoising steps taught by Wang et al. could be readily added to the method of Lin et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because both methods pertain to identifying genomic interactions from HI-C data. The invention is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 1, Lin et al. and Wang et al. are silent to further denoising the balanced distance matrix to obtain a denoised distance matrix. However, this limitation was known in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention as taught by Dokmanic et al.
Regarding claim 1, Dokmanic et al. teaches eigenvalue decomposition (EVD) properties of a symmetric matrix commonly involve noisy distances and algorithms can correct this. Dokmanic et al. further discloses multidimensional scaling (MDS) as a technique that take noisy distances and finds the best-fitting point configuration. Dokmanic et al. teaches Algorithm 1, which is a MDS approach that performs EVD on the centered gram matrix derived from the distance matrix that can handle noisy distances as it discards all but the d largest eigenvalues (p. 12, col. 1, para. 1; p. 12, col. 2, para. 4; p. 20, col. 1, para. 1; p. 16, col. 2, para. 2; p. 16, col. 2, Algorithm 1; denoising the balanced distance matrix to obtain a denoised distance matrix).
An invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Dokmanic et al. taught that their method for overcoming noise in Euclidian distance matrices is particularly relevant to those relating to molecular interactions. Dokmanic et al. discloses that with respect to analysis of molecular interactions, they aim to estimate the locations of the atoms in a molecule from their pairwise distances. Here, because of the inherent measurement uncertainty, we know the distances only up to an interval (Fig. 1b). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the transformation and denoising taught by Dokmanic et al. after the denoising steps taught by Lin et al. and Wang et al. in order to further reduce noise in the data. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would predict that data denoising taught by Dokmanic et al. could be readily added to the system of Lin et al. and Wang et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because the denoising was taught generally for many different types of Euclidian distance matrices relating to various applications including those pertaining to analyzing molecular interactions in which there is inherent measurement uncertainty, so we only know the distances up to an interval (Fig. 1b). The invention is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al, Wang et al. and Dokmanic et al. are silent to sorting and ranking the denoised distance matrix to obtain a ranked distance matrix, but this limitation was known in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, as taught by Sun et al.
Regarding claim 1, Sun et al. discloses that before non-linear dimension reduction (using algorithms such as Laplacian eigenmaps), similarity measures can be explicitly built from rank relationships rather than absolute distances. Rank-order distance can be used to measure the similarity according to the neighborhood information. The rank-order distance computed by 1) computing neighbor lists of each datapoint using Euclidian distance, 2) calculating the asymmetric Rank-order distance between pairs of datapoints and 3) calculating a final Rank-order distance to further normalize and symmetrize the distance calculated in step 2. (abstract, p. 163, sect. 2 (rank-order distance) and eq. 2; sorting and ranking the denoised distance matrix to obtain a ranked distance matrix).
An invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Sun et al. disclosed that applying sorting and ranking by “rank-order” distance instead of the traditional Euclidian distance measure to the problem of non-linear dimension reduction improves the clustering of high dimensional data in data visualization (i.e. provides better nearest-neighbor candidates and better preserves local manifold structure) (p. 163, col. 2, para. 1; abstract). Sun et al. further discloses that dimension reduction transforms high-dimensional data into a more compact and meaningfully expression in low dimensional space, and thus reducing the computational cost and facilitating the visualization of the data structure (p. 162, col. 1, para. 1). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the rank-order distance taught by Sun et al. to the enhanced Hi-C analysis method taught by Lin et al., Wang et al. and Dokmanic et al. in order to improve the clustering of high dimensional data and effectively improve the process of dimension reduction and reduce computational cost. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would predict that the rank-based distance calculation methods taught by Sun et al. could be readily added to the system of Lin et al., Wang et al. and Dokmanic et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because as disclosed by Sun et al., dimension reduction is widely used in data compression, machine learning, pattern recognition and data visualization applications (p. 162, col. 1, para. 162) and it is developed to be applied to high-dimensional distance data used in the method taught by Lin et al., Wang et al. and Dokmanic et al. The invention is therefore prima facie obvious.
As to claim 1, Lin et al., Wang et al., Dokmanic et al. and Sun et al. are silent to calculating an adjacency matrix based on the ranked matrix; and calculating Laplacian eigenmaps of the adjacency matrix to obtain an enhanced Hi-C matrix. However, this limitation was known in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention as taught by Liu et al.
