DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed 7/16/2026.
Claims 11 and 27 have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, 13, 17-19, 21-26, 28-31, 34, and 35 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims in a reply filed 7/16/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, 10, 12, 13, 17, 18, 21, 24, 26, 28, 29-31, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al. US 20180083806 (hereinafter “Xing”) in view of Xiong et al. US 20230171141 (hereinafter “Xiong”) and further in view of Hasegawa et al. US 20190393999 (hereinafter “Hasegawa”)
As to claim 1, 17, 30, and 31 (claim 1 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 17 and 30 and claim 31 is the computer-readable medium for the apparatus in claim 17 and 30):
Xing discloses:
A method of wireless communication by a user equipment, comprising: generating a first scrambling identification (ID); generating a first scrambling sequence based on the first scrambling ID; “the scrambling code may include the first m sequence and the second m sequence. The first m sequence may be relevant to a channel type and system information. For example, for a PUSCH and a PDSCH carrying uplink and downlink data, the first m sequence may be initialized at the beginning of each subframe. An initial value c.sub.init may be relevant to a cell ID N.sub.ID.sup.cell, a RNTI n.sub.RNTI of a UE, a codeword number q and a timeslot number n.sub.s (a subframe number └n.sub.s/2┘), and the initial value may be calculated through the following equation: c.sub.init=n.sub.RNTI×2.sup.14+q+×2.sup.13+└n.sub.s/2┘×2.sup.9+N.sub.ID.sup.cell.”, Xing [0053]) scrambling a first set of information based on the first scrambling sequence to generate a first plurality of information bits; (“According to a possible embodiment of the present disclosure, the information transmission method further includes: in the case that the local end serves as a receiving end, receiving, by the local end, information transmitted from the opposite end within each transmission time period, each transmission time period corresponding to an identical scrambling code; scrambling a bit stream acquired after encoding the information transmitted within any transmission time period using the scrambling code corresponding to the transmission time period; and with respect to the information transmitted from the opposite end within each transmission time period, determining, by the local end, a scrambling code corresponding to the transmission time period, and descrambling the information transmitted from the opposite end within the transmission time period according to the determined scrambling code”, Xing [0061]) generating a plurality of repetitions of the first plurality of information bits; (“the information to be transmitted within each transmission time period may be scrambled within the transmission time period using an identical scramble code and the same scrambled information may be transmitted in different subframes within each transmission time period, so it is able for the opposite end to perform the coherent combination on the information received within the transmission time period, thereby to prevent the decrease in the system spectral efficiency due to the repeated transmission of the information. In addition, because each transmission time period corresponds to an identical scrambling code and different transmission time periods probably correspond to different scrambling codes, the scrambling code may vary in unit of transmission time period within the entire repetition time period, so it is able to ensure the interference randomization to some extent.”, Xing [0044])
transmitting the first uplink transmission burst including each of the plurality of repetitions of the first plurality of information bits on different ones of a first plurality of resources in a communication channel, wherein the different ones of the first plurality of resources on which the first uplink transmission burst is transmitted are contiguous in a time domain; (“In a possible embodiment of the present disclosure, the PUSCH carrying an Uplink Shared Channel (UL-SCH) TB may be taken as an example. The base station may allocate an uplink physical resource including R (R=20) subframes for the UE through a single scheduling grant, for a plurality of transmissions of an identical TB, i.e., the repetition time period include 20 subframes. The base station may determine that the number of the subframes is 4 for cross-subframe channel estimation in accordance with a channel condition of the UE, and notify the UE of the number of the subframes for the cross-subframe channel estimation through DCI. The number of the consecutive subframes within each transmission time period is equal to the number of the subframes for cross-subframe channel estimation, so the number T of the consecutive subframes within each transmission time period is 4. The initialization of scrambling code sequence in the i.sup.th subframe may be determined in accordance with the subframe number of a”, Xing [0069]) (Examiner’s Note: the examiner interpreted this limitation as a UE sending the same scrambled data multiple times in a row on adjacent uplink time resources i.e. placing each repetition on different but consecutive time resources and send the group as a “burst”)
Xing as described above does not explicitly teach:
generating a reference scrambling ID based on a cell ID, a UE ID or UE group ID, an index of a first uplink transmission burst including a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), and a symbol position of the DMRS; generating a reference scrambling sequence based on the reference scrambling ID; generating a DMRS sequence based on the reference scrambling sequence;
multiplexing the DMRS sequence with at least one of the plurality of repetitions of the first plurality of information bits;
and transmitting the DMRS sequence with at least one of the plurality of repetitions of the first plurality of information bits.
