DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 09/12/2025. Claims 1-10 are pending in this application. As directed, claims 1-7 have been amended; claims 2-7 have been withdrawn; claims 8-10 have been newly added. Therefore, claims 1 and 8-10 are examined as follow.
With respect to Claim Objections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the Claim Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/13/2025.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/13/2025.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/13/2025. However, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 09/12/2025 have created another 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections, see details below in the 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections section.
With respect to Double Patenting: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the Double Patenting Rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/13/2025.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s arguments filed 09/12/2025 have been fully considered but are moot based on new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendments. Specifically, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed 09/12/2025 have changed scope of the claim; therefore, claim interpretation has changed. Thus, Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented below in this Office action.
However, Examiner would like to note that in response to Applicant’s arguments regarding the previously cited prior art CEMA TECH (DE 202005018374 U1, hereinafter Cema); specifically, Applicant alleged: “Cema does not disclose the pressing device, which is configured to be automatically stopped upon reaching a prespecified pressure.” and “Cema only discloses a single transport belt. Cema, Abstract. As such, Cema does not disclose the claimed first and second transport belts.”, see details in the Remarks dated 09/12/2025 on pages 11-12,
Examiner would like to noted that regarding the newly added limitation: “movement of the ram is configured to be automatically stopped upon reaching a prespecified pressure” as recited in claim 1 (lines 11-13), the newly cited prior art Shimada et al. (JP 2012035314 A) is applied to teach the limitation “movement of the ram is configured to be automatically stopped upon reaching a prespecified pressure” as recited in claim 1 (lines 11-13). Furthermore, the newly cited prior art Kim (KR 101970821 B1) is applied to teach first transport belt and second transport belt as required by the amended claim 1 (lines 13-21).
Therefore, in combination, Cema in view of Muschalik, Shimada and Kim properly teaches all limitations recited in the independent claim 1, see details below in the 35 U.S.C. 103 Claims Rejections section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a wall” in line 6. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 1 recites the limitation “walls” previously in line 6. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a wall” refers to one of the “walls” recited previously in claim 1 (line 6), or the limitation “a wall” refers to a different wall. For examination purposes, the limitation “a wall” recited in claim 1 (line 6) will be interpreted as one of the “walls” recited previously in claim 1 (line 6).
Claims 8-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a wall of the pressing chamber” in line 2. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 8 depends on claim 1; however, claim 1 recites the limitations “walls” and “a wall” in claim 1 (line 6). It is noted that the limitation “walls” recited in claim 1 (line 6) refer to walls of pressing chamber. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a wall of the pressing chamber” recited in claim 8 (line 2) refers to “walls” or “a wall” as recited previously in claim 1 (line 6), or if the limitation “a wall of the pressing chamber” recited in claim 8 (line 2) refers to a different wall. For examination purposes, the limitation “a wall” recited in claim 8 (line 2) will be interpreted as one of the “walls” recited previously in claim 1 (line 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CEMA TECH (DE 202005018374 U1, hereinafter Cema, previously cited) in view of Muschalik (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0099792 A1, newly cited), Shimada et al. (JP 2012035314 A, newly cited), and Kim (KR 101970821 B1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Cema discloses an apparatus (as shown in Cema Figs.1-4) for shaping a strand-shaped foodstuff (Cema Translated Abstract discloses the apparatus for shaping the meat 5; and Cema Figs.4-5 shows the meat 5 is in strand-shaped) comprising, a piece of meat (meat 5, Cema Figs.1, 4-5), the apparatus (as shown in Cema Figs.1-4) comprising:
a pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Cema annotated Figs.1 & 4 below), comprising:
a pressing device (pressing device includes the vertical cylinders 6 and side cylinders 7 & 8, Cema Figs.1 & 4) comprising cylinder (vertical cylinders 6 and side cylinders 7 & 8, Cema Figs.1 & 4);