As to claim 1, Liu et al. discloses constructing a neighborhood graph (adjacency matrix) in which every node is linked with its p nearest neighbors. The edge weight is computed using the heat kernel function, leading to a sparse adjacency matrix (p. 8, col. 2, Section ‘Dimension Reduction: Laplacian Eigenmaps’, calculating an adjacency matrix based on the ranked matrix).
As to claim 1, Liu et al. discloses applying Laplacian eigenmaps, a nonlinear dimensionality reduction technique, to find the low-dimensional representation of Hi-C data. The steps include constructing a neighborhood graph of nodes and edges as described above, followed by computing the eigenvectors by solving the generalized eigenvalue problem to find the eigenvectors corresponding to the smallest non-zero eigenvalues. These eigenvectors are used as the new coordinates for the low-dimensional representation (p. 2, section 3.1 ‘Network representation’, p. 8, section: ’Dimension Reduction: Laplacian Eigenmap’; calculating Laplacian eigenmaps of the adjacency matrix to obtain an enhanced Hi-C matrix).
An invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Liu et al. discloses using dimensionality-reduction to find the intrinsic low-dimensional manifold embedded in the form-function feature matrices and that Laplacian eigenmap is a non-linear dimensionality reduction technique suitable for analysis of Hi-C data to find a low-dimensional data representation by preserving local properties of the underlying manifold. Liu et al. further discloses that the linear dimensionality reduction technique, principal component analysis (PCA), is also applicable but it cannot adequately handle the nonlinearity embedded in the dataset (p. 4, col. 1, para. 3; p. 8, col. 2, para. 36). Furthermore, Liu et al. demonstrate successful use of the method to characterize structure function relationships in four dimensions in a human nucleome (abstract). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduced dimension using Laplacian Eigenmaps taught by Liu et al. to the enhanced Hi-C analysis method taught by Lin et al., Wang et al., Dokmanic et al. and Sun et al. in order to preserve local properties by adequately considering non-linearity while reducing dimensionality in Hi-C data. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would predict that dimensionality reduction taught by Liu et al. could be readily added to the system of Lin et al., Wang et al., Dokmanic et al. and Sun et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because they both pertain to analysis of Hi-C data Furthermore, the method of Sun et al. to generate the adjacency matrix is compatible with non-linear dimension reduction methods used in the system of Liu et al. such as Laplacian eigenmaps (Sun et al., p. 1, para. 2). The invention is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation directed to wherein the input Hi-C matrix is a raw-data Hi-C matrix is interpreted to mean that the matrix normalization is performed within the denoising step rather than before this step (as disclosed in para. 0036 of the specification of the instant application). According to the specification para. 0036, this could include for example, normalizing the Hi-C matrix by dividing each row of the matrix with respective row sums, where the summation over each row of the matrix is equal to 1 to obtain a normalized matrix. The specification presents the alternative to this step as obtaining Hi-C matrix that is already normalized by standard methods known in the art. There is no disclosure in the specification for using a raw (i.e. unnormalized Hi-C matrix) as input into denoising without a normalization step such as the example described in para. 0036.
