Response to Amendment/Arguments
The Amendment filed 10/1/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-7, 10-16, and 18-23 remain pending on the application. Claims 6, 7, 10, 11, 16, and 18-20 were previously withdrawn. Claims 21-23 are newly presented. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections to the Claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 8/11/2025.
Applicant argues that it is not apparent why and how a skilled person would avoid or prevent contact between the hydrogen peroxide and the cover film 7 to yield the gap now recited in claim 1, which is intended to suppress or slow down the penetration of hydrogen peroxide into the gap, whereas the primary reference Frost directly teaches contacting the cover film with hydrogen peroxide.
Frost teaches wherein the hydrogen peroxide gas would fill the chamber because of a deliberately produced pressure difference between the chamber and the evaporating apparatus (par. 12: In the process according to the present invention it is initially provided that the sterilization chamber is pre-evacuated using a pump stand, so that the pressure in the sterilization chamber sinks. As soon as pre-evacuation pressure is reached in the sterilization chamber, a vapour mix of water steam and hydrogen peroxide steam flows abruptly into the sterilization chamber without the aid of any carrier gas flow, but driven solely by the difference in pressure between an evaporating apparatus and the pre-evacuated sterilization chamber. As a result of the expansion of the vapour mix, which now not only fills out the volume of the evaporating apparatus, but also that of the much larger sterilization chamber, the vapour mix cools down. The cooling results in a strong oversaturation of the vapour mix, which is why the vapour mix condensates at the moment of entry onto all accessible surfaces within the sterilization chamber). Thus, even if Frost was modified to have a smaller gap, the gas would still fill the entirety of the chamber due to the pressure difference. Moreover, as detailed in the updated rejection to claim 1 below, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the volume of the chamber, and by extension of the distance of the gap, is a result effective variable that affects how much energy is needed to create the pressure difference as well as how much hydrogen peroxide gas is needed. Thus, there would be motivation to adjust decrease gap in order to decrease these two variables and thus make the sterilization process more efficient.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a decontamination unit” in claim 1 and “a circulation device” in claim 12.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. “a decontamination device” is interpreted in light of Specification par. 17 to be an evaporation or nebulization device. These are known to one of ordinary skill in the art to be an evaporator or nebulizer, which have a sufficiently defined structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 14-15, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost (US 20040228759 A1, provided in Applicant’s IDS of 1/19/2024) in view of Duffey (US 5114670 A, provided in Applicant’s IDS of 8/3/2022) and Gordon (US 20130078142 A).
Regarding claim 1, Frost teaches a sterilizing device for sterilizing an outer face of a receptacle, the device comprising a transfer lock (par. 24: For this purpose, a sterilization chamber 11, designed as a lock, is provided, in which solely the outer sides 10 of the transport containers 1 are sterilized again after the surrounding packaging 2 has been removed),
wherein the receptacle to be sterilized has a gas-permeable lidding foil (par. 23: The plastic tub 3 is sealed on its upper side with a bacteria-impermeable but gas-permeable foil-type cover 7)
and a gas-impermeable receptacle body (par. 5: This gas penetrates during sterilization through the surrounding packaging and also through the cover of the plastic tubs into the interior of the tubs and sterilizes hereby all surfaces within the packaging; NOTE: this does not include the tub body besides the cover)
which delimits a receiving space (Fig. 1: insider of tub 3))
which is accessible via a removal opening in the receptacle body, wherein the removal opening (29) is closed by the lidding foil (Fig. 1: portion covered by foil 7), wherein the transfer lock (12) also comprises a decontamination unit , by which a H2O2-containing atmosphere can be generated in the transfer lock (par. 28: A watery solution comprising a suitable concentration of hydrogen peroxide is fed via a conduit 17 and via a feed valve 18 in feed direction G to the evaporator 16), but does not teach
wherein the transfer lock comprises a cover unit having a radiation source, which can be arranged relative to the receptacle such that the cover unit covers a region of the receptacle formed by the lidding foil and can irradiate the lidding foil with electromagnetic radiation
wherein the cover unit comprises a flat cover side which comprises a cover plate that is permeable to the radiation from the radiation source.
