DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Applicants’ response filed on 9/26/2025 has been fully considered. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fauteux et al (US 2001/0055717 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fauteux discloses an active material (surface modified active material; paragraph [0029]) comprising:
a compound A containing elemental lithium (Li), an element M, and elemental oxygen (O) (lithium transition metal oxide such as LiMnO4, LiCoO2 or LiNiO2; paragraph [0026]), where the element M represents one or more elements selected from elemental nickel (Ni), elemental cobalt (Co), and elemental manganese (Mn) (lithium transition metal oxide such as LiMnO4, LiCoO2 or LiNiO2; paragraph [0026]); and
a compound B containing elemental lithium (Li), elemental niobium (Nb), and elemental oxygen (O) (surface modifying component fabricated from lithium niobate such as Li5MO5 where M is Nb; paragraph [0028]); and
wherein: the compound B is represented by LixNbOy wherein x > 1 and 3 ≤ y ≤ 8 (surface modifying component fabricated from lithium niobate such as Li5MO5 where M is Nb; paragraph [0028]);
In regard to the limitation of a ratio between SPA and SPB, SPB/ SPA, satisfies 0 < SPB/ SPA <1.2, since the active material of electrode 114 comprises a lithium transition metal oxide such as LiMnO4, LiCoO2 or LiNiO2, which is the same as Applicant’s material for compound A, having a surface modifying component fabricated from lithium niobate such as Li5MO5 where M is Nb on at least a portion of the active material, which is the same as Applicant’s material for compound B; the surface modified active material of Fauteux would inherently have a ratio between SPA and SPB in a Raman spectrum obtained by Raman spectroscopy on the active material satisfying 0 < SPA/SPB < 1.2 where SPA represents an area of a peak assigned to the compound A in a range of 540 to 650 cm-1, and SPB represents an area of a peak assigned to the compound B and wherein the peaks observed in the range of 540 to 650 cm-1 include: a first peak on a lower wavenumber side assigned to vibrations between a transition element and elemental oxygen, in a one-to-one relationship, in the compound A; and a second peak on a higher wavenumber side assigned to overall vibrations between the transition element and all the elemental oxygen atoms located around the transition element.
Regarding claim 4, Fauteux discloses the active material of claim 1 as noted above and Fauteux discloses the active material comprising the compound B present on at least a portion of a surface of a core containing the compound A (surface modifying component on at least a portion of the active material where the active material is a lithium transition metal oxide such as LiMnO4, LiCoO2 or LiNiO2 and the surface modifying component is fabricated from lithium niobate such as Li5MO5 where M is Nb; paragraphs [0026] and [0028]-[0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fauteux et al (US 2001/0055717 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Fauteux discloses the active material of claim 1 as noted above.
Fauteux does not disclose the active material comprising elemental niobium in an amount from 0.1 to 20 mass% of the total mass of the compound B.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the amount of niobium in the lithium niobate of Li5NbO5 to be in an amount from 0.1 to 20 mass% of the total mass of the lithium niobate Li5NbO5 because doing so would provide a surface modifying component that provides increased compatibility of the electrode with the electrolyte (paragraph [0028]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fauteux et al (US 2001/0055717 A1) in view of Aihara et al US 2016/0156021 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Fauteux discloses the active material of claim 1 as noted above.
Fauteux does not disclose the active material comprising compound A being a layered rock salt complex oxide.
However, Aihara discloses an active material (positive electrode active material; paragraph [0057]) comprising compound A being a layered rock salt complex oxide (lithium salt of transition metal oxide having a layered rock salt structure comprising LiNixCoyMnzO2; paragraph [0061]-[0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the active material of Fauteux to substitute the lithium transition metal oxide of Fauteux for the lithium salt of transition metal oxide having a layered rock salt structure comprising LiNixCoyMnzO2 of Aihara because having a lithium salt of transition metal oxide having a layered rock salt structure provides the lithium secondary battery improved energy density and improved thermal stability (paragraph [0063] of Aihara).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino et al (US 2019/0088994 A1) in view of Fauteux et al (US 2001/0055717 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Makino discloses an electrode material mixture (paragraph [0210]) comprising a positive electrode active material layer (Fig. 1 #4; paragraph [0210]) comprising a positive electrode active material (paragraph [0210]) and a solid electrolyte (inorganic solid electrolyte; paragraph [0210]).
Makino does not disclose the electrode material mixture comprising the active material as claimed in claim 1.
However, Fauteux discloses the active material (surface modified active material; paragraph [0029]) of claim 1 as noted above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Makino and Fauteux before him or her, to modify the electrode material mixture of Makino to substitute the positive electrode active material of Makino for the surface-modified active material of Fauteux because having the required surface modified active material provides increased compatibility of the electrode with the electrolyte (paragraph [0028] of Fauteux).
Regarding claim 6, Makino disclose a battery (an all solid-state secondary battery; paragraph [0203]) comprising a positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material layer comprising a positive electrode active material; Fig. 1 #4; paragraphs [0038] and [0210]), a negative electrode layer containing a negative electrode active material (a negative electrode active material layer; Fig. 1 #2; paragraphs [0038] and [0210]) and a solid electrolyte layer containing a solid electrolyte (solid electrolyte layer comprises an inorganic solid electrolyte; Fig. 1 #3; paragraph [0038] and [0209]).
Makino does not disclose the all solid-state secondary battery comprising the active material as claimed in claim 1.
However, Fauteux discloses the active material (surface modified active material; paragraph [0029]) of claim 1 as noted above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Makino and Fauteux before him or her, to modify the battery of Makino to substitute the positive electrode active material of Makino for the surface-modified active material of Fauteux because having the required surface modified active material provides increased compatibility of the electrode with the electrolyte (paragraph [0028] of Fauteux).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 9/26/2025, with respect to the 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants argue that Kashimura fails to disclose compound B represented by LixNbOy where x > 1 and 3 ≤ y ≤ 8 and points out disadvantages of coating lithium niobate onto the surface of active material particles.
This argument is moot as Kashimura does not teach or suggest compound B represented by LixNbOy where x > 1 and 3 ≤ y ≤ 8. Therefore, the previous rejections have been withdrawn. However, new grounds of rejection have been noted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785