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. discloses using data normalized by SQRTVC as input into their denoising step to obtain a balanced distance matrix. As evidenced by Rao et al., this normalization involves for each element Mij in the raw Hi-C contact matrix, dividing by the square root of the sum of its row and then by the square root of the sum of its column (
M
i
j
'
=
M
i
j
r
o
w
s
u
m
i
×
c
o
l
s
u
m
j
). As further evidenced by Rao et al., for symmetric (typically intrachromosomal) matrices, this scaling produces a matrix whose row and column sums are approximately equal but with less aggressive correction of low-coverage regions than without the square root step. This disclosed method of Wang et al. is very similar to the example in the specification in that it is a simple normalization that involves dividing each row of the matrix with a normalization factor based on row sums. VC normalization is very simple to implement, can be calculated quickly, and is highly robust, even in the setting of extremely sparse data (Rao et al., p. S39, para. 6- p. S40, para. 2; Wang et al. Supplemental data p. 5, para. 5; wherein the input Hi-C matrix is a raw-data Hi-C matrix)
This “square root vanilla coverage” pre-normalization method used by Wang et al. is very similar to the example method disclosed in the specification that is performed withing the denoising step of the instant application (specification para. 0036). The difference is that Wang et al. uses data that is pre-normalized as input rather than using raw data as input and the performing normalization as part of the denoising step (i.e. the data was received pre-normalized instead of performing the normalization after receiving the data as part of the denoising process). One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted performing the normalization with the denoising step rather than pre-normalizing the data with predictable results because they are the same steps just organized differently (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Regarding claim 3, Rao et al. discloses that KR normalization of Hi-C data was implemented in Java and incorporated into their Hi-C data analysis pipeline. However, Rao et al. provided their data as both KR normalized and SQRTVC normalized versions, and Wang et al. chose to use the SQRTVC normalized data as input into their denoising to obtain a balanced distance matrix. However, Wang et al. could have simply substituted the KR normalized data for the SQRTVC normalized data from Rao et al. in their method because Rao et al. made both normalized datasets available. The substitution would have predictable results as Rao et al. disclose that KR normalization results in a balanced matrix as long as the original matrix is not too sparce and sparseness is handled by throwing out the sparsest rows and rerunning the algorithm. Rao et al. further disclose that because the KR algorithm is so fast and numerically stable, it makes it possible to reliably balance Hi-C contact matrices at extremely high matrix resolutions (Rao et al. p. S40, para.7-8 ; Wang et al. Supplemental data p. 5, para. 5; wherein the input Hi-C matrix is a normalized Hi-C matrix generated by at least one of SCN, HiCNorm, ICE, KR, chromoR, and multiHiCcompare).
With respect to claim 4, Wang et al. teaches methods for generating enhanced Hi-C matrices by using ‘diffusion state distance algorithms’ to denoise the input Hi-C matrix (p. 3, col. 2 para. 2 – p. 5, col. 1 , wherein the step of denoising the Hi-C matrix to obtain the balanced distance matrix includes employing a Diffusion State Distance algorithm).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. discloses using Diffusion State Distance (DSD) algorithm to denoise Hi-C data to obtain a balance distance matrix, wherein the Hi-C matrix is normalized, a multiple power of the normalized matrix is iteratively calculated to obtain a converged matrix, and a matrix M and balanced distance matrix is calculated. Wang et al. discloses that these steps are performed by the method of Cao et al. (Wang et al. p. 3, para. 2). Therefore, the approach is evidenced by Cao et al. as described below:
Cao et al. discloses obtaining a row normalized probability matrix P, wherein the summation over each row of the matrix is equal to 1 to obtain a normalized matrix (p. 8, col. 1, p. 8, col. 2, para. 2-3 (Lemma 2 proof, lemma 1 proof; normalizing the Hi-C matrix by dividing each row of the matrix with respective row sums, where the summation over each row of the matrix is equal to 1 to obtain a normalized matrix).
Cao et al. discloses calculating multiple powers of the probability matrix P until they converge to W (the constant (converged) matrix) (p. 9, col. 1, equation 6; iteratively calculating a multiple power of the normalized matrix to obtain a converged matrix).
Cao et al. discloses calculating a Matrix according to the formula (I-P+W)-1 , where I is the identity matrix, P is the normalized probability matrix and W is the constant (converged) matrix (p. 9 col. 1, para. 4 (lemma 3); calculating a matrix M according to formula (I): M = (I-P+D)-1 where I is an identity matrix, P is the normalized matrix, and D is the converged matrix; and regarding each row of matrix M as a coordinate vector).
Cao et al., discloses calculating L1 norm of ‘He’ vectors u and v to obtain a symmetric (balanced) distance matrix (where He vectors are random walk distances between two points) (p. 8, col. 2, para. 2-4; calculating a pairwise distance of each row to obtain a balanced distance matrix).
