DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and remarks filed (12 – 3 – 2025) have been fully considered but they are not persuasiveApplicant argues…
Weeks / Weeks as modified does not teach the newly amended feature of wherein the plurality of first segments comprises at least one long segment and a plurality of shorter segments that are each shorter than the one long segment, wherein each of the plurality of shorter segments are Z-shaped to enable simultaneous and independent movements of the plurality of first segments
Applicant further argues that none of the other applied references make up for the deficiency of Weeks / Weeks as modified.
This is not found to be persuasive because…
As detailed below Weeks discloses on ([0088]) that each adjustable internal end wall segment 62 further comprises a first segment portion 62 a, and a second segment portion 62 b which extends relative to the first segment portion 62 b (telescopically like a drawer in this case) to bridge any gap between the first segment portion 62 a and the adjustable internal side wall assembly 40. Where the second segment portion 62 b acts as applicant’s shorter segments, and segment portion 62 a acts as applicant’s longer portion. Highlighting, as illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 2) and recreated here. The first segment portion 62 a is found to extended across the width of the adjustable floor 20, while the a second segment portion 62 b found within the first segment portion 62 a is shown to be shorter and not extended across the width of the adjustable floor 20 due to coming into contact with a portion of the first segment portion 62 a intended to stop the second segment portion 62 b.
This is unpersuasive because as explained above there was not found to be deficiency in Weeks / Weeks as modified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1, 4 – 9 & 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Weeks et al. (US 20190322012 A1 hereinafter Weeks) and in further view of Tezuka et al. (US 20030171455 A1, hereinafter Tezuka)Regarding claim 1,
A mould set for fabrication of a pallet, comprising:
a modular platform mould configured to act as a mould for a platform section of the pallet,
wherein the modular platform mould comprises:
a bottom plate of a pre-defined dimension;
a top plate of a pre-defined dimension configured to fit on top of the bottom plate while forming a hollow space,
corresponding to a dimension of the platform section of the pallet, between the top plate and the bottom plate,
wherein the hollow space is configured to receive a feed of material;
a modularity unit configured to alter a dimension of the hollow space,
wherein the modularity unit comprises:
a first elongated panel comprising a plurality of first segments,
wherein the first elongated panel is oriented lengthwise on a first side of the bottom plate and housed in the hollow space,
wherein each of the plurality of first segments is configured to be independently operated laterally to move from a first position to a second position, thereby altering a length of the hollow space,
wherein the plurality of first segments comprises at least one long segment and
a plurality of shorter segments that are each shorter than the one long segment,
wherein each of the plurality of shorter segments are Z-shaped to enable simultaneous and independent movements of the plurality of first segments; and
a second elongated panel comprising one or more second segments,
wherein the second elongated panel is oriented breadthwise on a second side of the bottom plate housed in the hollow space,
wherein each of the one or more second segments
is configured to be independently operated laterally to move from a first position to a second position, thereby altering a breadth of the hollow space-
Weeks teaches the following:
(Abstract) teaches the present disclosure relates to methods, apparatuses, and systems for manufacturing a building element.
, c.) & d.) (Abstract) teaches that the molding system includes a mold having a base and a lid. (Abstract) adds that the side wall, the end wall, the floor, the lid, at least one internal end wall segment, and at least one internal side wall segment, co-operatively define a cuboid cavity for molding the building element. ([0080]) teaches that the box shaped base 4 of the mould 2 contains an adjustable internal floor 20, an adjustable internal side wall assembly 40, and an adjustable internal end wall assembly 60.
([0041]) teaches positioning one of the adjustable internal floor or the adjustable internal lid as required to define a cavity, filling the cavity with EPS, and then supplying the cavity with steam to bond the EPS together. ([0018]) teaches that the side wall, the end wall, the floor, the lid, each end wall segment, and each internal side wall segment, co-operatively define the cuboid cavity.
([0080]) teaches that the box shaped base 4 of the mould 2 contains an adjustable internal floor 20, an adjustable internal side wall assembly 40, and an adjustable internal end wall assembly 60. Where the adjustable assemblies act as applicants’ modularity unit.
