DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1 – 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 23, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 19, line 3, “manual propulsion arranged either side” should be “manual propulsion arranged on either side”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the set of front wheels" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, this is taken to mean “the pair of front wheels”. The same term is used in claim 20 and is interpreted the same. Also, claim 20 depends from claim 19 and therefore, is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese patent document JP H07313554 A to Fujimoto, in view of German patent document DE 43 40 588 A1 to Kauffmann.
Regarding claim 19, Fujimoto discloses a manually propelled wheelchair (See Figure 4; although not explicitly stated, the wheelchair, having no motor is capable of being manually propelled) comprising:
a chassis (frame 2) to accommodate a seat (seat part 1);
a pair of rear wheels (rear wheel 3) for manual propulsion arranged on either side of the chassis (Paragraph [0011]);
a pair of front wheels (front wheels 4).
However, Fujimoto does not disclose:
a drive system for the pair of front wheels, wherein the drive system comprises at least one motor coupled to the pair of front wheels, and wherein a torque applied to one or more of the set of front wheels by the at least one motor at least assists the propulsion of the wheelchair.
Kauffmann discloses a wheelchair (seated / standing body support apparatus, Fig. 9) comprising a drive system (front wheel drive motors 126a) for a pair of front wheels (front wheels 22a), wherein the drive system comprises at least one motor coupled to the pair of front wheels (Fig. 11), and wherein a torque applied to one or more of the set of front wheels by the at least one motor at least assists the propulsion of the wheelchair (Paragraphs [0041] and [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Fujimoto such that the front wheels comprise motors to drive the front wheels allowing the user to drive the wheelchair when he/she is unable to manually propel it.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto, in view of Kauffmann, and further in view of patent number US 6,511,442 B1 to Lathan et al. (hereinafter referred to as Lathan).
Regard claim 20, Fujimoto, modified by Kauffmann, discloses the wheelchair of claim 19. Fujimoto discloses a control system but does not disclose:
a directional control system to adjust a direction of the wheelchair by instructing a differential torque to be applied to one or more of the set of front wheels, wherein the drive system and the directional control system enable remote control of the wheelchair when a load is absent from the seat.
Kauffmann does disclose a directional control system (control unit 28, Pages 7 – 8) to adjust a direction of the wheelchair by instructing a differential torque to be applied to one or more of the set of front wheels (front wheels 22; “the speeds of the front-wheel drive motors can be separated by a suitable actuation of the controls”, Page 8), wherein the drive system and the directional control system enable control of the wheelchair when a load is absent from the seat (seat 14; the load is absent when the patient is standing, Fig. 1; Pages 7 – 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kauffman’s wheelchair such that the front wheels are controllable even when there is no load on the seat.
Furthermore, Lathan discloses a system for a wheelchair comprising a remote control of the wheelchair (Col. 2: Lns. 22 – 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify Fujimoto’s wheelchair such that it is remotely controlled, having remotely controlled wheels, such that the wheelchair user can send the wheelchair to himself.
Conclusion
/Felicia L. Brittman-Alabi/ Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611