Regarding claim 6, Dokmanic et al. discloses multidimensional scaling (MDS) refers to a group of eigenvector decomposition (EVD) techniques that, given a set of noisy distances, find the best fitting point conformation. The classical multidimensional scaling (MDS) algorithm with the geometric centering matrix is spelled out in Algorithm 1, which can handle noisy distances too as it discards all but the d largest eigenvalues. Dokmanic et al. further discloses that this can be applied to calculating pairwise distances in molecular confirmation problems where there is inherent measurement uncertainty, so distance is only known up to an interval (p. 20, col. 1, para. 1; p. 16, col. 2, para. 2; p. 18, col. 1, bullet point 1; p. 16, col. 2, Algorithm 1; Fig. 1; the method for generating a normalized a Hi-C matrix according to claim 1, wherein the step of denoising the balanced distance matrix to obtain the denoised distance matrix includes implementing eigenvector decomposition on the balanced distance matrix and retaining vectors corresponding to the highest eigenvalues).
Regarding claim 7, Sun et al. discloses that before non-linear dimension reduction (using algorithms such as Laplacian eigenmaps), similarity measures can be explicitly built from rank relationships rather than absolute distances. Rank-order distance can be used to measure the similarity according to the neighborhood information. Specifically, Sun et al. teaches calculating the distance between two samples ‘a’ and ‘b’ by computing the ranking of neighbors of ‘a’ and the ranking of neighbors of ‘b’. Instead of using absolute distances, they use relative ordering information to create a rank-based similarity measure (RD) (as shown in Figure 1 of this office action), which is then used to build a graph. This method is based on the consideration that two datapoints of the same type usually have similar neighborhood structure, while the data points of different types usually have dissimilar neighbors. The rank-order distance computed by 1) computing neighbor lists of each datapoint using
Euclidian distance, 2) calculating the asymmetric Rank-order distance between two datapoints a and b (D(a,b)) and 3) calculating a final Rank-order [AltContent: textbox (Figure 1. Calculation of rank order distance (RD) by the method of Sun et al. The numerator is the sum of two asymmetric rank distances (D(a,b) and D(b,a)). The denominator is a normalization factor to make the distances comparable.)]distance by using the equation in Figure 1 in this office action to further normalize and symmetrize the distance calculated in step 2. In the instant application, the normalization factor is ‘2’, which simply converts the sum into an asymmetric average distance. Dividing by 2 simply keeps the scale approximately the same and serves a similar purpose to the normalization factor in Sun et al., which in some embodiments could also be 2 (p. 162, para. 2, p. 163, sect. 2 and eq. 2; wherein sorting and ranking the denoised distance matrix to obtain the ranked distance matrix comprises: ordering each row of the denoised distance matrix from smallest to largest and replacing each element by its rank to get a ranked distance matrix; and symmetrizing the ranked distance matrix according to formula (II) to obtain ranked matrix Rank: Rank = (R+RT)/2 (II) where R is the ranked distance matrix and RT is the transpose of R).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2. Adjacency matrix equation from Liu et al. The adjacency matrix W is computed using the heat kernel function (sigma) if there is an interaction between nodes i and j.)]With respect to claim 8, Liu et al. discloses constructing a neighborhood graph (adjacency matrix) in which every node is linked with its p nearest neighbors. The edge weight is computed using the heat kernel function, leading to a sparse adjacency matrix W according to the equation in Figure 2 of this office action. Liu et al. further discloses that sigma, the heat kernal parameter, is set to 50 (p. 8, col. 2, section: ‘Dimension Reduction: Laplacian Eigenmap’; The method for generating a normalized a Hi-C matrix according to claim 1, wherein the adjacency matrix is calculated according to formula (III): Adj = e-Rank/a (III) where a is a positive number).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3. Equation of Liu et al. to calculate a normalized Laplacian matrix which characterizes network connectivity. I is the identity matrix, D is the diagonal degree matrix, and W is the adjacency matrix.)]Regarding claim 9, Liu et al. discloses applying Laplacian eigenmaps, a nonlinear dimensionality reduction technique, to find the low-dimensional representation of Hi-C data, a method which relies on eigenvector decomposition. The steps include constructing a neighborhood graph of nodes and edges as described above, followed by computing the eigenvectors by solving the generalized eigenvalue problem to find the eigenvectors corresponding to the smallest non-zero eigenvalues. These eigenvectors are used as the new coordinates for the low-dimensional representation. Liu et al., discloses that in this process, a normalized Laplacian matrix (Lnorm) (also called a standardized Laplacian matrix) is calculated, which is a variation of the combinatorial Laplacian matrix scaled to account for node degrees in order to balance cluster sizes (See Figure 3 of this office action). The full set of eigenvalues is computed during the matrix decomposition process. (p. 2, section 3.1 ‘Network representation’, p. 8, section: ’Dimension Reduction: Laplacian Eigenmap’; wherein calculating Laplacian eigenmaps of the adjacency matrix to obtain the enhanced Hi-C matrix comprises: calculating a standardized Laplacian matrix according to formula Lap = D-1/2 AdjD-1/2 (IV):where D is a diagonal matrix, each diagonal element being the summation of a corresponding row; performing eigenvector decomposition on the standardized Laplacian matrix; and retaining a second eigenvalue and a third eigenvalue and a corresponding eigenvector.