, h.) & i.) ([0024]) teaches adjustable internal end wall assembly is movable toward and away from the end wall. ([0025]) Where the mould is adapted to produce building elements of varying lengths. ([0085]) teaches that the adjustable internal end wall assembly 40/60 comprises a plurality of adjustable internal end wall segments 42/62 arranged in a piled stack. Each adjustable internal end wall segment 42/62 depends on a plurality of linear actuators (hereinafter ‘end wall segment actuators’ 43/63 see (Figs. 1 – 4 & 8). Where the internal end wall assembly 60 comprises a plurality of adjustable internal end wall segments 62 act as applicant’s first elongated panel comprising a plurality of first segments.
As illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 4 & 8), the internal end wall assembly 60 comprises a plurality of adjustable internal end wall segments 62 is found to be oriented lengthwise on a first side of the bottom plate and housed in the hollow space.
([0085]) teaches that the adjustable internal end wall assembly 60 comprises a plurality of adjustable internal end wall segments 62 arranged in a piled stack. Each adjustable internal end wall segment 62 depends on a plurality of linear actuators (hereinafter ‘end wall segment actuators’ 63—see FIGS. 3 and 4), which in turn depend on the end wall 10 b of the base 4, so that each adjustable internal end wall segment 62 is movable toward and away from the other end wall 10 a, and relative to a lower segment 62 in the stack at least. As such, each adjustable internal end wall segments 62 is understood to be independently operated laterally to move from a first position to a second position, thereby altering a length of the hollow space.
& k.) ([0088]) teaches that each adjustable internal end wall segment 62 further comprises a first segment portion 62 a, and a second segment portion 62 b which extends relative to the first segment portion 62 b (telescopically like a drawer in this case) to bridge any gap between the first segment portion 62 a and the adjustable internal side wall assembly 40. Where the second segment portion 62 b acts as applicant’s shorter segments, and segment portion 62 a acts as applicant’s longer portion. Highlighting, as illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 2) and recreated here. The first segment portion 62 a is found to extended across the width of the adjustable floor 20, while the a second segment portion 62 b found within the first segment portion 62 a is shown to be shorter and not extended across the width of the adjustable floor 20 due to coming into contact with a portion of the first segment portion 62 a intended to stop the second segment portion 62 b.
As noted above, ([0085]) teaches that the adjustable internal end wall assembly 60 comprises a plurality of adjustable internal end wall segments 62 arranged in a piled stack. Each adjustable internal end wall segment 62 depends from a plurality of linear actuators (hereinafter ‘end wall segment actuators’ 63—see FIGS. 3 and 4), so that each adjustable internal end wall segment 62 is movable toward and away from the other end wall 10 a, and relative to a lower segment 62 in the stack at least. ([0089]) noting that each of the second segment portions 62 b depends on a linear actuator (hereinafter ‘drawer actuators’). ([0079]) teaching a control system for coordinating all (or at least some) aspects of operation thereof, including operation of the mould 2.As such, each adjustable internal end wall segment 62 is understood to be movable independently or simultaneously. Highlighting, while Weeks is found to disclose the short / second segment portions 62 b in the shape of a pillar / rectangle. The case law for the change of shape may be recited. Where, it has been held that a mere change in shape without affecting the functioning of the part would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47; Eskimo Pie Corp. v, Levous et aI., 3 USPQ 23.
([0026]) teaches that the adjustable internal side wall assembly is movable toward and away from the side wall. ([0083]) teaches that the adjustable internal side wall assembly 40 comprises a plurality of adjustable internal side wall segments 42 arranged in a piled stack. Each adjustable internal side wall segment 42 depends on a plurality of linear actuators (hereinafter ‘side wall segment actuators’ 43—see FIG. 8), Highlighting, that the side wall arrangement (without the segment actuators) is best shown in (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the bottom plate comprises a second set of a plurality of openings configured to enable inlet and outlet of at least one of air, water and steam.
Weeks teaches the following:
([0081]) teaches the molding system 1 comprises a steam supply system 3 comprises pumps which deliver steam from a boiler to an array of steam outlets in the lid 6, the adjustable internal floor 20, the adjustable internal side wall assembly 40, and the adjustable internal end wall assembly 60, via a system of pipes and control valves.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the top plate comprises a third set of a plurality of openings configured to enable inlet and outlet of at least one of air, water and steam.
Weeks teaches the following:
([0081]) teaches the molding system 1 comprises a steam supply system 3 comprises pumps which deliver steam from a boiler to an array of steam outlets in the lid 6, the adjustable internal floor 20, the adjustable internal side wall assembly 40, and the adjustable internal end wall assembly 60, via a system of pipes and control valves.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein each segment of the plurality of first segments is configured to be independently operated laterally to move from the first position to the second position via a corresponding first set of levers,
wherein one or more levers of the first set of levers are mounted with respect to the corresponding plurality of first segments and configured to push or pull each segment of the plurality of first segments.