However, Xiong further teaches generating a reference scrambling sequence which includes:
generating a reference scrambling ID based on a cell ID, a UE ID or UE group ID, an index of a first uplink transmission burst including a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), and a symbol position of the DMRS; generating a reference scrambling sequence based on the reference scrambling ID; generating a DMRS sequence based on the reference scrambling sequence; (“As discussed above, the initialization seed for pseudo-random sequence for DM-RS sequence generation can be defined as a function of one or more of the following parameters: a physical cell ID, a virtual cell ID, a slot index, a symbol index, a frame index, a scrambling ID or a UE ID.”, Xiong [0117]) (“As an example, referring again to FIG. 13, in bandwidth part #2, the DM-RS sequence can be generated (e.g., by processor(s) 410 or processor(s) 510) as a function of slot index which is based on a reference numerology, for example, 15 kHz. In such scenarios, a long sequence can be generated (e.g., by processor(s) 410 or processor(s) 510) for DM-RS based on a 1 ms slot duration. Given that 4 DM-RS symbols are used within 1 ms, the long DM-RS sequence can be mapped (e.g., by processor(s) 410 and transceiver circuitry 420 or processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520) into the 4 DM-RS symbols, wherein the first part of the DM-RS sequence can be mapped to the first DM-RS symbol, the second part of the DM-RS sequence can be mapped to the second DM-RS symbol, and so on.”, Xiong [0120]) (FIG. 17, Xiong)
Xing and Xiong are analogous because they pertain to scrambling sequence generation.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include generating a reference scrambling sequence as described in Xiong into Xing. By modifying the method to include generating a reference scrambling sequence as taught by Xiong, the benefits of improved efficiency (Xing [0011]) and improved performance (Xiong [0090]) are achieved.
The combination of Xing and Xiong as described above does not explicitly teach:
multiplexing the DMRS sequence with at least one of the plurality of repetitions of the first plurality of information bits;and transmitting the DMRS sequence with at least one of the plurality of repetitions of the first plurality of information bits.
However, Hasegawa further teaches multiplexing a reference sequence which includes:
multiplexing the (‘The data generating unit 127 generates data to be transmitted, and outputs the data to the multiplexing unit 129. The multiplexing unit 129 multiplexes the data generated by the data generating unit 127, the scrambled reference signal, and the control information received from the parameter information generating unit 123 by arranging the data, the reference signal, and the control information in the time domain and the frequency domain on the basis of the third control signal. The multiplexing unit 129 outputs the multiplexed signal, which is a signal resulting from the multiplexing, to the precoding unit 13.”, Hasegawa [0065]) (Examiner’s Note: “DMRS sequence” is taught by Xiong)
and transmitting the (‘The data generating unit 127 generates data to be transmitted, and outputs the data to the multiplexing unit 129. The multiplexing unit 129 multiplexes the data generated by the data generating unit 127, the scrambled reference signal, and the control information received from the parameter information generating unit 123 by arranging the data, the reference signal, and the control information in the time domain and the frequency domain on the basis of the third control signal. The multiplexing unit 129 outputs the multiplexed signal, which is a signal resulting from the multiplexing, to the precoding unit 13.”, Hasegawa [0065]) (Examiner’s Note: “DMRS sequence” is taught by Xiong)
Xing, Hasegawa, and Xiong are analogous because they pertain to scrambling sequence generation.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include multiplexing a reference sequence as described in Hasegawa into Xing as modified by Xiong. By modifying the method to include multiplexing a reference sequence as taught by Hasegawa, the benefits of improved efficiency (Xing [0011] and Hasegawa [0084]) and improved performance (Xiong [0090]) are achieved.
