DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites blurry structures of general formulas (1) to (3).
For consistency and ease of reading, it is recommended in claim 1 to replace “R1” and “R2” with “R1” and “R2”, so as to contain subscripts and match the variables recited in the structures of general formulas (1) to (3).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki (English translation of JP 2010062442 A obtained from Espacenet).
Supporting information provided by Xing (Xing X, Wu Z, Sun Y, Liu Y, Dong X, Li S, Wang W. The Optimization of Hole Injection Layer in Organic Light-Emitting Diodes. Nanomaterials (Basel). 2024 Jan 11;14(2):161. doi: 10.3390/nano14020161. PMID: 38251126; PMCID: PMC10819190.); Tomsic (Tomsic, Joan L.. (2000). <i>Dictionary of Materials and Testing (2nd Edition) - polymer. SAE International.).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6-11, Seki teaches an organic light-emitting device having high efficiency and luminance and an extremely long lifetime by comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic compound layer between the anode and cathode, wherein at least one layer of the organic compound layer contains an arylamine polymer represented by general formula (1) and (2) (¶ [0008]-[0011]). In particular, the arylamine polymer is contained in a hole injection layer or a light-emitting layer (¶ [0075]) (claims 9-10). As evidenced by Xing, a hole injection layer promotes charge (hole) injection from the electrode to the emissive layer while preventing excitons (electrons) from being quenched by the electrodes (second paragraph of Introduction on pg. 1). Accordingly, the hole injection layer may also be considered a hole transport layer and an electron-blocking layer (claims 7-8).
As the arylamine polymer represented by general formula (1) and (2) is a polymer, it is a high molecular weight compound (see definition of polymer on pg. 310 of Tomsic).
general formula (1):
Seki teaches examples of organic light-emitting devices including the device of Example 1 which includes an anode, a hole injection layer comprising compound 1-5, a light-emitting layer, and a cathode (¶ [0130]-[0139]).
Compound 1-5 is reproduced below in comparison to the claimed general formula (3) (see structure on pg. 30).
1-5:
(3):
Compound 1-5 reads on the claimed general formula (3) (claim 1) wherein:
Each R1 is not required to be present;
R2 each represent an alkyl group having 5 carbon atoms (claim 3);
X represents hydrogen (claim 4);
L is not required to be present; and
n, a, and b each represent 0 (claim 2).
Seki is silent as to compound 1-5 having a weight average molecular weight of 10,000 or more and less than 1,000,000 in terms of polystyrene. However, Seki does teach n in general formula (1) represents 10 to 500 (¶ [0010]-[0011]). Accordingly, the weight average molecular weight of compound 1-5 is expected to overlap with the claimed range. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki (English translation of JP 2010062442 A obtained from Espacenet) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Swager (US 2004/0170775 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Seki teaches the organic light-emitting device including compound 1-5, as described above with respect to claim 1.
Compound 1-5 fails to include an aryl or heteroaryl group in the location of the claimed X. However, Seki does teach Ar3 in general formula (1) may represent a substituted divalent aryl group, wherein examples of the substituent include phenyl (¶ [0010] and [0030]).
Swager teaches conjugated polymers may be used to fabricate light emitting diodes, and the solubility of the conjugated polymers may be increased by attaching pendant groups such as alkoxy, alkyl, alkylsilyl, or phenyl groups to the main chain (¶ [0108] and [0110]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a pendant group of alkoxy, alkyl, alkylsilyl, or phenyl to the repeating unit of compound 1-5, based on the teaching of Swager. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the solubility of the polymer, as taught by Swager.
In particular, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a phenyl group on the divalent phenyl of Ar3 in the location of the claimed X, because it would have been choosing a specific pendant group taught by Swager and because it would have been choosing a specific location in which to place the pendant group, and these would have been choices from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a polymer useful in the device of Seki and possessing the benefits taught by Swager. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional polymers represented by Seki’s general formula (1) having the benefits taught by Seki and Swager in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
The modified compound 1-5 reads on the claimed general formula (3) wherein X is a phenyl group.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 8-12 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,999,818 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘818 recites a high molecular weight compound comprising a repeating unit represented by a general formula (3) that is identical to the general formula (3) of ‘755 in claim 1. Additionally, claims 3-5 and 8-12 of ‘818 correspond to claims 3-11 of ‘755, as shown in the table below.
US 11,999,818 B2
17/796,755
Additionally, claim 2 of ‘818 recites R1 is a hydrogen atom in general formula (3). This corresponds to claim 2 of ‘755, which recites in general formula (3), a and b are 0. In the case that a and b are 0 in ‘755, R1 is necessarily hydrogen.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, and 7-11 of copending Application No. 18/289,286 (US PGPUB 2024/0260288 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 3 of ‘286 recites a high molecular weight compound comprising a repeating unit represented by general formula (1) which is nearly identical to the general formula (3) in claims 1 and 3 of ‘755.
18/289,286
17/796,755
While the definitions for the variables R1 to R3 and X of ‘286 are not identical to the variables R1 to R3 and X of ‘755, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select variables of general formula (1) to arrive at the instant general formula (3) comprising the limitations of claims 1 and 3 of ‘755, because it would have been choosing from a list of variables specifically taught, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a repeating unit possessing the benefits taught by ‘286. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional repeating units represented by general formula (1) having the benefits taught by ‘286 in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Additionally, claims 2, 4, and 7-11 of ‘286 correspond to claims 2 and 4-11 of ‘755, as shown in the table below.
18/289,286
17/796,755
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
/BRAELYN R WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1786