Weeks teaches the following:
& b.) ([0024]) teaches adjustable internal end wall assembly is movable toward and away from the end wall. ([0025]) Where the mould is adapted to produce building elements of varying lengths. ([0085]) teaches that the adjustable internal end wall assembly 60 comprises a plurality of adjustable internal end wall segments 62 arranged in a piled stack. Each adjustable internal end wall segment 62 depends on a plurality of linear actuators (hereinafter ‘end wall segment actuators’ 63—see FIGS. 3 and 4). Highlighting, that the end wall arrangement (without the segment actuators) is best shown in (Fig. 6), as shown the end wall arrangement is housed in the hollow space. Highlighting, that each end wall segment is found to have a linear actuator associated with the segment. Noting, as detailed in (Fig. 6) the segment actuators (63) best show the actuator(s) associated with each segment to push or pull.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein each of the one or more second segments is configured to be operated in an elongated direction along the second side within the hollow space independently via a corresponding second set of levers,
where one or more levers of the second set of levers are mounted with respect to corresponding ones of the one or more second segments and configured to push or pull each of the one or more second segments to obtain a desired dimension of the hollow space.
Weeks teaches the following:
& b.) ([0026]) teaches that the adjustable internal side wall assembly is movable toward and away from the side wall. ([0083]) teaches that the adjustable internal side wall assembly 40 comprises a plurality of adjustable internal side wall segments 42 arranged in a piled stack. Each adjustable wall segment 42 depends from a plurality of linear actuators (hereinafter ‘side wall segment actuators’ 43—see FIG. 8), Highlighting, that the side wall arrangement (without the segment actuators) is best shown in (Fig. 6). Highlighting, that each internal side segment is found to have a linear actuator associated with the segment. Noting, as detailed in (Fig. 3 & 5-6) the segment actuators (63) best show the actuator(s) associated with each segment to push or pull. Alternatively, and/or additionally, the duplication of parts may be recited (having openings on the lid and base/floor). Where the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein one or more of the first set of the plurality of openings are configured to be activated only when positioned to guide the feed of material to an altered dimension of the hollow space and
wherein the one or more of the first set of the plurality of openings are configured to be deactivated when not positioned to guide the feed of material to the altered dimension of the hollow space.
Week teaches the following:
& b.) ([0078]) teaches that the EPS supply system delivers the EPS from a storage hopper (not illustrated) to an array of EPS outlets in the lid 6 via a system of pipes and control valves. These control valves are employed to throttle or shut off supply to selected EPS ports 7 if necessary. ([0079]) adding that the moulding system 1 further comprises a control system for controlling and coordinating all (or at least some) aspects of operation thereof, including operation of the mould 2, the EPS supply system, the steam supply system, and a mould loader/unloader where this is provided. As such, the control valves of the EPS ports in conjunction with a control system for controlling and coordinating all aspects of operation including operation of the mould 2 (movement of the adjustable mold) and the EPS supply system / ports is understood to provide for the openings to be configured to be activated / deactivated when positioned or not to guide material to an altered dimension of the mold. Highlighting, (Claim 19) teaches a method for forming a building panel. As detailed, the controller is first used to position and configuring each of the various adjustable components such as the internal side wall assembly, and the internal floor assembly etc. Next, the controller is used, and the mold cavity is filled with the molding material. This is followed by the controlled steaming, and controlled ejection of the article from the mold. Explicitly, the controller is understood to first position and configuring the mold cavity while the EPS ports are deactivated, this is followed by activating the EPS ports after the mold cavity has been configured to the correct configuration / size such that the cavity mold is filled. Noting, that the EPS ports are understood to be deactivated once again during the steaming and ejection of the article from the mold.
B.) Claim(s) 8 – 9 & 17 – 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Weeks in view of Tezuka et al. (US 20030171455 A1, hereinafter Tezuka)
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the bottom plate comprises a first set of a plurality of openings configured to receive the feed of material and guide the material into the hollow space to form the platform section of the pallet.