With respect to claims 12, Lin et al. teaches a method for identifying structural chromatin aberration in the 17q23 genomic region of breast cancer tumors wherein target cells (primary breast tumors) and normal control cells are used to generate Hi-C data. (p. 12, legend of Fig. 4 A, p. 1, abstract; method for identifying a structural chromatin aberration in an enhanced Hi-C matrix, the method comprising: providing target cells and normal cells; generating an enhanced Hi-C matrix according to the method of claim 1 for each of the target cells and the normal cells; and analyzing the enhanced Hi-C matrices to identify a structural chromatin aberration in the target cells.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Lin et al. identified 96 amplification-associated transcription coupling (ATC) loci using Hi-C that have been linked to cell-cycle control. The loci are from five regions on 17q and include TOB1 (see Fig. 2e column “G1/S phase”). Lin et al. further discloses that their study demonstrates a new approach for identifying tumorigenic drivers from genomic regions highly susceptible to ERα-related chromothripsis and that they found a group of luminal breast tumors displaying 17q-related chromothripsis for which antipsychotics can be repurposed as treatment adjuncts (p. 7, Fig. 2; p. 8, legend of Fig. 2; abstract; further comprising identifying at least one locus associated with the structural chromatin aberration in the target cells; wherein at least one locus is selected from the group consisting of SPAG9, TOB1, and UTP18).
10. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Lin et al. (BMC Medical Genomics vol. 13 issue 69, p. 1-18, 2020, previously cited), in view of Wang et al., (Nature communications, 9:3108 p. 1-8, 2018 on IDS filed 01/03/2024, previously cited), as evidenced by Cao et al. (Plos One, Vol. 8, Issue 10, p. 1-12; on IDS filed 06/12/2024, previously cited) and Rao et al. (Cell, vol. 159, p. 1665-1680, 2014, previously cited), in view of Dokmanic et al. (IEEE SIGNAL PROCESSING MAGAZINE, November 2015, p. 12-30, newly cited), in view of Sun et al. (Proceedings of the 5th (ICPRAM), p. 162-169, 2016, previously cited) and further in view of Liu et al. (BioRxiv preprint, p. 1-8, 2018, previously cited), as applied to claims 1-9 and 12-14 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Nature communications, Vol. 7, issue 12991, p 1-17, 2016, previously cited). The italicized text corresponds to the instant claim limitations. This rejection is newly recited and necessitated by claim amendment.
Lin et al., Wang et al., Dokmanic et al., Sun et al. and Liu et al. teach the limitations of 1-9 and 12-14 above.
Regarding claim 17, Lin et al. teaches using Hi-C to identify a structural mutation TLK2 linked to breast cancer and implicates phenothiazine antipsychotic drugs (PTZs) targeting pathways to change the levels of the gene product. Lin et al. further discloses that In silico analysis was conducted using genomic and transcriptomic data of TCGA breast invasive carcinoma cohort downloaded from cBioPortal and that a total of 1014 primary tumor samples of ERα-positive and -negative types were available with both mRNA-seq gene expression and copy number data, and 96 adjacent normal tissue samples with gene expression data (p. 10, col. 2, para. 3 – p. 14, col. 1, para. 1; p. 2, col. 2, para. 2; a method of treating a cancer associated with a structural chromatin aberration in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising: obtaining a biological sample from the subject).