walls (walls are interpreted as pressing head 9 of the vertical cylinder 6 [Cema Fig.1], and pressing plates of the side cylinders 7 & 8 [Cema annotated Fig.4 below]) (Cema annotated Figs.1 & 4 below show the pressing head 9 of the vertical cylinder 6 and the pressing plates of the side cylinders 7 & 8 are walls that delimit the pressing chamber), wherein at least a wall (walls are the pressing head 9 of the vertical cylinder 6 and pressing plates of the side cylinders 7 & 8, Cema Fig.1 & annotated Fig.4 below) is:
movable by the pressing device (pressing device includes the vertical cylinders 6 and side cylinders 7 & 8, Cema Figs.1&4) (each of the walls (i.e., the pressing head 9 of the vertical cylinder 6 and pressing plates of the side cylinders 7 & 8, Cema Fig.1 & annotated Fig.4 below) is movable by vertical cylinder 6 and side cylinders 7 & 8 because the vertical cylinder 6 presses down from the top as indicated by the arrow shown in Cema Fig.1, and side cylinders 7 & 8 press on four sides as shown in Cema Fig.4; this is also described in Cema Translated Claims – see paragraphs 1-3 of the Claims on page 4 of Cema Translated Document) and
configured as a ram (it is noted that the definition of ram is “any of various guided pieces for exerting pressure or for driving or forcing something by impact” – according the Merriam-Webster dictionary [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/ram, accessed on 10/20/2025]; in this case, each of the walls (i.e., the pressing head 9 of the vertical cylinder 6 and pressing plates of the side cylinders 7 & 8, Cema Fig.1 & annotated Fig.4 below) is movable by being driven by vertical cylinder 6 and side cylinders 7 & 8; therefore, each of the walls is configured as a ram), whereby the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Cema annotated Fig.1) is transitioned from an initial state with a first enclosed volume (an initial state with a first enclosed volume is interpreted as the volume of the pressing chamber where the pressing head 9 of the vertical cylinder 6 and the pressing plates of the side cylinders 7 & 8 initially in contact with the meat 5 without performing any pressing on the meat 5 yet, i.e., before pressing the meat 5; see the meat 5 in Figs.1, 4-5) into a final state with a second enclosed volume (a final state with a second enclosed volume is interpreted as the volume of the pressing chamber after the meat 5 is pressed by applying forces from the pressing head 9 of the vertical cylinder 6 and the pressing plates of the side cylinders 7 & 8 to form the pressed meat product 10; see the pressed meat product 10 in Figs.1, 4-5) (it is noted that the pressing chamber is delimited by walls, and each of the walls is movable by one of the cylinders 6-8, as explained above; therefore, the pressing chamber is transitioned from the initial state with the first enclosed volume into the final state with the second enclosed volume, see the directional arrows of cylinders 6-8 in Cema Figs.1&4), and
wherein the ram (the pressing head 9 [Cema Fig.1] and pressing plates [Cema annotated Fig.4 below]; it is noted that each of the walls is configured as a ram, as required by claim 1 and cited & explained previously) is coupled to the pressing device (pressing device includes the vertical cylinders 6 and side cylinders 7 & 8, Cema Figs.1&4);
a transport belt (transport belt 3, Cema Figs.1 & 4 below) configured to feed the strand-shaped foodstuff (meat 5, Cema Figs.4-5) to the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Cema annotated Figs.1 & 4) through a feed opening (feed opening is the opening where the meat 5 is being fed into the pressing chamber, Cema annotated Fig.4) and transfer the strand-shaped foodstuff (meat 5, Cema Figs.4-5) to an interior of the apparatus (apparatus as shown in Cema Figs.1-4) (in this case, the meat 5 is transferred to an interior of the pressing chamber of the apparatus, see Cema Figs.1 & 4); and
the transport belt (transport belt 3, Cema Figs.1 & 4) extending into the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Cema annotated Figs.1 & 4); wherein the transport belt (transport belt 3, Cema Figs.1 & 4) is configured to feed the strand-shaped foodstuff (meat 5, Cema Figs.4-5) to the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Cema annotated Fig.4) through a first opening cross-section (first opening cross-section is the cross-section of the feed opening where the meat 5 is being fed into the pressing chamber, Cema annotated Fig.4); and discharge the strand-shaped foodstuff (meat 5, Cema Figs.4-5) from the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Cema annotated Fig.4) through a second opening cross-section (second opening cross-section is the opening where the pressed meat product 10 is discharged from the pressing chamber, Cema annotated Fig.4 below),
wherein the first opening cross-section (first opening cross-section, Cema annotated Fig.4 below) of the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Cema annotated Fig.4) is opposite the second opening cross-section (second opening cross-section, Cema annotated Fig.4 below) so that the strand-shaped foodstuff (meat 5 and after being pressed, the meat 5 becomes the pressed meat product 10, Cema Figs. 1 & 4) is configured to be fed and discharged in a same direction (as shown in Cema Figs.1 & 4 below).
