DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-3 and 5 have been amended; support for the amendment can be found in original claim 1 and [0026] of the PGPUB.
Claims 1-15 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Di is now relied on to teach the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Di (CN110335992A, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 1, Di discloses a method ([0010]) of manufacturing a negative electrode (“pre-lithiated electrode pole piece”; [0024]), comprising:
providing a negative electrode roll (Fig. 1; electrode on R3) on which a negative electrode structure (Fig. 2; E0-E2) including a negative electrode current collector (“conductive foil”; [0011]; Fig. 2; E0), a first negative electrode active material layer (“E1’; [0011]; Fig. 2; E1) formed on one side ([0011]; Fig. 2; side of E0 at E1) of the negative electrode current collector (EO), and a second negative electrode active material layer (“E2”; [0011]) formed on the other side ([0011]; Fig. 2; side of E0 at E2) of the negative electrode current collector (E0) is wound;
preparing a pre-lithiation bath (Fig. 1; A2 and A3) including an impregnation section (Fig. 1; A2) and a pre-lithiation section (Fig. 1; A3 from R1 to R2) and containing a pre-lithiation solution (“electrolyte solution”; [0074]), wherein the impregnation section (A2) and the pre-lithiation section (R1 to R2) are partitioned (Fig. 1) and sequentially provided (Fig. 1);
unwinding (Fig. 1) the negative electrode structure (E0-E2) from the negative electrode roll (electrode on R3), and moving (Fig. 1) the negative electrode structure (E0-E2) to the impregnation section (A2) and impregnating ([0020]) the negative electrode structure (E0-E2) with the pre-lithiation solution ([0074]) to provide an impregnated negative electrode structure (wetted electrode of [0020]; Fig. 1; electrode after V1); and
pre-lithiating ([0016]; Fig. 1; R1 to R2) the impregnated negative electrode structure (Fig. 1; electrode after V1) by moving the impregnated negative electrode structure (Fig. 1; electrode after V1) from the impregnation section (A2) to the pre-lithiation section (R1 to R3) to provide a pre-lithiated negative electrode structure (Fig. 1; electrode after R2),
wherein the pre-lithiating ([0016]) of the impregnated negative electrode structure (Fig.1) is carried out by alternately (first, “electrons from the L12 layer through the external circuits of L13, R111, and E0 reach the electrode active material E1 layer”, see Fig. 1 and 3, then second, “electrons from the L22 layer to the electrode active material E2 layer via the external circuits of L23, R211, and E0”; see Fig. 1 and 3, [0016]) electrochemically charging (electrons entering E1 per [0016]; electrons entering E2 per [0016]) the first negative electrode active material layer (E1) and the second negative electrode active material layer (E2) in the pre-lithiation section (A3) such that one (Fig. 3; E1) of the first negative electrode active material layer (E1) and the second negative electrode active material layer (E2) is being electrochemically charged ([0016]) while another (Fig. 3; E2) of the first negative electrode active material layer (E1) and the second negative electrode active material layer (E2) is not being electrochemically charged ([0016]).
Regarding claim 3, Di discloses wherein the alternately electrochemically charging ([0016]) the first negative electrode active material layer (E1) and the second negative electrode active material layer (E2) is performed in two or more cycles (“a plurality of A3 pre-lithiation modules may be arranged, or multiple sets of lithiation rolls R1 and R2 and multiple sets of electron transfer rolls R11 may be arranged in one A3 pre-lithiation module”; [0018]; one cycle is the electrode passing through one set of R1 and R2 rollers) in the pre-lithiation section (R1 to R2), and wherein, in each cycle ([0018]), the first negative electrode active material layer and the second negative electrode active material layer is electrochemically charged (“electrons from the L12 layer through the external circuits of L13, R111, and E0 reach the electrode active material E1 layer” and “electrons from the L22 layer to the electrode active material E2 layer via the external circuits of L23, R211, and E0”; [0016]) once ([0016]).
Regarding claim 8, Di discloses wherein the pre-lithiation bath (A2, A3) further includes an aging section (Fig. 1; R2 to the rightmost end of A3) which is partitioned (Fig. 1) and sequentially provided (Fig. 1) after the pre- lithiation section (R1-R2), and wherein the method ([0010]) further includes aging (Fig. 1; R2 to the rightmost solvent line of A3) the pre-lithiated negative electrode structure by moving the pre-lithiated negative electrode structure (Fig. 1; electrode after R2) from the pre-lithiation section (R1 to R2) to the aging section (R2 to the rightmost solvent line of A3).