Weeks teaches the following:
([0077]) teaches that the EPS supply system will supply pieces (beads) of EPS to the mould 2 for release into the mould cavity via a plurality of ports 7 (see FIG. 5) in the underside of the lid 6. ([0081]) adding that a steam supply system 3 comprises pumps which deliver steam from a boiler to an array of steam outlets in the lid 6, the adjustable internal floor 20, the adjustable internal side wall assembly 40, and the adjustable internal end wall assembly 60, via a system of pipes and control valves. As such, both the lid and floor are understood to be equipped with outlets for steam. While only the lid has ports 7 for beads.
Regarding Claim 17, Weeks is silent on implementing a plurality of openings in the bottom plate to receive molding material. In analogous art to produce a pallet that utilizes a mold that comprises a top and bottom section, a means for feeding the mold molding material and the molding system including a means for delivering steams to the article being molded, (Abstract), Tezuka suggests details regarding implementing a plurality of openings in the bottom plate to receive molding material, and in this regard, Tezuka teaches the following:
([0028]) teaches designated as 13 is a feed pipe for feeding expanded resin beads 30 to the mold cavity 10. The feed pipe 13 has a branch 13 a through which air is supplied to urge the beads 30 to enter the mold cavity 10. The feed pipe is provided with suitable valve means (not shown). In the illustrated embodiment, two such feed pipes 13 are used. Highlighting, as shown in (Fig. 1) the feed pipe 13, is found to be in the second casing 4 of the second (bottom) mold 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing and EPS pallet that comprises a top and bottom section, a means for feeding the mold molding material and the molding system including a means for delivering steams to the article being molded of Weeks. By modifying the bottom mold to include a feed pipe, as taught by Tezuka. Highlighting, implementation of a feed pipe in the bottom mold provides a means for implementing air to supply and urge the beads 30 to enter the mold cavity 10, ([0028]). Additionally, the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the mould set further comprises a leg mould configured to act as a mould to fabricate a plurality of leg support sections corresponding to the platform section of the pallet,
wherein the leg mould comprises:
a bottom layer comprising a plurality of inlets for at least one of air, water and steam,
one or more drain outlets, and one or more openings to receive a feed of material;
a mid layer comprising a plurality of hollow cavities of pre-defined dimensions,
wherein a bottom side of the mid layer is configured to fit over a top side of the bottom layer; and
a top layer comprising a plurality of inlets for at least one of air, water and steam and
one or more drain outlets, and
configured to fit on a top side of the mid layer while sealing the plurality of hollow cavities of the mid layer,
wherein the sealed plurality of hollow cavities are configured to receive the feed of material via the one or more openings of the bottom layer and shape the plurality of leg support sections.
Weeks teaches the following:
& d.) (Abstract) teaches the present disclosure relates to methods, apparatuses, and systems for manufacturing a building element. Highlighting, that the mold shape is understood too be adjustable. Adding, that while only a single cavity is shown. The case law for the duplication of parts may be recited regarding implementing additionally cavity spaces. Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
& f.) (Abstract) teaches that the molding system includes a mold having a base and a lid. (Abstract) adds that the side wall, the end wall, the floor, the lid, at least one internal end wall segment, and at least one internal side wall segment, co-operatively define a cuboid cavity for molding the building element. ([0080]) teaches that the box shaped base 4 of the mould 2 contains an adjustable internal floor 20, an adjustable internal side wall assembly 40, and an adjustable internal end wall assembly 60. ([0081]) teaches the molding system 1 comprises a steam supply system 3 comprises pumps which deliver steam from a boiler to an array of steam outlets in the lid 6, the adjustable internal floor 20, the adjustable internal side wall assembly 40, and the adjustable internal end wall assembly 60, via a system of pipes and control valves.
& i.) ([0077]) teaches that the EPS supply system will supply pieces (beads) of EPS to the mould 2 for release into the mould cavity via a plurality of ports 7 (see FIG. 5) in the underside of the lid 6. ([0081]) adding that a steam supply system 3 comprises pumps which deliver steam from a boiler to an array of steam outlets in the lid 6, the adjustable internal floor 20, the adjustable internal side wall assembly 40, and the adjustable internal end wall assembly 60, via a system of pipes and control valves. As such, both the lid and floor are understood to be equipped with outlets for steam. While only the lid has ports 7 for beads. As such, the rearrangement of parts may be recited regarding implementing a plurality of ports 7 in the base/floor instead of the lid. Where, it has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400.
