DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 18-23, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication to Raza 2016/0091685US.
In terms of Claim 1, Raza teaches a fiber routing device (Figure 11), comprising: a planar structure (Figure 11: 20); and a set of fiber features (Figure 11: 610 or 702 or both) associated with organizing a plurality of fibers (Figure 11: within 610 or 710; wherein fibers use for ports 710 and 610 maybe ribbon fibers [0075], [0076], and [0129]) for forming a set of ribbons groups (Figure 12: see port label 1-8 as 1 group; portion 9-16 as another group, and group 17-20 as a 3rd group wherein the fibers used maybe of ribbons configuration [0075]), the set of fiber features being held by the planar structure (Fibers sets of 602/702 are held to interconnect structures 10/20 via adhesive to create routing pathways [0075-0076]), wherein a first end of a fiber feature (Figure 11: wherein 602 is coupled to 610) of the set of fiber features is at a first side of the fiber routing device (The examiner considers each ports of that is coupled to 602 i.e. at location of 610 or 604 to be a side. This interpretation is consistent with the disclosure wherein the end point of each 202-b1 shown in Figure 2b is considered as a side the applicant), and a second end of the fiber feature is one of: at a second side of the fiber routing device (Figure 11: 602 is coupled to two ends of which are indicated as 605/610 or 703 along the various location of 20 either on the left or right), or between the first side of the fiber routing device and the second side of the fiber routing device (Figure 11: 602 is coupled a port location which is considered as a side by the examiner, these port location are located between the top edge surface or side of 20 and the bottom edge surface of 20); wherein a set of fibers (Figure 11: 602), of the plurality of fibers (Figure 11: various bands of fibers cables 602 along the left side of structure 630), includes a fiber extending from the first end of the fiber feature (Figure 12: fibers in 602 is extending from port 604); and wherein the set of fibers are aligned and ordered, base on an arrangement of the set of fiber features, to form ribbon groups of set ribbons group (See Figure 12: below wherein the various ports for each cable fiber is numbered and order and arranged in groups).
As for Claim 2, Raza teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the first side of the fiber routing device is a same side of the fiber routing device as the second side of the fiber routing device (Figure 11: On the left side at location of 610 is the first side, element 602 illustrates coupling to another port location with another connector below the 610 also on the left side. The first port is considered to be the first side, the 2nd port below is considered the 2nd side and both are located on the same left edge of 20).
As for Claim 3, Raza teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the first side of the fiber routing device is an opposite side of the fiber routing device from the second side of the fiber routing device (Figure 11: the top most port that aligns with 710 on the left and right wherein the ports are located on opposite edge or side of the routing device 20).
As for Claim 4, Raza teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the first side of the fiber routing device is a same side of the fiber routing device as the second side of the fiber routing device (Figure 11: wherein the top port at 610 and the bottom port are located in different locations which the examiner considers as a side because this is consistent with the applicant structure 202-b1), and the fiber feature (702 or 610) is associated with changing a fiber direction of the fiber (Figure 11: 602 forms a u-shape similar to applicant structure 202b1 which performs the change in direction by allow the terminating end to be on same side as the input end instead of being on opposites sides).
As for Claim 5, Raza teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the first end of the fiber feature (wherein 602 meets 610) is a first fiber type (602) and the second end (other end of 602) of the fiber feature is a second fiber type ([0092] discloses the fiber can have different terminations which the examiner considers to meet the limitation of different fiber types because it ends terminate using different type of connector coupling), and the fiber feature (610) is associated with changing a fiber type from the first fiber type to the second fiber type(Ports 610 can have various configurations which may be used to change fiber terminations type [0092]).
As for Claim 6, Raza teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the second end of the fiber terminates inside the fiber routing device (within 20 and 630 at 610), and the fiber feature is associated with terminating the fiber ([0092]).
As for Claim 7, Raza teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the second end of the fiber feature (602) starts within the fiber routing device (Figure 1 above: 602 have a have u-shaped configuration that terminates on the same left side, the second end 602 is terminated at 610 within the fiber routing structure 20/630, hence ‘starts within” 20/630), wherein the fiber feature (702/610) is associated with managing an idle fiber wherein the fiber is the idle fiber ([0092] discloses wherein the system is capable of handling “other information” that may be used to identify the pathways such 602 or connectors used to termination within the system). The examiner has identified the act of “managing idle fibers” to be functional limitation of which the structure mainly the CPU, 718, 626 are capable of identifying “the idle” fiber and performing an associated function similar to way it handles variables such different connector types and fiber types as described in Paragraphs ([0092]- [0093]. Lastly, any fibers not currently being used can be considered “idle fiber”, the CPU can identify which fiber is transmitting or not transmitting base on its on or off status via the cable transmission information [0096]).