Cema does not explicitly disclose:
the pressing device comprising an electromechanical cylinder driven by a servomotor; and
movement of the ram is configured to be automatically stopped upon reaching a prespecified pressure;
a first transport belt configured to feed the strand-shaped foodstuff to the pressing chamber through a feed opening and transfer the strand-shaped foodstuff to a second transport belt in an interior of the apparatus; and
the second transport belt extending into the pressing chamber and configured to receive the strand-shaped foodstuff from the first transport belt;
wherein the second transport belt is configured to feed the strand-shaped foodstuff to the pressing chamber through a first opening cross-section; and discharge the strand-shaped foodstuff from the pressing chamber through a second opening cross- section
Muschalik teaches a pressing device (press 1, Muschalik Figs.1-2), wherein:
the pressing device (press 1, Muschalik Fig.1) comprising an electromechanical cylinder (pressing piston 11, Muschalik Fig.2) driven by a servomotor (motors 12, 13; Muschalik Fig.1) (Muschalik Par.0012 teaches: “a pressing piston 11 which is guided in the cylinder housing 9 of a main or pressing cylinder with hydrostatic bearing 10 (see FIG. 2), is moved in the pressing direction 14 by means of electric motors 12, 13, especially servo motors”; therefore, Muschalik teaches pressing device comprising electromechanical cylinder driven by servomotor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cema, by adding servo motors to drive cylinders of Cema pressing devices (see the Cema vertical cylinders 6 and side cylinders 7 & 8 in Cema Figs.1&4), as taught by Muschalik, in order to increase precision, flexibility, energy efficiency, and reduce maintenance. Furthermore, since servo-driven pressing device uses electric servo motor and closed-loop feedback system, the modification would provide precise, programmable control over the ram’s movement, speed, and force.
Cema in view of Muschalik teaches the apparatus as set forth above, but does not teach:
movement of the ram is configured to be automatically stopped upon reaching a prespecified pressure;
a first transport belt configured to feed the strand-shaped foodstuff to the pressing chamber through a feed opening and transfer the strand-shaped foodstuff to a second transport belt in an interior of the apparatus; and
the second transport belt extending into the pressing chamber and configured to receive the strand-shaped foodstuff from the first transport belt;
wherein the second transport belt is configured to feed the strand-shaped foodstuff to the pressing chamber through a first opening cross-section; and discharge the strand-shaped foodstuff from the pressing chamber through a second opening cross- section
Shimada teaches an apparatus for shaping a foodstuff (Shimada Figs.5-6) comprising:
movement of the ram (upper rod 31 and lower rod 32, Shimada Fig.5) is configured to be automatically stopped upon reaching a prespecified pressure (Shimada Translated Document on page 7 lines 2-4 teaches: “Thereafter, when the upper rod 31 and the lower rod 32 reach a predetermined limit position close to each other beyond the predetermined gap position until the upper rod 31 and the lower rod 32 reach a preset target value of pressure. (Step ST205), the compression molding is stopped (Step ST206)”; therefore, Shimada teaches movement of the ram is configured to be automatically stopped upon reaching a prespecified pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cema in view of Muschalik, by making movement of the ram to be automatically stopped upon reaching a prespecified pressure, as taught by Shimada, in order to maintain the desired texture, appearance, and quality of the final food product because exceeding the optimal pressure can cause food to break, become excessively hard, or lose its structural integrity. Thus, the modification would provide the desired shape and texture of foodstuff, and also ensure consistency between batches of foodstuff.