As to claim 2 and 18 (claim 2 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 18):
Xing discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a second scrambling ID; generating a second scrambling sequence based on the second scrambling ID; scrambling the first set of information based on the second scrambling sequence to generate a second plurality of information bits; (“the scrambling code may include the first m sequence and the second m sequence. The first m sequence may be relevant to a channel type and system information. For example, for a PUSCH and a PDSCH carrying uplink and downlink data, the first m sequence may be initialized at the beginning of each subframe. An initial value c.sub.init may be relevant to a cell ID N.sub.ID.sup.cell, a RNTI n.sub.RNTI of a UE, a codeword number q and a timeslot number n.sub.s (a subframe number └n.sub.s/2┘), and the initial value may be calculated through the following equation: c.sub.init=n.sub.RNTI×2.sup.14+q+×2.sup.13+└n.sub.s/2┘×2.sup.9+N.sub.ID.sup.cell.”, Xing [0053]) (“According to a possible embodiment of the present disclosure, the information transmission method further includes: in the case that the local end serves as a receiving end, receiving, by the local end, information transmitted from the opposite end within each transmission time period, each transmission time period corresponding to an identical scrambling code; scrambling a bit stream acquired after encoding the information transmitted within any transmission time period using the scrambling code corresponding to the transmission time period; and with respect to the information transmitted from the opposite end within each transmission time period, determining, by the local end, a scrambling code corresponding to the transmission time period, and descrambling the information transmitted from the opposite end within the transmission time period according to the determined scrambling code”, Xing [0061]) (“the information to be transmitted within each transmission time period may be scrambled within the transmission time period using an identical scramble code and the same scrambled information may be transmitted in different subframes within each transmission time period, so it is able for the opposite end to perform the coherent combination on the information received within the transmission time period, thereby to prevent the decrease in the system spectral efficiency due to the repeated transmission of the information. In addition, because each transmission time period corresponds to an identical scrambling code and different transmission time periods probably correspond to different scrambling codes, the scrambling code may vary in unit of transmission time period within the entire repetition time period, so it is able to ensure the interference randomization to some extent.”, Xing [0044])
generating a second transmission burst including a plurality of repetitions of the second plurality of information bits; and transmitting each of the plurality of repetitions of the second plurality of information bits of the second transmission burst on different ones of a second plurality of resources in the communication channel, wherein the second plurality of resources is different from the first plurality of resources. (“In a possible embodiment of the present disclosure, the PUSCH carrying an Uplink Shared Channel (UL-SCH) TB may be taken as an example. The base station may allocate an uplink physical resource including R (R=20) subframes for the UE through a single scheduling grant, for a plurality of transmissions of an identical TB, i.e., the repetition time period include 20 subframes. The base station may determine that the number of the subframes is 4 for cross-subframe channel estimation in accordance with a channel condition of the UE, and notify the UE of the number of the subframes for the cross-subframe channel estimation through DCI. The number of the consecutive subframes within each transmission time period is equal to the number of the subframes for cross-subframe channel estimation, so the number T of the consecutive subframes within each transmission time period is 4. The initialization of scrambling code sequence in the i.sup.th subframe may be determined in accordance with the subframe number of a”, Xing [0069]) (Examiner’s Note: the examiner interpreted this limitation as a UE sending the same scrambled data multiple times in a row on adjacent uplink time resources i.e. placing each repetition on different but consecutive time resources and send the group as a “burst”)
