DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 1, 6, 8, 10, and 23 are amended.
Claim 10 is listed as amended by not amendments were made.
Claim 3-4, 7, 17-20, and 25 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-16, and 21-24 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devdas et al (US 2018/0367952A1) in view of Edge et al (US 2014/0135040 A1) and further in view of Lai et al (US 2019/0327124 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Devdas discloses a communication device comprising [0012]:
a memory storing instructions [0024-0025];
and an electronic processor configured to execute the instructions to perform a set of operations comprising [0024-0025]:
acquiring distance information calculated on a basis of a propagation channel characteristic [0012 for getting distance to determine location];
and detecting a position of an object based on the distance information and the altitude information of the plurality of communication partner devices [0015-0016 and figure 2 element S110 for having a pressure value for each hub (communication partner devices)].
Devdas fails to explicitly disclose acquiring altitude information from a plurality of communication partner devices and a temperature detected by a temperature sensor, wherein altitude information of each of the plurality of communication partner devices is determined on a basis of an atmospheric pressure detected by the atmospheric pressure sensor on the communication partner device.
Edge has articles of manufacture are provided which may be implemented using one or more mobile electronic devices to generate an environment report corresponding to a particular environment (abstract) and acquiring altitude information from a plurality of communication partner devices and a temperature detected by a temperature sensor, wherein altitude information of each of the plurality of communication partner devices is determined on a basis of an atmospheric pressure detected by the atmospheric pressure sensor on the communication partner device [0062].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the altitude determining techniques, as disclosed by Devdas, further including the atmospheric calculations as taught by Edge for the purpose to compute the horizontal location and altitude of mobile device (Edge 0062).
Devdas fails to explicitly teach wherein the distance information is calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels, and the distance information is directly acquired from a measured phase calculated on a basis of a group delay calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels.
Lai has a transmitter configured for transmitting a series of probe signals in a broadcasting manner through a wireless multipath channel (abstract) and teaches wherein the distance information is calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels [0202-0203],
and the distance information is directly acquired from a measured phase calculated on a basis of a group delay calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels [0202].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the altitude determining techniques, as disclosed by Devdas, further including the channel calculations as taught by Lai for the purpose to determine spatial temporal motion of an object (Lai, 0202).
Regarding Claim 2, Devdas discloses wherein a set of operations further comprise:
transmitting the distance information and the altitude information to a processing device [0013-0016 for communicating between wearable device and hub].
Regarding Claim 5, Devdas fails to explicitly teach the distance information is acquired on a basis of a wireless signal in an ultra-wideband (UWB) band.
Lai has a transmitter configured for transmitting a series of probe signals in a broadcasting manner through a wireless multipath channel (abstract) and teaches the distance information is acquired on a basis of a wireless signal in an ultra-wideband (UWB) band [0555].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the altitude determining techniques, as disclosed by Devdas, further including the channel calculations as taught by Lai for the purpose to extend the received probe signal (Lai, 0555).
Regarding Claim 21, Devdas discloses the set of operations comprises acquiring absolute position information of at least one point [0040, 0072].
Regarding Claim 22, Devdas fails to explicitly teach the set of operations comprises acquiring global positioning system (GPS) information.
Lai has a transmitter configured for transmitting a series of probe signals in a broadcasting manner through a wireless multipath channel (abstract) and teaches the set of operations comprises acquiring global positioning system (GPS) information [0276].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the altitude determining techniques, as disclosed by Devdas, further including the channel calculations as taught by Lai for the purpose to control wireless multipath signals (Lai, 0276).
Regarding Claim 23, Devdas discloses communication system comprising [0012]:
a first communication device [0012-0016 for a wearable device or first communication device];
a second communication device that transmits and receives a wireless signal to and from the first communication device [0012 for a hub or second communication device];
a distance acquisition unit that acquires distance information calculated on a basis of a propagation channel characteristic [0012-0016];
and a position detection unit that detects position information on a basis of the distance information and the altitude information [0012-0016 and 0072].