Duffey teaches a sterilization chamber utilizing both hydrogen peroxide and UV light sterilization (abstract: A process is disclosed for sterilizing surfaces utilizing hydrogen peroxide gas in combination with preselected ultraviolet energy). Duffey teaches wherein combining UV light sterilization with hydrogen peroxide sterilization will increase sterilization effectiveness (C2L15-18: The combination of the ultraviolet energy and the hydrogen peroxide vapor provides a synergistic effect for purposes of sterilizing and disinfecting the article to be sterilized). Duffey further teaches having UV light sources placed above, and thus covering, the items to be sterilized (Fig.: UV lamps 30)
Gordon teaches a UV sterilization container (An object is sterilized with ultraviolet-C (UV-C) radiation having a wavelength from about 235 nm to about 295 nm. An advantageous wavelength for the UV-C radiation is about 253.7 nm. The object is inserted into a container, which is then sealed). Gordon teaches wherein a series of UV lights cover the ceiling of the sterilization space, and wherein the UV lights have a bottom cover that is flat and transparent to UV radiation in order to protect the UV lights (Fig.1A: UV-C tube sources 134, partition 120; par. 35: The partition 120 and the partition 122 are fabricated from material, or materials, substantially transparent to UV-C radiation; suitable materials are discussed below. The partition 120 and the partition 122 can be fabricated from the same material or from different materials. The partition 120 and the partition 122 can have the same thickness (measured along the Y-axis) or different thicknesses. The partition 120 prevents contact with the UV-C source 130).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Frost to have a series of UV lights located on the ceiling of the chamber, with a bottom transparent cover positioned over the items to be sterilized, as taught by Duffey and Gordon, in order to enhance sterilization effectiveness while protecting the UV light sources.
Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon still does not teach wherein the cover plate (36) and the lidding foil (26) are at a distance (39) from one another of less than 2 cm.
Frost teaches wherein the gas expands into the sterilization chamber and condenses (par. 12: In the process according to the present invention it is initially provided that the sterilization chamber is pre-evacuated using a pump stand, so that the pressure in the sterilization chamber sinks. As soon as pre-evacuation pressure is reached in the sterilization chamber, a vapour mix of water steam and hydrogen peroxide steam flows abruptly into the sterilization chamber without the aid of any carrier gas flow, but driven solely by the difference in pressure between an evaporating apparatus and the pre-evacuated sterilization chamber. As a result of the expansion of the vapour mix, which now not only fills out the volume of the evaporating apparatus, but also that of the much larger sterilization chamber, the vapour mix cools down. The cooling results in a strong oversaturation of the vapour mix, which is why the vapour mix condensates at the moment of entry onto all accessible surfaces within the sterilization chamber).
A mere change in proportion, even if it leads to better results, holds no patentable significance:
MPEP 2144.05.II.A: Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
especially if it can be shown that the change in proportions can be done by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization of a known result-effective variable (MPEP 2144.05.II.B: the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process).
In this case, the volume (and by extension the distance between the ceiling, which just so happens to have the cover plate on it, and the lidding foil) would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art as a result effective variable. The volume would determine the total amount of gas needed for sterilization since the smaller the volume, the more of the condensate would be deposited on the lidding foil surfaces rather than on the walls of the sterilization chamber. The advantage of having a smaller volume would be optimized with the need for a greater volume for the expansion of the gas. In addition, having a smaller volume takes less energy to evacuate the chamber to create a pressure difference because less gas is being sucked out.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distance between the ceiling (which just so happens to be formed of the cover plate owing to the previous modification) and the lidding foil of Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon to be less than 2 cm, with the reasonable expectation that the volume of the sterilization chamber can be optimized to reduce the energy needed to evacuate the chamber as well as the total amount of gas needed to perform sterilization.
Regarding claim 3, Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon teaches the sterilizing device (10) according to claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the radiation source is a UV radiation source (see Gordon modification in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 5, Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon teaches the sterilizing device (10) according to claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the decontamination unit for generating the H2O2-containing atmosphere H2O2 in the transfer lock is designed to introduce H2O2 in a gaseous state or as a mist (par. 5: This gas penetrates during sterilization through the surrounding packaging).
