Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 4-7, 18-20, 22 are cancelled. Claims 8-17 are withdrawn.
Pending claims 1-3, 21, 23 are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo (JP2004357981A) in view of Walcome (US20180280744) and Rief (US5957508).
Regarding claim 1, Kubo discloses a coupling assembly (see annotated figure below), comprising:
a sprinkler (S) comprising:
a base (2) comprising a first flange (see annotation; portion 2 is a flange);
a deflector (4);
an inlet end defining a sprinkler thread (5, see annotation below) on a protrusion (see annotation below) contiguous with the base (protrusion and base 2 form one piece) and extending along an axis (see annotation) from the base in a direction away from deflector (4),
the first flange (at 2) having a greater diameter than the protrusion (see annotated protrusion and flange); and
a fitting (10) that extends from a first end (upper end) to a second end (lower end of 10; see annotation), the second end comprising a fitting thread (11, see annotation below), the inlet end of the sprinkler couples with the second end (couples via the threads) and the fitting thread couples with the sprinkler thread (see annotation), the first flange arranged to abut the second end (as shown in the annotated figure below), such that the first flange the fitting thread and the sprinkler thread limit over rotation of the sprinkler relative to the fitting (when upper surface of flange 2 touch bottom surface of the fitting, rotation is no longer possible).
Examiner's Annotated Figure 1 (Kubo)
Kubo does not teach arms that are contiguous with and integrally formed with the base and that space the deflector from the base; the first flange between the sprinkler thread and the arms;
an activation element between the arms; and the protrusion extending away from the arms.
However, Walcome discloses a comparable sprinkler structure (24; fig. 2) having arms (see annotation below) that are contiguous with and integrally formed with the base and that space the deflector from the base (88); an activation element (see annotation below) between the arms; and the protrusion extending away from the arms (see annotation below). This sprinkler structure with arms, activation element and deflector configuration is well known in the art.
Examiner's Annotated Figure 2 (Walcome)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kubo to incorporate the teachings of Walcome to substitute Kubo’s main body 3 and deflector 4 with arms, activation element and deflector of Walcome’s structure, as claimed. In this sprinkler configuration, the first flange of Kubo would be between the sprinkler thread and the arms. Doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating fire protection of the targeted space when appropriate.
Further regarding claim 1, Kubo does not teach the base (2) comprising a second flange; the second flange having a greater diameter than the protrusion, the second flange between the first flange and the protrusion; a sprinkler seal engaged with the second flange, the sprinkler seal radially outward from the protrusion relative to the axis and radially inward from the first flange relative to the axis.
Rief teaches a comparable sealing assembly having a base 18 comprising a first flange 36 and a second flange 38; the second flange having a greater diameter than the protrusion (see annotation), the second flange 38 between the first flange 36 and the protrusion (see annotation); a seal 30 engaged with the second flange 38, the sprinkler seal 30 is radially outward from the protrusion (see annotation) relative to the axis (see annotation) and radially inward from the first flange 36 relative to the axis (see annotation).
Examiner's Annotated Figure 3 (Rief)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kubo to incorporate the teachings of Rief to provide the base (2) comprising a second flange; the second flange having a greater diameter than the protrusion, the second flange between the first flange and the protrusion; a sprinkler seal engaged with the second flange, the sprinkler seal radially outward from the protrusion relative to the axis and radially inward from the first flange relative to the axis. Doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating a reliable, high pressure-tight seal with a simple sealing ring (Rief, column 2, lines 9-11).
Note: all references made in parenthesis hereafter are referencing the primary reference Kubo, unless otherwise stated.
Regarding claim 2, Kubo, as modified above, discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, comprising:
the sprinkler thread (5; Kubo – fig. 1) on an outside surface of the protrusion (see Kubo – fig. 1), the protrusion extends into the second end (see annotated figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Kubo, as modified above, discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, comprising:
a fitting seal (30; see Kubo – fig. 1) provided on an inner surface of the fitting.
Regarding claim 21, Kubo, as modified above, discloses the coupling assembly of claim 1, comprising:
the fitting comprises an inward protrusion (at 11) on which the fitting thread (11) is formed (see annotated fig. 1 above); and the fitting comprises an outer surface and a pipe protrusion (see annotated figure below) extending outward from the outer surface.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo (JP2004357981A) in view of Walcome (US20180280744) and Rief (US5957508), further in view of Orr (US 20120186832).
Regarding claim 23, Kubo does not teach the sprinkler thread defines a terminal end of the sprinkler along the axis. Kubo, however, does show that the sprinkler threads 5 can be arranged in different positions, at lower end or upper end (see different thread positionings shown in figs. 1 and 7).
Orr discloses a comparable sprinkler having the sprinkler thread defines a terminal end of the sprinkler along the axis.
Examiner's Annotated Figure 4 (Orr)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kubo to incorporate the teachings of Orr to relocate the sprinkler thread and the corresponding fitting thread to provide the sprinkler thread defines a terminal end of the sprinkler along the axis. Doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating the coupling connection between the sprinkler and fitting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection include teaching and/or combinations not specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752