Devdas fails to explicitly disclose an altitude acquisition unit that acquires altitude information of the first communication device and second communication device on a basis of an atmospheric pressure detected by an atmospheric pressure sensor, on a basis of an atmospheric pressure detected by the atmospheric pressure sensor and a temperature detected by a temperature sensor.
Edge has articles of manufacture are provided which may be implemented using one or more mobile electronic devices to generate an environment report corresponding to a particular environment (abstract) and teaches an altitude acquisition unit that acquires altitude information of the first communication device and second communication device on a basis of an atmospheric pressure detected by an atmospheric pressure sensor, on a basis of an atmospheric pressure detected by the atmospheric pressure sensor and a temperature detected by a temperature sensor [0062].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the altitude determining techniques, as disclosed by Devdas, further including the atmospheric calculations as taught by Edge for the purpose to compute the horizontal location and altitude of mobile device (Edge 0062).
Devdas fails to explicitly teach wherein the distance information is calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels, and the distance information is directly acquired from a measured phase calculated on a basis of a group delay calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels.
Lai has a transmitter configured for transmitting a series of probe signals in a broadcasting manner through a wireless multipath channel (abstract) and teaches wherein the distance information is calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels [0202-0203],
and the distance information is directly acquired from a measured phase calculated on a basis of a group delay calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels [0202].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the altitude determining techniques, as disclosed by Devdas, further including the channel calculations as taught by Lai for the purpose to determine spatial temporal motion of an object (Lai, 0202).
Regarding Claim 24, Devdas discloses a third communication device that transmits and receives a wireless signal to and from the second communication device [0014-0015 for using multiple hubs or communication partner devices and figure 1 elements 9713, 1012, and 4810 for having three communication partner devices],
wherein the second communication device includes the distance acquisition unit and the altitude acquisition unit [0013-0016],
the third communication device includes the position detection unit, the distance acquisition unit acquires the distance information with the first communication device [0013-0016, and 0076],
and the position detection unit detects the position information on a basis of the distance information and the altitude information [0013-0016, 0076].
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devdas (US 2018/0367952A1) in view of Edge et al (US 2014/0135040 A1) and Lai et al (US 2019/0327124 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Wild (US 9689958 B1).
Regarding Claim 6, Devdas teaches the altitude information is acquired on a basis of a pressure detected by a pressure sensor [0024].
Devdas fails to explicitly teach an atmospheric pressure sensor.
Wild has a system for determining an angle and distance between a positioning node and secondary device using a plurality of acoustic transmitters (abstract) and teaches using atmospheric sensor [col 7, lines 15-30].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the altitude determining techniques, as disclosed by Devdas, further including the sensors as taught by Wild for the purpose to calculate position (Wild, col 7, lines 15-30).
Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devdas et al (US 2018/0367952A1) in view of Lai et al (US 2019/0327124 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Devdas teaches processing device for communication device, the processing device comprising [0012]:
a memory storing instructions [0024-0025];
and an electronic processor configured to execute the instruction to perform a set of operations comprising [0024-0025]:
acquiring a plurality of pieces of distance information calculated from a relationship between frequency and phase of a plurality of propagation channels [0012-0013, 0058];
acquiring four or more pieces altitude information from four or more communication devices through communication with the other communication devices [0012-0013, 0042-0043 for using wearable device with other devices at known locations];
selecting, of the four or more pieces of altitude information [figure 2, element S100 and S110],
three pieces of altitude information having closest values to one another [figure 1 element 1102, 4810, 9713 for getting altitude information from three devices o the second and 3rd floor, with the wearable device giving fourth value, 0042-0043 for extrapolating compared sensor values (getting closest values)],
and detecting position information on a basis of plurality of pieces of the distance information and the selected pieces of altitude information [0013, 0015 and figure 1 element 1102, 4810, 9713 (communication partner devices)].
Devdas fails to explicitly teach the distance is calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels, and wherein the distance information is calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels, and the distance information is directly acquired from a measured phase calculated on a basis of a group delay calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels.