Regarding claim 10, Di discloses moving (Fig.1) the pre-lithiated negative electrode structure (Fig. 1; electrode after R2) out (Fig. 1) of the pre-lithiation bath (A2, A3); and moving (Fig. 1) the pre-lithiated negative electrode structure (Fig. 1; electrode after R2) to a washing bath (Fig. 1; A4) containing an organic solvent ([0021]) and washing ([0021]) the pre-lithiated negative electrode structure (Fig. 1; electrode after R2) to provide a washed ([0021]) negative electrode structure (Fig. 1; electrode after A4).
Regarding claim 12, Di discloses further comprising drying (Fig. 1; A5; [0022]) the washed ([0021]) negative electrode structure (Fig.1; electrode after A4).
Regarding claim 14, Di discloses wherein each of the first negative electrode active material layer (E1) and the second negative electrode active material layer (E2) includes a negative electrode active material ([0069]), and wherein the negative electrode active material ([0069]) includes one or more selected from among a carbon-based active material ([0069]) and a silicon-based active material ([0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di (CN110335992A, machine translation used for rejection below), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Grant (US-20170187030-A1).
Regarding claim 2, Di discloses wherein the pre-lithiating (R1 to R2) of the negative electrode structure (Fig. 2) is carried out by:
disposing a first lithium metal counter electrode (Fig. 3; L12; [0013]) facing (Fig. 3) and spaced apart (Fig. 3) from the first negative electrode active material layer (E1) and a second lithium metal counter electrode (Fig. 3; L22; [0013]) facing (Fig. 3) and spaced apart (Fig. 3) from the second negative electrode active material layer (E2) in the pre-lithiation section (A3); connecting the first negative electrode active material layer (E1) and the first lithium metal counter electrode (L12) through a first electrochemical charger/discharger (Fig. 5; C1; “first current voltage control device C1”; [0017]) and connecting the second negative electrode active material layer (E2) and the second lithium metal counter electrode (L22) through a second electrochemical charger/discharger (Fig. 5; C2; “second current voltage control device C1”; [0017]).
Di fails to disclose alternately operating the first electrochemical charger/discharger and the second electrochemical charger/discharger to perform the alternately electrochemically charging of the first negative electrode active material layer and the second negative electrode active material layer.
Grant teaches a method of manufacturing ([0007]) a negative electrode ([0007]), comprising: alternately operating (“forward (reducing) voltage pulses alternating with zero voltage pulses (rest period)”; [0011]) an electrochemical charger/discharger (“power supply”; [0040]) to perform electrochemical charging (“forward (reducing) voltage pulses alternating with zero voltage pulses (rest period)”; [0011]) of a negative electrode active material layer (“coated electrodes”; [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the prelithiating step of the method of Di by alternately operating the first electrochemical charger/discharger and the second electrochemical charger/discharger to perform the alternately electrochemically charging of the first negative electrode active material layer and the second negative electrode active material layer by forward voltage pulses alternating with zero voltage pulses in order to prevent lithium plating or dendrite buildup on bare substrate areas of the anode current collector as taught by Grant ([0011]).
Regarding claim 4, Di fails to disclose wherein the first negative electrode active material layer and the second negative electrode active material layer are alternately electrochemically charged for a period of 0.1 seconds to 80 seconds.
Grant teaches a method of manufacturing ([0007]) a negative electrode ([0007]), wherein a negative electrode active material layer (a coating on a first side as taught by [0011]) and a second negative electrode active material layer (a coating on a second side as taught by [0011]) are electrochemically charged (“forward (reducing) voltage pulse periods”; [0047]) for a period of 0.1 seconds to 80 seconds (“ 2 milliseconds and 1000 milliseconds”; [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the prelithiating step of the method of Di in view of Grant by alternately electrochemically charging the first and second negative electrode active material layers for a period of 0.1 seconds to 80 seconds as taught by Grant in order to alkaliate the anode current collector as taught by Grant ([0047]).
Regarding claim 6, Di fails to disclose wherein the negative electrode structure moves through the pre-lithiation section in 5 minutes to 120 minutes.
Grant teaches a method of manufacturing ([0007]) a negative electrode ([0007]), wherein a negative electrode structure (“anode”; [0047]) moves (“durations of electrode movement”; [0042]) through a pre-lithiation section (“time durations of electrode lithiation”; [0042]) within a range of 5 minutes to 120 minutes ([0042] teaches a range of 10 to 500 minutes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the prelithiating step of the method of Di by making the negative electrode structure move through the pre-lithiation section in 10 minutes to 120 minutes in order to achieve desired lithiation dosages, and active anode rate characteristics as taught by Grant ([0042]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di (CN110335992A, machine translation used for rejection below), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Nazri (US-5743921-A).
