DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 9/15/2025 has been entered. Claims 10-15 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the non-final Office Action mailed 5/13/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation that “first and second functionalization for selective non-binding interaction with respective analytes” does not have support in the specification. As is described in the MPEP § 2173.05 (i) “[a]ny negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure” and “[t]he mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion.” In this case there is no mention of the presence or absence of the first or second functionalization is binding or non-binding with the respective analytes. The specification only discusses in prior art which binds to an analyte present in the analysis liquid, but these discussions are related to prior art and not to the invention claimed. The specification also states that the present invention aims to provide improvements over the technologies discussed above, but does not state what the improvements are and is therefore not taught whether the first and second functionalization is binding or non-binding with the analytes. The applicant also points to another paragraph in their specification which discusses that the device is resuable. However, this paragraph doesn’t describe how the device is resuable. The device could be resuable by changing out the substrate of the device for a different substrate and reusing the rest of the device, or the device could be reused by unbinding analytes that are stuck to the device among other abilities of the device to be reused. Based upon all of the above discussions there appear to be no explicit or implicit support for the non-binding described in the claim and there is no evidence that the applicant contemplated the nature of the binding at the time of filing this invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sperling, et al., “Nanoplasmonic Discrimination of Organic Solvents Using a Bimetallic Optical Tongue”, Proc. SPIE 10895, Frontiers in Biological Detection: From Nanosensors to Systems XI, 108950G (7 March 2019), hereinafter Sperling.
Regarding claim 10, Sperling teaches a method of analysing a fluid comprising a mixture of two or more analytes (abstract), the method including providing a surface plasmonic sensing device (figure 1) comprising: a substrate (glass); a first array of localised surface plasmon resonance island structures (“Au”) on the substrate (figure 1); a second array of localised surface plasmon resonance island structures (“Al”) on the substrate (figure 1), wherein the localised surface plasmon resonance island structures of the first and second array respectively have first (figure 1b, “Au-DT”) and second surface functionalisation (figure 1b, “Al-HDMS”) for selective non-binding interaction with respective analytes (abstract) to cause analyte segregation at an interface between the fluid and the surface functionalisation and a corresponding change to the local refractive index around the localised surface plasmon resonance island structures to thereby selectively alter the localised surface plasmon resonance response (page 5, paragraph 4.3); and wherein the first surface functionalisation is different to the second surface functionalization (figure 1b); contacting the first and second arrays (paragraph 4.2) with said fluid comprising a mixture of two or more analytes (figure 4) and thereby allowing the analytes selectively to non-bindingly interact with the surface functionalisations available on the first and second arrays of localised surface plasmon resonance island structures (paragraphs 3.3, 3.4 and 4.3); illuminating the first and second arrays with electromagnetic radiation to cause localised surface plasmon resonance in the composite array (paragraph 3.4); receiving transmitted electromagnetic radiation from the composite array and detecting said localised surface plasmon resonance to analyse one or more characteristics of said analytes (paragraphs 3.4 and 3.5); obtaining transmission spectra for the reflected or transmitted electromagnetic radiation from the arrays (paragraphs 3.4 and 3.5); determining from each transmission spectrum at least one spectral characteristic value (paragraph 4.3); and arranging said spectral characteristic values in a data matrix and carrying out linear discriminant analysis (LDA) on the data matrix to classify the data in the data matrix (paragraph 4.3).
Regarding claim 11, Sperling teaches wherein the interaction of the analytes with the surface functionalisation selectively alters the refractive index around the localised surface plasmon resonance island structures to thereby selectively alter the localised surface plasmon resonance response (paragraph 4.3).
Regarding claim 12, Sperling teaches wherein the surface plasmonic sensing device further comprises a reference sensing region (figure 1a), wherein the reference sensing region comprises: a first reference array of localised surface plasmon resonance island structures on the substrate (figure 1a); a second reference array of localised surface plasmon resonance island structures on the substrate (figure 1), wherein: the surface plasmon resonance island structures of the first and second reference array have no surface functionalisation or respectively have different surface functionalisation compared with the main sensing region (figure 1a); and the first and second reference arrays are interspersed with each other to provide a composite reference array (figure 1a, they would be interspersed to some amount), the method further comprising the steps: contacting the reference sensing region with said fluid comprising said mixture of two or more analytes (paragraph 4.2); illuminating the reference sensing region with electromagnetic radiation to cause localised surface plasmon resonance in the composite reference array (paragraph 3.4); and receiving reflected or transmitted electromagnetic radiation from the composite reference array and detecting said localised surface plasmon resonance for comparison with the main sensing region (paragraphs 3.4 and 3.5).
Regarding claim 13, Sperling teaches wherein the reference sensing region is selectively illuminated (paragraph 4.1 and 4.2).
Regarding claim 14, Speling teaches wherein the surface plasmonic sensing device further comprises an auxiliary sensing region, wherein the auxiliary sensing region comprises: a first auxiliary array of localised surface plasmon resonance island structures on the substrate (figures 1b and 1c); a second auxiliary array of localised surface plasmon resonance island structures on the substrate (figures 1b and 1c), wherein: the surface plasmon resonance island structures of the first and second auxiliary array respectively have first and second auxiliary surface functionalisation for selective interaction with respective analytes (figures 1b and 1c); the first auxiliary surface functionalisation is different to the second auxiliary surface functionalization (figures 1b and 1c); and the first and second auxiliary arrays are interspersed with each other to provide a composite auxiliary array (figures 1b and 1c, they would be interspersed to some amount), the method further comprising the steps: contacting the auxiliary sensing region with said fluid comprising said mixture of two or more analytes and thereby allowing the analytes selectively to interact with the surface functionalisations available on the first and second arrays of localised surface plasmon resonance island structures (paragraph 4.2); illuminating the auxiliary sensing region with electromagnetic radiation to cause localised surface plasmon resonance in the composite auxiliary array (paragraph 3.4); and receiving reflected or transmitted electromagnetic radiation from the composite auxiliary array and detecting said localised surface plasmon resonance to analyse one or more characteristics of said analytes and/or for comparison with the main sensing region (paragraphs 3.4 and 3.5).
Regarding claim 15, Sperling teaches wherein the reference sensing region is selectively illuminated (paragraph 4.1 and 4.2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11, filed 9/15/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 10, 11, 14 and 15 under 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sperling.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding the additional language of the first or second functionalization is binding or non-binding with the respective analytes having support in the specification, please see the above 112(a) rejection regarding this limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796