Lai has a transmitter configured for transmitting a series of probe signals in a broadcasting manner through a wireless multipath channel (abstract) and teaches the distance is calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels [0202-0203],
wherein the distance information is calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels [0202-0203],
and the distance information is directly acquired from a measured phase calculated on a basis of a group delay calculated from a relationship between each frequency and each phase of a plurality of propagation channels [0202].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the altitude determining techniques, as disclosed by Devdas, further including the channel calculations as taught by Lai for the purpose to determine spatial temporal motion of an object (Lai, 0202).
Regarding Claim 9, Devdas teaches the set of operations comprise:
acquiring three or more pieces of the distance information related to distances between an object and four or more communication partner devices [0014-0015 for using multiple hubs or communication partner devices and figure 1 elements 9713, 1012, and 4810 for having three communication partner devices],
detecting a position of the object on a basis of the three or more pieces of distance information and the altitude information [0015-0016].
Regarding Claim 10, Devdas teaches the set of operations comprise:
acquiring the four or more pieces of the altitude information from the three or more communication partner devices [0014-0015 for using multiple hubs or communication partner devices and figure 1 elements 9713, 1012, and 4810 for having three communication partner devices],
and the position detection unit detects a position of the object on a basis of the three or more pieces of distance information and the selected three or more pieces of altitude information [0015-0016].
Regarding Claim 11, Devdas teaches the set of operations comprise:
by the object transmitting and receiving wireless signals of a plurality of frequencies to and from the three or more communication partner devices to calculate a phase [0014-0015 for using multiple hubs or communication partner devices and figure 1 elements 9713, 1012, and 4810 for having three communication partner devices, 0058],
calculating distance information with the three or more communication partner devices in the object [0015-0016],
and, detecting a position of the object on a basis of three or more pieces of the distance information calculated by a distance acquisition unit and the selected three or more pieces of altitude information [0015-0016 and 0035].
Regarding Claim 12, Devdas teaches the set of operations comprise:
acquiring the three or more pieces of distance information calculated in the three or more communication partner devices by the object communicating with the three or more communication partner devices [0014-0015 for using multiple hubs or communication partner devices and figure 1 elements 9713, 1012, and 4810 for having three communication partner devices],
detecting a position of the object on a basis of the three or more pieces of distance information acquired by a distance acquisition unit and the selected three or more pieces of altitude information [0015-0016].
Regarding Claim 13, Devdas teaches the set of operations comprise:
creating a three-dimensional map indicating position information in a predetermined three-dimensional space on a basis of the distance information [0012, 0023].
Regarding Claim 14, Devdas teaches the set of operations comprise:
acquiring three or more pieces of the distance information between an object and three or more communication partner devices [0014-0015 for using multiple hubs or communication partner devices and figure 1 elements 9713, 1012, and 4810 for having three communication partner devices],
creating the three-dimensional map on a basis of the three or more pieces of distance information [0015-0016 and 0023 with figure 1].
Regarding Claim 15, Devdas teaches the three-dimensional map includes position information of the object and the three or more communication partner devices [0023].
Regarding Claim 16, Devdas teaches the set of operations comprise:
acquiring three or more pieces of the distance information related to distances between an object and three or more communication partner devices [0014-0015 for using multiple hubs or communication partner devices and figure 1 elements 9713, 1012, and 4810 for having three communication partner devices],
creating the three- dimensional map on a basis of the three or more pieces of distance information and the three or more pieces of altitude information [0015-0016, 0023 and figure 1].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-16, and 21-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments page 9, second paragraph, applicant states that Devdas and Edge do not teach using phase and frequency to calculate distance. Examiner respectfully disagrees: It is well known in the art that as a signal travels, its phase change directly proportional to the distance covered and the signal frequency. Lai teaches getting channel (propagation) information using both phase and frequency [Lai, 0202-0204].
Applicant’s arguments page 10, second paragraph, applicant states that Prevatt does not teaches the distance calculations. Prevatt reference has been replaced with the teachings of Lai.
Applicant’s arguments page 10, last paragraph, applicant states that Wild doesnot address the deficiencies of the other references. Examiner respectfully disagrees: Wild discloses an atmospheric pressure sensor and use of such sensors to detect what floor a person is on in-building is well known in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648