Cema in view of Muschalik and Shimada teaches the apparatus as set forth above, but does not teach:
a first transport belt configured to feed the strand-shaped foodstuff to the pressing chamber through a feed opening and transfer the strand-shaped foodstuff to a second transport belt in an interior of the apparatus; and
the second transport belt extending into the pressing chamber and configured to receive the strand-shaped foodstuff from the first transport belt;
wherein the second transport belt is configured to feed the strand-shaped foodstuff to the pressing chamber through a first opening cross-section; and discharge the strand-shaped foodstuff from the pressing chamber through a second opening cross- section
Kim teaches an apparatus for shaping a foodstuff (forming machine conveyor device 1, Kim Fig.6) comprising:
a first transport belt (belt of conveyor 20, Kim Fig.6) configured to feed the strand-shaped foodstuff (food 30, Kim Fig.6) to the pressing chamber (pressing chamber is the chamber where the food 30 is pressed into box shaped by the first forming unit 310, Kim annotated Fig.6 below) through a feed opening (feed opening, Kim annotated Fig.6 below) and transfer the strand-shaped foodstuff (food 30, Kim Fig.6) to a second transport belt (belt 210 of conveyor 200, Kim Figs. 1 & 6) in an interior of the apparatus (interior of the device 1, Kim Fig.6); and
the second transport belt (belt 210 of conveyor 200, Kim Figs. 1 & 6) extending into the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Kim annotated Fig.6 below) and configured to receive the strand-shaped foodstuff (food 30, Kim Fig.6) from the first transport belt (belt of conveyor 20, Kim Fig.6) (Kim Translated Document on page 5 paragraph 10 teaches: “In detail, the Pojo food 30 impregnated in the foaming machine 10 is conveyed to the discharge and conveying conveyor 200 through the discharge conveyor 20 and conveyed along the conveyor belt 210.”);
wherein the second transport belt (belt 210 of conveyor 200, Kim Figs. 1 & 6) is configured to feed the strand-shaped foodstuff (food 30, Kim Fig.6) to the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Kim annotated Fig.6 below) through a first opening cross-section (first opening cross-section is the entrance opening cross-section when the food 30 enters the pressing chamber to be pressed into box shaped by the first forming unit 310, Kim annotated Fig.6 below); and discharge the strand-shaped foodstuff (food 30, Kim Fig.6) from the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Kim annotated Fig.6 below) through a second opening cross-section (second opening cross-section is the exit opening cross-section when the food 30 exits the pressing chamber after the food 30 is pressed into box shaped by the first forming unit 310, Kim annotated Fig.6 below)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention substitute the Cema transport system (see the Cema transport belt 3 in Cema Fig.1) with the Kim transport system (see the Kim transport belts of conveyors 20 & 200 in Kim Fig.6), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of conveying foodstuff into the pressing chamber and discharging the pressed foodstuff from the pressing chamber. MPEP 2143 I (B). Additionally, the modification would improve sanitation, increase production efficiency, and allow for specialized functionality. A separate feed and discharge conveyors would provide separation of un-process and processed food, and allow each conveyor to be cleaned more thoroughly and independently. Furthermore, the separate feed and discharge conveyors can be set to different speeds based on manufacturing needs.
Regarding claim 8, Cema in view of Muschalik, Shimada and Kim teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, Kim also teaches:
wherein the second transport belt (belt 210 of conveyor 200, Kim Figs. 1 & 6; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1) is configured to extend into the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Kim annotated Fig.6 below) and at least partially cover a wall (bottom wall of the pressing chamber is the frame of conveyor 200, Kim Figs. 1-2 & 6; thus, the belt 210 covers the frame of conveyor 200) of the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Kim annotated Fig.6 below) and run around the wall (bottom wall of the pressing chamber is the frame of conveyor 200, Kim Figs. 1-2 & 6; thus, the belt 210 run around the frame of conveyor 200) of the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Kim annotated Fig.6 below).
