DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 12-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akamatu (US 5,308,879) in view of Araki (US 2015/0367610) and further in view of Redd (US 5,552,461). Younes (EFSA Journal 2023; 21(7):8106, attached) is cited as an evidentiary reference. All references have been cited in a prior Office action.
Regarding claims 1-3, and 8, Akamatu teaches a composition having a vinyl alcohol resin, an inorganic filler, and a nonionic surfactant (col. 1, lines 64-70). The vinyl alcohol resin may be polyvinyl alcohol (col. 2, lines 65-67). The surfactant may be present in amounts ranging from 0.5% to 10% by weight (col. 4, lines 18-20). Inorganic filler may be present in amounts ranging from 1% to 30% by weight (col. 4, lines 37 and 40-42). Akamatu does not require the presence of plasticizer, implying that 0 phr of any plasticizer, including glycerin, may be used.
However, Akamatu is silent as to use of silicone particles in the composition. In the same field of endeavor, Araki teaches use of particles of silicone as a surface-modifying substance (p. 5, [0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Akamatu and the silicone particles of Araki to arrive at the claimed invention and to provide a material with optimal surface roughness, as taught by Araki (p. 5, [0059]).
However, Akamatu and Araki are silent as to the amount of silicone that may be used. In a similar composition, Redd teaches use of 0.1% to 5% by weight silicone (col. 3, lines 45-48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Akamatu, as modified by Araki, with the silicone amount taught by Redd to arrive at the claimed invention and to achieve sufficient compression during extrusion, as taught by Redd (col. 3, line 51).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Akamatu in view of Araki and Redd remains as applied to claim 1 above. However, Akamatu is silent as to the particle size of the inorganic filler. In the same field of endeavor, Araki teaches use of particles of inorganic substances having particle size of 0.2 microns or less (200 nm or less). An overlapping endpoint shared by a prior art range and a claimed range is sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness when there is no showing of criticality of the claimed range; similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Akamatu with the inorganic particles of Araki to arrive at the claimed invention, and to obtain a product with optimized surface characteristics, as taught by Araki (p. 5, [0059]).
Regarding claim 5, Akamatu in view of Araki and Redd remains as applied to claim 1 above. Akamatu further teaches that the inorganic filler may be calcium carbonate or carbon black (col. 4, lines 38-40).
Regarding claim 6, Akamatu in view of Araki and Redd remains as applied to claim 1 above. Akamatu further teaches use of calcium carbonate filler (col. 4, lines 37-38). The solubility of calcium carbonate in water at 20℃ is 16.6 (Younes, p. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Akamatu in view of Araki and Redd remains as applied to claim 1 above. Akamatu further teaches that the vinyl alcohol resin may have a degree of polymerization ranging from 300 to 5,000 (col. 3, lines 27-28). This prior art range overlaps the claimed range. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the prior art range overlaps the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 12-14, Akamatu in view of Araki and Redd remains as applied to claim 1 above. Akamatu further teaches that the composition may be used in injection molding processes and machines known in the art (col. 5, lines 7-20). Akamatu further teaches that the vinyl alcohol resin may have a degree of saponification ranging from 50-100 mol% (col. 3, lines 26-27). The use limitations found in claims 12-14, including molding applications, are related only to the intended use of the composition, and need not be taught by the prior art in order to read on the claimed composition.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akamatu in view of Araki, Redd, and Chen (CN 1683446 A, attached with translation).
Regarding claim 7, Akamatu in view of Araki and Redd remains as applied to claim 1 above. However, Akamatu is silent as to use of one of the claimed surfactants. In a similar composition, Chen teaches use of fatty acid salts as surfactants (p. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Akamatu and the surfactant of Chen to arrive at the claimed invention, and to reduce refining treatment without significantly affecting production cost, as taught by Chen (p. 3).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as a being unpatentable over Akamatu in view of Araki, Redd, and DeMarco (US 2019/0366602 A1). Regarding claims 10-11, Akamatu as modified by Araki and Redd remains as applied to claim 1 above. However, Akamatu is silent as to the viscosity of the vinyl alcohol resin at the claimed concentration and temperature. In a similar composition, DeMarco teaches use of SELVOL 205, which the instant specification identifies as having the claimed viscosity and MFR properties (p. 4, [0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Akamatu as modified and the polyvinyl alcohol of DeMarco to arrive at the claimed invention and to reduce manufacturing costs by employing a polymer that is cold-water soluble, as taught by DeMarco (p. 4, [0035]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is Akamatu in view of Araki, Redd, Chen, and DeMarco, as discussed above in reference to claim 1. The combined prior art teaches a composition similar to the claimed composition, but fails to teach use of silicone particles having an average particle size of 5-35 microns. As such, the instant claim contains a limitation not found in the prior art, and is allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 12 December 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made over Akamatu in view of Araki, Redd, Chen, and DeMarco.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762