Regarding claim 17, Lin et al. discloses using Hi-C analysis to identify five adjoining regions from 17q11.1 to 17q24.1 as hotspots of chromothripsis (an event of genomic instability leading to complex chromosomal alterations in cancer) and that the event was linked to upregulation of 96 loci that predominantly regulate cell-cycle machineries in advance of luminal tumors. Lin et al. further teaches that one of these loci was tousled like kinase 2 (TLK2) known to participate in DNA damage checkpoint control and known to be an actionable target of phenothiazine antipsychotics (PTZs). Lin et al. further discloses that the antiproliferative effect of PTZs was prominent in high TLK2-expressing cells, compared to low expressing cells (p. 7, Fig. 2; p. 8, legend of Fig. 2; abstract; performing the method of claim 1 on the biological sample to identify a structural chromatin aberration and at least one locus associated with the structural chromatin aberration).
Regarding claim 17, Lin et al., Wang et al., Dokmanic et al., Sun et al. and Lin et al. are silent to administering an effective amount of a gene therapy vector to the subject that targets the identified at least one locus. However, this limitation was known in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, as taught by Kim et al.
Regarding claim 17, Lin et al. teaches using Hi-C to identify a structural mutation TLK2 linked to breast cancer and Kim et al. teaches administering TLK2 shRNA to xenograft mice with tumors (from transplanted breast cancer cells) to examine the therapeutic effect of silencing the expression of TLK2. Kim et al. further teaches using an inducible lentiviral pTINDLE vector with an inducible promoter in MCF7 cells to express shTLK2. Kim et al. further teaches administering MCF7 cells with Dox-dependent expression of shTLK2 to affected mice by injection bilaterally. (Lin et al., p. 10, col. 2, para. 3 – p. 14, col. 1, para. 1; and Kim et al., p. 6, col. 2, para. 4 – p. 8, col. 1, para. 1; p. 14, col. 2, para. 3; p. 15, col. 2, para. 2; administering an effective amount of a gene therapy vector to the subject that targets the identified at least one locus).
An invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Lin et al. taught that TLK2, the drug target of Kim et al., was identified by Hi-C as a gene disrupted by a structural mutation linked to breast cancer (p. 10, col. 2, para. 3 – p. 14, col. 1, para. 1). Kim et al. taught that in vivo data suggest that TLK2 inhibition may possess viable therapeutic value in TLK2-amplified luminal breast tumors and their preclinical xenograft tumor model data shows that TLK2 inhibition significantly improved progression-free survival (p. 13, col. 1, para. 2). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat patients with identified with TLK2 structural mutation identified by Hi-C (as taught by Lin et al., Wang et al., Dokmanic et al., Sun et al. and Liu et al.) with the gene therapy vector to TLK2 taught by Kim et al. to improve progression free survival for patients. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would predict that the treatment approach taught by Kim et al. could be readily added to the method Lin et al., Wang et al., Dokmanic et al., Sun et al., and Liu et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because, as disclosed by Kim et al., genomic amplifications lead to deregulations of oncogenes like TLK2 to which cancer cells become often addicted in specific tumours (p. 2, col. 2, para. 2-3) and because the shTLK2 treatment for breast cancer gene therapy taught by Kim et al., is based on the reduction of TLK2 expression (abstract). The invention is therefore prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02 July 2026 with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: the cited references do not teach the amended limitations of claim 1
Applicant argues that none of the references teach: 1) wherein the enhanced Hi-C has a resolution such that in the range of 50-500 neighbor loci are observable for each locus 2) identify a structural chromatin aberration and identify a locus associated with the aberration. Specifically, the applicant argues that the specific resolution effect of 50-500 observable neighbor loci is not suggested by any reference and there is no reasoning provided by the examiner for expecting this level of resolution (see response to OA p. 12, para. 4-6, and p. 13, para. 4).
Response to Argument: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the claim amendments. As indicated in the rejection to claim 1 above, the indicated limitations are taught by Lin et al. (previously cited) who taught the limitations of identifying a structural chromatin aberration and identifying an associated locus and Wang et al. (previously cited) who taught achieving the claimed resolution with an enhanced matrix. A rationale for expectation of the claimed resolution is provided in the rejection of claim 1 in the section pertaining to the limitations taught by Wang et al.