Regarding claim 14, Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon teaches the sterilizing device (10) according to claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the electromagnetic radiation is high-energy light radiation generated by the radiation source (see Duffey modification for UV lights in claim 1 rejection; absent a recitation of a specific standard for what constitutes “high-energy” light, the light from the UV lights would have a finite energy that would read on “high-energy”).
Regarding claim 15, Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon teaches the sterilizing device (10) according to claim 14, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the high-energy light radiation is UV radiation (see Duffey modification for UV lights in claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 21, Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon teaches the sterilizing device (10) according to claim 1, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the distance (39) is less than 1.5 cm.
A mere change in proportion, even if it leads to better results, holds no patentable significance:
MPEP 2144.05.II.A: Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
especially if it can be shown that the change in proportions can be done by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization of a known result-effective variable (MPEP 2144.05.II.B: the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process).
In this case, the volume (and by extension the distance between the ceiling, which just so happens to have the cover plate on it, and the lidding foil) would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art as a result effective variable. The volume would determine the total amount of gas needed for sterilization since the smaller the volume, the more of the condensate would be deposited on the lidding foil surfaces rather than on the walls of the sterilization chamber. The advantage of having a smaller volume would be optimized with the need for a greater volume for the expansion of the gas. In addition, having a smaller volume takes less energy to evacuate the chamber to create a pressure difference because less gas is being sucked out.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distance between the ceiling (which just so happens to be formed of the cover plate owing to the previous modification) and the lidding foil of Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon to be less than 1.5 cm, with the reasonable expectation that the volume of the sterilization chamber can be optimized to reduce the energy needed to evacuate the chamber as well as the total amount of gas needed to perform sterilization.
Regarding claim 22, Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon teaches the sterilizing device (10) according to claim 1, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the distance (39) is less than 1 cm.
A mere change in proportion, even if it leads to better results, holds no patentable significance:
MPEP 2144.05.II.A: Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
especially if it can be shown that the change in proportions can be done by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization of a known result-effective variable (MPEP 2144.05.II.B: the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process).
In this case, the volume (and by extension the distance between the ceiling, which just so happens to have the cover plate on it, and the lidding foil) would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art as a result effective variable. The volume would determine the total amount of gas needed for sterilization since the smaller the volume, the more of the condensate would be deposited on the lidding foil surfaces rather than on the walls of the sterilization chamber. The advantage of having a smaller volume would be optimized with the need for a greater volume for the expansion of the gas. In addition, having a smaller volume takes less energy to evacuate the chamber to create a pressure difference because less gas is being sucked out.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distance between the ceiling (which just so happens to be formed of the cover plate owing to the previous modification) and the lidding foil of Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon to be less than 1 cm, with the reasonable expectation that the volume of the sterilization chamber can be optimized to reduce the energy needed to evacuate the chamber as well as the total amount of gas needed to perform sterilization.
Regarding claim 23, Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon teaches the sterilizing device (10) according to claim 1, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the distance (39) is less than 0.5 cm.
A mere change in proportion, even if it leads to better results, holds no patentable significance:
MPEP 2144.05.II.A: Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
especially if it can be shown that the change in proportions can be done by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization of a known result-effective variable (MPEP 2144.05.II.B: the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process).
In this case, the volume (and by extension the distance between the ceiling, which just so happens to have the cover plate on it, and the lidding foil) would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art as a result effective variable. The volume would determine the total amount of gas needed for sterilization since the smaller the volume, the more of the condensate would be deposited on the lidding foil surfaces rather than on the walls of the sterilization chamber. The advantage of having a smaller volume would be optimized with the need for a greater volume for the expansion of the gas. In addition, having a smaller volume takes less energy to evacuate the chamber to create a pressure difference because less gas is being sucked out.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distance between the ceiling (which just so happens to be formed of the cover plate owing to the previous modification) and the lidding foil of Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon to be less than 0.5 cm, with the reasonable expectation that the volume of the sterilization chamber can be optimized to reduce the energy needed to evacuate the chamber as well as the total amount of gas needed to perform sterilization.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon in view of Krainiak (US 5711705 A).
Regarding claim 4, Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon the sterilizing device (10) according to claim 1, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the decontamination unit (15) in the transfer lock (12) is designed to form a directed, low-turbulence gas flow.