Regarding claim 5, Di fails to disclose wherein the alternately electrochemically charging is carried out using a current density of 0.2 mA/cm2 to 10 mA/cm2.
Nazri teaches a method of manufacturing (col. 3, ln. 30) a negative electrode (col. 3, ln. 32), comprising: electrochemically charging (“Prelithiation/cathodization”; col. 6, ln. 46) carried out using a current of 0.2 mA/cm2 to 10 mA/cm2 (0.1 to 8 10 mA/cm2 per col. 6, ln. 48) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the prelithiating step of the method of Di by substituting the undisclosed current density of Di for a current density of 0.2 mA/cm2 to 8 mA/cm2 as taught by Nazri, to effectively prelithiate as taught by Nazri (col. 6, ln. 51-56).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di (CN110335992A, machine translation used for rejection below), as applied to claims 8 and 10 above, in view of Dan (CN105514497B, machine translation used for rejection below, previously presented).
Regarding claim 9, Di fails to disclose wherein a time taken for the pre-lithiated negative electrode structure to move through the aging section is 0.5 to 21 times a time taken for the impregnated negative electrode structure to move through the pre-lithiation section.
Dan discloses a method of manufacturing ([0010]) a negative electrode ([0012]) wherein a time taken for a pre-lithiated negative electrode structure ([0014]) to move through an aging section (“DMC solution”; [0014]) is within 0.5 to 21 times ([0013-0014]) a time taken for an impregnated negative electrode structure (anode is put into electrolyte in [0012]) to move through a pre-lithiation section (“prelithiation treatment”; [0013]; [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Di such that a time taken for the pre-lithiated negative electrode structure to move through the aging section is within 0.5 to 21 times a time taken for the impregnated negative electrode structure to move through the pre-lithiation section as taught by Dan in order to effectively improve the first charge and discharge efficiencies as taught by Dan ([008]).
Regarding claim 11, Di fails to disclose wherein a time taken for the pre-lithiated negative electrode structure to move through the washing bath is 0.1 to 5 times a time taken for the impregnated negative electrode structure to move through the pre-lithiation section.
Dan discloses a method of manufacturing ([0010]) a negative electrode ([0012]) wherein a time taken for a pre-lithiated negative electrode structure ([0014]) to move through a washing bath (“DMC solution”; [0014]) is within 0.1 to 5 times ([0013-0014]) a time taken for an impregnated negative electrode structure (anode is put into electrolyte in [0012]) to move through a pre-lithiation section (“prelithiation treatment”; [0013]; [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Di such that a time taken for the pre-lithiated negative electrode structure to move through the washing bath is within 0.1 to 5 times a time taken for the impregnated negative electrode structure to move through the pre-lithiation section as taught by Dan in order to effectively improve the first charge and discharge efficiencies as taught by Dan ([008]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di (CN110335992A, machine translation used for rejection below), as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Grant’648 (US 20130327648 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Di fails to disclose wherein a temperature inside the pre-lithiation bath is in a range of 10 °C to 80 °C.
Grant’648 teaches a method for manufacturing ([0044]) a negative electrode ([0044]) wherein a temperature ([0057]) inside a pre-lithiation bath (“lithiated tank”; [0057]) is in a range of 10 °C to 80 °C ([0057] teaches a range of 30 to 55 degrees Celsius).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the prelithiating step of the method of Di by employing a temperature inside the pre-lithiation bath in a range of 30 °C to 55 °C as taught by Grant’648 in order to maintain consistent bath operating conditions even with variations in facility temperature as taught by Grant’648 ([0057]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di (CN110335992A, machine translation used for rejection below), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yang (CN105845894B, machine translation used for rejection below)
Regarding claim 15, Di fails to disclose wherein, in the pre-lithiating of the impregnated negative electrode structure, the first negative electrode active material layer and the second negative electrode active material layer are each independently electrochemically charged to a state-of-charge (SoC) of 5% to 50%.
Yang discloses a method of manufacturing a negative electrode ([0015]) wherein, in a pre-lithiating ([0017]) of an impregnated (“inserted into the electrolyte”; [0043]) negative electrode structure ([0043]), a negative electrode active material layer (active material layer of the “negative electrode piece”; [0043]) is independently electrochemically charged to a state-of-charge (SoC) within 5% to 50% ([0043]-[0055] teach 5%, 10%, 15%, 20%, 25%, and 30% SOC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the prelithiating step of the method of Di such that in the pre-lithiating of the impregnated negative electrode structure, the first negative electrode active material layer and the second negative electrode active material layer are each independently electrochemically charged to a state-of-charge (SoC) of 5% to 30% as taught by Yang in order to greatly improve first coulombic efficiency, cycle performance and capacity retention rate as taught by Yang ([0074]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723