As for Claim 8, Raza teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein each fiber feature (702 or 610) in the set of fiber features is adhered to the planar structure (fibers are adhere to film 630 and fusion spliced to connectors 610 [0068]).
As for Claim 9, Raza teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the fiber feature (610 or 702) is a first type of fiber feature (i.e. a fiber path that terminates with FC connector) and another fiber feature of the set of fiber features is a second type of fiber feature (a fiber path 610 or 702 that terminates with MPO connector ([0079-0080]).
As for Claim 10, Raza teaches the device of Claim 9, wherein the first type of fiber feature is a same type of fiber feature as the second type of fiber feature ([0079-0080] disclosed wherein the termination of 602 to 610 can be different type or same type of connector configurations).
As for Claim 11, Raza teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the set of fiber features (602) includes a plurality of fiber features (different type of connector terminations [0079-0080]), wherein the plurality of fiber features (602) includes at least two different types of fiber features ([0079-0080] listed examples wherein there are at least two different types of combinations for connector terminations).
As for Claim 12, Raza teaches the device of Claim 1wherein the set of fibers (602) is a first set of loose fibers ([0081]) on the first side of the fiber routing device (at 602 at the location of one of the ports located on the left or right side), wherein the ribbon group is a first ribbon fiber ([0075]), and wherein each fiber in the first set of loose fibers extends from a respective fiber feature (602) from the set of fiber features (610 or 702 and [0081]).
As for Claim 13, Raza teaches the device of Claim 12, further comprising a second ribbon fiber formed from a second set of loose fibers on the second side of the fiber routing device (fibers path 602 can be made into ribbon stacks, since there are multiple pathways of 602 multiple ribbons configuration can be possible), wherein each fiber in the second set of loose fibers extends from a respective fiber feature from the set of fiber features ([0081] wherein each individuals paths 602 making up several ribbons pathways).
In terms of Claim 14, Raza teaches a device (Figure 11), comprising: a first set of loose fibers (Figure 11: 602; [0081]); a set of passive components (702) having a second set of loose fibers ([0081]); and a fiber routing device (Figure 11: 20/630) having a third set of loose fibers (a third pathway of 602) extending from a set of fiber features (610 and 604), wherein the fiber routing device (20/630) and the set of passive components (610/702) are collocated such that the first set of loose fibers, the second set of loose fibers, and the third set of loose fibers are collocated (Figure 11: 3 different pathways of 602 all collocated on the left side and terminates at the passive components 702) or aligned in opposite directions based on an arrangement of the set of fiber features (Figure 11: wherein the fiber routing paths 602 can be on opposite sides of each other as shown by the two top most paths and terminates at passive components 610/604).
As for Claim 15, Raza teaches the device of Claim 14, wherein an ordered group of fibers (See Figure 12: wherein each port have be ordered) from among at least two of the first set of loose fibers (Figure 11: 602 wherein fibers can be individuals fibers or multiple fibers such duplex or even ribbons [0075-0076]), the second set of loose fibers (Figure 11: a second group of fibers 602 below the first set), or the third set of loose fibers forms a ribbon (Figure : 11 a third set below the second set wherein all 3 sets are shown on the left side as 602; [0081] indicates the fibers can be form individuals fibers into ribbons strips).
In terms of Claim 18, Raza teaches an optical card (Figure 11) comprising: an optical module (Figure 11: 21) including: a fiber routing device (Figure 11: 20/630), including a plurality of fiber features (Figure 11: 610/702) associated with organizing a plurality of fibers (Figure 11: 602) for forming a set of ribbon groups ([0081] or [0075] wherein groups are shown in Figure 12 with numbering order at ports as shown in Figure 12 above), wherein a first fiber feature (Figure 11: 610/702) of the plurality of fiber features is a first type of fiber feature (610/702 may have different terminations to house the different type of connector which the examiner considers as different fiber types [0092]) and a second fiber feature (Figure 11: 610/702 a second path different than the first path) of the plurality of fiber features (610/702) is a second type of fiber feature that is different from the first type of fiber feature ([0092] wherein the terminations of the fiber features 610 may have different configurations to house the different terminations of 602); wherein a group of fibers (in on ribbon of 602), of the plurality of fibers (within 602; [0075]) includes a fiber extending from a first end of the first fiber feature (Figure 11: 602 extends from 610); and wherein the group of fibers (602 has multiple fibers in a ribbon which forms a group) are aligned and ordered (See Figure 12: wherein each port has a numbering sequence to a corresponding cable which contains a group of fibers [0075]), based on an arrangement of the plurality of fiber features (610/702), to form a ribbon group of the set of ribbon groups (Figure 12).