As to claim 5 and 21 (claim 5 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 21):
Xing discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting each of the plurality of repetitions of the first plurality of information bits of the first transmission burst further comprises transmitting across multiple slots or multiple mini-slots. (“In a possible embodiment of the present disclosure, the PUSCH carrying an Uplink Shared Channel (UL-SCH) TB may be taken as an example. The base station may allocate an uplink physical resource including R (R=20) subframes for the UE through a single scheduling grant, for a plurality of transmissions of an identical TB, i.e., the repetition time period include 20 subframes. The base station may determine that the number of the subframes is 4 for cross-subframe channel estimation in accordance with a channel condition of the UE, and notify the UE of the number of the subframes for the cross-subframe channel estimation through DCI. The number of the consecutive subframes within each transmission time period is equal to the number of the subframes for cross-subframe channel estimation, so the number T of the consecutive subframes within each transmission time period is 4. The initialization of scrambling code sequence in the i.sup.th subframe may be determined in accordance with the subframe number of a”, Xing [0069]) (Examiner’s Note: the examiner interpreted this limitation as a UE sending the same scrambled data multiple times in a row on adjacent uplink time resources i.e. placing each repetition on different but consecutive time resources and send the group as a “burst”)
As to claim 8 and 24 (claim 8 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 24):
Xing discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein generating the first scrambling sequence comprises generating a first pseudorandom noise sequence based on the first scrambling ID. (“To be specific, for each codeword q, presumed that a data bit stream before the scrambling is b.sup.(q)(0), . . . , b.sup.(q)(M.sub.bit.sup.(q)−1) (where M.sub.bit.sup.(q) represents the number of bits in the codeword q to be transmitted on the PDSCH in one subframe), the base station may scramble the data bit stream through the following equation: {tilde over (b)}.sup.q(i)=(b.sup.q(i)+c.sup.q(i))mod 2. A pseudorandom sequence c(i), i.e., the scrambling code, may be generated through modular two addition of the two m sequences, i.e.,”, Xing [0066])
As to claim 10 and 26 (claim 10 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 26):
Xing discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first set of information comprises data information, control information, or both. (“According to a possible embodiment of the present disclosure, the information transmission method further includes: in the case that the local end serves as a receiving end, receiving, by the local end, information transmitted from the opposite end within each transmission time period, each transmission time period corresponding to an identical scrambling code; scrambling a bit stream acquired after encoding the information transmitted within any transmission time period using the scrambling code corresponding to the transmission time period; and with respect to the information transmitted from the opposite end within each transmission time period, determining, by the local end, a scrambling code corresponding to the transmission time period, and descrambling the information transmitted from the opposite end within the transmission time period according to the determined scrambling code”, Xing [0061]) (“It should be further appreciated that, in the embodiment of the present disclosure, the information transmitted in the physical channel may include, e.g. data and/or control information, and the local end and the opposite end may each be a network side device (e.g., a base station) or a UE. Obviously, in the case that the local end is the network side device, the opposite end is the UE, and in the case that the local end is the UE, the opposite end is the network side device.”, Xing [0046])
As to claim 12 and 28 (claim 12 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 28):
Xing as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein: the reference scrambling sequence is a binary sequence; and generating the DMRS sequence comprises mapping the reference scrambling sequence to a quaternary sequence.
