DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments, filed 11/6/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 12, 15-18, 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bioley et al. (US 2017/0348401, Dec. 7, 2017) (hereinafter Bioley) in view of Dimcevski et al. (Journal of Controlled Release, Volume 243, Pages 172-181, Dec. 10, 2016) (hereinafter Dimcevski).
Bioley teaches gas-filled microvesicles comprising an antigen bound thereto and aqueous suspensions containing said microvesicles (Abstract). The aqueous suspension of gas-filled microvesicles comprises a stabilizing envelope, said stabilizing envelope comprising (a) an antigen covalently bound to an amphiphilic component forming said envelope, (b) a phospholipid and (c) a fatty acid (¶ [0007]). Suitable alternative terms to microvesicles include microbubbles (¶ [0016]). The ratio of fatty acid to phospholipids was found to affect the efficacy of the microvesicles and the antigen-specific antibody and/or T cell responses (¶ [0027]). Suitable fatty acids include saturated fatty acids with palmitic acid being particularly preferred (satisfies fatty acid of claim 12, 15, and 17) (¶ [0030]). Preferred phospholipids include distearoylphosphatidylcholine (DSPC) and dipalmitoylphosphatidylethanolamine (DPPE) (satisfies PC of claim 12, 15, and 17) (¶ [0040]). Phospholipids may also be modified by linking polyethyleneglycol (PEG) thereto. Examples of pegylated phospholipids are pegylated phosphatidylethanolamines (PE-PEGs such as DPPE-PEG) (satisfies PE-PEG of claim 12 and 15). Suitable molecular weights of the PEG molecule range from 300 to 20000 daltons, preferably from 500 to 5000 daltons (satisfies PE-PEG of claim 17) (¶ [0041]). Mixtures of phospholipids can also be used, such as, DPPE (including pegylated derivates) and DSPC (¶ [0043]). Particularly preferred gases for use are fluorinated gases (satisfies claim 18) (¶ [0067]). The microvesicles can be used in any medical treatment comprising or inducing a modulation of the immune response in a patient in need thereof (satisfies treatment method of claim 12) (¶ [0076]). In example B1 the PC/Palmitic acid/PE- PEG had a ratio of 78/19/5/2.5 (satisfies claim 15-16) (¶ [0094]). During testing, the composition was administered three times at two-week intervals via injection (satisfies boluses of claim 12) (¶ [0099]).
Bioley differs from the instantly recited claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the boluses are administered at intervals of at least 4 or 5 minutes or wherein ultrasound is applied in the method of treating.
However, Dimcevski discloses that the process of using ultrasound with gas microbubbles, known as sonoporation, has been known in clinics for at twenty years (Sec. 1, Para. 3). In vitro and in vivo sonoporation has been found to be a viable technique to improve drug delivery and improve therapeutic efficacy. Further, sonoporation has also been used to open the blood brain barrier (Sec. 1, Para. 4). During testing, it was found that the expected in-vivo life time of microbubbles was 4–5 min. As such, boluses were injected every 3.5 min to ensure microbubbles were present continuously throughout the whole treatment (Sec. 2.2, Para. 2).
As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bioley’s method to include the application of ultrasound motivated by the desire to achieve a treatment method that is characterized by improved drug delivery and therapeutic efficacy.
Dimcevski discloses it was found that the expected in-vivo life time of microbubbles was 4–5 min. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have administered the microvesicles of Bioley every 4 to 5 minutes because this is the in-vivo life time of microbubbles motivated by the desire of ensuring the continuous presence of microbubbles/microvesicles throughout the entire course of treatment.
Regarding claim 20 reciting increasing vessels permeabilization, since the gas microvesicles of Bioley are substantially the same as the instantly claimed microvesicles where they comprise DSPC, DPPE-MPEG-5000, palmitic acid, and fluorinated gases and are useable in substantially the same treatment method where the microvesicles of Bioley can be used in any medical treatment comprising or inducing a modulation of the immune response in a patient in need thereof, it would have been reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that the methods of Bioley would comprise increasing vessels permeabilization in the patient since that is achieving increased permeability of therapeutic vesicles is a primary goal of treating a patient with said vesicles.
Regarding the dosages and concentrations of microvesicles recited in instant claims 21-22, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, the microvesicles contain therapeutic agents, which makes dosages/concentrations thereof a result effective variable, since dosages/concentrations directly impact the therapeutic effect. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed dosages/concentrations of microvesicles to yield the desired therapeutic effect.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Dimcevski does not cure does not cure the alleged deficiencies of Bioley, the Examiner submits that Kumaran cures any alleged deficiencies of Bioley where Dimcevski discloses that the use of ultrasound with gas microbubbles has been known in clinics for years and provides motivation for such use (i.e., improved drug delivery, improved therapeutic efficacy, & blood brain barrier opening) and further discloses that the expected in-vivo life time of microbubbles is 4–5 min.