Regarding claim 9, Cema in view of Muschalik, Shimada and Kim teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, Cema also discloses:
wherein, during an introduction of the strand-shaped foodstuff (meat 5, Cema Figs.1 & 4) into the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Cema annotated Figs.1 & 4 below), the wall (right pressing plate of the side cylinder 7, Cema annotated Fig.4 below) that is configured as the ram (it is noted that the definition of ram is “any of various guided pieces for exerting pressure or for driving or forcing something by impact” – according the Merriam-Webster dictionary [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/ram, accessed on 10/20/2025]; in this case, the right pressing plate of the side cylinder 7 is movable by being driven by the side cylinder 7; therefore, the right pressing plate is configured as ram, as also cited and explained in the rejection of claim 1 above) moves perpendicularly and/or in parallel (it is noted that the limitation “perpendicularly and/or in parallel” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination; in this case, Cema discloses the right pressing plate of the side cylinder 7 moves in parallel to a movement direction of the meat 5, Cema annotated Fig.4 below) to a movement direction (from feeding to discharging as shown in Cema annotated Figs.1 & 4 below, or as indicated by the right-to-left arrow in Cema Fig.1) of the strand-shaped foodstuff (meat 5, Cema Figs.1 & 4) in which the strand-shaped foodstuff (meat 5, Cema Figs.1 & 4) is fed to the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Cema annotated Figs.1 & 4 below) in the movement direction (from feeding to discharging as shown in Cema annotated Fig.1 below, or as indicated by the right-to-left arrow in Cema Fig.1) or perpendicularly thereto (it is noted that the limitation “movement direction or perpendicularly” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination; in this case, Cema discloses the meat 5 is fed to the pressing chamber in the movement direction from feeding to discharging as shown in Cema annotated Figs.1 & 4 below, or as indicated by the right-to-left arrow in Cema Fig.1), so that a distance between the wall (right pressing plate of the side cylinder 7, Cema annotated Fig.4 below) that is configured as the ram (the right pressing plate of the side cylinder 7 is configured as the ram, as cited and explained previously in claims 1 and 9) and an opposite wall (left pressing plate of the side cylinder 7, Cema annotated Fig.4 below) of the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Cema annotated Figs.1 & 4 below) is reduced (during pressing state, Cema annotated Fig.4 below shows the left pressing plate of the side cylinder 7 moves from left to right, the right pressing plate of the side cylinder 7 moves from right to left, the top pressing plate of the side cylinder 8 moves from top to bottom, and the bottom pressing plate of the side cylinder 8 moves from bottom to top; therefore, the distance between the right pressing plate of the side cylinder 7 and the left pressing plate of the side cylinder 7 is reduced).
Regarding claim 10, Cema in view of Muschalik, Shimada and Kim teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, Cema also discloses:
wherein the pressing chamber (pressing chamber, Cema annotated Figs.1 & 4 below) has six walls (six walls includes a top wall is pressing head 9 of the vertical cylinder 6 [Cema Fig.1], four side walls are four pressing plates of the side cylinders 7 & 8 [Cema annotated Fig.4 below], and a bottom wall which is portion of the transport belt 3 where the meat 5 is placed on; those six walls form an enclosed pressing chamber in order to press the meat 5 into the shaped meat 10, Cema annotated Figs.1 & 4) and wherein four walls (four side walls are four pressing plates of the side cylinders 7 & 8, Cema annotated Fig.4 below) are configured as rams (it is noted that the definition of ram is “any of various guided pieces for exerting pressure or for driving or forcing something by impact” – according the Merriam-Webster dictionary [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/ram, accessed on 10/20/2025]; in this case, each of the four pressing plates (i.e., four walls) is movable by being driven by side cylinders 7 & 8, as shown in Cema annotated Fig.4 below; therefore, the four pressing plates (i.e., four walls) are configured as rams) which are respectively movable in different directions (four pressing plates of the side cylinders 7 & 8 move in four different directions; specifically, during pressing state, Cema annotated Fig.4 below shows the left pressing plate of the side cylinder 7 moves from left to right, the right pressing plate of the side cylinder 7 moves from right to left, the top pressing plate of the side cylinder 8 moves from top to bottom, and the bottom pressing plate of the side cylinder 8 moves from bottom to top) by means of the pressing device (side cylinders 7 & 8, Cema Fig.4).
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Koszo et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,487,444 B2) discloses a method and a system for forming pressed articles.
Opie (U.S. Patent No. 3,040,654 A) discloses a machine for compressing meat.
Malenke et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,424,430 B2) discloses a conveyor system comprising a plurality of conveyor belts for assembling and stacking food products.
Madsen et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,727,545 A) discloses pressing food products with semi-automatic cycle. In a press of the type comprising a plurality of platens arranged for relative movement in orthogonal directions, an improvement whereby the press remains in operation, once operation of the press has been initiated by a starting switch and once a predetermined point in the operating cycle has been reached, after the starting switch has been opened.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/20/2025
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761