However, Xiong further teaches generating a reference scrambling sequence which includes:
The method of claim 1, wherein: the reference scrambling sequence is a binary sequence; and generating the DMRS sequence comprises mapping the reference scrambling sequence to a quaternary sequence. (Equation 5, Xiong) (“In a first set of embodiments associated with the first set of aspects, two PN sequences can be used (e.g., via processor(s) 410 or processor(s) 510) to generate the QPSK sequence for DM-RS REs modulation, wherein the first PN sequence (denoted herein as c.sub.1(n)) can be used to modulate DM-RS REs with subcarrier indexes larger than a reference (e.g., central) subcarrier index (or frequency, e.g., which can be, in aspects, a center frequency between two subcarriers) and a second PN sequence (denoted herein as c.sub.2(n)) can be used to modulate DM-RS REs with subcarrier indexes smaller than the reference subcarrier index. In various aspects, the QPSK sequence can be generated (e.g., by processor(s) 410 or processor(s) 510) as shown in equation (5):”, Xiong [0077]) (“where P is the number of REs per antenna port per PRB for DM-RS (e.g., generated by processor(s) 410 (or processor(s) 510, respectively), transmitted via transceiver circuitry 420 (or communication circuitry 520, respectively), received via communication circuitry 520 (or transceiver circuitry 420, respectively), and processed by processor(s) 410 (or processor(s) 510, respectively)). The mapping (e.g., by processor(s) 410 and transceiver circuitry 420 or processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520) of QPSK symbol to PRBs can be defined as shown in equation (6):… where k.sub.PRE.sup.+ corresponds to the set of assigned subcarriers with subcarrier indexes larger than the reference subcarrier index and k.sub.PRE.sup.− corresponds to the set of assigned subcarriers with subcarrier indexes smaller than the reference subcarrier index.”, Xiong [0078]) (Examiner’s Note: performing QPSK modulation on the pseudo-random sequence maps to converting or mapping a binary sequence to a quaternary sequence)
Xing and Xiong are analogous because they pertain to scrambling sequence generation.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include generating a reference scrambling sequence as described in Xiong into Xing. By modifying the method to include generating a reference scrambling sequence as taught by Xiong, the benefits of improved efficiency (Xing [0011]) and improved performance (Xiong [0090]) are achieved.
As to claim 13 and 29 (claim 13 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 29):
Xing discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first scrambling ID is a weighted combination of a cell ID or a random number, a user equipment (UE) ID or a UE group ID, and a transmission burst index. (“The first m sequence is relevant to the channel type and the system information, and the second m sequence is given. For example, for a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) and a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) which carry both uplink data and downlink data, the first m sequence may be initialized at the beginning of each subframe, and the initial value c.sub.init is relevant to a cell Identity (ID) N.sub.ID.sup.cell, a Radio Network Temporary Identity (RNTI) n.sub.RNTI of a User Equipment (UE), a codeword number q and a timeslot number n.sub.s (a subframe number └n.sub.s/2┘), and at this time, the initial value may be calculated through the following equation: c.sub.init=n.sub.RNTI×2.sup.14+q×2.sup.13+└n.sub.s/2┘×2.sup.9+N.sub.ID.sup.cell. Similarly, for a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), the first m sequence may also be initialized at the beginning of each subframe, and the initial value c.sub.init is relevant to the cell ID N.sub.ID.sup.cell and the timeslot number n.sub.s (a subframe number └n.sub.s/2┘), and at this time, the initial value may be calculated through the following equation:”, Xing [0007])
As to claim 34:
Xing as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 12, wherein mapping the reference scrambling sequence to a quaternary sequence comprises applying the reference scrambling sequence using the equation: r(n) -(1-2- c(2n)) + j(1-2- c(2n + 1)), where c(k) is the reference scrambling sequence.
