DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informality:
In claim 19, line 4, “a mobile device” should read “the mobile device” to maintain proper antecedent basis
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 9-11 and 15-17 are each objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of their respective base claims and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks dated 11/17/2025) with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered, but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection.
On pages 15-16, applicant argues that “Tsuchida does not teach that the light transmitted through the sample is directed by the alleged optics system out of the alleged second optical port 16.” Correspondingly, line 13 of claim 1 has been amended to read “light passing out of the second optical port from the sample.” Since applicant has clarified that light from the light source interacts with the sample before being directed through the second optical port, the examiner has introduced the reference Handbook of Optical Systems by Gross, as cited in the instant 103 rejection of claim 1, to teach moving the position of Tsuchida’s second optical port (Fig. 20, stop 16) downstream of the sample (Fig. 20, sample S).
For added clarity, applicant may wish to amend lines 9-10 of claim 1 to read “wherein light transmitted through the biological sample is subsequently directed by the optics system out of the second optical port.”
On page 16, applicant argues that Tsuchida fails to teach “that the light passing out of the alleged second optical port 16 is incident on the alleged optically transmissive substrate (i.e., optical path branching unit) 92.” However, Tsuchida discloses that 92 is downstream of 16 (Fig. 20). Therefore, light passing out of second optical port 16 is incident on the optically transmissive substrate 92.
On page 16, applicant further argues that Tsuchida fails to teach “that the optical path branching unit 92 is positioned relative to the alleged second optical port 16.” However, the applicant has only claimed that the second optical port and optically transmissive substrate are positioned “relative to” one another, and has not claimed that they are positioned “adjacent to” one another. It could be said that most/all of the components depicted in Tsuchida’s Figure 20 are positioned “relative to” each other. At the end of page 16, the applicant even acknowledges that “optical path branching unit 92 is positioned relative to the beam splitter 32.” Therefore, applicant explicitly recognizes that 92 and 32 may be positioned “relative to” one another, despite not being adjacent.
On page 18, applicant argues that “Tsuchida does not teach that the diffractive grating generates phasorgram images along a single optical path,” and attempts to contrast that “the optical path branching portion 92 produces multiple images…that are along different optical paths.” However, the applicant has only claimed “the structure generating at least one respective phasorgram image along a single optical path.” Therefore, since Tsuchida discloses multiple such images along multiple paths, the limitations are addressed.
On pages 18-19, applicant argues that “Tsuchida does not teach that the phasorgram images are directed by the lens 91 onto the alleged multi-wavelength image sensor array 93.” However, Figure 20 of Tsuchida illustrates that 91 and 93 are positioned relative to one another to ensure that the phasorgram images are directed by 91 onto 93.
On page 20, the applicant restates some of the above arguments regarding claim 1, as they apply to claim 14. The examiner maintains the above responses to the applicant’s arguments, as they apply to claim 14.
On page 21, the applicant argues that “Tsuchida does not teach that the objective lens 21 is a lens under test.” While it could be argued that any of Tsuchida’s lenses are lenses “under test” (by virtue of simply “passing” when they operate properly, or “failing” when they don’t), lenses 21a-c are “under test” by virtue of the lenses being selectively interchanged when imaging a sample ([0015], “the objective S is imaged by exchanging the different objective lenses 21a, 21b, and 21c…and based on the data obtained by the respective objective lenses 21”). Applicant is encouraged to amend claim 14, to further describe how the lens is under test.
However, since the applicant has amended claim 14 to read “the lens under test [is] positioned between the optically transmissive substrate and the multi-wavelength sensor array,” the examiner has again cited the Handbook of Optical Systems in the instant 103 rejection below, to teach the introduction of a lens (Fig. 20, between 92 and 93).
On page 23, regarding claim 19, the applicant argues that Tsuchida is silent regarding an adapter for a mobile device & does not teach that the lens of a separate mobile device is a lens under test. However, “a lens under test” is not claimed in claim 19. Regarding the applicant’s comments about an adapter and a mobile device, reference Moser et al. (WO 2015118475 A1) has been introduced to the instant 103 rejection of claim 19.