([0018]) teaches that the side wall, the end wall, the floor, the lid, each end wall segment, and each internal side wall segment, co-operatively define the cuboid cavity.
& h.) ([0041]) teaches positioning one of the adjustable internal floor or the adjustable internal lid as required to define a cavity, filling the cavity with EPS, and then supplying the cavity with steam to bond the EPS together. ([0018]) teaches that the side wall, the end wall, the floor, the lid, each end wall segment, and each internal side wall segment, co-operatively define the cuboid cavity.
Regarding Claim 8, Weeks teaches the above detailed. Weeks is silent on receiving materials from one or more openings of the bottom layer and a top layer comprising one or more drain outlets. In analogous art for the production of a pallet that utilizes a mold that comprises a top and bottom section, a means for feeding the mold molding material and the molding system including a means for delivering steams to the article being molded, Tezuka suggests details regarding implementing a plurality of openings in the bottom plate to receive molding material, and in this regard, Tezuka teaches the following:
([0025]) teaches that the first (top) mold 1 is provided with perforations 6 through which the mold cavity 10 is in fluid communication with the first chamber 8. The first casing 4 has a suction pipe 7 connected to an evacuation means (not shown). ([0055]) teaches that the heating medium (steam) may be additionally fed into the mold cavity 10 through the perforations 6 via first chamber 8. Highlighting, as detailed, the one or more drain outlets are provided in the top mold.
([0028]) teaches designated as 13 is a feed pipe for feeding expanded resin beads 30 to the mold cavity 10. The feed pipe 13 has a branch 13 a through which air is supplied to urge the beads 30 to enter the mold cavity 10. The feed pipe is provided with suitable valve means (not shown). In the illustrated embodiment, two such feed pipes 13 are used. Highlighting, as shown in (Fig. 1) the feed pipe 13, is found to be in the second casing 4 of the second (bottom) mold 2.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 2, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing and EPS pallet that comprises a top and bottom section, a means for feeding the mold molding material and the molding system including a means for delivering steams to the article being molded of Weeks. By modifying the stem to include a suction pipe connected to an evacuation means, as taught by Tezuka. Highlighting, implementing a suction pipe provides for evacuating the molding chamber, and engaging the surface layer 31 with the interior surface of the first mold 1, ([0031]). Additionally, the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8,
Wherein the leg mould further comprises one or more rings configured to fit inside the plurality of the hollow cavities and thereby alter dimension of the plurality of the hollow cavities for fabricating the plurality of leg support sections of the altered dimension.
Weeks teaches the following:
([0080]) teaches that the box shaped base 4 of the mould 2 contains an adjustable internal floor 20, an adjustable internal side wall assembly 40, and an adjustable internal end wall assembly 60. ([0085]) teaches that the adjustable internal end wall assembly 60 comprises a plurality of adjustable internal end wall segments 62 arranged in a piled stack. Highlighting, that the end wall arrangement (without the segment actuators) is best shown in (Fig. 6), as shown the end wall arrangement is housed in the hollow space. ([0083]) teaches that the adjustable internal side wall assembly 40 comprises a plurality of adjustable internal side wall segments 42 arranged in a piled stack. Each adjustable internal side wall segment 42 depends on a plurality of linear actuators (hereinafter ‘side wall segment actuators’ 43—see FIG. 8), Highlighting, that the side wall arrangement (without the segment actuators) is best shown in (Fig. 6). Adding, as detailed in (Fig. 6), the various segments are found inside the cavity and used to alter dimensions of the hollow cavity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamandu Ploskonka (US 20140120195 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A shaping or forming apparatus, comprising a plurality of members, means to selectively lock the rows in a set position with a force greater than that used to position unlocked members, and means to selectively position members relative to each other in more than three different positions. A non-definitive list of practical applications comprise at least one of: form, deform, shape, cast, mold, haptic output, visual output, control of material flow, control of force.
Alessandro Bianchini (EP 3429837 B1) – teaches in the (Abstract) that The present invention regards a moveable side wall group for a ceramic products press. More in detail, the present invention regards a moveable side wall group for containing the material to be pressed for an industrial press for ceramic products, e.g. slabs, tiles or the like. ([0060]) adding that the shaped portions 20 may be configured in a wedge-shaped or saw tooth-shaped fashion or with a shaped profile having at least one slanted surface, so that following the actuation of the first moveable element 17 along the third direction 19 there occurs the displacement of the second moveable element 18 along the second direction 14.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743