However, Xiong further teaches generating a reference scrambling sequence which includes:
The method of claim 12, wherein mapping the reference scrambling sequence to a quaternary sequence comprises applying the reference scrambling sequence using the equation: r(n) -(1-2- c(2n)) + j(1-2- c(2n + 1)), where c(k) is the reference scrambling sequence. (Equation 5, Xiong) (“In a first set of embodiments associated with the first set of aspects, two PN sequences can be used (e.g., via processor(s) 410 or processor(s) 510) to generate the QPSK sequence for DM-RS REs modulation, wherein the first PN sequence (denoted herein as c.sub.1(n)) can be used to modulate DM-RS REs with subcarrier indexes larger than a reference (e.g., central) subcarrier index (or frequency, e.g., which can be, in aspects, a center frequency between two subcarriers) and a second PN sequence (denoted herein as c.sub.2(n)) can be used to modulate DM-RS REs with subcarrier indexes smaller than the reference subcarrier index. In various aspects, the QPSK sequence can be generated (e.g., by processor(s) 410 or processor(s) 510) as shown in equation (5):”, Xiong [0077]) (“where P is the number of REs per antenna port per PRB for DM-RS (e.g., generated by processor(s) 410 (or processor(s) 510, respectively), transmitted via transceiver circuitry 420 (or communication circuitry 520, respectively), received via communication circuitry 520 (or transceiver circuitry 420, respectively), and processed by processor(s) 410 (or processor(s) 510, respectively)). The mapping (e.g., by processor(s) 410 and transceiver circuitry 420 or processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520) of QPSK symbol to PRBs can be defined as shown in equation (6):… where k.sub.PRE.sup.+ corresponds to the set of assigned subcarriers with subcarrier indexes larger than the reference subcarrier index and k.sub.PRE.sup.− corresponds to the set of assigned subcarriers with subcarrier indexes smaller than the reference subcarrier index.”, Xiong [0078])
Xing and Xiong are analogous because they pertain to scrambling sequence generation.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include generating a reference scrambling sequence as described in Xiong into Xing. By modifying the method to include generating a reference scrambling sequence as taught by Xiong, the benefits of improved efficiency (Xing [0011]) and improved performance (Xiong [0090]) are achieved.
As to claim 35:
Xing as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 28, wherein mapping the reference scrambling sequence to a quaternary sequence comprises applying the reference scrambling sequence using the equation: r(n) -(1-2- c(2n)) + j (1 - 2- c(2n + 1)), where c(k) is the reference scrambling sequence.
However, Xiong further teaches generating a reference scrambling sequence which includes:
The apparatus of claim 28, wherein mapping the reference scrambling sequence to a quaternary sequence comprises applying the reference scrambling sequence using the equation: r(n) -(1-2- c(2n)) + j (1 - 2- c(2n + 1)), where c(k) is the reference scrambling sequence. (Equation 5, Xiong) (Equation 5, Xiong) (“In a first set of embodiments associated with the first set of aspects, two PN sequences can be used (e.g., via processor(s) 410 or processor(s) 510) to generate the QPSK sequence for DM-RS REs modulation, wherein the first PN sequence (denoted herein as c.sub.1(n)) can be used to modulate DM-RS REs with subcarrier indexes larger than a reference (e.g., central) subcarrier index (or frequency, e.g., which can be, in aspects, a center frequency between two subcarriers) and a second PN sequence (denoted herein as c.sub.2(n)) can be used to modulate DM-RS REs with subcarrier indexes smaller than the reference subcarrier index. In various aspects, the QPSK sequence can be generated (e.g., by processor(s) 410 or processor(s) 510) as shown in equation (5):”, Xiong [0077]) (“where P is the number of REs per antenna port per PRB for DM-RS (e.g., generated by processor(s) 410 (or processor(s) 510, respectively), transmitted via transceiver circuitry 420 (or communication circuitry 520, respectively), received via communication circuitry 520 (or transceiver circuitry 420, respectively), and processed by processor(s) 410 (or processor(s) 510, respectively)). The mapping (e.g., by processor(s) 410 and transceiver circuitry 420 or processor(s) 510 and communication circuitry 520) of QPSK symbol to PRBs can be defined as shown in equation (6):… where k.sub.PRE.sup.+ corresponds to the set of assigned subcarriers with subcarrier indexes larger than the reference subcarrier index and k.sub.PRE.sup.− corresponds to the set of assigned subcarriers with subcarrier indexes smaller than the reference subcarrier index.”, Xiong [0078])
Xing and Xiong are analogous because they pertain to scrambling sequence generation.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include generating a reference scrambling sequence as described in Xiong into Xing. By modifying the method to include generating a reference scrambling sequence as taught by Xiong, the benefits of improved efficiency (Xing [0011]) and improved performance (Xiong [0090]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Xiong and Hasegawa, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawasaki US 20070070968 (hereinafter “Kawasaki”)
As to claim 3 and 19 (claim 3 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 19):
The combination of Xing, Xiong, and Hasegawa as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to transmitting each of the plurality of repetitions of the first plurality of information bits of the first transmission burst: mapping the first plurality of information bits into at least one symbol; and applying a phase rotation to the at least one symbol.