As for Claim 19, Raza teaches the device of Claim 18, wherein a third fiber feature (610 or 702 or both) of the plurality of fiber features is a third type of fiber feature that is different from the first type of fiber feature and the second type of fiber feature ([0079-0081] which teaches various terminations configurations wherein at least 3 combinations can be different from each other).
As for Claim 20, Raza teaches the device of Claim 19, wherein the first type of fiber feature (610/702) is a type of fiber feature associated with changing a fiber direction (Figure 11: 602 makes a U-shape turn on the left side which is similar to 202b1 which performs the change in direction by having a u-shape pattern), the second type of fiber feature is a type of fiber feature associated with changing a fiber type (the path of fiber 602 may have different configuration of terminations which is considered by the examiner as a different fiber type since it terminates to different form a connecting devices), and the third type of fiber feature (610 which correspond to a 602 3rd path) is a type of fiber feature associated with managing an idle fiber ([0092] discloses wherein the system is capable of handling “other information” that may be used to identify the pathways such 602 or connectors used to termination within the system). The examiner has identified the act of “managing idle fibers” to be functional limitation of which the structure mainly the CPU, 718, 626 are capable of identifying “the idle” fiber and performing an associated function similar to way it handles variables such different connector types and fiber types as described in Paragraphs ([0092]- [0093]).
As for Claim 21, Raza teaches the device of Claim 18, wherein the first end of the first fiber feature (610/702) is at a first side of the fiber routing device (Figure 11: 20/630 at location of element 610 on the left side), and a second end of the first fiber feature (602 at 610 is coupled to 602 at the bottom most port on the left side) is at a second side of the fiber routing device or is between the first side and the second side (the two ends of 602 are between the top and bottom side of 20).
As for Claim 22, Raza teaches the device of Claim 18, wherein the fiber routing device comprises a planar structure (Figure 11: surface of 20), and each fiber feature in the plurality of fiber features is adhered to the planar structure ([0075]).
As for Claim 23, Raza teaches the device of Claim 18, wherein the optical module further comprises a set of passive components (704 or 710) collocated with the fiber routing device such that fibers among a plurality of sets of loose fibers (0075]) are collocated (pathways 602 on the right are u-shaped and are collocated on the same right most edge of the device).
As for Claim 27, Raza teaches the device of Claim 18, wherein the fiber routing device (20/630) includes a first planar structure (Figure 12: having multiple square port location) and a second planar structure (Figure 12: having multiple square port location), wherein the plurality of fiber features is between the first planar structure and the second planar structure (Figure 12: pathways between the various ports location).
As for Claim 28, Raza teaches the device of Claim 18, wherein the planar structure is a first planar structure (20/630), wherein the fiber routing device (See Figure 8: wherein multiple mesh maybe coupled to each via a fiber routing device 212) further comprises a second planar structure (Figure 8: another 208), wherein the set of fiber features is held between the first planar structures and the second planar structures (See Figure 11: which has a fiber features 702/710 used to accept incoming/outgoing fibers, these features will be on the mesh structures to allow fibers to be coupled to element 212).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Raza 2016/0091685US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Barron 2013/0034330US.
In regards to Claims 16 and 25, Raza teaches the device of claims 14 and 23, wherein a fibers paths within a fiber routing device having a plurality of ribbons fiber pathways (602), wherein the device is capable of coupling several ribbon groups to each other (See left and right side of 20 or top 610 to bottom 610), wherein the second ribbon group is formed from a second group of fibers among the plurality of sets loose fibers (fibers coupled to 610 can be loose or bundle or ribbons [0075] wherein groups be allocated as shown in Figure 12).