Argument 2: no motivation to combine the references cited for all claims
The applicant asserts that all the references cited in the rejection are from disparate technical fields and there is no motivation to combine the references cited with a reasonable expectation of success. Specifically, there is no motivation for combining Wang et al. Zhang et al. because they do not pertain to Hi-C data (see response to OA p. 13, para. 1-5).
Response to argument: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Furthermore, new grounds of rejection are made in view of the claim amendments. The reference listed by the applicant that are still applicable to the new grounds of rejection are discussed below:
Wang et al. teaches a method of generating enhanced Hi-C data and thus is not from a disparate technical field. Cao et al. and Rao et al. are evidentiary references for Wang et al. because Wang et al. has already combined the art of Cao et al. and Rao et al. in their disclosed method. Therefore, no motivation is required for combining Cao et al. and Rao et al. The motivation for combining Wang et al. with the other references is provided by Wang et al. and can be found in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claim 1 above.
The argument against Zhang et al. is a moot point because the new grounds of rejection is made in view of the claim amendments and Zhang et al. is no longer cited.
Regarding Liu et al. and Lin et al., both directly pertain to analysis of Hi-C data.
Regarding Sun et al., the reference pertains generally to dimension reduction to find good neighbors in complex distance proximity matrices to reduce computational cost and transform the high-dimensional data into a more compact and meaningfully expression in low-dimensional space (p. 162, col. 1, para. 1). It is broadly focused, but as disclosed by Sun et al., the method is widely used across many applications including data compression, machine learning, pattern recognition and data visualization applications (p. 162, col. 1, para. 1). The examiner agrees that the motivation to combine was not sufficient. However, the claimed amendments necessitated new grounds of rejection; therefore, the new motivation for combining provided by Sun et al. can be found in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claim 1 above.
Regarding Kim et al., the reference pertains to treatment of cancer caused by the type of genomic aberration detectable by Hi-C and closely pertains to the subject matter of the limitations of claim 17. The motivation to combine is provided by Kim et al. and can be found in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claim 17 above.
Argument 3: pertaining to claim 14 the identification of specific loci associated with disease is novel
The applicant asserts that because claim 14 integrates the judicial exception into a practical application, the invention has medical utility that is absent from the prior art and thus is not obvious. The applicant specifically asserts that the identification of specific loci associated with structural chromatin aberration in disease and gene therapy treatment is novel (see response to office action, p. 13, para. 5 – p. 14, para. 2).
Response to argument: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Amended claims 13 and 14 claim one of three specific loci, but amended claims 13 and 14 do not claim the application of the identified loci to gene therapy treatment. In addition, the combination of references cited including Lin et al. teach the identification of TOB1 as associated with a structural chromatin aberration and breast cancer (see rejection of claims 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above. Finally, analysis under 35 U.S.C. 101 assesses patent eligibility only and not novelty over the prior art; therefore, a claim can be patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101, but not be novel over the prior art.
Argument 4: the corresponding Chinese family application has been granted
Applicant asserts that the corresponding Chinese family application, CN116583905B, has been granted and this should be taken under consideration (see response to OA, p. 14, para. 3).
Response to argument: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. As pointed out by the applicant, examination standards and prior art bases of different jurisdictions are independent.
Conclusion
11. No claims are allowed.
Claim 17 was examined for patent eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101 and was considered to be patent eligible in Step 2A Prong 2 of the 35 U.S.C. 101 analysis for two reasons: 1) It is directed to administering a particular treatment to a patient with a particular disease (i.e. treating cancer that is indicated by the structural chromatin aberration with a gene therapy vector) and the treatment is linked to the identified structural chromatin aberration identified by the method, and 2) There is credible technical and mechanistic grounding for gene therapy-based interventions for cancer (Bulcha et al., p. 5, col. 1, para. 3) and that cancer treatment can be indicated by large structural chromatin anomalies. Therefore, the gene therapy vector has more than a nominal or insignificant relationship to the judicial exception and it is a practical application.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
E-mail Communications Authorization
12. Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant's
representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter
concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To
approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail
communication by submitting the following statement via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or
Central Fax (571-273-8300):
"Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, / hereby authorize the USPTO to
communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR
1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging,
or electronic mail. / understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the
application file."
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written
authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-
8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when
appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may
contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also
MPEP 502.03.
Inquiries
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/OLIVIA M. WISE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1685