However, Kawasaki further teaches mapping information bits which includes:
The method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to transmitting each of the plurality of repetitions of the first plurality of information bits of the first transmission burst: mapping the first plurality of information bits into at least one symbol; and applying a phase rotation to the at least one symbol. (“A symbol compression and repetition unit 1c compresses the time domains of the four symbols S0, S1, S2 and S3 that constitute the IFDMA symbol and repeatedly generates each symbol L times (L=4 in the illustration). In addition, the symbol compression and repetition unit 1c rearranges the repeatedly generated symbols and places them in the same arrangement as that of the symbol sequence S0, S1, S2, S3 [see (b) of FIG. 17].”, Kawasaki [0005]) (“One symbol that is the result of compressing the time domain is referred to as a sample (and is also referred to below as a symbol in the repetitive symbol sequence). If we let Tc represent the sample period, the period Ts of symbol repetition will satisfy the relation Ts =Tc.times.Q. A phase rotating unit 1d has a complex multiplier CML that subjects each symbol in the repetitive symbol sequence to user-dependent phase rotation [see (c) of FIG. 17]. A radio transmitter 1e up-converts the frequency of the signal, which enters from the phase rotating unit 1d, from baseband frequency to radio frequency, subsequently amplifies the radio-frequency signal and transmits the resultant signal from an antenna.”, Kawasaki [0006])
Xing, Xiong, Hasegawa, and Kawasaki are analogous because they pertain to information bit transmission.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include mapping information bits as described in Kawasaki into Xing as modified by Xiong and Hasegawa. By modifying the method to include mapping information bits as taught by Kawasaki, the benefits of improved efficiency (Xing [0011] and Hasegawa [0084]), improved performance (Xiong [0090]), and improved modulation scheme (Kawasaki [0021-0023]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Xiong and Hasegawa, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xing et al. US 20180109358 (hereinafter “Xing2”)
As to claim 6 and 22 (claim 6 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 22):
The combination of Xing, Xiong, and Hasegawa as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting each of the plurality of repetitions of the first plurality of information bits of the first transmission burst further comprises transmitting using a first fixed transmission scheme.
However, Xing2 further teaches fixed transmission scheme which includes:
The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting each of the plurality of repetitions of the first plurality of information bits of the first transmission burst further comprises transmitting using a first fixed transmission scheme. (“In one aspect, the present disclosure provides in some embodiments an information transmission method, including steps of: determining, by a local end serving as a transmitting end, information to be repeatedly transmitted within a repetition time period containing a plurality of subframes; and determining, by the local end, a redundancy version corresponding to each subframe in the repetition time period, performing a rate matching on a bit stream acquired by encoding the information based on the redundancy version corresponding to the subframe, and transmitting the bit stream processed through the rate matching to an opposite end, where a plurality of consecutive subframes among the subframes in the repetition time period corresponds to an identical redundancy version.”, Xing2 [0013])
Xing, Xiong, Hasegawa, and Xing2 are analogous because they pertain to information bit transmission.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include fixed transmission scheme as described in Xing2 into Xing as modified by Xiong and Hasegawa. By modifying the method to include fixed transmission scheme as taught by Xing2, the benefits of improved efficiency (Xing [0011], Xing2[0009] and Hasegawa [0084]) and improved performance (Xiong [0090]), are achieved.
As to claim 7 and 23 (claim 7 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 23):
The combination of Xing, Xiong, and Hasegawa as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 6, wherein the first fixed transmission scheme includes one or more of a first redundancy version, a first precoding, or a first frequency mapping.