Throughout the remainder of pages 23-24, the applicant restates some of the above arguments regarding claims 1 and 14, as they apply to claim 19. The examiner maintains the above responses to the applicant’s arguments, as they apply to claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-5, 8, 12, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchida et al. (WO 2019097587 A1, of record) in view of Gross (Gross, H. (Ed.). Handbook of Optical Systems, Volume 3: Aberration Theory and Correction of Optical Systems, 377-379. Wiley-Vch. 2005.).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuchida discloses a quantitative phase imaging (QPI) system (Abstract) for imaging a biological sample ([0072]), the QPI system comprising:
an optics system (Fig. 20, 3) having at least first (Fig. 20, 14) and second optical ports (Fig. 20, 16);
a sample holder (Fig. 20, 8) positioned in a preselected position and orientation relative to the first optical port (Fig. 20, 8 is positioned relative to 14), a biological sample being disposed on the sample holder (Fig. 20, S is disposed on 8);
a multi-wavelength light source configured to emit multiple wavelengths of light (Fig. 20, 11), the multi-wavelength light source being positioned relative to the first optical port to ensure that at least a portion of the emitted light of multiple wavelengths is transmitted through the biological sample held on the sample holder (Fig. 20, 11 is positioned relative to 14 so light is transmitted through S), wherein light transmitted though the biological sample is directed by the optics system out of the second optical port (Fig. 20, light transmitted through S is directed out of 16);
an optically transmissive substrate positioned relative to the second optical port (Fig. 20, 92), a structure formed in the optically transmissive substrate, the structure comprising at least one of a computer generated hologram (CGH) and a diffractive grating ([0131], diffractive grating 92), wherein light passing out of the second optical port is incident on the structure (Fig. 20, light passing out of 16 is incident on the diffractive grating in 92), the structure generating at least one respective phasorgram image along a single optical path for each respective wavelength of light ([0131], 92) of the multiple wavelengths of light;
a lens (Fig. 20, 91) positioned in a preselected position relative to the optically transmissive substrate (Fig. 20, 91 is positioned relative to 92);
a multi-wavelength image sensor array ([0130], 93), the lens and the multi-wavelength image sensor array being positioned relative to one another to ensure that the phasorgram images are directed by the lens onto the multi-wavelength image sensor array (Fig. 20, 91 and 93), the multi-wavelength image sensor array converting the phasorgram images into electrical signals representing the phasorgram images ([0131], 93); and
a processor (Fig. 20, 40) configured to perform a reconstruction algorithm that processes the electrical signals representing the phasorgram images to obtain a phase distribution estimate of the light transmitted through the biological sample (Fig. 2, 52).
Tsuchida fails to explicitly disclose wherein light transmitted though the biological sample is subsequently directed by the optics system out of the second optical port, and wherein light passes out of the second optical port from the sample.
However, Gross teaches wherein “it is an [sic] advantageous to make changes in [a lens] system without any great perturbation of the existing setup” and that “One class of modifications of this type are those which do not introduce any refractive power”; and discloses that “Moving the stop position” is one of the most essential such operations (page 378, 33.1.4 Zero Power Operations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Tsuchida and Gross such that stop 16 of Tsuchida’s Figure 20 was repositioned to downstream of the sample holder and sample, motivated by enhancing control over light which has already interacted with the sample.
Regarding claim 2, modified Tsuchida discloses wherein the optics system is an optics system of a microscope (Tsuchida - Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, modified Tsuchida discloses wherein at least the multi-wavelength light source and the sample holder are coupled together in a first device that is adapted to be attached to the microscope in alignment with the first optical port (Tsuchida - Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 4, modified Tsuchida discloses wherein the optically transmissive substrate and the lens are coupled together in a second device that is adapted to be attached to the microscope in alignment with the second optical port (Tsuchida - Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 5, modified Tsuchida discloses wherein the optically transmissive substrate, the lens and the multi-wavelength image sensor array are coupled together in a second device that is adapted to be attached to the microscope in alignment with the second optical port (Tsuchida - Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 8, modified Tsuchida discloses wherein said at least one respective phasorgram image for each respective wavelength are captured by the multi-wavelength image sensor array in a single-shot acquisition (Tsuchida - [0129]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Tsuchida discloses wherein the phase distribution estimate contains information about a refractive index of the biological sample (Tsuchida - [0106]-[0107]), and wherein the processor processes the refractive index to produce a marker that is characteristic of one or more materials comprising the biological sample and of how tissue of the sample interacts with electromagnetic radiation (Tsuchida - [0106]-[0107]).
Regarding claim 14, Tsuchida discloses a quantitative phase imaging (QPI) system (Abstract) for testing lenses (Fig. 20, 21), the QPI system comprising:
a multi-wavelength light source configured to emit multiple wavelengths of light (Fig. 20, 11);
an optically transmissive substrate (Fig. 20, 92) positioned relative to the light source to ensure that light emitted by the light source is incident on a structure formed in the optically transmissive substrate (Fig. 20, light is incident on a structure in 92), the structure comprising at least one of a computer generated hologram (CGH) and a diffractive grating ([0131], diffractive grating 92), the structure generating at least one respective phasorgram image along a single optical path for each respective wavelength of light of the multiple wavelengths of light ([0131], 92), wherein a lens under test is positioned in a preselected position relative to the optically transmissive substrate (Fig. 20, 21);
a multi-wavelength image sensor array ([0130], 93), to ensure that the respective phasorgram images are directed by the lens under test onto the multi-wavelength image sensor array (Fig. 20, by 21 onto 93), the multi-wavelength image sensor array converting the respective phasorgram images into electrical signals representing the respective phasorgram images ([0131], 93); and
a processor (Fig. 20, 40) configured to perform a reconstruction algorithm that processes the electrical signals representing the respective phasorgram images to obtain a phase distribution estimate of the light transmitted through the lens under test (Fig. 2, 52).