Raza does not teach further comprising a ribbon splice interconnecting the fiber ribbon group with a second ribbon group being spliced to another fiber to form an internal splice, wherein the first fiber and the second fiber are formed from groups of fibers from among at least two of the first set of loose fibers, the second set of loose fibers, or the third set of loose fibers.
Barron teaches a splice interconnecting (Figure 8: 38(1)) a first fiber with a second fiber to form an internal ribbon splice (input side of 38(1) and output side of 38(1) are spliced together within (38(1); [0025]), wherein the first fiber and the second fiber are formed from groups of fibers from among at least two of the first set of loose fibers, the second set of loose fibers, or the third set of loose fibers (Figure 8: multiple fibers at 42(1) forms different set of fibers being splice multiple groups of fiber at 18(1)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interconnect device of Raza to include a portion of which an internal splice can be added in order to repair induvial paths of 602 within the device if the fiber path has been damage. The location of the splice being internal to interconnect allows for the user to modified fiber routing path if the fiber requires repair or segments of 602 requires replacing. This allows the device to be easily repair or replace when service of the fiber pathway is required.
Claims 17 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Raza 2016/0091685US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Barthel 2003/0210882US.
In regards to Claims 17 and 26, Raza teaches the device of claims 14 and 23, wherein a fibers paths within a fiber routing device having a plurality of ribbons fiber pathways (602).
Raza does not teach wherein further comprising a ribbon splice interconnecting the first ribbon with the second ribbon to form an external ribbon splice, wherein the first ribbon is formed from a group of fibers from among at least two of the first set of loose fibers, the second set of loose fibers, or the third set of loose fibers, and wherein the second ribbon is formed from a second group of fibers connected to one or more components external to an optical module of the device.
Barthel teaches a ribbon splice (Figure 2: 34; [0045]) interconnecting a first ribbon with a second ribbon to form an external ribbon splice (Figure 2: top and bottom portion of 34 once splice forms the complete loop, the loop is located external to the interconnecting substrate), wherein the first ribbon is formed from a group of fibers (Figure 2: 34) from among at least two of the first set of loose fibers (top portion of 34; [0045]), the second set of loose fibers (bottom portion of 34; [0045]), or the third set of loose fibers, and wherein the second ribbon (bottom portion of 34) is formed from a second group of fibers ([0045] wherein fiber 34 is a bundle fiber which means a group of fiber) connected to one or more components (Figure 2: 48) external to an optical module of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interconnect device of Raza to include a portion of which an external splice can be done. The location of the splice being external allows for the user to modified fiber routing without having to worry about damaging the interconnect substrate during the splice operation. This allows the device to be easily reconfigured the pathways of an individual path outside the interconnect 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 and 18 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argued the prior art of Raza does not teach “wherein a set of fibers, of the plurality of fibers, includes a fiber extending from the first end of the fiber feature; and wherein the set of fibers are aligned and ordered, based on an arrangement of the set of fiber features, to form a ribbon group of the set of ribbon groups” as amended in Claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees because Raza does teach “wherein a set of fibers (Figure 11: 602), of the plurality of fibers (Figure 11: various bands of fibers cables 602 along the left side of structure 630), includes a fiber extending from the first end of the fiber feature (Figure 12: fibers in 602 is extending from port 604); and wherein the set of fibers are aligned and ordered, based on an arrangement of the set of fiber features, to form ribbon groups of set ribbons group (See Figure 12: below wherein the various ports for each cable fiber is numbered and order and arranged in groups)”.
Thus, newly amended claim 1 is still rejectable over the prior art of Raza.
In regards to claim 18, newly amended limitations to Claim 18 are still rejectable over Raza because the prior art of Raza teaches “wherein a group of fibers (in on ribbon of 602), of the plurality of fibers (within 602; [0075]) includes a fiber extending from a first end of the first fiber feature (Figure 11: 602 extends from 610); and wherein the group of fibers (602 has multiple fibers in a ribbon which forms a group) are aligned and ordered (See Figure 12: wherein each port has a numbering sequence to a corresponding cable which contains a group of fibers [0075]), based on an arrangement of the plurality of fiber features (610/702), to form a ribbon group of the set of ribbon groups (Figure 12)”. This limitation is similar to applicant argument to Claim 1 but claimed in a different manner.
Thus, the examiner considers the newly amended limitation to Claim 18 is still rejectable over the prior art of Raza.
Newly added claim 28 have also been rejected in view Raza as detailed above.
This action is therefore made FINAL for reason(s) detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874