However, Xing2 further teaches fixed transmission scheme which includes:
The method of claim 6, wherein the first fixed transmission scheme includes one or more of a first redundancy version, a first precoding, or a first frequency mapping. (“In one aspect, the present disclosure provides in some embodiments an information transmission method, including steps of: determining, by a local end serving as a transmitting end, information to be repeatedly transmitted within a repetition time period containing a plurality of subframes; and determining, by the local end, a redundancy version corresponding to each subframe in the repetition time period, performing a rate matching on a bit stream acquired by encoding the information based on the redundancy version corresponding to the subframe, and transmitting the bit stream processed through the rate matching to an opposite end, where a plurality of consecutive subframes among the subframes in the repetition time period corresponds to an identical redundancy version.”, Xing2 [0013])
Xing, Xiong, Hasegawa, and Xing2 are analogous because they pertain to information bit transmission.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include fixed transmission scheme as described in Xing2 into Xing as modified by Xiong and Hasegawa. By modifying the method to include fixed transmission scheme as taught by Xing2, the benefits of improved efficiency (Xing [0011], Xing2[0009] and Hasegawa [0084]) and improved performance (Xiong [0090]), are achieved.
Claim(s) 9 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing in view of Xiong and Hasegawa, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. US 20140071936 (hereinafter “Zhang”)
As to claim 9 and 25 (claim 9 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 25):
The combination of Xing, Xiong, and Hasegawa as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first scrambling ID is either a cell ID, when the communication channel is a broadcast channel or a multicast channel, or a user equipment ID, when the communication channel is a unicast channel.
However, Zhang further teaches various scrambling IDs used for communication channels which includes:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first scrambling ID is either a cell ID, when the communication channel is a broadcast channel or a multicast channel, (“wherein, n.sub.s represents the slot number (2 slots in FIG. 1 constitute one subframe), cell_id represents a transmission point ID (cell ID), and SCID is a binary value. As shown from the equation (1), in release-10, the DMRS random seed is decided by the slot number, transmission point ID and a binary value SCID. It is possible that in one transmission point, ports 7 and 8 can be configured with different values of SCID. In such case, port 7 and port 8 will use different scrambling sequences [a1, a2, a3 . . . ] and [b1, b2, b3 . . . ], for example. This mainly intends for MU (multi-user) operation and it will be discussed later.”, Zhang [0005]) or a user equipment ID, when the communication channel is a unicast channel. (“FIG. 10 is a block diagram showing a transmission point device according to the third embodiment of the present disclosure. The transmission point device 1000 according to the third embodiment of the present disclosure is used for communicating with a UE in a communication system. Similarly to the transmission point device 700 of the first embodiment, the transmission point device 1000 transmits, to a UE, RS signals which are assigned on predetermined locations (radio resource, which means the time and/or frequency resource such as sub-carrier, sub-frame, etc.) of at least one layer of resource blocks with the same time and frequency resources. As shown in FIG. 10, the transmission point device 1000 may include a selection unit 1001, an initialization unit 1002, a scrambling unit 1003, and a transceiver unit 1004. The selection unit 1001 selects a random seed from a first random seed generated based on a transmission point ID and a second random seed generated based on a UE specific ID. The initialization unit 1002 initializes a scrambling sequence by the random seed selected in the selection unit 1001. The scrambling unit 1003 scrambles the signals with the scrambling sequence initialized in the initialization unit 1002. The transceiver unit 1004 transmits the resource block with the signals scrambled in the scrambling unit 1003 to the UE. It should be noted that the RS signals here can be any kinds of RS signals such as DMRS and the like.”, Zhang [0075])
Xing, Xiong, Hasegawa, and Zhang are analogous because they pertain to information bit transmission.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include various scrambling IDs used for communication channels as described in Zhang into Xing as modified by Xiong and Hasegawa. By modifying the method to include various scrambling IDs used for communication channels as taught by Zhang, the benefits of improved efficiency (Xing [0011] and Hasegawa [0084]), improved performance (Xiong [0090]), and improved reliability (Zhang [0165]) are achieved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471