Tsuchida fails to explicitly disclose the lens under test being positioned between the optically transmissive substrate and the multi-wavelength image sensor array.
However, Gross teaches wherein “it is an [sic] advantageous to make changes in [a lens] system without any great perturbation of the existing setup” and that “One class of modifications of this type are those which do not introduce any refractive power”; and discloses that “Inserting a powerless thin or thick meniscus lens” is one of the most essential such operations (page 378, 33.1.4 Zero Power Operations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Tsuchida and Gross such that a lens under test was positioned between the optically transmissive substrate and the multi-wavelength image sensor array, motivated by “help[ing] in finding a design with better performance” (Gross - page 378).
Regarding claim 18, modified Tsuchida discloses wherein said at least one respective phasorgram image for each respective wavelength are captured by the multi-wavelength image sensor array in a single-shot acquisition (Tsuchida - [0129]).
7. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over modified Tsuchida in view of Kazemzadeh et al. (US 20160320602 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 6, modified Tsuchida fails to explicitly disclose wherein the multi-wavelength image sensor array is inside of a red-green-blue (RGB) camera.
However, Kazemzadeh teaches a similar quantitative phase imaging system ([0001]), and discloses wherein multi-wavelength image sensors are inside of a red-green-blue (RGB) camera ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine modified Tsuchida and Kazemzadeh such that the sensors were inside of an RGB camera, motivated by capturing a wide spectrum of visual information.
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over modified Tsuchida in view of Chen et al. (CN 107966801 A, of record).
Regarding claim 7, modified Tsuchida fails to explicitly disclose wherein the reconstruction algorithm comprises an iterative Fourier algorithm with field averaging.
However, Chen teaches a similar device for analyzing light intensity/phase distribution, and discloses wherein a reconstruction algorithm comprises an iterative Fourier algorithm with averaging (claim 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine modified Tsuchida and Chen such that the reconstruction algorithm was to comprise an iterative Fourier algorithm, motivated by acquiring accurate data.
9. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over modified Tsuchida in view of Garsha et al. (US 20120200694 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 13, modified Tsuchida fails to explicitly disclose wherein the marker can be used for at least one of (1) differentiating healthy from pathologic tissue, (2) cancer detection and diagnosis, and (3) to track a development of diabetes.
However, Garsha teaches a microscope which observes light intensity/phase, and discloses wherein the refractive properties of a sample may be used to detect cancer ([0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine modified Tsuchida and Garsha such that the marker can be used for cancer detection, motivated by improving the health of a patient.
10. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchida in view of Moser et al. (US 10401792 B2).
Regarding claim 19, Tsuchida discloses a quantitative phase imaging (QPI) system (Abstract) for correcting images captured by a camera module of a device for atmospheric aberration ([0039]), the QPI system comprising:
a multi-wavelength light source configured to emit multiple wavelengths of light (Fig. 20, 11);
an optically transmissive substrate (Fig. 20, 92) positioned relative to the light source to ensure that light emitted by the light source is incident on a structure formed in the optically transmissive substrate (Fig. 20, light is incident on a structure in 92), the structure comprising at least one of a computer generated hologram (CGH) and a diffractive grating ([0131], diffractive grating 92), the structure generating at least one respective phasorgram image along a single optical path for each respective wavelength of light ([0131], 92) of the multiple wavelengths of light, wherein the lens of the device directs the phasorgram images onto a multi-wavelength image sensor array of the device (Fig. 20, 91 and 93), the multi-wavelength image sensor array converting the phasorgram images into electrical signals representing the phasorgram images ([0131], 93); and
a processor of the device (Fig. 20, 40) being configured to perform a reconstruction algorithm that processes the electrical signals representing the phasorgram images to obtain a phase distribution estimate of the light transmitted through the lens (Fig. 2, 52), the processor being configured to perform an atmospheric aberration correction algorithm that uses the phase distribution estimate to correct images captured by other camera modules of the device to correct for atmospheric aberration in the captured images (Fig. 2, 52).
Tsuchida fails to explicitly disclose a mobile device, and an adapter configured to be mechanically coupled to a mobile device in optical alignment with a lens of the mobile device.
However, Moser teaches “a portable holographic device or system” (column 1 lines 63-64), and discloses that the device/system “can be retro-fitted onto the existing port of standard microscopes, producing an amplitude and quantitative phase image from the video output of any transmission or reflection microscope” (column 5 lines 3-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Tsuchida and Moser such that an adapter was configured to be mechanically coupled to a mobile device in optical alignment with a lens of the mobile device, motivated by improving portability.
Regarding claim 20, modified Tsuchida discloses wherein the multi-wavelength light source comprises at least one of (1) a combination of a natural light source and a plurality of filters that operate on natural light from the natural light source to produce the light of multiple wavelengths and (2) a microscope illumination lamp (Tsuchida - Fig. 20, 11).
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D. J. J./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872