Regarding allegations of unexpected results (i.e., inducing “Cy5.5h extravasation” & “higher therapeutic efficacy”), an affidavit or declaration must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 716.02(e).
Applicant does not appear to have compared their compositions to the closest prior art. Instead, Applicant compares their inventive compositions to “Sono Vue” and “Definity” microvesicles. The Examiner points to the fact that Bioley discloses microvesicles that comprise a phospholipid and a fatty acid where a particularly preferred fatty acid is palmitic acid and preferred phospholipids include distearoylphosphatidylcholine (DSPC) and dipalmitoylphosphatidylethanolamine (DPPE). Said phospholipids may be pegylated such as DPPE-PEG with preferable molecular weights of the PEG molecule from 500 to 5000 daltons. Absent a direct comparison with a comparative formulation of the closest prior art, it is unclear if the alleged improvements are indeed a surprising an unexpected change or if these results fall within the range of expected outcomes in the art, and a meaningful assessment cannot be made. In other words, if an inventive composition is compared to a distant composition, the alleged improvements or advantages may appear disproportionately more significant than they actually are. As such, it is critical to compare an inventive composition with the closest prior art. Applicant’s comparisons with “Sono Vue” and “Definity” microvesicles do not satisfy the requirement of comparing the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art.
In light of the foregoing, the Examiner does not find Applicant’s arguments to be persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 12, 15-18, 20-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,717,570 B2 (hereinafter ‘570) in view of in view of Dimcevski et al. (Journal of Controlled Release, Volume 243, Pages 172-181, Dec. 10, 2016) (hereinafter Dimcevski).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both disclose treatment methods comprising administering a suspension of gas-filled microvesicles which comprise a mixture of lipid components DSPC, DPPE-PEG and palmitic acid. The difference between the ‘570 claims and the instant claims lies in the fact that the ‘570 claims further recite a freeze-dried formulation, for preparing gas-filled microvesicles and a suspension of gas-filled microvesicles, making the instant claims a species of the generic invention of the ‘570 patent. It would have been obvious to have used the gas-filled microvesicles of the ‘570 patent in the instant method since both gas-filled microvesicles are the same in composition.
The claims of the ‘570 patent further differ insofar as not disclosing the administration of the suspensions of gas-filled microvesicles at an interval of at least five minutes and up to fifteen minutes between each other.
However, Dimcevski discloses that the expected in-vivo life time of gas microbubbles was 4–5 min (Sec. 2.2, Para. 2).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have administered the microvesicles every 4 to 5 minutes because this is the in-vivo life time of microbubbles motivated by the desire of ensuring the continuous presence of microbubbles/microvesicles throughout the entire course of treatment.
The same rationale applies in rejecting the aforementioned claims over the following U.S. Patents:
US 11,723,869 B2
US 10,010,630 B2
US 11,071,792 B2
US 12,070,512 B2
US 7,985,402 B2
US 10,232,061 B1
US 10,335,502 B1
US 10,918,605 B2
US 9,381,258 B2
US 11,426,352 B2
2. Claims 12, 15-18, 20-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18 and 25-28 of copending Application No. 18/214,060 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both a method of treatment comprising administering a suspension of gas-filled microvesicles which comprise a mixture of lipid components DSPC, DPPE-PEG5000 and palmitic acid and applying an ultrasound beam. The difference between the instant claims and the copending claims lies in the fact that the copending claims further recite a method of manufacturing said suspension, making the instant claims a species of the generic invention of the copending application. It would have been obvious to have used the gas-filled microvesicles produced by the method of the copending application in the instant method since both gas-filled microvesicles are the same in composition.
The copending claims further differ insofar as not disclosing the administration of the suspensions of gas-filled microvesicles at an interval of at least five minutes and up to fifteen minutes between each other.
However, Dimcevski discloses that the expected in-vivo life time of gas microbubbles was 4–5 min (Sec. 2.2, Para. 2).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have administered the microvesicles every 4 to 5 minutes because this is the in-vivo life time of microbubbles motivated by the desire of ensuring the continuous presence of microbubbles/microvesicles throughout the entire course of treatment.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The same rationale applies in rejecting the aforementioned claims over the following Applications:
17/620,168
17/415,974
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejections have been considered but are moot because new rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendment have been made.
Conclusion
Claims 12, 15-18, 20-23 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612