Krainiak teaches a sterilization chamber using hydrogen peroxide, wherein the decontamination unit produces a laminar hydrogen peroxide flow (abstract: An isolation work station comprising an enclosure, and an air circulation system and high efficiency air filter for generating a downwardly directed laminar air flow through the enclosure. Periodic sterilization of the enclosure may be accomplished by adding a sterilant, such as vaporized hydrogen peroxide, to the airstream, and the filter is impregnated with a catalyst for degrading the vaporized hydrogen peroxide during the purge cycle and wherein the airstream is circulated at a relatively low speed so as to increase the residence time in the filter). Krainiak teaches wherein a laminar flow is preferable so that airborne contaminants do not get mixed in with the sterilant flow (C1L14-19: Also, in order to minimize the chances for contamination, isolators of this type commonly provide a filtered, laminar air flow downwardly through the enclosure, so as to prevent airborne contaminants from coming into contact with the sterile products being processed in the enclosure).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sterilant supply system of Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon to be capable of producing a laminar flow of sterilant, as taught by Krainiak, in order to prevent airborne contaminants from contacting the items to be sterilized.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon in view of Kleinman (DE 102017118481 A1) and Krainiak.
Regarding claim 12, Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon teaches the sterilizing device (10) according to claim 1, as set forth above, but does not teach further comprising a removal region, and wherein, in an initial state, the receptacle (22) is initially arranged in outer packaging, wherein, within the removal region, a cleaned gas is flushed around the receptacle (22) while it is being removed from the outer packaging in the removal region.
Frost already teaches removing the packaging prior to the tub being sterilized but does not teach a structure for doing so (claim 2: A process for a contamination-free insertion of already sterilized syringes into a filling apparatus surrounded by a sterile clean room for filling and sealing the syringes, comprising the steps of: providing sterile transport containers containing the syringes with a bacteria-impermeable and gas-permeable cover and a sealed bacteria-impermeable and gas-permeable additional packaging; releasing the transport containers from their additional packaging; sterilizing the outer side of the covered transport chambers in an evacuable sterilization chamber).
Kleinman teaches a sterilization chamber using hydrogen peroxide for sterilizing packaged goods (abstract: The invention relates to a decontamination device (1) for decontaminating products in the form of consumer goods and / or consumer packaging; pg. 2 par. 6: very particularly preferably to a hydrogen peroxide vapor). Kleinman teaches a chamber disposed upstream of the decontamination chamber capable of recirculating air (Fig.: product lock 22; pg. 8 par. 1: the decontamination agent concentration in the product lock 22 is reduced to a safe level for an operator, in this case by conveying room air through a corresponding catalyst in recirculation mode) and wherein product locks may be used for removing packaging (pg. 5 par. 2: In the product lock, unpacking means are preferably arranged for the automated unpacking of consumer goods from an outer packaging). Kleinman provides the motivation to have a chamber upstream of the sterilization chamber of Frost to fulfill Frost’s need for an unpackaging station, wherein that chamber is also capable of recirculating air.
Krainiak teaches an isolation chamber capable of circulating sterile, laminar air flow and also capable of allowing a user to remove the packaging from an article (abstract: An isolation work station comprising an enclosure, and an air circulation system and high efficiency air filter for generating a downwardly directed laminar air flow through the enclosure; C2L9-13: At least one flexible glove is sealably mounted in the front side wall of the enclosure, which is transparent, so as to permit a technician to reach through the front side wall and into the enclosure to perform work tasks therein and while being isolated from the environment within the enclosure).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Frost modified by Duffey and Gordon to have an isolation chamber disposed upstream of the sterilization chamber, capable of producing a sterile, laminar air flow within the chamber via an air circulation system, and having a mounted glove to allow a user to remove the packaging from an article, as taught by Kleinman and Krainiak, in order to provide a structure to remove the packaging from an article while keeping that article sterile, prior to sterilization. Frost modified by Duffey, Gordon, Kleinman, and Krainiak in this way is capable of performing the recited function.
Regarding claim 13, Frost modified by Duffey, Gordon, Kleinman, and Krainiak teaches the sterilizing device (10) according to claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein a directed, low-turbulence gas flow is formed in the removal region is designed (see Krainiak modification in claim 12 rejection).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/ELIZABETH A ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1796